DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, without “significantly more”. The claims recite a virtual map switching method performed by a computer device, the method comprising: receiving a map switching request transmitted by a client, the map switching request instructing to switch the client from a first map corresponding to a first map server to a second map corresponding to a second map server; transmitting session data and character data to the second map server in response to the map switching request, the session data instructing the second map server to create a session with the client, and the character data instructing the second map server to create a virtual character in the second map; and transmitting a second map switching response to the client, the second map switching response instructing the client to perform the session with the second map server to control the virtual character in the second map
and
a computer device comprising: a memory, configured to store an executable instruction; and a processor, configured to implement, when executing the executable instruction stored in the memory, a virtual map switching method including: receiving a map switching request transmitted by a client, the map switching request instructing to switch the client from a first map corresponding to a first map server to a second map corresponding to a second map server; transmitting session data and character data to the second map server in response to the map switching request, the session data instructing the second map server to create a session with the client, and the character data instructing the second map server to create a virtual character in the second map; and transmitting a second map switching response to the client, the second map switching response instructing the client to perform the session with the second map server to control the virtual character in the second map
and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having an executable instruction stored therein, and the executable instruction, when executed by a processor of a computer device, causing the computer device to implement a virtual map switching method including: receiving a map switching request transmitted by a client, the map switching request instructing to switch the client from a first map corresponding to a first map server to a second map corresponding to a second map server; transmitting session data and character data to the second map server in response to the map switching request, the session data instructing the second map server to create a session with the client, and the character data instructing the second map server to create a virtual character in the second map; and transmitting a second map switching response to the client, the second map switching response instructing the client to perform the session with the second map server to control the virtual character in the second map.
The claims are directed to a video game system which present a virtual environment to a player and transition that player to a new virtual environment based on processed input which would constitute following rules or instructions which are an abstract idea that falls under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity", specifically “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people”, as discussed in MPEP §2106(a)(2) Parts (I) and (II), and in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because an “computer device”, “server”, “memory”, “processor”, “computer readable medium” are generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
There is no improvement made to computer technology since the claims are directed to processing user input to transition a player character to a different virtual environment. This is not related to a long standing problem in computer technology. Additionally, there is no practical application as there is no particular machine that is used to implement the claim language, but instead the claims only generic computer components are used to perform the invention. In addition, there is no transformation of the machine used in the application into a different state or thing. Lastly, the claims do not attempt to apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond simply using the claimed machine.
All dependent claims are also rejected, because they merely further detail the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-10 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (pub. no. 20250118017).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a virtual map switching method performed by a computer device (“FIG. 2 shows a block diagram of a data processing system 200 according to an embodiment of the application. The data processing system 200 includes a user device 208, a first application server 206, and a second application server 207. The user device 208 can be a desktop user device or a mobile user device. The desktop user device can be, but is not limited to, a personal computer, an industrial computer, etc., The mobile user device can be, but is not limited to, various laptops, smartphones, tablets, portable wearable devices, etc. The user device 208 is installed with application software that can access remote services, such as a browser or client application program. The application program involved in the embodiment of this application may be a client application program (i.e. APP), or it may be a light client service program such as a web page or an applet”, [0048];
“Each subprogram contains one or more virtual scenes. Each virtual scene can provide specific human-computer interaction functions for users to implement different game rules and gameplay. Therefore, each virtual scene is supported and run by a functionally independent application server, supporting users to implement human-computer interaction on the user device 208, such as viewing the content of the virtual scene and controlling the virtual character in the virtual scene to perform interactive activities”, [0051];
“The jump server 202 is connected to the first application server 206 and the second application server 207 respectively, and stores transfer control logic. The transfer control logic is used to process virtual scene transfer requests for virtual characters. The long-term storage server 205 is connected to the first application server 206 and the second application server 207 respectively, and stores global data”, [0052]),
the method comprising: receiving a map switching request transmitted by a client, the map switching request instructing to switch the client from a first map corresponding to a first map server to a second map corresponding to a second map server (“In this embodiment, when the user controls the virtual character to interact in the first virtual scene, the first application server 206 will determine whether a transfer request for transferring the virtual character from the first virtual scene 310 to the second virtual scene 320 is received. Specifically, when the user device 208 displays the first virtual scene 310, a preset control will be displayed at a preset location, for example, a transfer button (ie, a preset control) is set up at the entrance of the mine, and the transfer button may be marked with “Transfer to Resource Trading Market”, that is, the transfer button may prompt the user to transfer the virtual character to the second virtual scene 320 by touching this button. The preset control can be in any form that is easy for users to discover and use, such as a door, or a teleportation port shaped like a black hole, etc. The preset control is associated with the second virtual scene 320 and can be bound to a transfer request instruction directed to the second virtual scene 320. When the user performs an interaction operation to trigger the preset control, the user device 208 sends the transfer request instruction to the first application server 206. Then the first application server 206 will receive the transfer request instruction and learn that the virtual character needs to be transferred from the first virtual scene 310 to the second virtual scene 320”, [0053]);
transmitting session data and character data to the second map server in response to the map switching request, the session data instructing the second map server to create a session with the client, and the character data instructing the second map server to create a virtual character in the second map (“After receiving the transfer request, the first application server 206 will synchronize the transfer request to the jump server 202. The jump server 202 runs its internally stored transfer control logic to process the virtual scene transfer request for the virtual character. The transfer control logic first confirms the transferred virtual character information, and obtains the information of the original application server (the first application server 206 in this embodiment) and the target application server (the second application server 207 in this embodiment); then the jump server 202 obtains the subprogram data related to the virtual character from the first application server 206 to generate transmission data. The relevant content of the subprogram data will be explained below. The transmission data includes the position parameters, movement posture parameters of the virtual character, etc., ensuring that the virtual character can still maintain the previous movement posture after being transferred to the second virtual scene 320, and provide the user with coherent operating experience. In this embodiment, the transmission data also includes mineral resource information, so that users can conveniently use or trade various mineral resources in other virtual scenes. Finally, the jump server 202 transfers the virtual character from the first virtual scene 310 to the second virtual scene 320 based on the global data and transmission data associated with the virtual character. Specifically, the jump server 202 sends the transmission data to the second application server 207, and synchronizes the global data information associated with the virtual character to the second application server 207 (such as synchronizing the ID of the virtual character to the second application server 207). The second application server 207 reads the global data associated with the virtual character from the long-term storage server 205, such as model information, level information, and equipment information, and loads the transmission data and the global data associated with the virtual character together in the second virtual scene 320. So far, the virtual character appears in the second virtual scene 320, and the transfer operation is completed”, [0054]);
and transmitting a second map switching response to the client, the second map switching response instructing the client to perform the session with the second map server to control the virtual character in the second map (“Correspondingly, the user device 208 establishes a communication connection with the second application server 207 (not shown in FIG. 2), and the user can interact with the virtual character in the second virtual scene 320 through the user device 208. For the user, after triggering the preset control, the virtual character can be seen in the second virtual scene 320 after a short transition interface. There is no need to log out or log in, and it is simple and fast, and it also retains the movement posture during interaction in the first virtual scene 310 and the mineral resources generated by mining”, [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses before the transmitting session data and character data to the second map server, the method further comprises: checking login status of a current login account; and when the login status indicates that the current login account is non-logged in another map server, performing the operation of transmitting session data and character data to the second map server (“The jump server 202 runs its internally stored transfer control logic to process the virtual scene transfer request for the virtual character. The transfer control logic stores the interaction mechanism between the second subprogram 400 and the first subprogram 300, for example, what kind of resources can be transferred, etc. The transfer control logic will confirm the transferred virtual character information, and obtain the information of the original application server (not shown) and the target application server (the second application server 207 in this embodiment); then the jump server 202 obtains the subprogram data related to the virtual character from the original application server corresponding to the third virtual scene 410 to generate transmission data”, [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses after the transmitting a second map switching response to the client, the method further comprises: transmitting a switching success response to the first map server, the switching success response instructing the first map server to delete character data corresponding to the virtual character on the first map server (“After the transfer is completed, the first application server 206 deletes the subprogram data associated with the virtual character, and the jump server 202 no longer stores the transmission data associated with the virtual character”, [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses before the transmitting session data and character data to the second map server, the method further comprises: receiving the session data and the character data corresponding to the client from the first map server, wherein the session data indicates that the first map server has a connection relationship with the client, and the character data indicates a character attribute of the virtual character in a virtual scene (“The jump server 202 runs its internally stored transfer control logic to process the virtual scene transfer request for the virtual character. The transfer control logic stores the interaction mechanism between the second subprogram 400 and the first subprogram 300, for example, what kind of resources can be transferred, etc. The transfer control logic will confirm the transferred virtual character information, and obtain the information of the original application server (not shown) and the target application server (the second application server 207 in this embodiment); then the jump server 202 obtains the subprogram data related to the virtual character from the original application server corresponding to the third virtual scene 410 to generate transmission data. The relevant content of the subprogram data will be explained below. The transmission data includes the position parameters, movement posture parameters of the virtual character, etc., ensuring that the virtual character can still maintain the previous movement posture after being transferred to the second virtual scene 320, and provide the user with coherent operating experience”, [0057]).
Claims 10 and 16-18 are directed to systems that implement the methods of claims 1 and 7-9 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 7-9 respectively.
Claim 19 is directed to an article manufacture that contains code that implements the method of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by foreign patent publication Liu et al. (CN106921730).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a virtual map switching method performed by a computer device (“Next, referring to FIG. 3 , it is a schematic diagram of an application scenario of a communication system between a switching system of a game server and a game client provided by an embodiment of the present invention. A set of systems that implements unified access of multiple networks and supports automatic load balancing. The main flow of switching the game map to the game server includes the following steps”, [0088]),
the method comprising: receiving a map switching request transmitted by a client, the map switching request instructing to switch the client from a first map corresponding to a first map server to a second map corresponding to a second map server (
“1)The player requests a game map at the game client.
2)The source game server checks whether the target game map is saved on this server”, [0089] – [0090]);
transmitting session data and character data to the second map server in response to the map switching request, the session data instructing the second map server to create a session with the client, and the character data instructing the second map server to create a virtual character in the second map (
“3)If the target game map is not on the same server, the source game server initiates a placeholder request to the target game server.
4)After successful placement of the target game server, a success message is sent to the source game server”, [0091] – [0092]);
and transmitting a second map switching response to the client, the second map switching response instructing the client to perform the session with the second map server to control the virtual character in the second map (
“5)The source game server sends a jump server notification to the game client.
6)The game client stops sending operation request messages to the source game server”, [0093] – [0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses in response to the map switching request, transmitting a route setting request to an access server, the route setting request instructing the access server to set a route for the client to point to the second map server (
“7)The source game server transparently notifies the network layer access server to perform route switching to the target game server through the source network layer proxy module”, [0095]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the first map corresponds to a first map instance, the second map corresponds to a second map instance, and the map switching request carries a target map instance category number (“The first game server acquires a game data acquisition request from the game client, and determines that no game data requested by the game data acquisition request is saved on the first game server according to the game data acquisition request. In this case, the first game server cannot be specified. The game service is provided to the game client, and there is a need to switch to a game server in the game logic subsystem that stores the game data requested by the game data acquisition request. For example, in a national battle mobile game, the game client uses a game map. When interacting with the first game server, when the game client needs to switch to the game map 2, the game client may send a request for acquiring the game map 2 to the first game server. At this time, no game map 2 is saved in the first game server”, [0045]);
and the method further comprises: obtaining map instance category numbers of map instances respectively run on a plurality of map servers; and selecting, among the plurality of map instance category numbers, a map instance corresponding to the same map instance category number as the second map instance (“When the first game server does not save the game data required by the game client, the first game server may trigger switching of the game server, and the first game server sends a route switching request message to the network layer proxy subsystem, and the network layer proxy subsystem The route switching request message is forwarded to the network layer access subsystem. Then, the network layer access subsystem receives the route switching request message sent by the first game server, and then step 202 is performed”, [0046];
“In this embodiment of the present invention, because the game data requested by the game data acquisition request is stored on the second game server, the network layer access subsystem establishes the network layer access subsystem and the second game under the trigger of the first game server. The communication connection of the server, that is, the network layer access subsystem implements the routing of switching from the first game server to the second game server. It should be noted that, in the game logic subsystem includes a plurality of game servers, and which game server stores game data required by the game client, the network layer access subsystem may establish a communication connection with the game server”, [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the first map corresponds to a first map instance, the second map corresponds to a second map instance, and the map switching request carries a target map instance category number ([0046]);
and the method further comprises: obtaining map instance category numbers of map instances respectively run on a plurality of map servers; and when there is no map instance category number the same as the target map instance category number exist in the plurality of map instance category numbers, selecting a target map server from the plurality of map servers and creating the second map instance by using the target map server ([0069]).
Claims 10-13 are directed to systems that implement the methods of claims 1-4 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-4 respectively.
Claims 19 and 20 are directed to an articles manufacture that contain code that implements the methods of claims 1 & 2 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 & 2 respectively.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE S GALKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715