DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Due to the amendment to claim 1 reciting the step of “withdrawing the cannula from the respective vertebra,” claim 5 is not further limiting. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2012/0143335 A1).
Claim 1. Lee discloses a method for fusing adjacent vertebra (vertebral bodies 126 and 130; note that vertebral bodies 126 and 130 are adjacent after the removal of vertebral body 134), the method comprising steps of:
inserting an implantable vertebral interbody device (device 50) between the adjacent vertebrae, the implantable vertebral interbody device comprising:
a body (see Fig. 20 inset) having an upper vertebral contacting surface (see Fig. 20 inset), a lower vertebral contacting surface (see Fig. 20 inset), and a sidewall (see Fig. 20 inset) extending between the upper vertebral contacting surface and the lower vertebral contacting surface,
a port (see Fig. 20 inset) through the sidewall,
at least one orifice (see Fig. 20 inset) passing through at least one of the upper vertebral contacting surface or the lower vertebral contacting surface; and
a moveable cannula (hollowing instrument 276; see para. 0067, which states that hollowing instrument 276 is passed through device 50, indicating that hollowing instrument 276 is moveable) passing through the port and at least one orifice;
deploying the cannula by applying a force to a first, force receiving end (see Fig. 20 inset) of the cannula, wherein the force inserts a second, engaging end (see Fig. 20 inset) of the cannula into a facing surface (surface of vertebral body 130 in contact with the upper vertebral contacting surface of the body as shown in Fig. 20) of a respective vertebra of the adjacent vertebrae, wherein at least a portion of the cannula is positioned within the respective vertebra (see para. 0067, which states that hollowing instrument 276 is passed through device 50 to hollow out vertebral body 130); and
dispensing a stabilization material through the cannula (see para. 0067, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives bone cement via sleeve 280) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
[AltContent: textbox (Upper Vertebral
Contacting Surface)][AltContent: textbox (Lower Vertebral
Contacting Surface)][AltContent: textbox (Orifice)][AltContent: textbox (Port)][AltContent: textbox (Sidewall)][AltContent: textbox (Body)][AltContent: textbox (Engaging End)][AltContent: textbox (Force Receiving End)]
Claim 2. Lee discloses wherein the step of dispensing the stabilization material through the cannula dispenses the stabilization material into the respective vertebra (see para. 0067, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives bone cement via sleeve 280) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Claim 3. Lee discloses wherein the step of dispensing the stabilization material through the cannula dispenses the stabilization material into the respective vertebra (see para. 0067, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives bone cement), wherein the stabilization material stabilizes the respective vertebra in an area proximate the respective surface of the implantable vertebral interbody device (see Fig. 20) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Claim 4. Lee discloses wherein the step of dispensing the stabilization material through the cannula is accomplished by using bone cement as the stabilization material (see para. 0067, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives bone cement) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Claim 6. Lee discloses a step of passing the cannula through the port through the sidewall (see Fig. 20) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Claim 7. Lee discloses wherein the step of deploying the cannula by applying a force to a first, force receiving end of the cannula is accomplished by utilizing a mechanically applied force (see para. 0067, which states that hollowing instrument includes semi-rigid articulating arm 284 to create a cavity in vertebral body 130) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Lee fails to disclose a step of withdrawing the cannula from the respective vertebra, wherein a portion of the stabilization material remains within the at least one orifice continuous with a mass of the stabilization material in the respective vertebra to mechanically couple the implantable vertebral interbody device to the respective vertebra (claim 1) and withdrawing the cannula from the vertebra (claim 5).
However, Lee teaches that the cannula is moveable relative to the implantable vertebral interbody device and that the cannula includes sharp tip (cutting tip 288) (see para. 0076) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Lee also teaches an alternate embodiment of a method for fusing adjacent vertebrae, the method comprising the steps of: inserting an implantable vertebral interbody device (device 50) between the adjacent vertebrae, the implantable vertebral interbody device comprising: a port (opening at location of flexible trocar 166 as shown in Fig. 8) through the sidewall, at least one orifice (opening where device 50 is in contact with vertebral body 130 as shown in Figs. 8-10) passing through an upper vertebral contacting surface (surface in contact with vertebral body 130 as shown in Figs. 8-10) of the body; dispensing a stabilization material (PMMA 170) through the port and orifice (see para. 0054, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives PMMA 170; see also Figs. 8-10), wherein a portion of the stabilization material remains within the orifice continuous with a mass of the stabilization material in the respective vertebra to mechanically couple the implantable vertebral interbody device to the respective vertebra (see Fig. 10) to provide for stabilization of the vertebrae (see paras. 0003-0004) (Fig. 8-10; paras. 0003-0004 and 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by withdrawing the cannula from the respective vertebra (claim 1) and withdrawing the cannula from the vertebra (claim 5) in order to avoid leaving a sharp surgical instrument that is not in a fixed position relative to the body of the device within the patient after the completion of the surgical procedure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee such that a portion of the stabilization material remains within the at least one orifice continuous with a mass of the stabilization material in the respective vertebra to mechanically couple the implantable vertebral interbody device to the respective vertebra (claim 1), as suggested by an alternate embodiment of Lee, to provide for stabilization of the vertebrae.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2012/0143335 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US 2010/0145454 A1).
Claim 9. Lee discloses wherein the second, engaging end of the cannula further comprises a cutting surface (see para. 0067, which states that tip 288 comprises a cutting surface) and the method further comprising a step of using the cutting surface of the cannula to penetrate the respective vertebra of the adjacent vertebrae (see para. 0067) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Lee Fails to disclose wherein the cutting surface is a pointed shape (claim 9).
Hoffman teaches that a cutting surface (tip at distal end 72) is a sharpened or pointed tip (see para. 0042) (Fig. 8; para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Lee such that the cutting surface is a pointed shape (claim 9), as suggested by Hoffman, as it is well-known in the art that a pointed shape is appropriate for a cutting surface.
Claims 21, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2012/0143335 A1).
Claim 21. Lee discloses a method, comprising:
inserting an implantable vertebral interbody device (device 50) between adjacent vertebrae (vertebral bodies 126 and 130; note that vertebral bodies 126 and 130 are adjacent after the removal of vertebral body 134), the implantable vertebral interbody device including an upper vertebral contacting member (see Fig. 20 inset), a lower vertebral contacting member (see Fig. 20 inset), at least one orifice (see Fig. 20 inset) passing through at least one of the upper vertebral contacting member or the lower vertebral contacting member, and a sidewall (see Fig. 20 inset) positioned between the upper vertebral contacting member and the lower vertebral contacting member, wherein the sidewall has an opening (see Fig. 20 inset);
moving a cannula (hollowing instrument 276; see para. 0067, which states that hollowing instrument 276 is passed through device 50) through the opening and the at least one orifice such that a distal portion (see Fig. 20 inset) of the cannula is positioned within one of the vertebrae, wherein at least a portion of the cannula is positioned within one of the vertebrae (see para. 0067, which states that hollowing instrument 276 is passed through device 50 to hollow out vertebral body 130); and
dispensing a stabilization material through the cannula, which is positioned in the opening and the at least one orifice, and into the one of the vertebrae (see para. 0067, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives bone cement via sleeve 280) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
[AltContent: textbox (Upper Vertebral
Contacting Member)][AltContent: textbox (Lower Vertebral
Contacting Member)][AltContent: textbox (Orifice)][AltContent: textbox (Opening)][AltContent: textbox (Sidewall)][AltContent: textbox (Distal Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Proximal End)][AltContent: textbox (Distal End)]
Claim 22. Lee discloses wherein the at least one orifice is positioned between a distal end (see Fig. 20 inset) of the implantable vertebral interbody device and a proximal end (see Fig. 20 inset) of the implantable vertebral interbody device while dispensing the stabilization material (see Fig. 20), and wherein an outer periphery (defined by the area with the largest diameter, which would be adjacent the opening as shown in Fig. 20) of the implantable vertebral interbody device is positioned inward of a periphery of a disc space between the adjacent vertebrae (see Fig. 20) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Claim 24. Lee discloses wherein the implantable vertebral interbody device is a cage (see Fig. 20), and the sidewall is connected to the upper vertebral contacting member and the lower vertebral contacting member (see Fig. 20) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Lee fails to disclose a step of withdrawing the cannula from the one of the vertebrae, wherein a portion of the stabilization material remains within the at least one orifice continuous with a mass of the stabilization material in the one of the vertebrae to mechanically couple the implantable vertebral interbody device to the one of the vertebrae (claim 21).
However, Lee teaches that the cannula is moveable relative to the implantable vertebral interbody device and that the cannula includes sharp tip (cutting tip 288) (see para. 0076) (Fig. 20; para. 0067).
Lee also teaches an alternate embodiment of a method for fusing adjacent vertebrae, the method comprising the steps of: inserting an implantable vertebral interbody device (device 50) between the adjacent vertebrae, the implantable vertebral interbody device comprising: an opening (opening at location of flexible trocar 166 as shown in Fig. 8) through the sidewall, at least one orifice (opening where device 50 is in contact with vertebral body 130 as shown in Figs. 8-10) passing through an upper vertebral contacting member (surface in contact with vertebral body 130 as shown in Figs. 8-10) of the body; dispensing a stabilization material (PMMA 170) through the opening and orifice (see para. 0054, which states that the cavity in vertebral body 130 receives PMMA 170; see also Figs. 8-10), wherein a portion of the stabilization material remains within the orifice continuous with a mass of the stabilization material in the vertebra to mechanically couple the implantable vertebral interbody device to the vertebra (see Fig. 10) to provide for stabilization of the vertebrae (see paras. 0003-0004) (Fig. 8-10; paras. 0003-0004 and 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by withdrawing the cannula from the one of the vertebrae (claim 21) in order to avoid leaving a sharp surgical instrument that is not in a fixed position relative to the body of the device within the patient after the completion of the surgical procedure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee such that a portion of the stabilization material remains within the at least one orifice continuous with a mass of the stabilization material in the one of the vertebrae to mechanically couple the implantable vertebral interbody device to the one of the vertebrae (claim 21), as suggested by an alternate embodiment of Lee, to provide for stabilization of the vertebrae.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Wensel have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed October 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to Applicant’s Interview Summary (see pg. 8) and Applicant’s remarks regarding Lee (see pg. 10), the Examiner disagrees that the proposed amendments to claims 1 and 21 overcome Lee. As stated in the Interview (see Examiner’s Interview Summary mailed on September 11, 2026), Lee is not overcome as a reference because it can be used in a 103 rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773