DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Amendments to the specification and the claims 1, 7-9, 16, and 20, filed on 10 November 2025, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10 November 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12,150,264 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Answers to Applicants' Arguments
Applicants' arguments in the response filed 10 November 2025, regarding the objections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn in view of the applicants' arguments and amendments to the claims and specification.
Applicants' arguments in the response filed 10 November 2025, regarding the 35 U.S.C. §112 rejections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicants' arguments and amendments to the claims.
Applicants' arguments in the response filed 10 November 2025, regarding the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicants' arguments and amendments to the claims. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of Cramer et al. (DE 102004054931 A1) as disclosed below.
New and Repeated Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With Regards to Claims 16-20: Instant claim 16 recites the limitation --a non-metallic material [...] and contacting the metal interface-- in lines 12 to 13. Claim 16 also recites that --the melt interface defined by the titanium portion and the aluminum portion and extending a length of the engagement feature-- in lines 10 to 11. While the instant specification provides support for the melt interface including a layer of hardened flux of the exterior metal disposed on a portion of the interior metal (figures 4A to 7C, [0006], [0051]-[0067] of the published specification), wherein said "non-metallic material" would be indirectly contacting the melt interface via the layer of hardened flux, but would not be directly contacting the melt interface. In that the term "contacting" implies a direct connection, the instant specification is silent with regards towards an actual recitation of said non-metallic material contacting said melt interface. Therefore, it is the decision of the examiner that the claim fails the written description requirement.
Claims 17-20, which depend upon claim 16, are rejected for the same reasons as recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodhull et al. (US 2013/0321237 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (CN 110662377A) and Cramer et al. (DE 102004054931 A1).
Regarding Claim 16: Woodhull discloses a portable electronic device (ref. #10) comprising a body (ref. #11) incorporating a display (ref. #12), the display including a cover or cover glass (ref. #14) that is operably coupled to a frame, housing, or enclosure (ref. #16), wherein the enclosure can be made from a metallic material (figure 1, [0003], [0021], and [0026]-[0029] of Woodhull). Woodhull also discloses a subassembly (ref. #40) that includes the enclosure (ref. #16), wherein the enclosure includes a first enclosure section (ref. #42) coupled to a second enclosure section (ref. #44) and the second enclosure section is coupled to a third enclosure section (ref. #46) (figure 2 and [0034]-[0035] of Woodhull). It is also disclosed by Woodhull that an outer periphery component (ref. #100) of an electronic device is assembled from a top section (ref. #110), a center section (ref. #120), and a bottom section (ref. #130), corresponding to the first enclosure section, the second enclosure section, and the third enclosure section, respectively, wherein the outer periphery component forms an exterior, peripheral surface of the electronic device, and wherein coupling members (ref. #114 and #124) formed from high-strength plastic (e.g., polyarylether ketone [PAEK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) exist at interfaces to mechanically couple individual section together (figures 2, 3, [0039], and [0044]-[0045] of Woodhull). (Note: In the instant case, said coupling members of high-strength plastic are considered equivalent to the claimed "non-metallic material".)
It is further disclosed by Woodhull that each section (ref. #110, #120, and #130) can be formed from conductive metals (e.g., aluminum) ([0043] of Woodhull). Woodhull further discloses that one or more of section (ref. #120), coupling member (ref. #114), and section (ref. #110) can include one or more retention holes (ref. #860) formed therethrough, that a threaded insert (ref. #870) is positioned within and retained by retention holes, that an adhesive can be used to retain the threaded insert within retention holes, that the threaded insert can be formed of titanium, and that the threaded insert is suitable for receiving and gripping screws (ref. #880) (figures 8 to 9B, [0071]-[0073], and [0075] of Woodhull). Woodhull goes on to disclose that the coupling member (ref. #114) can interface with sidewall locking mechanisms (ref. #151 to #154) and edge locking mechanisms (ref. #155 to #157) with sidewall interface features (ref. #141 to #144) and edge interface features (ref. #145 to #147), respectively, and wherein coupling member (ref. #114) can include fastener through-holes (ref. #148 and #149) that line up with holes and or inserts in seconds (ref. #110) such that screws or other fasteners can be used to secure coupling member (ref. #114) to section (ref. #110) (figures 6, 8 to 9B, [0060]-[0061], [0073], and [0075]-[0077] of Woodhull). (Note: In the instant case, the sidewall locking mechanisms (ref. #151 to #154), edge locking mechanisms (ref. #155 to #157), fastener through-holes (ref. #148 and #149), and one or more retention holes (ref. #860) with threaded inserts (ref. #870) can be considered equivalent to the claimed "recessed feature" and/or "engagement feature".)
Specifically, Woodhull provides for --a housing component for an electronic device, comprising: a part comprising: a portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion defining: an internal surface opposite the external surface; and an engagement feature extending into the aluminum portion from the internal surface; and a non-metallic material coupled to the part and extending into the engagement feature--.
Woodhull fails to disclose --a part comprising: a titanium portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion secured to the titanium portion--.
Zhu teaches a shell/housing of an electronic product, the shell comprising a frame and back cover, wherein at least part of the frame includes an outer layer and an inner layer combined with the outer layer, the inner surface of the inner layer faces the interior of the frame, and the outer surface of the outer layer is away from the inner surface of the inner layer to constitute the outer surface of the frame, wherein the material of the outer layer can be titanium, and the material of the inner layer can be aluminum, and wherein the back cover is arranged on the bottom surface of the frame and combined thereto ([0002] and [0010] of Zhu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the shell/housing of Zhu with the housing component disclosed by Woodhull in order to have --a part comprising: a titanium portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion secured to the titanium portion--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the shell/housing of Zhu with the housing component disclosed by Woodhull, from the stand-point of overcoming the problem of existing terminal device shells made of one material of insufficient processing performance and usage performance and to have a shortened processing process ([0009] of Zhu). (In the instant case, Zhu discloses a shell formed from an outer layer of titanium and an inner layer of aluminum, which when combined with the housing of Woodhull would result in at least: the housing sidewall comprising an inner layer of aluminum facing the interior of the housing; and the housing sidewall comprising an outer layer of titanium facing the environment that is directly affixed to the inner layer of aluminum.)
Woodhull in view of Zhu fails to disclose --the engagement feature defined by a melt interface, the melt interface defined by the titanium portion and the aluminum portion and extending a length of the engagement feature; and a non-metallic material contacting the melt interface--.
Cramer discloses joining plate-shaped workpieces, preferably sheet metal, by local hot forming, carried out by flow hole forming of both joining components resulting in a material-to-material bond of the sheets (ref. #2 and #3) via frictional heat, leading to formation of a common through-hole at the contact zone (ref. #5) (figure 1, [0001], [0006], and [0008]-[0012] of Cramer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the through-hole of Cramer with the engagement feature of the housing disclosed by Woodhull in view of Zhu in order to have --the engagement feature defined by a melt interface, the melt interface defined by the titanium portion and the aluminum portion and extending a length of the engagement feature; and a non-metallic material contacting the melt interface--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the through-hole of Cramer with the engagement feature of the housing disclosed by Woodhull in view of Zhu, from the stand-point of joining parts together at the location wherein a through-hole is formed through the two plates (figure 1, [0001], [0006], and [0008]-[0012] of Cramer). (In the instant case, the functional slot of Zhu and one or more retention holes of Woodhull would be formed according to the teachings of Cramer, such localized bonding occurs around the perimeter of the through-hole; which would result in the melt interface as claimed.)
Regarding Claim 17: Woodhull in view of Zhu and Cramer discloses that the engagement feature extends into the titanium portion (figure 6 and [0060]-[0061] of Woodhull).
Regarding Claim 18: Woodhull in view of Zhu and Cramer discloses that the non-metallic material contacts the aluminum portion and the titanium portion (figure 6 and [0060]-[0061] of Woodhull). (In the instant case, since the engagement feature would extend into both the aluminum and titanium, wherein the titanium is an extension of the aluminum taught by Woodhull. It would follow that the non-metallic portion would likewise contact the titanium.)
Regarding Claim 19: Woodhull in view of Zhu and Cramer discloses that the non-metallic material comprises a polymer (e.g., polyarylether ketone [PAEK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) ([0044]-[0045] of Woodhull).
Regarding Claim 20: Woodhull in view of Zhu and Cramer discloses that the polymer comprises plastic (e.g., high-strength plastic of polyarylether ketone [PAEK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) ([0044]-[0045] of Woodhull).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodhull et al. (US 2013/0321237 A1) in view of Serafin et al. (US 6,051,327 A), Non-Patent Literature No. 1 ("Corrosion, Part 1: What Galvanic Means") (referred to herein as "McDonald"), and Cramer et al. (DE 102004054931 A1).
Regarding Claim 16: Woodhull discloses a portable electronic device (ref. #10) comprising a body (ref. #11) incorporating a display (ref. #12), the display including a cover or cover glass (ref. #14) that is operably coupled to a frame, housing, or enclosure (ref. #16), wherein the enclosure can be made from a metallic material (figure 1, [0003], [0021], and [0026]-[0029] of Woodhull). Woodhull also discloses a subassembly (ref. #40) that includes the enclosure (ref. #16), wherein the enclosure includes a first enclosure section (ref. #42) coupled to a second enclosure section (ref. #44) and the second enclosure section is coupled to a third enclosure section (ref. #46) (figure 2 and [0034]-[0035] of Woodhull). It is also disclosed by Woodhull that an outer periphery component (ref. #100) of an electronic device is assembled from a top section (ref. #110), a center section (ref. #120), and a bottom section (ref. #130), corresponding to the first enclosure section, the second enclosure section, and the third enclosure section, respectively, wherein the outer periphery component forms an exterior, peripheral surface of the electronic device, and wherein coupling members (ref. #114 and #124) formed from high-strength plastic (e.g., polyarylether ketone [PAEK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) exist at interfaces to mechanically couple individual section together (figures 2, 3, [0039], and [0044]-[0045] of Woodhull). (Note: In the instant case, said coupling members of high-strength plastic are considered equivalent to the claimed "non-metallic portion" {instant claim 1} and "non-metallic material" {instant claim 16}.)
It is further disclosed by Woodhull that each section (ref. #110, #120, and #130) can be formed from conductive metals (e.g., aluminum) ([0043] of Woodhull). Woodhull further discloses that one or more of section (ref. #120), coupling member (ref. #114), and section (ref. #110) can include one or more retention holes (ref. #860) formed therethrough, that the interior surface (ref. #860i) of retention holes can be substantially continuous and smooth, and that a threaded insert (ref. #870) is positioned within and retained by retention holes, and that an adhesive can be used to retain the threaded insert within retention holes, and that the threaded insert can be formed of titanium (figures 8 to 9B, [0071]-[0073], and [0075] of Woodhull). Woodhull goes on to disclose that the coupling member (ref. #114) can interface with sidewall locking mechanisms (ref. #151 to #154) and edge locking mechanisms (ref. #155 to #157) with sidewall interface features (ref. #141 to #144) and edge interface features (ref. #145 to #147), respectively, and wherein coupling member (ref. #114) can include fastener through-holes (ref. #148 and #149) that line up with holes and or inserts in seconds (ref. #110) such that screws or other fasteners can be used to secure coupling member (ref. #114) to section (ref. #110) (figures 6, 8 to 9B, [0060]-[0061], [0073], and [0075]-[0077] of Woodhull). Specifically, Woodhull provides for --a housing sidewall of a portable electronic device, comprising: an elongate clad material comprising: an external surface of the portable electronic device; aluminum defining an internal surface of the portable electronic device; a recessed feature defined by the aluminum; and a non-metallic portion coupled the aluminum at the recessed feature-- {instant claim 1} and --a housing component for an electronic device, comprising: a part comprising: a portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion defining: an internal surface opposite the external surface; and an engagement feature extending into the aluminum portion from the internal surface; and a non-metallic material coupled to the part and extending into the engagement feature-- {instant claim 16}.
Woodhull fails to disclose --titanium defining an external surface of the portable electronic device; aluminum secured to the titanium; a recessed feature defined by the titanium and the aluminum; and a non-metallic portion coupled to the titanium and the aluminum at the recessed feature-- {instant claim 1} and --a part comprising: a titanium portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion secured to the titanium portion-- {instant claim 16}.
Serafin discloses a non-corrosive metal laminated on a aluminum, wherein the non-corrosive metal can be a metal with greater corrosion resistance than either aluminum or ordinary carbon steel in a particular environment of concern ([Col. 2: li. 27-41] and [Col. 2: li. 62 to Col. 4: li. 1] of Serafin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the laminate of Serafin with the housing sidewall/component disclosed by Woodhull in order to have --titanium defining an external surface of the portable electronic device; aluminum secured to the titanium; a recessed feature defined by the titanium and the aluminum; and a non-metallic portion coupled to the titanium and the aluminum at the recessed feature-- {instant claim 1} and --a part comprising: a titanium portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion secured to the titanium portion-- {instant claim 16}. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the laminate of Serafin with the housing sidewall/component of Woodhull, from the stand-point of providing a non-corrosive metal on an aluminum lamination product having lighter weight and less coast than a sheet product of the non-corrosive metal of the same thickness as the laminated product ([Col. 2: li. 32-36] of Serafin). (In the instant case, the non-corrosive metal would be applied to the outer surface of the aluminum housing.)
Woodhull in view of Serafin failed to disclose that the non-corrosive metal is titanium.
McDonald discloses non-corrosive metals, wherein titanium and its alloys are less susceptible to corrosive attack ([Pg. 2] of McDonald). (In the instant case, titanium is shown to be of greater corrosion resistance than aluminum and steel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated titanium as the non-corrosive metal of the housing sidewall/component disclosed by Woodhull in view of Serafin in order to have --titanium defining an external surface of the portable electronic device; aluminum secured to the titanium; a recessed feature defined by the titanium and the aluminum; and a non-metallic portion coupled to the titanium and the aluminum at the recessed feature-- {instant claim 1} and --a part comprising: a titanium portion defining a curved external surface; an aluminum portion secured to the titanium portion-- {instant claim 16}. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated titanium as the non-corrosive metal of the housing sidewall/component disclosed by Woodhull in view of Serafin, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. MPEP §2144.07. (In the instant case, titanium is shown by McDonald to be of greater corrosion resistance than aluminum and steel as desired by Serafin. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have sufficient motivation to choose titanium as the non-corrosive metal.)
Woodhull in view of Serafin and McDonald fails to disclose --the engagement feature defined by a melt interface, the melt interface defined by the titanium portion and the aluminum portion and extending a length of the engagement feature; and a non-metallic material contacting the melt interface--.
Cramer discloses joining plate-shaped workpieces, preferably sheet metal, by local hot forming, carried out by flow hole forming of both joining components resulting in a material-to-material bond of the sheets (ref. #2 and #3) via frictional heat, leading to formation of a common through-hole at the contact zone (ref. #5) (figure 1, [0001], [0006], and [0008]-[0012] of Cramer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the through-hole of Cramer with the engagement feature of the housing disclosed by Woodhull in view of Serafin and McDonald in order to have --the engagement feature defined by a melt interface, the melt interface defined by the titanium portion and the aluminum portion and extending a length of the engagement feature; and a non-metallic material contacting the melt interface--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the through-hole of Cramer with the engagement feature of the housing disclosed by Woodhull in view of Serafin and McDonald, from the stand-point of joining parts together at the location wherein a through-hole is formed through the two plates (figure 1, [0001], [0006], and [0008]-[0012] of Cramer). (In the instant case, the one or more retention holes of Woodhull would be formed according to the teachings of Cramer, such localized bonding occurs around the perimeter of the through-hole; which would result in the melt interface as claimed.)
Regarding Claim 17: Woodhull in view of Serafin, McDonald, and Cramer discloses that the engagement feature extends into the titanium portion (figure 6 and [0060]-[0061] of Woodhull). (In the instant case, the engagement feature would extend into both the aluminum and titanium, since the combination of Woodhull and Serafin would have the titanium portion be an extension of the aluminum taught by Woodhull.)
Regarding Claim 18: Woodhull in view of Serafin, McDonald, and Cramer discloses that the non-metallic material contacts the aluminum portion and the titanium portion (figure 6 and [0060]-[0061] of Woodhull). (In the instant case, since the engagement feature would extend into both the aluminum and titanium, wherein the titanium is an extension of the aluminum taught by Woodhull. It would follow that the non-metallic portion would likewise contact the titanium.)
Regarding Claim 19: Woodhull in view of Serafin, McDonald, and Cramer discloses that the non-metallic material comprises a polymer (e.g., polyarylether ketone [PEAK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) ([0044]-[0045] of Woodhull).
Regarding Claim 20: Woodhull in view of Serafin, McDonald, and Cramer discloses that the polymer comprises plastic (e.g., high-strength plastic of polyarylether ketone [PEAK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) ([0044]-[0045] of Woodhull).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to the closest prior art of record Woodhull et al. (US 2013/0321237 A1): Woodhull teaches --a housing sidewall-- {instant claim 1} and --a housing-- {instant claim 9}, wherein Woodhull's housing and housing sidewall further comprises the structure --a portable electronic device (ref. #10) comprising a body (ref. #11) incorporating a display (ref. #12), the display including a cover or cover glass (ref. #14) that is operably coupled to a frame, housing, or enclosure (ref. #16), wherein the enclosure can be made from a metallic material; a subassembly (ref. #40) that includes the enclosure (ref. #16), wherein the enclosure includes a first enclosure section (ref. #42) coupled to a second enclosure section (ref. #44) and the second enclosure section is coupled to a third enclosure section (ref. #46); an outer periphery component (ref. #100) of an electronic device is assembled from a top section (ref. #110), a center section (ref. #120), and a bottom section (ref. #130), corresponding to the first enclosure section, the second enclosure section, and the third enclosure section, respectively, wherein the outer periphery component forms an exterior, peripheral surface of the electronic device, and wherein coupling members (ref. #114 and #124) formed from high-strength plastic (e.g., polyarylether ketone [PAEK] or polyether ether ketone [PEEK]) exist at interfaces to mechanically couple individual section together; wherein each section (ref. #110, #120, and #130) can be formed from conductive metals (e.g., aluminum); wherein one or more of section (ref. #120), coupling member (ref. #114), and section (ref. #110) can include one or more retention holes (ref. #860) formed therethrough, that a threaded insert (ref. #870) is positioned within and retained by retention holes, that an adhesive can be used to retain the threaded insert within retention holes, that the threaded insert can be formed of titanium, and that the threaded insert is suitable for receiving and gripping screws (ref. #880); wherein the coupling member (ref. #114) can interface with sidewall locking mechanisms (ref. #151 to #154) and edge locking mechanisms (ref. #155 to #157) with sidewall interface features (ref. #141 to #144) and edge interface features (ref. #145 to #147), respectively, and wherein coupling member (ref. #114) can include fastener through-holes (ref. #148 and #149) that line up with holes and or inserts in seconds (ref. #110) such that screws or other fasteners can be used to secure coupling member (ref. #114) to section (ref. #110)-- (figures 1 to 3, 6, 8 to 9B, [0003], [0021], [0026]-[0029], [0034]-[0035], [0039], [0043]-[0045], [0060]-[0061], [0071]-[0073], and [0075]-[0077] of Woodhull). However, Woodhull does not teach --titanium defining an external surface of the portable electronic device; and aluminum secured to the titanium-- along with --a melt interface defined by the titanium and the aluminum; a recessed feature defined by the melt interface, the melt interface having an axis perpendicular to the external surface and extending a length of the recessed feature; and a non-metallic portion coupled to the melt interface at the recessed feature-- {instant claim 1}, or --a sidewall comprising: titanium defining an external surface; and aluminum secured directly to the titanium-- along with --an engagement feature defined by a melt interface, the melt interface having an axis perpendicular to the clad interface and extending a length of the engagement feature; and a polymeric portion coupled to the melt interface at the engagement feature-- {instant claim 9}. Therefore, the claims as written overcome the prior art of record. Furthermore, no combination of Woodhull with any other prior art of record would have provided sufficient motivation for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Woodhull in such a way as to meet the claimed invention. It is these teachings that makes the claim(s) allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781