DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to applicant’s submissions filed on 1/5/2026. This is also a first action on the merits. Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 13-19 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I: Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 05 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05 January 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02 October 2024, 17 January 2025 and 29 April 2025 were filed. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe et al. "Abe" (US 2021/0149659 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abe teaches
An application display method see at least FIG.’s 1 & 3 and [0033]-[0034] where a vehicle program rewrite system 1 is provided which includes a vehicle system 4 provided in the vehicle and a display terminal 5. The display terminal 5 consists of an in-vehicle display 7 configured to display and provide a navigation function for the vehicle, comprising:
displaying a first interface of a first application see at least FIG. 4 and [0031] where map data used by a map application (i.e., “first application”) is rewritten by wire or wirelessly. As illustrated in FIG. 4 and described in [0054]-[0055], the in-vehicle display 7 displays a navigation screen 101 (i.e., “first interface”) which includes a campaign notice icon 101a (see bottom right of FIG. 4; provided below) indicating that an update of the application program has been issued; and
detecting a first operation in the first interface, wherein the first operation is used to display a second interface of the first application see at least FIG. 4 and [0054]-[0056] where the user can operate the campaign notice icon 101a (i.e., “first operation”) and a CGW 14 pops up a campaign notice screen 102 on the navigation screen 101, as shown in FIG. 5. FIG. 5 corresponds to an illustration of the second interface of the first application, the second interface comprises a first sub-interface and a second sub-interface, the first sub-interface is used to display a running status of a target vehicle on an electronic map see at least FIG. 5 which is an example of the second interface. As illustrated in FIG. 5, an electronic map of the surrounding area of the navigation device which includes a location, position and direction of the vehicle is displayed, and the second sub-interface is used to provide an upgrade function see at least FIG. 5 and [0056] where the campaign notice screen 102 which displays a guidance “software update available” along with a “CONFIRM” button 102a and a “LATER” button 102b in which the user may operate to perform the upgrade function. The campaign notice screen 102 corresponds to the second sub-interface used to provide an upgrade function.
Regarding claim 2, Abe teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein the running status of the target vehicle on the electronic map comprises location information of the target vehicle see at least FIG. 5 where the location of the vehicle is displayed via the cursor/indicator shown in FIG. 5. FIG. 5 is also annotated and provided below with an arrow pointing to the location of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Abe teaches
An electronic device see at least FIG. 1, [0031] and [0033] in-vehicle electronic control system, comprising a display see at least [0033]-[0034] in-vehicle display 7, a memory see at least [0096], one or more processors see at least [0096], a first application see at least FIG. 4 and [0031] where map data used by a map application (i.e., “first application”) is rewritten by wire or wirelessly., and one or more programs see at least [0096], wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory see at least [0096], and when the one or more processors execute the one or more programs see at least [0096], the electronic device is enabled to perform operations comprising:
displaying a first interface of the first application see at least FIG. 4 and [0031] where map data used by a map application (i.e., “first application”) is rewritten by wire or wirelessly. As illustrated in FIG. 4 and described in [0054]-[0055], the in-vehicle display 7 displays a navigation screen 101 which includes a campaign notice icon 101a (see bottom right of FIG. 4) indicating that an update of the application program has been issued; and
detecting a first operation in the first interface, wherein the first operation is used to display a second interface of the first application see at least FIG. 4 and [0054]-[0056] where the user can operate the campaign notice icon 101a (i.e., “first operation”) and a CGW 14 pops up a campaign notice screen 102 on the navigation screen 101, as shown in FIG. 5. FIG. 5 corresponds to an illustration of the second interface of the first application, the second interface comprises a first sub-interface and a second sub-interface, the first sub-interface is used to display a running status of a target vehicle on an electronic map see at least FIG. 5 which is an example of the second interface. As displayed in FIG. 5, an electronic map of the surrounding area of the navigation device which includes a location, position and direction of the vehicle is displayed, and the second sub-interface is used to provide an upgrade function see at least FIG. 5 and [0056] where the campaign notice screen 102 which displays a guidance “software update available” along with a “CONFIRM” button 102a and a “LATER” button 102b in which the user may operate to perform the upgrade function. The campaign notice screen 102 corresponds to the second sub-interface used to provide an upgrade function.
Claim 8 comprises substantially similar technical features as Claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same reasonings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 9, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Ma et al. (US 2024/0007539 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Abe does not teach
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first sub-interface is further used to display or prompt an upgrade area, and the upgrade area is used to define an area in which the upgrade function can be performed.
However, Ma teaches that it is known to provide the method wherein the first sub-interface is further used to display or prompt an upgrade area, and the upgrade area is used to define an area in which the upgrade function can be performed. See at least FIG. 8, [0201] and [0231] where the vehicle-mounted terminal device may display a “safe area” on the electronic map in which the safe area represents an area in which upgrading is allowed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Abe to incorporate the teachings of Ma and provide the method wherein the first sub-interface is further used to display or prompt an upgrade area, and the upgrade area is used to define an area in which the upgrade function can be performed. In doing so, this improves the overall safety of the user of the vehicle and nearby objects by ensuring the vehicle is located in a safe area before performing the upgrade function thereby preventing the vehicle from performing the upgrade in a predetermined dangerous area (such as a highway, an urban expressway, etc.). “Upgrading in the dangerous area may bring a comparatively high risk to traffic safety and driving of the vehicle” [0205].
Regarding claim 4, Abe in view of Ma teaches
The method according to claim 3, wherein the upgrade area is predefined or preconfigured see at least Ma [0201].
Regarding claim 6, Abe in view Ma teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying feedback information, wherein the feedback information indicates that the target vehicle cannot be upgraded or that the target vehicle does not meet an upgrade requirement see at least Ma FIG. 11 and [0243] where a warning notification may be displayed which indicates that the vehicle is not suitable for upgrading.
Claim 9 comprises substantially similar technical features as Claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same reasonings.
Claim 10 comprises substantially similar technical features as Claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same reasonings.
Claim 12 comprises substantially similar technical features as Claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same reasonings.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Ma as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Fujita et al. (JP2004249914A).
Regarding claim 5, Abe in view Ma does not teach
The method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
detecting a second operation, wherein the second operation is used to select the upgrade area on the electronic map or to enter location information of the upgrade area.
However, Fujita teaches that it is known to provide
The method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
detecting a second operation, wherein the second operation is used to select the upgrade area on the electronic map or to enter location information of the upgrade area see at least [0020]-[0025], more specifically [0024]-[0025] (see page 5 of the copy of the foreign reference document dated 04/29/2025 and provided by Applicant), where “the user can also use the display means 150 to select landmark points on a map as stop point data stored in the stop point database 112 and at which the vehicle will not move for a certain period of time.” In other words, the user may use the display to select a location in which the vehicle will stop for a certain period of time in order to perform the upgrade.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Abe in view of Ma to incorporate the teachings of Fujita and provide the method wherein the method further comprises: detecting a second operation, wherein the second operation is used to select the upgrade area on the electronic map or to enter location information of the upgrade area. In doing so, this provides the user of the vehicle with the convenience and freedom of inputting their preference of an area they desire to park the vehicle for a certain period of time in order to perform the vehicle software upgrade. For instance, the user of the vehicle may prefer to park the vehicle inside of a shopping center where they could get out and shop rather than on the side of the road.
Claim 11 comprises substantially similar technical features as Claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same reasonings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
David et al. (US 2020/0174778 A1) discloses systems and methods for using a mobile device to manage an over-the-air vehicle software upgrade. The mobile device may receive messages indicating one or more vehicle state conditions from a server computing system and present an interface for initiating the software update in response to determining that the vehicle state conditions indicate that the vehicle is ready for a software update.
Roy et al. (US 2015/0191122 A1) discloses embodiments related to intelligent scheduling and presentation of notifications regarding an available update/upgrade for an in-vehicle computing system.
Dickerson et al. (US 2015/0169311 A1) discloses a method for scheduling a software update of a vehicle based on usage patterns.
/B.R.P./02/21/2026 Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665