DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
pg. 9, last paragraph, third line, “effecting” should be replaced with –effected--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Last line, “said inward” should be replaced with –an outward— (see disclosure at pg. 9, first paragraph, last line),
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2, “one” should be replaced with –two--, and,
Line 2, the first incidence of “portion” should be replaced with –portions--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1, “outer” should be replaced with –deployable platform--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Last line, --in-- should be inserted between the last incidence of “portion” and “a”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Last line, “outer portion” should be replaced with –deployable platform portion--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 2, the term "typically" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 3-7, the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12, the term "may include" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN218780428).
1: A maintenance platform (Figs. 1-4) for a crushing machine comprising a crushing head located within an outer structure, the maintenance platform comprising: at least one outer portion (2) that is configured to be removably located on the outer structure ([n0031] of MT: “As shown in Figures 3 and 4, the mechanical platform includes a frame 2 built around the water turbine 1. The frame 2 is assembled from supporting steel pipes 5 and corresponding angle irons 6”); and at least one deployable platform portion (3) that is movable with respect to said at least one outer portion between a deployed state (Figs. 1-3) in which said at least one deployable platform portion (3) extends from said at least one outer portion (2) in an inward direction to provide a platform for accessing (1) the crushing head, and a non-deployed state (Fig. 4) in which said at least one deployable platform portion (3) is relatively retracted in said inward direction.
2: The maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein said at least one deployable platform portion (3) is pivotable with respect to said at least one outer portion ([n0033]: “the outer edge of the pedal 3 is hinged to the frame 2”) between said deployed state (Figs. 1-3) and said non-deployed state (Fig. 4), said at least one deployable platform portion typically being pivotably coupled to said at least one outer portion ([n0033]: “the outer edge of the pedal 3 is hinged to the frame 2”).
3. The maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein said maintenance platform is annular (Fig. 1) or semi-annular or part-annular in shape, and wherein, preferably, said at least one outer portion (2) is annular or semi-annular or part-annular in shape with respect to a notional central point (end of lead line from 1 in Fig. 2), said inward direction being a direction from said at least one outer portion towards said notional central point (Fig. 1), and wherein said at least one deployable platform portion (3) is movable towards said notional central point to adopt said deployed state (Figs. 1-3) and away from said notional central point to adopt said non-deployed state (Fig. 4).
4. The maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein one or more respective deployable platform portion (3) is coupled, preferably pivotably coupled, to a respective one of said at least one outer portion (2, [n0031] of MT: “The arrayed angle irons 6 divide the annular frames into n sector areas (n is greater than or equal to 8)” and [n0032] of MT: “Each sector is covered with a trapezoidal tread 3, the size of which is equivalent to the area of the sector”).
5. The maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein said maintenance platform (2,3) is annular (Fig. 1), said at least one outer portion comprises a single annular outer portion ([n0031]: “the mechanical platform includes a frame 2 built around the water turbine 1”), and said at least one deployable platform portion preferably comprises more than one deployable platform portion (3, Fig. 1), each deployable platform portion preferably being coupled, more preferably pivotably coupled, to the outer portion ([n0033]: “the outer edge of the pedal 3 is hinged to the frame 2”).
6. The maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein said maintenance platform is annular , said at least one outer portion comprises a plurality of outer portions (2, [n0031]: “The arrayed angle irons 6 divide the annular frames into n sector areas (n is greater than or equal to 8)”), each outer portion being semi-annular or part-annular in shape (Fig. 1), and said at least one deployable platform portion comprises at least one respective deployable platform portion for each outer portion (3, [n0032]: “Each sector is covered with a trapezoidal tread 3, the size of which is equivalent to the area of the sector”) each deployable platform portion preferably being coupled, more preferably pivotably coupled, to the respective outer portion ([n0033]: “the outer edge of the pedal 3 is hinged to the frame 2”).
9. The maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein the, or each, deployable platform (3) portion is coplanar with, or substantially coplanar with, the respective outer portion (2) when in the deployed state (see Fig. 2).
11. The maintenance platform as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one outer portion (2) and said at least one deployable platform portion (3) are concentrically arranged (Fig. 1) with said at least one platform portion (3) being located inwardly of said at least one outer portion (2) when said at least one platform portion is in the deployed state (Figs. 1 and 2).
12. The maintenance platform as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one locating formation (5, Fig. 2) is provided at the underside of said at least one outer portion (2), and is configured to fit with, and/or be to engageable with, said outer structure (note the unlabeled structure underneath 5 in Fig. 2) when said at least one outer portion (2) is located on said at least one outer structure, and wherein said at least one locating formation may include at least one locating formation for preventing or restricting lateral movement of said at least one outer portion, and/or at least one locating formation for preventing or restricting rotational movement of said at least one outer portion ([0031]: “Supporting steel pipes 5 are welded to the bottom of the two annular frames. The two annular frames are connected and fixed by welding angle irons 6. The welded angle irons 6 are evenly arranged in a circumferential array between the two annular frames. The arrayed angle irons 6 divide the annular frames into n sector areas (n is greater than or equal to 8)”).
13. The maintenance platform as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one deployable platform portion (2) includes at least one engagement surface (see the underside of the deployable platform portion 2 shown in Fig. 4), and wherein at least one corresponding engagement surface is provided on the respective outer portion (2, see the frame members of the outer portion in Fig. 4), the arrangement being such that, when the respective deployable platform portion is deployed, the respective engagement surfaces of the platform portion (3) and respective outer portion (2) engage with one another to hold the platform portion a deployed position (Fig. 2).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Szczelina (WO2020200860).
14: A crushing machine assembly (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a crushing head (10) located within an outer structure (14); and a maintenance platform (81, 25, Figs. 1 and 2) comprising at least one outer portion (25) and at least one deployable platform portion (18) that is movable (via pivot axis 21) with respect to said at least one outer portion (25) between a deployed state (Fig. 2) and a non-deployed state (Fig. 1), wherein said at least one outer portion (25) is located on said outer structure (14, [0033]: “On the underside (in the open position) or on the outside (in the In the closed position) of the flap 18, there is a support 25 with which the flap 18 rests in the open position on an upper horizontal surface of a longitudinally approximately rectangular support 26, which with its surface facing the crusher chamber 11 forms the lower area 20 of the rear wall 14 of the crusher chamber”), and wherein, in said deployed state said at least one deployable platform portion (18) extends from said at least one outer portion (25, Fig. 2) in an inward direction towards said crushing head to provide a platform for accessing the crushing head (10, Fig. 2), and in said non-deployed state, said at least one outer portion (see claim objection above, it appears Applicant intended outer portion to be deployable platform portion here) is relatively retracted (Fig. 1) with respect to said crushing head (10, Fig. 2).
15. The crushing machine assembly of claim 14, wherein said at least one outer portion (25) and said at least one deployable platform portion (18) are concentrically arranged (note that outer portion 25 includes a portion extending concentrically outside the pivot axis 21 of the deployable platform portion 18, in Figs. 1 and 2) wholly or partly around the crushing head (10, Figs. 1 and 2).
16. The crushing machine assembly of claim 14, wherein said outer structure (14) comprises a rim (26, Fig. 2) that extends around (albeit not around the full circumference, but around nonetheless) said crushing head (10, Fig. 2 of Szczelina), and wherein said at least one outer portion (25, Fig. 2) is located on said rim (26), and wherein, preferably, said at least one outer portion (25) extends wholly or partly around said rim (26).
17. The crushing machine assembly as claimed in claim 14, wherein the maintenance platform is shaped and dimensioned so that, when said at least one deployable platform portion (18) is in the deployed state, an inner edge of the, or each, platform portion is located adjacent, or in contact with or not in contact with, the crushing head ([0032] of Szcelina: “A person 22, who enters the crusher room 11 through the opening 17, can stand on the flap 18 and get close to the crusher roller 10 in order to carry out work on it comfortably”).
18. The crushing machine assembly as claimed in claim 14, wherein, when said at least one deployable platform portion (18) is in the deployed state (Fig. 2), the maintenance platform (18) closes or substantially closes the top of the outer structure (14) around said crushing head ([0032]: “the flap 18 in the horizontal open position protrudes partially outwards from the line of the opening, and on the other hand, a previously lower area 23 of the flap 18 now extends a bit into the crusher chamber 11. This largely closes the previously existing gap 16 between the outer circumferential line 15 of the crusher roller 10 and the flap or opening 17 in the open horizontal position of the flap 18 according to Figure 2”).
19. The crushing machine assembly as claimed in claim 14, wherein, when said at least one deployable platform portion (18) is in the non-deployed state (Fig. 1), a gap between the crushing head (10) and the maintenance platform (18, 25) is larger than it is when said at least one deployable platform portion is in the deployed state (Fig. 2), and wherein, preferably, said crushing head (10) comprises a mantle liner, and wherein, when said at least one deployable platform portion (18) is in the non-deployed state, said gap is large enough to allow said mantle liner (mantle liner appears to be indicated by 15) to pass through ([0030]: “The rear wall 14 of the crusher chamber 11 runs parallel to the crusher roller axis 12 and at a slight distance from the outer circumferential line 15 of the crusher roller 10. Consequently, a gap 16 remains between the circumferential line 15 and the rear wall 14 of the crusher chamber 1 1. In the rear wall 14 of the crusher chamber 11 there is an opening 17 which, according to the invention, can be closed by means of a pivotable flap 18”), and wherein, preferably, when said at least one deployable platform portion is in the deployed state (Fig. 2), said gap is not large enough to allow said mantle liner to pass through.
20: The crushing machine assembly of claim 14 wherein said at least one deployable platform portion (18), or at least the respective obverse face of said at least one deployable platform portion, is horizontally disposed (Fig. 2), or substantially horizontally disposed, when in the deployed state (Fig. 2), and/or wherein said at least one outer platform portions, or at least the respective obverse face(s) of said at least one outer platform portion, is horizontally disposed, or substantially horizontally disposed, when mounted on the outer structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN218780428).
7. Wang discloses the maintenance platform of claim 1, said at least one deployable platform portion (3) comprises at least one respective deployable platform portion for the, or each, outer portion (2), each deployable platform (3) portion preferably being coupled, more preferably pivotably coupled, to the respective outer portion ([n0033]: “the outer edge of the pedal 3 is hinged to the frame 2”). Wang fails to disclose wherein said at least one outer portion comprises one (see objection above, it appears applicant intended “two” here in order for the outer portions to be semi-annular or part-annular in shape) or more outer portion, the, or each, outer portion being semi-annular or part-annular in shape. However, per MPEP 2144.04.V.C, making separable what is integral in the prior art is prima facie obvious. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein said at least one outer portion comprises one (see objection above, it appears applicant intended “two” here in order for the outer portions to be semi-annular or part-annular in shape) or more outer portion, the, or each, outer portion being semi-annular or part-annular in shape in the maintenance platform of Wang in order to render the outer portion easier to disassemble.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN218780428) in view of Stokes (US8522922).
8. Wang fails to disclose the maintenance platform of claim 1, wherein an obverse face of the, or each, outer (see claim objection above, it appears applicant intended “deployable platform” here) portion is configured to provide an outer platform portion. Stokes teaches, in the context of foldable work platforms (Fig. 1), wherein an obverse face (24, Fig. 1) of the, or each, outer (see claim objection above, it appears applicant intended “deployable platform” here) portion (26, Fig. 2) is configured to provide an outer platform portion (18, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein an obverse face of the, or each, outer (see claim objection above, it appears applicant intended “deployable platform” here) portion is configured to provide an outer platform portion in the maintenance platform of Wang according to the teachings of Stokes in order to provide workers better access to the outer circumference of the work platform.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN218780428) in view of Szczelina (WO2020200860).
10. Wang discloses the maintenance platform as claimed in claim 1, wherein an inner edge of the, or each, deployable platform portion is shaped to match the shape of a water turbine (see e.g., [n0030] of the MT of Wang). Wang fails to disclose each deployable platform portion being shaped to match shape of a crushing head so that, in use when the platform portion is deployed, the inner edge fits around the crushing head. Szczelina teaches, in the context of maintenance platforms, wherein a deployable platform portion (18, Fig. 2) is shaped to match shape of a crushing head so that, in use when the platform portion is deployed, the inner edge fits around the crushing head ([0032] of Szcelina: “A person 22, who enters the crusher room 11 through the opening 17, can stand on the flap 18 and get close to the crusher roller 10 in order to carry out work on it comfortably”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein each deployable platform portion is shaped to match shape of a crushing head so that, in use when the platform portion is deployed, the inner edge fits around the crushing head in order to use the multiple deployable platform in the maintenance platform of Wang according to the teachings of Szczelina in order to use multiple deployable platform portions to service the cone crusher head.
Conclusion
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634