Response to Amendments
The amendment and response filed on July 23, 2026, to the Non-Final Office Action dated May 13, 2026, has been entered. Claims 2, 8-9, and 12 are amended; Claims 13-16 have been added. Claims 1 - 16 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pages 6-12, filed July 23, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection based on Bolio et al (US-20090228173-A1) and VEEN et al (US-20230391352- A1)have been considered but are not persuasive since in combination the applied art continues to disclosed the invention as claimed. The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1-12 is maintained. However, newly added claims 13-16 contain allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolio et al (US-20090228173-A1)(“Bolio”) and VEEN et al (US-20230391352- A1)(“Veen”).
As per claim 1, Bolio discloses an electronic steering system for a vehicle (See Figure 1), the system comprising:
an input module configured to receive a steering command angle from a cooperative control unit of the electronic steering system (Bolio at Figure 1, steering wheel 12 and actuator 22 with control 13, and Para. [0018] which discloses the cooperation between the steering wheel 12, drive axle 18, and controller 20 to steer a vehicle:” the steering system 13 includes the steering actuator 22, which is continuously connected to the road wheels 15, and which is configured for imparting or overlaying a target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) as calculated or determined by the controller 20 in order to produce a final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) at the road wheels 15.”);
a steering angle sensor configured to detect a steering angle of a steering wheel of the vehicle (Bolio at Figure 1, sensor 16, and Para. [0017] discloses a sensor 16 for detecting the angle of the steering wheel:” sensors 16 are configured for detecting, measuring, or otherwise determining a driver-commanded or input steering angle corresponding to the angular position of the steering device 12, and represented in FIG. 1 as .delta..sub.1, as well as for transmitting the input steering angle (.delta..sub.1) to the controller 20 for use by the algorithm 100.”);
a memory (Bolio at Figure 1, program storage 100, and Para. [0015] disclosing that the steering system has access to instructions/program at 100:” steering system 13 includes an integrated control unit or controller 20 that is configured, programmed, or otherwise provided with access to a steering control method or algorithm 100.”); and
a processor operatively coupled to the input module, the steering angle sensor, and the memory, wherein the processor is configured to, when a cooperative control command angle is input from the input module (Bolio at Figure 1, processor/controller 20 is coupled to sensor 6 and steering wheel 12, and Para. [0017] disclosing that controller/processor 20 is programmed to receive inputs and modifying the inputs to steer the vehicle:” transmitting the input steering angle (.delta..sub.1) to the controller 20 for use by the algorithm 100. With respect to the steering actuator 22, the sensor or sensors 16 are configured for detecting, measuring, or otherwise determining a measured actuator angle, .delta..sub.M, a value used by the controller 20 as set forth below.”) ,
calculate a steering angle offset (Bolio at Figure 1 and Para. [0019] discloses applying a correction/offset to the sensed steering angle:” the target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) corresponds to a positive or negative desired correction angle to be applied to the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I).”) and a command angle offset (Bolio at Figure 1, command angle δT, and Para. [0019] discloses applying a correction to the command angle based on operating parameters of the vehicle:” measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) is a measurement of the actual actuator angle or correction applied by the actuator 22, which can vary slightly from the target angle (.delta..sub.T) based on various factors, such as the load on the actuator 22, temperature, etc. Therefore, it is desirable to use the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) in determining the final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) imparted to the road wheels 15.”) and then perform steering angle position control with respect to the cooperative control command angle by (Bolio at Figure 1, controller 20, and Para. [0020] discloses applying a gain factor to the steering angle and command angle to produce a steering position control at the drive axle 18:” target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) can be determined by applying a predetermined gain function, such by applying a gain factor (K) to the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I) imparted by the steering device 12. The gain factor (K) can be a function of vehicle speed and steering input angle (.delta..sub.I), or another suitable function. Therefore, the target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) is represented in equation form as .delta..sub.T=K*.delta..sub.I, with the gain factor K being a calibrated value that can be stored within the controller 20, such as in a lookup table or other data structure.”).
While disclosing that steering angle errors/offsets can be corrected by “selectively add or subtract steering angle to or from a driver steering input signal”(Para. [0006]), Bolio, however, does not explicitly disclose sequentially ramping down the control parameters like the steering and command angles.
Bolio does not disclose, but Veen discloses an offset correction through sequentially ramping down (Veen at Para. [0087] discloses ramping down the steering angle and command (pinion) angle of controlled vehicle during a time period which using broadest reasonable interpretation is considered sequentially:” reduction (or forgetting) factor can control a time period (or how long) for which the ramping down of the I-part value or accumulation parameter will occur… a steering angle (e.g., pinion angle, steering torque angle, etc.) or I-part changes sign or a value reaches x % of its initial value, etc.); any combination thereof, and/or other factors. In some cases, while the discussion above is with respect to a reduce, decrease, or ramping down of the I-part value, the I-part value may be increased or ramped up based on any of the factors, situations, or events herein.”).
Veen is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which steers a vehicle by electronically controlled steering actuator. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bolio further in view of Veen to allow for manual interaction or intervention with the vehicle by a driver which can be used as a correction to the lookahead path. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of a vehicle deviating from a lookahead path that can result in a vehicle not reaching its destination (Veen at Para. [0035]).
As per claim 2, Bolio and Veen disclose an electronic steering system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to sequentially ramp down and apply the steering angle offset during the feedback of an output value for the steering angle position control (Bolio at Figure 1, measured δm is the commanded steering angle (δF) so is the feedback of the output value, and Para. [0019] disclosing how the output value is feedback to the controller for correcting the steering angle:” final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) is the sum of the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I) and the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M), with the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) being the actual value of the calculated target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T).”).
As per claim 3, Bolio and Veen disclose an electronic steering system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to sequentially ramp down the steering angle offset and the command angle offset (Bolio at Summary of Invention, at Para. [0006]+, discloses adding or subtracting changes in order to achieve the correct steering angle:” by-wire system using an electromechanical device configured as a steering actuator in order to selectively add or subtract steering angle to or from a driver steering input signal as needed.”) and apply ramped-down offsets obtained by sequentially ramping down the steering angle offset to an output value of the steering angle position control to output the pinion angle (Bolio at Para. [0027] discloses sequentially applying a correction until the commanded steering angle is below a predetermined limit:” the algorithm 100 applies a constant value for the target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T), and holds this value until the conditions determined at step 108 indicate that the final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) no longer exceeds the saturation limit.”).
As per claim 4, Bolio and Veen disclose an electronic steering system of claim 1, wherein the steering angle offset is a difference between the cooperative control command angle and the steering angle (Bolio at Figure 1 and Para. [0019] discloses that steering angle is a function of the steering angle and the cooperation of the input and output angles at the drive axle 18:” final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) is the sum of the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I) and the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M), with the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) being the actual value of the calculated target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T).”), and the command angle offset is a difference between a variable gear ratio (VGR) command angle and the cooperative control command angle (Bolio at Figure 1, system 13, and Para. [0016] disclosing that the parameters (δM, δT, δI) are implemented through a variable gear ratio assembly:” the VGR mechanism 27 provides a mechanical gear ratio, which the steering system 13 can modify as needed under changing vehicle speeds and other dynamic operating conditions, as will be described below.”).
As per claim 5, Bolio and Veen disclose an electronic steering system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, upon input of the steering angle, output the pinion angle through tuning of a variable gear ratio (VGR) (Bolio at Para. [0016] disclosing that system 13 tunes the gear ratio to achieve a desired steer ratio:” the VGR mechanism 27 provides a mechanical gear ratio, which the steering system 13 can modify as needed under changing vehicle speeds and other dynamic operating conditions, as will be described below.”).
As per claim 6, Bolio and Veen disclose an electronic steering system of claim 1, wherein the sequentially ramping down of the steering angle offset is performed by sequentially applying a ramp-down gain from 1 to 0 (Veen at Para. [0074] discloses that the ramp down value can take different values and can range from full (1) to no-ramping (0):” if the I-part parameter value is relatively small (e.g., a value of 0.1, 0.2, or other value), the ramp down 512 can have a certain rate that can be established by the controller 518 (e.g., a rate of 0.25 meters/second (m/s) or some other rate). If the I-part is high (e.g., a value of 0.5, 0.6, or other value), the reduction 512 in the error or offset 506 can be established by the controller 518 to be a different value.”).
As per claim 7, Bolio discloses a method of controlling, with a processor, an electronic steering system for a vehicle (Figures 1 & 2)., the method comprising:
determining whether a cooperative control command angle is input from an input module of the electronic steering system (Bolio at Figure 1, steering wheel 12 and actuator 22 with control 13, and Para. [0018] which discloses the cooperation between the steering wheel 12, drive axle 18, and controller 20 to steer a vehicle:” the steering system 13 includes the steering actuator 22, which is continuously connected to the road wheels 15, and which is configured for imparting or overlaying a target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) as calculated or determined by the controller 20 in order to produce a final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) at the road wheels 15.”);
calculating a steering angle offset (Bolio at Figure 1 and Para. [0019] discloses applying a correction/offset to the sensed steering angle:” the target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) corresponds to a positive or negative desired correction angle to be applied to the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I).”) of a steering wheel of the vehicle and a command angle offset if the cooperative control command angle is input (Bolio at Figure 1, sensor 16, and Para. [0017] discloses a sensor 16 for detecting the angle of the steering wheel:” sensors 16 are configured for detecting, measuring, or otherwise determining a driver-commanded or input steering angle corresponding to the angular position of the steering device 12, and represented in FIG. 1 as .delta..sub.1, as well as for transmitting the input steering angle (.delta..sub.1) to the controller 20 for use by the algorithm 100.”); and
outputting a pinion angle of a wheel of the vehicle by performing steering angle position control (Bolio at Figure 1, processor/controller 20 is coupled to sensor 6 and steering wheel 12, and Para. [0017] disclosing that controller/processor 20 is programmed to receive inputs and modifying the inputs to steer the vehicle:” transmitting the input steering angle (.delta..sub.1) to the controller 20 for use by the algorithm 100. With respect to the steering actuator 22, the sensor or sensors 16 are configured for detecting, measuring, or otherwise determining a measured actuator angle, .delta..sub.M, a value used by the controller 20 as set forth below.” Further, Bolio at Figure 1, command angle δT, and Para. [0019] discloses applying a correction to the command angle based on operating parameters of the vehicle:” measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) is a measurement of the actual actuator angle or correction applied by the actuator 22, which can vary slightly from the target angle (.delta..sub.T) based on various factors, such as the load on the actuator 22, temperature, etc. Therefore, it is desirable to use the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) in determining the final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) imparted to the road wheels 15.”) with respect to the cooperative control command angle while (Bolio at Figure 1, controller 20, and Para. [0020] discloses applying a gain factor to the steering angle and command angle to produce a steering position control at the drive axle 18:” target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) can be determined by applying a predetermined gain function, such by applying a gain factor (K) to the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I) imparted by the steering device 12. The gain factor (K) can be a function of vehicle speed and steering input angle (.delta..sub.I), or another suitable function. Therefore, the target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T) is represented in equation form as .delta..sub.T=K*.delta..sub.I, with the gain factor K being a calibrated value that can be stored within the controller 20, such as in a lookup table or other data structure.”).
While disclosing that steering angle errors/offsets can be corrected by “selectively add or subtract steering angle to or from a driver steering input signal”(Para. [0006]), Bolio, however, does not explicitly disclose sequentially ramping down the control parameters like the steering and command angles.
Bolio does not disclose, but Veen discloses an offset correction through sequentially ramping down (Veen at Para. [0087] discloses ramping down the steering angle and command (pinion) angle of controlled vehicle during a time period which using broadest reasonable interpretation is considered sequentially:” reduction (or forgetting) factor can control a time period (or how long) for which the ramping down of the I-part value or accumulation parameter will occur… a steering angle (e.g., pinion angle, steering torque angle, etc.) or I-part changes sign or a value reaches x % of its initial value, etc.); any combination thereof, and/or other factors. In some cases, while the discussion above is with respect to a reduce, decrease, or ramping down of the I-part value, the I-part value may be increased or ramped up based on any of the factors, situations, or events herein.”).
Veen is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which steers a vehicle by electronically controlled steering actuator. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bolio further in view of Veen to allow for manual interaction or intervention with the vehicle by a driver which can be used as a correction to the lookahead path. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of a vehicle deviating from a lookahead path that can result in a vehicle not reaching its destination (Veen at Para. [0035]).
As per claim 8, Bolio and Veen disclose a method of claim 7, wherein the outputting of the pinion angle comprises sequentially ramping down and applying the steering angle offset during the feedback of an output value for the steering angle position control (Bolio at Figure 1, measured δm is the commanded steering angle (δF) so is the feedback of the output value, and Para. [0019] disclosing how the output value is feedback to the controller for correcting the steering angle:” final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) is the sum of the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I) and the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M), with the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) being the actual value of the calculated target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T).”).
As per claim 9, Bolio and Veen disclose a method of claim 7, wherein the outputting of the pinion angle comprises sequentially ramping down the steering angle offset (Bolio at Summary of Invention, at Para. [0006]+, discloses adding or subtracting changes in order to achieve the correct steering angle:” by-wire system using an electromechanical device configured as a steering actuator in order to selectively add or subtract steering angle to or from a driver steering input signal as needed.”) and the command angle offset and applying the ramped-down offsets obtained by sequentially ramping down the steering angle offset to an output value of the steering angle position control to output the pinion angle (Bolio at Para. [0027] discloses sequentially applying a correction until the commanded steering angle is below a predetermined limit:” the algorithm 100 applies a constant value for the target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T), and holds this value until the conditions determined at step 108 indicate that the final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) no longer exceeds the saturation limit.”).
As per claim 10, Bolio and Veen disclose a method of claim 7, wherein the steering angle offset is a difference between the cooperative control command angle and the steering angle (Bolio at Figure 1 and Para. [0019] discloses that steering angle is a function of the steering angle and the cooperation of the input and output angles at the drive axle 18:” final steering angle (.delta..sub.F) is the sum of the input steering angle (.delta..sub.I) and the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M), with the measured actuator angle (.delta..sub.M) being the actual value of the calculated target actuator angle (.delta..sub.T).”), and the command angle offset is a difference between a variable gear ratio (VGR) command angle and the cooperative control command angle (Bolio at Figure 1, system 13, and Para. [0016] disclosing that the parameters (δM, δT, δI) are implemented through a variable gear ratio assembly:” the VGR mechanism 27 provides a mechanical gear ratio, which the steering system 13 can modify as needed under changing vehicle speeds and other dynamic operating conditions, as will be described below.”).
As per claim 11, Bolio and Veen disclose a method of claim 7, further comprising, upon input of the steering angle, outputting a pinion angle through tuning of a variable gear ratio (VGR) (Bolio at Para. [0016] disclosing that system 13 tunes the gear ratio to achieve a desired steer ratio:” the VGR mechanism 27 provides a mechanical gear ratio, which the steering system 13 can modify as needed under changing vehicle speeds and other dynamic operating conditions, as will be described below.”).
As per claim 12, Bolio and Veen disclose a [method using] an electronic steering system of claim 7, wherein the sequentially ramping down of the steering angle offset is performed by sequentially applying a ramp-down gain from 1 to 0 (Veen at Para. [0074] discloses that the ramp down value can take different values and can range from full (1) to no-ramping (0):” if the I-part parameter value is relatively small (e.g., a value of 0.1, 0.2, or other value), the ramp down 512 can have a certain rate that can be established by the controller 518 (e.g., a rate of 0.25 meters/second (m/s) or some other rate). If the I-part is high (e.g., a value of 0.5, 0.6, or other value), the reduction 512 in the error or offset 506 can be established by the controller 518 to be a different value.”).
Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KOJO; Takahiro et al. (US-20150266501-A1) STEERING CONTROL DEVICE AND STEERING SYSTEM;
Furusho; Hiroyuki et al. (US-7546896-B2) Vehicle steering apparatus;
HEINRICH FELIX et al. (DE-102021214087-A1) Steer-by-wire steering system and method of operating a steer-by-wire steering system;
ENGELS FRANK PETER et al. (DE-102018208726-A1) Steer-by-wire steering system and method of operating such.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658