DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendment received on 03/16/2026.
Applicant has canceled claim 2.
Claims 1 and 3 – 17 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1 and 15 - 17 recites the broad recitation an inner surface of the first fixation part is located adjacent to an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit, and the claim also recites an inner surface of the first fixation part is in contact with outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 3 - 14 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stollwerck et al. (2020/0363456).
As to claim 1, Stollwerck et al. (hereinafter Stollwerck) discloses a voltage indication device comprising a medium or high voltage sensing unit (20, Fig. 1); a primary connection (260, Fig. 2); a cable connection (360); and at least one fixation part (244); wherein the primary connection (260) is connected to a first terminal (210) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (2); wherein the cable connection (360) is connected to a second terminal (240) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) is located at a base end (460, 241) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) is configured to connect to an external structure (21), wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) comprises a first fixation part (244) and a second fixation part (242), wherein an inner surface of the first fixation part (244) is located adjacent to an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20), wherein the inner surface of the first fixation part is in contact with the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit, wherein the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20) is cylindrically shaped (1) or conically shaped; and wherein the second fixation part (242) is connected to the first fixation part (244), (Fig. 1 – 5, [0097], [0085], [0103], [0106], [0107], [0108], [0115], [0116]).
As to claim 3, Stollwerck discloses that an inner surface of the first fixation part (244) is cylindrically shaped (244) or conically shaped (Fig. 3).
As to claim 4, Stollwerck discloses that the second fixation part (242) is connected to an end portion of the first fixation part (244) (Fig. 3).
As to claim 5, Stollwerck discloses that the end portion of the first fixation part (244) is annular shaped (Fig. 3).
As to claims 6 - 8, Stollwerck discloses that the medium or high voltage sensor unit (2) comprises a capacitive (190, 200, [0022], [0025], [0101], Fig. 1, 2) and/or resistive voltage divider.
As to claims 9 - 10, Stollwerck discloses that the at least a portion of one fixation part (244, 242) is connected to a third terminal of the medium or high voltage sensor unit [0022, The second impedance is arranged inside the voltage detector and is electrically connected between the voltage contact and the ground contact of the voltage detector. This second impedance may be formed by one or more capacitors, one or more resistors, or one or more inductances.].
As to claim 11, Stollwerck discloses that the sensor comprises an earthing wire (360), and wherein the earthing wire (360) is connected to the at least a portion of one fixation part (244, 242) to provide an earth connection for the medium or high voltage sensor unit (2), (Fig. 5), [0103], [0106], [0108], [116].
As to claim 12, Stollwerck discloses that the sensor comprises an earthing wire (360), and wherein the earthing wire (360) is connected to the earth terminal (370) located within one fixation part (244, 242) to provide an earth connection for the medium or high voltage sensor unit (2), (Fig. 2), [0109].
As to claim 13, Stollwerck discloses that the sensor comprises a silicone rubber sleeve (240), and wherein the silicone rubber sleeve is located around an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensing unit (2), (Fig. 1, 2), [0042, The entire body may be elastically expandable and/or elastically compressible. It may be made from, or comprise, a polymeric material, such as silicone, or EPDM rubber. It may be made from, or comprise, a thermoplastic elastomer. Such polymeric materials may provide elastic expandability and/or compressibility. An elastic body (i.e. an elastically expandable or elastically compressible body) may facilitate resilient support for the voltage detector.], [0057], [0067], [0103, The body 240 consists of an electrically conductive polymeric material, namely electrically conductive EPDM rubber. ].
As to claim 14, Stollwerck discloses that the silicone rubber sleeve (244) is located at least partly around an outer surface of the primary connection (260) (Fig. 1, 2), [0057], [0067], [0103].
As to claim 15, Stollwerck discloses a voltage indication device comprising a medium or high voltage sensing unit (2, Fig. 1); a primary connection (260, Fig. 2); a cable connection (360); and at least one fixation part (244); wherein the primary connection (260) is configured to connect to a first terminal (200) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); wherein the cable connection (360) is configured to connect to a second terminal (240) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) is configured to be located at a base end of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); and wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) is configured to connect to an external structure, wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) is configured to connect to an external structure (21), wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) comprises a first fixation part (244) and a second fixation part (242), wherein an inner surface of the first fixation part (244) is located adjacent to an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20), wherein the inner surface of the first fixation part is in contact with the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit, wherein the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20) is cylindrically shaped (1) or conically shaped; and wherein the second fixation part (242) is connected to the first fixation part (244), (Fig. 1 – 5, [0097], [0085], [0103], [0106], [0107], [0108], [0115], [0116]).
As to claim 16, Stollwerck discloses a voltage indication device comprising connecting a primary connection (260, Fig. 2) to a first terminal (200) of a medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); connecting a cable connection (360) to a second terminal (240) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit; locating at least one fixation part (244) at a base end (460, 241) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); and wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) is configured to connect to an external structure (21), wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) comprises a first fixation part (244) and a second fixation part (242), and the method further comprises: locating an inner surface of the first fixation part (244) adjacent to an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit, wherein the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20) is cylindrically shaped or conically shaped connecting the second fixation part to the first fixation part (244); and contacting the inner surface of the first fixation part (244) with the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20), (Fig. 1 – 5, [0097], [0085], [0103], [0106], [0107], [0108], [0115], [0116]).
As to claim 17, Stollwerck discloses a voltage indication device comprising connecting a primary connection (260, Fig. 2) to a first terminal (200) of a medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); connecting a cable connection (360) to a second terminal of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); filling the remaining bottom part of silicone rubber sleeve with thermoplastic or thermoset material [0042, The entire body may be elastically expandable and/or elastically compressible. It may be made from, or comprise, a polymeric material, such as silicone, or EPDM rubber. It may be made from, or comprise, a thermoplastic elastomer. Such polymeric materials may provide elastic expandability and/or compressibility. An elastic body (i.e. an elastically expandable or elastically compressible body) may facilitate resilient support for the voltage detector.], [0103, The body 240 consists of an electrically conductive polymeric material, namely electrically conductive EPDM rubber. ]., thus forming at least portion of one fixation part at a base end (460, 241) of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20); and wherein the at least one fixation part is configured to connect to an external structure (21), wherein the at least one fixation part (244, 242) comprises a first fixation part (244) and a second fixation part (242), and the method further comprises: locating an inner surface of the first fixation part (244) adjacent to an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20), wherein the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20) is cylindrically shaped or conically shaped connecting the second fixation part (242) to the first fixation part (244); and contacting the inner surface of the first fixation part (244) with the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit (20) (Fig. 1 – 5, [0097], [0085], [0103], [0106], [0107], [0108], [0115], [0116]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that “Stollwerck does not disclose at least the inner surface of the first fixation part is in contact with the outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit. The Examiner equates the voltage indication device 2 as the claimed a medium or high voltage sensing unit. See Office Action page 3 and 4. The Examiner further equates that the peripheral body portion 244 as the first fixation part. See Office Action page 3. As shown in the FIGS. 3 to 5, the peripheral body portion 244 is a part of the voltage indication device 1. The voltage indication device 2 is described as a second embodiments, nevertheless, the peripheral body portion 244 is not in contact with the outer surface of the voltage indication device 1 or 2 because the peripheral body portion 244 is formed as a portion of the voltage indication device.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. [0103] discloses (242) as a central base body and a peripheral body portion (244). Examiner is treating element 242 as a first fixation part and element 244 as a second fixation part. [0106] discloses that peripheral body portion 244 (first fixation part) can be radially expanded when being pushed over the connector end 130 of plug 20 (inner surface of the first fixation part located adjacent to an outer surface of the medium or high voltage sensor unit).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REENA AURORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858