DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “multi-state encoding” which was not mentioned in the specification. The paragraph cited in support of the limitation more closely supports the elements of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7 12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20210286961 to Salehi-Abari.
Regarding Claim 1, Salehi-Abari discloses a soil moisture sensor (Figs. 1-7, RFID soil moisture measuring system 101; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027]) comprising: a radio transceiver for transmitting a first radio signal and receiving a second signal, the radio transceiver adapted to be moved above a surface of soil among locations (Figs. 1-7, RFID reader 107 attached to robotic arm configured to move above rows and columns of pots; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035]); a transponder circuit adapted for burying in the soil at a predetermined depth and operating to receive and store energy from the first radio signal and to use the stored energy to transmit the second radio signal and to encode the second radio signal with an encoding indicating a strength of the first radio signal (Figs. 1-7, active reader 107 transmits interrogator signals to and receives authentication replies from passive tags 111 that harvest energy from the reader's signal to power up to reply to reader 107 by reflecting high power signal using ON-OFF keying modulation; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035]); and an output circuit communicating with the radio transceiver providing an output indicating soil moisture as a function of the strength of the encoding of the second radio signal (Figs. 1-7, moisture level determining module 303 of RFID soil moisture measuring manager 105 monitoring signal features (e.g., MRT, RSS, DMRT) from RFID reader 107; ¶¶ [0022]-[0029], [0035]).
Regarding Claim 5, Salehi-Abari discloses the transponder harvests energy from the first radio signal by rectification of the first radio signal and storage in a capacitance (Figs. 1-7, active reader 107 transmits interrogator signals to and receives authentication replies from passive tags 111 that harvest energy from the reader's signal to power up; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035]);.
Regarding Claim 7, Salehi-Abari discloses a second transponder circuit adapted for positioning at a surface of the soil and operating to receive and store energy from the first radio signal and to use the stored energy to transmit a third radio signal with an encoding indicating a strength of the first radio signal (Figs. 1 and 5, active reader 107 transmits interrogator signals to and receives authentication replies from first tag 111.sub.FIRST deployed toward the bottom of the container 109 close to the soil, and a second tag 111.sub.SECOND deployed towards the top of the container 109 above the level of the soil that harvest energy from the reader's signal to power up to reply to reader 107 by reflecting high power signal using ON-OFF keying modulation; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035], [0055]-[0061]); and wherein an output circuit combines the second radio signal and third radio signal to extract a net attenuation of the first radio signal by the soil (Figs. 1-7, moisture level determining module 303 of RFID soil moisture measuring manager 105 monitoring signal features (e.g., MRT, RSS, DMRT) from RFID reader 107; ¶¶ [0022]-[0029], [0035], [0055]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 12, Salehi-Abari discloses the transponder and second transponder operate independently after receiving the first transmission (Figs. 1 and 5, active reader 107 transmits interrogator signals to and receives authentication replies from first tag 111.sub.FIRST deployed toward the bottom of the container 109 close to the soil, and a second tag 111.sub.SECOND deployed towards the top of the container 109 above the level of the soil that harvest energy from the reader's signal to power up to reply to reader 107 by reflecting high power signal using ON-OFF keying modulation; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035], [0055]-[0061]).
Regarding Claim 15, Salehi-Abari discloses the transponder is free from galvanic connection with the soil (Figs. 1-7, passive tags 111 in or near soil; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035]).
Regarding Claim 16, Salehi-Abari discloses the transponder is free from batteries (Figs. 1-7, passive tags 111 with no battery; ¶¶ [0022]-[0027], [0035]).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salehi-Abari.as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of US 20130255783 to Runge.
Regarding Claim 6, Salehi-Abari discloses the soil moisture sensor of claim 1, and further discloses the sensor is a transponder. However, Salehi-Abari does not disclose an electrically insulating stake having the sensor attached thereto and adapted to bury the sensor at the predetermined depth by insertion of the stake into the soil and to provide a surface visible portion. Runge discloses an electrically insulating stake having the sensor attached thereto and adapted to bury the sensor at the predetermined depth by insertion of the stake into the soil and to provide a surface visible portion (Figs. 1, 3-4 and 6-9, moisture sensor 100 with exposed top housing portion 102 and stakes 104 and upper support portion 108 securing buried conductive sensor electrodes 106; ¶¶ [0024]-[0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Salehi-Abari by providing an electrically insulating stake having the sensor attached thereto and adapted to bury the sensor at the predetermined depth by insertion of the stake into the soil and to provide a surface visible portion as in Runge in order to provide for more secure installation.
Regarding Claim 10, Salehi-Abari discloses the soil moisture sensor of claim 7, and further discloses the sensor is a buried transponder and a second transponder at the surface of the soil. However, Salehi-Abari does not disclose an electrically insulating stake having sensor attached thereto and adapted to bury the sensor at the predetermined depth by insertion of the stake into the soil. Runge discloses an electrically insulating stake having sensor attached thereto and adapted to bury the sensor at the predetermined depth by insertion of the stake into the soil (Figs. 1, 3-4 and 6-9, moisture sensor 100 with top housing portion 102 and stakes 104 and upper support portion 108 securing buried conductive sensor electrodes 106; ¶¶ [0024]-[0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Salehi-Abari by providing an electrically insulating stake having sensor attached thereto and adapted to bury the sensor at the predetermined depth by insertion of the stake into the soil as in Runge in order to provide for more secure installation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salehi-Abari.as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 8354852 to Campbell.
Regarding Claim 14, Salehi-Abari discloses the soil moisture sensor of claim 1, but does not disclose the predetermined depth is greater than 5 cm. Campbell discloses the predetermined depth is greater than 5 cm (Fig. 9, wireless soil sensor 21 is preferably installed as close as 3-12 inches from soil surface for monitoring soil moisture in shallow rooting turf; Col. 11, lines 41-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Salehi-Abari by providing predetermined depth is greater than 5 cm as in Campbell in order to provide for a greater range for wireless telemetry.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments regarding multi-state encoding are not persuasive since such encoding is new matter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J BOLDUC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852