DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or 35 U.S.C. § 365(a)-(c) are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 05/22/2024 and 10/09/2024 has/have been considered. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-8 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230009453 to Asakawa et al. (hereinafter “Asakawa”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210213745 to Boyle et al. (hereinafter “Boyle”).
With respect to claim 1, Asakawa discloses an ink jet recording method comprising recording an image with an ink jet recording apparatus (ink jet recording apparatus 1 FIG. 2) comprising: an aqueous ink comprising an organic pigment and a resin (organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349]); an ink storage portion configured to store the aqueous ink (cartridge 12); the recording head comprising an ejection orifice surface comprising formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion (head 2 FIG. 2 and Head 20 FIG. 3 of Boyle); and a wiping unit configured to wipe the ejection orifice surface (FIG. 2 There is a wiper shown in the maintenance unit on the right of the image. Also [0321]), the recording being performed by applying the aqueous ink ejected from the ejection orifice to a recording medium (ink jet recording apparatus 1 FIG. 2), and a direction in which the ejection orifice surface is wiped with the wiping unit intersect each other or are opposite directions (FIG. 2 There is a wiper shown in the maintenance unit on the right of the image. Also [0321] The direction of wiping would intersect or be opposite of the direction of peel from Boyle.).
However, Asakawa fails to specifically disclose:
a recording head incorporated into the ink storage portion, wherein the ejection orifice surface of the recording head has bonded thereto a protective tape comprising an adhesive layer formed from an adhesive, the protective tape being peeled at a time of use thereof, and wherein a direction in which the protective tape is peeled.
Boyle discloses:
a recording head incorporated into the ink storage portion (head 20 FIG. 3), wherein the ejection orifice surface of the recording head has bonded thereto a protective tape comprising an adhesive layer formed from an adhesive (tape 12, 14 FIG.s 1-3 of Boyle), the protective tape being peeled at a time of use thereof (tape 12, 14 FIG.s 1-3 [0025] of Boyle), and wherein a direction in which the protective tape is peeled (tape 12, 14 FIG.s 1-3 [0025] of Boyle).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protective tape as disclosed by Boyle with the method/apparatus of Asakawa. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively cover and seal the head. (Summary of Boyle).
With respect to claim 2, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein the resin comprises a water-soluble resin (resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349] )
With respect to claim 3, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein a content (% by mass) of the organic pigment in the aqueous ink is 0.5% by mass or more to 10.0% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the ink (organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349] Asakawa discloses printing images with organic pigment in aqueous ink. Furthermore, the cited prior art is fully capable of printing images with multiple different kinds of ink including applicant’s claimed ink.).
With respect to claim 4, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein a content (% by mass) of the resin in the aqueous ink is 0.1% by mass or more to 20.0% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the ink (organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349] Asakawa discloses printing images with resin and organic pigment in aqueous ink. Furthermore, the cited prior art is fully capable of printing images with multiple different kinds of ink including applicant’s claimed ink.).
With respect to claim 5, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein a mass ratio of a content (% by mass) of the resin in the aqueous ink to a content (% by mass) of the organic pigment therein is 0.1 times or more to 0.6 times or less (organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349] Asakawa discloses printing images with resin and organic pigment in aqueous ink. Furthermore, the cited prior art is fully capable of printing images with multiple different kinds of ink including applicant’s claimed ink.).
With respect to claim 6, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein the aqueous ink further comprises at least one kind of water-soluble organic solvent selected from the group consisting of: a compound having a cyclic amide structure; an alkanediol; and an amine compound (compounds, [0085]-[0123], organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349] Asakawa discloses printing images with resin and organic pigment in aqueous ink. Furthermore, the cited prior art is fully capable of printing images with multiple different kinds of ink including applicant’s claimed ink.).
With respect to claim 7, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein the aqueous ink further comprises at least two kinds of water-soluble organic solvents selected from the group consisting of: a compound having a cyclic amide structure; an alkanediol; and an amine compound (compounds, [0085]-[0123], organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349] Asakawa discloses printing images with resin and organic pigment in aqueous ink. Furthermore, the cited prior art is fully capable of printing images with multiple different kinds of ink including applicant’s claimed ink.).
With respect to claim 8, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein the adhesive is a silicone-based adhesive ([0009]-, [0032] of Boyle).
With respect to claim 15, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses wherein the recording head comprises a warming unit configured to warm the aqueous ink in the recording head, wherein the aqueous ink further comprises a surfactant, and wherein the ink jet recording method further comprises warming the aqueous ink in the recording head to a clouding point of the surfactant or more with the warming unit, followed by wiping of the ejection orifice surface with the wiping unit (8 and 4 FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 16, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses An ink jet recording apparatus (ink jet recording apparatus 1 FIG. 2) comprising: an aqueous ink comprising an organic pigment and a resin (organic pigment, [0029]-[0034], resin, [0054]-[0081], [0349]); an ink storage portion configured to store the aqueous ink(cartridge 12);, the recording head comprising an ejection orifice surface comprising formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion (head 2 FIG. 2 and Head 20 FIG. 3 of Boyle); and a wiping unit configured to wipe the ejection orifice surface, and wherein a direction in which the protective tape is peeled and a direction in which the ejection orifice surface is wiped with the wiping unit intersect each other or are opposite directions (FIG. 2 There is a wiper shown in the maintenance unit on the right of the image. Also [0321] The direction of wiping would intersect or be opposite of the direction of peel from Boyle.).
However, Asakawa fails to specifically disclose:
a recording head incorporated into the ink storage portion wherein the ejection orifice surface of the recording head has bonded thereto a protective tape comprising an adhesive layer formed from an adhesive, the protective tape being peeled at a time of use thereof.
Boyle discloses:
a recording head incorporated into the ink storage portion (Head 20 FIG. 3 of Boyle) wherein the ejection orifice surface of the recording head has bonded thereto a protective tape comprising an adhesive layer formed from an adhesive, the protective tape being peeled at a time of use thereof (tape 12, 14 FIG.s 1-3 [0025] of Boyle).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protective tape as disclosed by Boyle with the method/apparatus of Asakawa. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively cover and seal the head. (Summary of Boyle).
2. Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230009453 to Asakawa et al. (hereinafter “Asakawa”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210213745 to Boyle et al. (hereinafter “Boyle”) and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 5969731 to Michael et al. (hereinafter “Micheal”).
With respect to claim 9, Asakawa in view of Boyle discloses the inkjet recording method.
However, Asakawa in view of Boyle fails to specifically disclose:
wherein the direction in which the protective tape is peeled and the direction in which the ejection orifice surface is wiped with the wiping unit intersect each other.
The tertiary reference Michael discloses:
wherein the direction in which the protective tape is peeled and the direction in which the ejection orifice surface is wiped with the wiping unit intersect each other (Michael discloses multiple different types of wipers and wiping in multiple directions. Wipers and wiping in multiple directions was well known and common practice at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. FIG.s 7-40, Col. 13-26).
.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the wiping direction as disclosed by Michael with the method/apparatus of Asakawa. The motivation for doing so would have been to properly remove dried ink and other accumulated debris (Abstract of Michael).
With respect to claim 10, Asakawa in view of Boyle and Michael discloses wherein the direction in which the ejection orifice surface is wiped with the wiping unit and a direction in which a plurality of ejection orifice arrays each comprising the plurality of ejection orifices are arrayed in the ejection orifice surface are substantially parallel to each other (Col. 16, Michael discloses multiple different types of wipers and wiping in multiple directions. Wipers and wiping in multiple directions was well known and common practice at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. FIG.s 7-40, Col. 13-26).
With respect to claim 11, Asakawa in view of Boyle and Michael discloses wherein the wiping unit is a blade-shaped wiper (blade, Michael discloses multiple different types of wipers and wiping in multiple directions. Wipers and wiping in multiple directions was well known and common practice at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. FIG.s 7-40, Col. 13-26).
With respect to claim 12, Asakawa in view of Boyle and Michael discloses wherein a material for forming the wiper is a rubber material formed from a urethane resin (elastomeric material, Michael discloses multiple different types of wipers and wiping in multiple directions. Wipers and wiping in multiple directions was well known and common practice at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. FIG.s 7-40, Col. 13-26).
With respect to claim 13, Asakawa in view of Boyle and Michael discloses wherein the wiper has a thickness of 0.4 mm or more to 1.1 mm or less (1 mm thickness, Michael discloses multiple different types of wipers and wiping in multiple directions. Wipers and wiping in multiple directions was well known and common practice at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. FIG.s 7-40, Col. 13-26).
With respect to claim 14, Asakawa in view of Boyle and Michael discloses wherein a moving speed of the wiping unit when the ejection orifice surface is wiped with the wiping unit is 15 mm/s or more to 130 mm/s or less (Control speed, Michael discloses multiple different types of wipers and wiping in multiple directions. Wipers and wiping in multiple directions was well known and common practice at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. FIG.s 7-40, Col. 13-26).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853