DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 5/22/2024. The instant application has claims 1-20 pending. The system, method and medium for creating an namespace of administrative operations for storage device. There a total of 20 claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawing filed on /2024 has been accepted and in compliance of 37 CFR 1.83 & 37 CFR 1.84.
Specification
The disclosure filed on /2024 is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub 2019/0114102 to Chen in view of US Patent Pub 2020/0067896 to Manu.
Regarding claim 1, 9, 17, Chen discloses A storage system comprising: a plurality of storage devices; and a storage controller comprising a processing device operatively coupled to the plurality of storage devices, the processing device configured to:
generate a first namespace on a particular storage device of the plurality of storage
devices for performing one or more administrator operations on the particular storage
device(Abstract & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5 & Par. 0029 , the configuration of the storage volumes is set for the newly provisioned storage device) ;
transmit the one or more administrator operations for the particular storage device
to the first namespace and one or more data storage operations for the particular storage device to the second namespace (Fig. 3 & Par. 0028-0029, the configuration setting for the volume is being set).
Chen does not disclose generate a second namespace on the particular storage device for storing data at the particular storage device.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Manu discloses generate a second namespace on the particular storage device for storing data at
the particular storage device (Abstract & Par. 0043-0046, the data being stored in cloud storage after encryption)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chen invention to incorporate generate a second namespace on the particular storage device for storing data at
the particular storage device for the advantage of providing an secure storage based on encryption as taught in Manu see
Regarding claim 2, 10, 18, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Chen discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the particular storage device encrypts data stored at the particular storage device and wherein the first namespace disables the encryption of data stored in the first namespace(Par. 0016 & Par. 0029, the encryption setting being turned on).
Regarding claim 3, 11, 19, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Manu discloses the storage system of claim 2, wherein the processing device is further configured to:
store, in the first namespace, one or more shards of an encryption key used to decrypt the data stored in the second namespace, wherein remaining shards of the encryption key are stored at one or more of the plurality of storage devices(Par. 006-009 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8& Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, the encryption key for decrypting the application data & Par. 0058-0060)
Regarding claim 4, 12, 20, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Manu discloses the storage system of claim 3, wherein the processing device is further configured to:
receive a request to access the data stored in the second namespace(Par. 006-009 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8& Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, the encryption key for decrypting the application data);
retrieve the one or more shards of the encryption key from the first namespace and the
remaining shards of the encryption key from the one or more of the plurality of storage devices(Par. 006-009 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8& Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, the encryption key for decrypting the application data);
generate the encryption key using the one or more shards and the remaining shards; and decrypt the data stored in the second name space using the generated encryption key(Par. 006-009 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8& Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, the encryption key for decrypting the application data).
Regarding claim 5, 13, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Chen discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more administrator operations comprise one or more reservation commands for storing data in the second namespace(Par. 0017, the instructions for creating memory devices provisioning).
Regarding claim 6, 14, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Chen discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more administrator operations comprise one or more status queries for information associated with the particular storage device(Par. 0039 & Par. 0035, the provision of the device and performance is determined)
Regarding claim 7, 15, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Chen discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more administrator operations comprise one or more security commands(par. 0039-0040, the encryption and compression turned on).
Regarding claim 8, 16, The combined method/system/medium of Chen and Manu, mutatis mutandis, Chen discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more administrator operations comprise one or more commands that impact performance of the particular storage device (Par. 0035, performance is determined).
Conclusion
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov