Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements filed February 5, 2026 and November 21, 2024 have been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 21-23, 26 and 27) in the reply filed on February 5, 2026 is acknowledged. New claims 30-35 will be examined along with the other claims of Species I.
Amendment Filed
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed February 5, 2026, has been entered and made of record. Accordingly, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14 and 21-23 remain as originally filed; claims 5, 7, 8, 10, 15-20 and 24-29 are canceled; claims 30-35 are newly added.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 32, line 2, “active cap” should be “active tip.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, 12, 21-23, 30, 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Maurice (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0038422) in view of Skorich et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,628,007).
The applied Skorich et al. reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
In regard to claims 1, 21, 23 and 35, Maurice teaches an elongate cryoprobe 12 having a distal end 12a and a proximal end 12b with a mounting sleeve 40 secured to the proximal end portion of cryoprobe 12 that serves to have a holder 42 providing a hand hold through which an operator may grasp and manipulate the apparatus during use (see Fig. 1 and para. 0049). Maurice is silent as to the cryoprobe 12 having a generally rigid proximal portion and a generally malleable distal portion. However, Skorich et al. teach a similar cryoprobe device having a shaft with a tube 106 (proximal portion) that is substantially rigid and a malleable shaft 104 (distal portion) (see Fig. 12 and col. 6, lines 12-16) so that the cryoprobe can be bent to reposition the distal ablation tip (see col. 9, lines 52-58). Skorich et al. thus demonstrate that cryoprobe with rigid proximal portions and malleable distal portions are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to fabricate the cryoprobe 12 of Maurice with a rigid proximal portion and a malleable distal portion, in the manner disclosed by Skorich et al., in order to equip the device with the ability to bend the distal portion to reposition the distal ablation tip. Maurice teaches an elongate hollow needle member 16 that is closed and pointed at its distal end (active tip) and an elongate coaxially disposed inner tube 20 is mounted within member 12 that provides a cryogenic medium supply channel while a space between the outside of tube 20 and the inner walls of member 16 (exhaust conduit) provides a return path for cryogenic medium to exit through the proximal end of member 16 (see Fig. 5 and para. 0042). A layer of electrical insulating material 38 covers the major portion of member 16 between its proximal and distal ends and thus provides a vacuum insulating layer disposed around the inner tube 20 and the exhaust conduit (see para. 0048). In regard to claims 2, 4, 11 and 34, Maurice also teaches an elongate cannula 46 (tubular thermal barrier) that receives member 16 and its associated insulating material 38 therethrough (see Figs. 3 and 5 and para. 0050). Cannula 46 has a layer of electrically insulating material 48 (shell) (see Fig. 5 and para. 0050). Thus, material 48 at least partially defines a radially outer aspect of the insulating material 38 and the exhaust conduit at least partially defines a radially inner aspect of the insulating material 38 (see Fig. 5). In regard to claims 3 and 22, Figure 5 shows that the inner tube 20, the exhaust conduit, the insulating material 38, the cannula 46 and the material 48 are concentrically disposed about a longitudinal axis of the cryoprobe 12. In regard to claim 9, Maurice teaches a connector 30 (proximal end cap) comprising an elongated proximal portion extending within the handle 40 (see Fig. 5). In regard to claim 12, cryogenic medium from cryogenic supply 26 is directed through the tube 20 and fluid then returns from the exhaust conduit to exit the apparatus (see Fig. 5 and para. 0044). In regard to claim 30, see para. 0048 of Maurice.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Maurice (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0038422) in view of Skorich et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,628,007) and further in view of Beckman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,995,403).
In regard to claims 13 and 14, Maurice is silent as to visible indicium on the cryoprobe 12. However, Beckman et al. teach a similar probe 10 with a shaft that has a fiber element 18 with a distal end portion 76 that has a series of annular bands 80 of different colors that make it possible to visually determine the location of the distal end portion 76 (see col. 6, line 56 to col. 7, line 10 and Fig. 4). Beckman et al. thus demonstrate that the use of color indicium on a probe was well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cryoprobe 12 of Maurice with the color indicium disclosed by Beckman et al. in order to equip the device with the ability to visually determine the location of the distal end of the cryoprobe 12.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 21-23 and 30-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/381,653 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 21-23 and 30-35 of the instant application are broader than claims 1-19 of copending application as claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 21, 23 and 30-35 do not recite a nozzle with a lumen.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794