DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 22, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Kopec et al. (US 20210170584 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kopec discloses:
an automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment [abstract & 0004 & 0019], the automatic teaching apparatus comprising:
an equipment front end module (EFEM) (101);
one or more load ports (128 & 130) provided along an edge of one side of the EFEM to be connected to an inside of the EFEM (Fig.1);
a transfer robot (111) disposed in the inside of the EFEM and configured to transfer wafers to the one or more load ports by an end effector (408), to process the wafers [0034 & 0071 & 0074]; and
a load port teaching unit (200) configured to detect a fixed position of the end effector in a state of unloading the wafer such that the wafer is placed in the fixed position within the load port [0019 & 0026 & 0036 & 0040 & 0064 & 0074 & 0076 & 0090].
Regarding Claim 5, Kopec discloses:
one or more stations (SSP & 104a & 104b) provided along an edge of another side of the EFEM to be connected to the inside of the EFEM (Fig. 1); and
a station teaching unit configured to detect a fixed position of the end effector in a state of unloading the wafer such that the wafer is placed in the fixed position within the station [0029 & 0036 & 0062 & 0080].
Regarding Claim 6, Kopec discloses:
a transfer apparatus (100) including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier [abstract & 0004 & 0019] disposed on a load port (128 & 130) installed in the transfer apparatus that forms a clean space (101), the transfer apparatus comprising:
a robot (111) including a hand (408) configured to hold a wafer [0020], an arm (400) configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction [0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074], and a sensor (462A & 462B) provided on the hand (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B),
a robot control device (109) configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand [0038 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074 & 0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077], and
a teaching jig (200) disposed on the load port and configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0026 & 0036 & 0028 & 0029 & 0040 & 0043 & 0044 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0064 & 0074 & 0076 & 0090],
wherein the teaching jig has a specific feature (230 & 242 & 246 & 302 & 304 & 306) disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier [0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070], and
wherein the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature [0038 & 0075 & 0097 & 0122 & 0124 & 0127].
Regarding Claim 7, Kopec discloses:
the teaching jig includes a housing having one surface provided with an opening and a remaining surface shaped to hold the teaching jig (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C),
the specific feature is provided inside the housing (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C), and
the robot is configured to access the specific feature through the opening of the teaching jig that maintains the clean space of the transfer apparatus [0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070].
Regarding Claim 8, Kopec discloses:
the teaching jig is a wafer carrier configured to accommodate a wafer, and a plate-shaped substrate having the specific feature is mounted in a wafer mounting stage in the wafer carrier (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C).
Regarding Claim 9, Kopec discloses:
the specific feature is provided on a plate-shaped substrate positioned at a height identical to that of the wafer disposed in the wafer carrier (Fig. 2A) [0050 & 0051].
Regarding Claim 10, Kopec discloses:
the teaching jig further includes a cover (252) covering the opening, the cover being opened and closed by the load port [0059].
Regarding Claim 11, Kopec discloses:
the specific feature includes a first specific feature (230 & 242 & 302) and a second specific feature (304) [0053 & 0054], the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other [0053 & 0054 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070], the second specific feature being positioned closer to the opening than the first specific feature (Fig. 3B), and
wherein the robot control device operates the hand to detect the second specific feature by the sensor, detects the first specific feature by the sensor based on a detected position of the second specific feature, and acquires the delivery position of the wafer based on a position of the first specific feature [0065 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070].
Regarding Claim 12, Kopec discloses:
the first specific feature and the second specific feature are disposed in an arrangement position according to an angle of an axial line of the hand with respect to the opening when viewed in plan view [0065 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070] (Fig. 3b).
Regarding Claim 13, Kopec discloses:
the teaching jig has a first arrangement position and a second arrangement position different from the first arrangement position [0070], and
wherein the first specific feature and the second specific feature are disposed in the first arrangement position when the hand accesses from the opening while the angle of the axial line of the hand with respect to the opening maintains approximately a right angle, and are disposed in the second arrangement position when the hand accesses from the opening while the angle of the axial line with respect to the opening does not maintain approximately a right angle, as viewed in plan view [0070].
Regarding Claim 14, Kopec discloses:
the first specific feature is disposed in a position to be detected by the sensor while an angle of an axial line of the hand with respect to the opening maintains, after the second specific feature is detected by the sensor [0065 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070].
Regarding Claim 15, Kopec discloses:
the second specific feature is disposed in a position where at least a gap between a side wall of the housing and the hand is secured when detected by the sensor (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C) [0036 & 0049 & 0065 & 0068 & 0069].
Regarding Claim 16, Kopec discloses:
a plurality of first specific features and second specific features are provided hierarchically in multiple stages within the teaching jig (Fig. 2A & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 17, Kopec discloses:
in the second arrangement position, a surface where the first specific feature is positioned and a surface where the second specific feature is positioned are different (Fig. 2A & Fig. 3A).
Regarding Claim 22, Kopec discloses:
the teaching jig is disposed on the load port by an overhead hoist transport (OHT) or an automated guided vehicle (AGV) [0060].
Regarding Claim 23, Kopec discloses:
A teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer [abstract & 0004 & 0019] in a wafer carrier [0028] disposed on a load port (128 & 130) installed in a transfer apparatus (100) that forms a clean space, the teaching system comprising:
a robot (111) including a hand (408) configured to hold a wafer [0071], an arm (400) configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction [0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074], and a sensor (462A & 462B) provided on the hand (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B),
a robot control device (109) configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand [0038 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074 & 0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077], and
a teaching jig (200) disposed on the load port and configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0026 & 0036 & 0028 & 0029 & 0040 & 0043 & 0044 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0064 & 0074 & 0076 & 0090],
wherein the teaching jig has a specific feature (230 & 242 & 246 & 302 & 304 & 306) disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier [0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070], and
wherein the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature [0038 & 0075 & 0097 & 0122 & 0124 & 0127].
Regarding Claim 24, Kopec discloses:
A robot (111) that performs delivery of a wafer to and from a wafer carrier disposed on a load port (128 & 130) installed in a transfer apparatus (100) that forms a clean space (101) [0034 & 0035],
a hand (408) configured to hold the wafer,
an arm (400) configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction [0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074]; and
a sensor (462A & 462B) provided on the hand (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B),
wherein the robot detects a teaching jig (200) for teaching a delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier by the sensor, thereby teaching the delivery position of the wafer (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0026 & 0036 & 0028 & 0029 & 0040 & 0043 & 0044 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0064 & 0074 & 0076 & 0090],
wherein the teaching jig is disposed in the load port, configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0026 & 0036 & 0028 & 0029 & 0040 & 0043 & 0044 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0064 & 0074 & 0076 & 0090], and has a specific feature (230 & 242 & 246 & 302 & 304 & 306) disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier [0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070], and
wherein the robot operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor, and teaches the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature [0038 & 0075 & 0097 & 0122 & 0124 & 0127].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 18, 19, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopec et al. (US 20210170584 A1) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20200206917 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kopec teaches:
the end effector includes,
a base pad (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B) having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B); and
two forks (458A & 458B) extending to a front side of the base pad (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B), wherein the load port teaching unit includes,
a detection pin (230) protruding from an inner bottom surface of a specific load port (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C), a dummy port, or the EFEM to correspond to a front edge or a center of the wafer in plane [0047 & 0048 & 0049];
a non-circular geometric block (304) [0066] protruding from the inner bottom surface of the specific load port, the dummy port, or the EFEM at a position spaced apart by a set distance along a straight line with the detection pin in an entry direction of the end effector (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B);
a front end sensor (462A & 462B) provided on each of the forks (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B) in a straight line (464) to face each other and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height [0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078];
a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that the detection pin is positioned therein (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B) when the forks move forward and the front end sensor detects the non-circular geometric block [0066 & 0067 & 0068].
Kopec does not teach:
the non-circular geometric block is a semicircular block,
one or more central sensors provided on the base pad along an edge of the central hole portion to interact with the central hole portion in an inward direction and set a position of the end effector in an X-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is set at the set position.
Yoshida teaches:
an automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment [abstract], the automatic teaching apparatus comprising:
an end effector (14);
the end effector includes,
a base pad having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C); and
two forks (16a & 16b) extending to a front side of the base pad (Fig. 2),
a front end sensor (21 & 23) provided on each of the forks in a straight line to face each other (Fig. 2) and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0038 & 0041];
a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that a detection pin (52) is positioned therein when the forks move forward [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046]; and
one or more central sensors (22) provided on the base pad along an edge of the central hole portion to interact with the central hole portion in an inward direction and set a position of the end effector in an X-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is set at the set position (Fig. 2) [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0038 & 0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a non-circular geometric block that is semi-circular in shape in order to provide a near infinite number of comparison points between the pin and block in order to calibrate the system, since it has been held that changing the shape of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment, the automatic teaching apparatus comprising: an equipment front end module (EFEM), one or more load ports provided along an edge of one side of the EFEM to be connected to an inside of the EFEM, a transfer robot disposed in the inside of the EFEM and configured to transfer wafers to the one or more load ports by an end effector, to process the wafers; and a load port teaching unit configured to detect a fixed position of the end effector in a state of unloading the wafer such that the wafer is placed in the fixed position within the load port, the end effector includes, a base pad having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape, and two forks extending to a front side of the base pad, wherein the load port teaching unit includes, a detection pin protruding from an inner bottom surface of a specific load port, a dummy port, or the EFEM to correspond to a front edge or a center of the wafer in plane, a semicircular block protruding from the inner bottom surface of the specific load port, the dummy port, or the EFEM at a position spaced apart by a set distance along a straight line with the detection pin in an entry direction of the end effector, a front end sensor provided on each of the forks in a straight line to face each other and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height, and a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that the detection pin is positioned therein when the forks move forward and the front end sensor detects the semicircular block taught by Kopec with the automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment, the automatic teaching apparatus comprising: an end effector, the end effector includes, a base pad having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape, and two forks extending to a front side of the base pad, wherein the load port teaching unit includes, a detection pin protruding from an inner bottom surface of a specific load port, a dummy port, or the EFEM to correspond to a front edge or a center of the wafer in plane, a semicircular block protruding from the inner bottom surface of the specific load port, the dummy port, or the EFEM at a position spaced apart by a set distance along a straight line with the detection pin in an entry direction of the end effector, a front end sensor provided on each of the forks in a straight line to face each other and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height, a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that the detection pin is positioned therein when the forks move forward and the front end sensor detects the semicircular block, and one or more central sensors provided on the base pad along an edge of the central hole portion to interact with the central hole portion in an inward direction and set a position of the end effector in an X-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is set at the set position taught by Yoshida in order to provide an automatic teaching apparatus having an increased number of position sensors providing an increased accuracy in position and motion teaching to improve processing accuracy.
Regarding Claim 3, Kopec discloses:
the end effector includes,
a base pad (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B) having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B); and
two forks (458A & 458B) extending to a front side of the base pad (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B), wherein the load port teaching unit includes,
a base plate (220) placed at a set position on an inner bottom of a specific load port, a dummy port, or the EFEM (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C);
a detection pin (230) protruding from a bottom surface of the base plate (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C) to correspond to a front edge or a center of the wafer in plane [0047 & 0048 & 0049];
a non-circular geometric block (304) [0066] protruding from the base plate at a position spaced apart by a set distance along a straight line with the detection pin in an entry direction of the end effector (Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B);
a front end sensor (462A & 462B) provided on each of the forks (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B) in a straight line (464) to face each other and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height [0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078];
a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that the detection pin is positioned therein (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B) when the forks move forward and the front end sensor detects the non-circular geometric block [0066 & 0067 & 0068].
Kopec does not teach:
the non-circular geometric block is a semicircular block,
one or more central sensors provided on the base pad along an edge of the central hole portion to interact with the central hole portion in an inward direction and set a position of the end effector in an X-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is set at the set position.
Yoshida teaches:
an end effector (14);
the end effector includes,
a base pad having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C); and
two forks (16a & 16b) extending to a front side of the base pad (Fig. 2),
a front end sensor (21 & 23) provided on each of the forks in a straight line to face each other (Fig. 2) and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0038 & 0041];
a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that a detection pin (52) is positioned therein when the forks move forward [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046]; and
one or more central sensors (22) provided on the base pad along an edge of the central hole portion to interact with the central hole portion in an inward direction and set a position of the end effector in an X-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is set at the set position (Fig. 2) [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0038 & 0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a non-circular geometric block that is semi-circular in shape in order to provide a near infinite number of comparison points between the pin and block in order to calibrate the system, since it has been held that changing the shape of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment, the automatic teaching apparatus comprising: an equipment front end module (EFEM), one or more load ports provided along an edge of one side of the EFEM to be connected to an inside of the EFEM, a transfer robot disposed in the inside of the EFEM and configured to transfer wafers to the one or more load ports by an end effector, to process the wafers; and a load port teaching unit configured to detect a fixed position of the end effector in a state of unloading the wafer such that the wafer is placed in the fixed position within the load port, the end effector includes, a base pad having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape, and two forks extending to a front side of the base pad, wherein the load port teaching unit includes, a detection pin protruding from an inner bottom surface of a specific load port, a dummy port, or the EFEM to correspond to a front edge or a center of the wafer in plane, a semicircular block protruding from the inner bottom surface of the specific load port, the dummy port, or the EFEM at a position spaced apart by a set distance along a straight line with the detection pin in an entry direction of the end effector, a front end sensor provided on each of the forks in a straight line to face each other and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height, and a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that the detection pin is positioned therein when the forks move forward and the front end sensor detects the semicircular block taught by Kopec with the automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment, the automatic teaching apparatus comprising: an end effector, the end effector includes, a base pad having at least a top surface formed in a planar shape, and two forks extending to a front side of the base pad, wherein the load port teaching unit includes, a detection pin protruding from an inner bottom surface of a specific load port, a dummy port, or the EFEM to correspond to a front edge or a center of the wafer in plane, a semicircular block protruding from the inner bottom surface of the specific load port, the dummy port, or the EFEM at a position spaced apart by a set distance along a straight line with the detection pin in an entry direction of the end effector, a front end sensor provided on each of the forks in a straight line to face each other and configured to detect and guide an entry position of the end effector in a Y-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is positioned at a center between the forks in plane and a set height, a central hole portion penetrating through the base pad such that the detection pin is positioned therein when the forks move forward and the front end sensor detects the semicircular block, and one or more central sensors provided on the base pad along an edge of the central hole portion to interact with the central hole portion in an inward direction and set a position of the end effector in an X-direction and a Z-direction such that the detection pin is set at the set position taught by Yoshida in order to provide an automatic teaching apparatus having an increased number of position sensors providing an increased accuracy in position and motion teaching to improve processing accuracy.
Regarding Claim 4, Kopec teaches:
when the dummy port (202) is positioned inside the specific load port, the dummy port is set at a fixed position with respect to the load port by a first positioner (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2A & Fig. 2B & Fig. 2C) [0028 & 0029 & 0043 & 0044 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051].
Regarding Claim 18, Kopec teaches:
the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand (Fig. 4A & Fig. 4B),
wherein the first specific feature includes a first detection portion (242) and a second detection portion (230), and
wherein after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion [0053 & 0054 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070].
Kopec does not teach:
the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor,
wherein after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the second sensor detects the first detection portion.
Yoshida teaches:
a transfer apparatus (Fig. 1) including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer (S) in a wafer carrier (2) disposed on a load port (Fig. 1) installed in the transfer apparatus (Fig. 1), the transfer apparatus comprising:
a robot (1) including a hand (14) configured to hold a wafer [0024], an arm (12) configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction [0020 & 0021 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024], and a sensor (21 & 22 & 23 & 31 & 32) provided on the hand (Fig. 2) [0026 & 0027 & 0031 & 0038 & 0041],
a robot control device (40) configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand [0020 & 0026 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034], and
a teaching jig (50 & 51 & 52 & 53 & 54) disposed on the load in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot (Fig. 2 & Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 10C & Fig. 10D) [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046],
wherein the teaching jig has a specific feature (52 & 53 & 54) disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046], and
wherein the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature [0020 & 0026 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0045];
the specific feature includes a first specific feature (53 & 54) and a second specific feature (52) [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046], the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other (Fig. 8B) [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046], and
the sensor includes a first sensor (31 & 32) installed at a front end of the hand (Fig. 2), and a second sensor (22) provided at a base end of the hand (Fig. 2) and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor [0031],
wherein the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion (53 & 54), and
wherein after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion (Fig. 2 & Fig. 6C & Fig. 10D) [0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus that forms a clean space, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, and a teaching jig disposed on the load port and configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the teaching jig includes a housing having one surface provided with an opening and a remaining surface shaped to hold the teaching jig, the specific feature is provided inside the housing, and the robot is configured to access the specific feature through the opening of the teaching jig that maintains the clean space of the transfer apparatus, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the second specific feature being positioned closer to the opening than the first specific feature, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the second specific feature by the sensor, detects the first specific feature by the sensor based on a detected position of the second specific feature, and acquires the delivery position of the wafer based on a position of the first specific feature, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, where after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion taught by Kopec with the a transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, a teaching jig disposed on the load in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, where after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion taught by Yoshida in order to provide an automatic teaching apparatus having an increased number of position sensors providing an increased accuracy in position and motion teaching to improve processing accuracy.
Regarding Claim 19, Kopec teaches:
the first detection portion and the second detection portion have a relative positional relationship (Fig. 2A & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B) [0053 & 0054 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070].
Kopec does not teach:
the first detection portion and the second detection portion have a relative positional relationship such that the second sensor detects the first detection portion and at the same time, the first sensor detects the second detection portion.
Yoshida teaches:
the first detection portion and the second detection portion have a relative positional relationship such that the second sensor detects the first detection portion and at the same time, the first sensor detects the second detection portion (Fig. 2 & Fig. 6C & Fig. 10D) [0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus that forms a clean space, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, and a teaching jig disposed on the load port and configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the teaching jig includes a housing having one surface provided with an opening and a remaining surface shaped to hold the teaching jig, the specific feature is provided inside the housing, and the robot is configured to access the specific feature through the opening of the teaching jig that maintains the clean space of the transfer apparatus, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the second specific feature being positioned closer to the opening than the first specific feature, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the second specific feature by the sensor, detects the first specific feature by the sensor based on a detected position of the second specific feature, and acquires the delivery position of the wafer based on a position of the first specific feature, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion, where the first detection portion and the second detection portion have a relative positional relationship taught by Kopec with the a transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, a teaching jig disposed on the load in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion, where the first detection portion and the second detection portion have a relative positional relationship such that the second sensor detects the first detection portion and at the same time, the first sensor detects the second detection portion taught by Yoshida in order to provide an automatic teaching apparatus having an increased number of position sensors providing an increased accuracy in position and motion teaching to improve processing accuracy.
Regarding Claim 20, Kopec does not teach:
the second sensor is provided to traverse an opening provided in the base end of the hand, and when the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the first detection portion enters the opening, the hand and the second specific feature are configured not to interfere with each other.
Yoshida teaches:
the second sensor is provided to traverse an opening provided in the base end of the hand, and when the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the first detection portion enters the opening, the hand and the second specific feature are configured not to interfere with each other (Fig. 2 & Fig. 6C & Fig. 10D) [0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus that forms a clean space, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, and a teaching jig disposed on the load port and configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the teaching jig includes a housing having one surface provided with an opening and a remaining surface shaped to hold the teaching jig, the specific feature is provided inside the housing, and the robot is configured to access the specific feature through the opening of the teaching jig that maintains the clean space of the transfer apparatus, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the second specific feature being positioned closer to the opening than the first specific feature, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the second specific feature by the sensor, detects the first specific feature by the sensor based on a detected position of the second specific feature, and acquires the delivery position of the wafer based on a position of the first specific feature, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, where after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion taught by Kopec with the a transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, a teaching jig disposed on the load in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion, where the second sensor is provided to traverse an opening provided in the base end of the hand, and when the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the first detection portion enters the opening, the hand and the second specific feature are configured not to interfere with each other taught by Yoshida in order to provide an automatic teaching apparatus having an increased number of position sensors providing an increased accuracy in position and motion teaching to improve processing accuracy.
Regarding Claim 21, Kopec does not teach:
the second sensor includes an alpha sensor having an optical axis parallel to the optical axis of the first sensor and a beta sensor having an optical axis orthogonal to each of the optical axes of the alpha sensor and the first sensor, and
wherein the beta sensor is provided to traverse the opening.
Yoshida teaches:
the second sensor includes an alpha sensor (21 & 23) having an optical axis parallel to the optical axis (Fig. 2) of the first sensor and a beta sensor (22) having an optical axis orthogonal to each of the optical axes of the alpha sensor and the first sensor [0030 & 0031], and
wherein the beta sensor is provided to traverse the opening (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus that forms a clean space, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, and a teaching jig disposed on the load port and configured to maintain the clean space of the transfer apparatus in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the teaching jig includes a housing having one surface provided with an opening and a remaining surface shaped to hold the teaching jig, the specific feature is provided inside the housing, and the robot is configured to access the specific feature through the opening of the teaching jig that maintains the clean space of the transfer apparatus, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the second specific feature being positioned closer to the opening than the first specific feature, and the robot control device operates the hand to detect the second specific feature by the sensor, detects the first specific feature by the sensor based on a detected position of the second specific feature, and acquires the delivery position of the wafer based on a position of the first specific feature, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, where after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion taught by Kopec with the a transfer apparatus including a teaching system for teaching a delivery position of a wafer in a wafer carrier disposed on a load port installed in the transfer apparatus, the transfer apparatus comprising: a robot including a hand configured to hold a wafer, an arm configured to move the hand in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and a sensor provided on the hand, a robot control device configured to perform at least detection of the sensor, and movement control of the arm and the hand, a teaching jig disposed on the load in the same position as a delivery position of a wafer in the wafer carrier by the robot, the teaching jig has a specific feature disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with the delivery position of the wafer in the wafer carrier, the robot control device operates the hand to detect the specific feature of the teaching jig by the sensor and stores the delivery position of the wafer based on a detected position of the specific feature, the specific feature includes a first specific feature and a second specific feature, the first specific feature and the second specific feature being disposed to determine a relative positional relationship with each other, the sensor includes a first sensor installed at a front end of the hand, and a second sensor provided at a base end of the hand and having an optical axis orthogonal to an optical axis of the first sensor, the first specific feature includes a first detection portion and a second detection portion, after the first sensor detects the second specific feature, the robot control device moves the hand to a position where the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the second sensor detects the first detection portion, the second sensor is provided to traverse an opening provided in the base end of the hand, and when the first sensor detects the second detection portion and the first detection portion enters the opening, the hand and the second specific feature are configured not to interfere with each other, where the second sensor includes an alpha sensor having an optical axis parallel to the optical axis of the first sensor and a beta sensor having an optical axis orthogonal to each of the optical axes of the alpha sensor and the first sensor, and wherein the beta sensor is provided to traverse the opening taught by Yoshida in order to provide an automatic teaching apparatus having an increased number of position sensors providing an increased accuracy in position and motion teaching to improve processing accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20090182454 A1, US 10953539 B2, US 20050201424 A1, US 7424339 B2, US 20220324100 A1, US 11370114 B2, US 12076863 B2, US 7319920 B2, US 20110130864 A1, US 20220285180 A1, US 12159795 B2, and US 20210213614 A1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: automatic teaching apparatus for semiconductor manufacturing equipment.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652