DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
It is acknowledged that Applicant elected claims 1-8 without traverse in the reply filed July 26, 2026. In the same response, Applicant elected species Toca 511 (vocimagene amiretrorepvec). However, the requirement for election mailed June 16, 2026 (as it applies to claims 1-8) required the election of:
Either (x) an effective amount of a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity, or (y) a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity, or (z) a cytosine deaminase AND
A single SNP
Due to the incomplete species election in the reply filed July 26, 2026, a telephonic election was made on September 21, 2026. Applicant elected the following species without traverse:
(y) a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity AND
SNP rs61530665
Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Claims 9-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 26, 2026.
Claims 1-8 have herein been examined to the extent that they read on the species elected telephonically without traverse on September 21, 2026.
Priority
It is acknowledged that the instant application is a continuation of international PCT Application No. PCT/US2022/080283, filed November 22, 2022, and that it claims benefit of provisional 63/282,649, filed November 23, 2021. The effective filing date is considered to be November 23, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…heterozygous the T allele…” should read “... heterozygous for the T allele.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected because it is unclear if “a subject that has high grade glioma (HGG) and is being considered for treatment for HGG” recited in the preamble to claim 1 is the same as “a patient known to have one or more SNPs” recited in line 8 of claim 1. As a result, one of skill in the art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected for the recitation of “a patient known to have one or more SNPs” because it is unclear what is required by the claim. A SNP, or single nucleotide polymorphism, is a variant which is defined relative to its genomic location. The SNP recited in the claim – rs61530665 – refers to a single nucleotide which is commonly present as either a C (major allele) or T (minor allele) in a given subject. The allele frequencies of the alleles at this locus in the overall population have been measured as 0.753 ‘C’ and 0.247 ‘T’ (see screenshot below from dbSNP). As the allele frequencies sum to 1.0, and the sample size was large (N = 5008), this data indicates that ‘C’ and ‘T’ are the only variants seen in human populations.
Thus, it is unclear if “a patient known to have one or more SNPs…consisting of rs61530665” is intended to require that the subject somehow NOT have a variant at the corresponding locus, or if it is intended to require that the patient somehow have been assessed to identify which variant is present before the administration of treatment, or if something else is required. As a result, one of skill in the art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more. The claims have been evaluated using the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (see Federal Register Vol. 84, No. 4, Monday, January 7, 2019).
Step 1: The claims are directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, prong one: Evaluate Whether the Claim Recites a Judicial Exception
The instant claims recite a law of nature. The claims are directed to a correlation between the presence of a single nucleotide variant and patient response to treatment with 5-FC and a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity. This type of correlation is a consequence of natural processes, similar to the naturally occurring correlation found to be a law of nature by the Supreme Court in Mayo.
Step 2A, prong two: Evaluate Whether the Judicial Exception Is Integrated Into a Practical Application
The claims do NOT recite additional steps or elements that integrate the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception(s). For example, the claims do not practically apply the judicial exception by including one or more additional elements that the courts have stated integrate the exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or a technological field;
An additional element that applies or used a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
An additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
An additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing;
An additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition to the judicial exception, the claims recite a step of “administering” an effective amount of 5-fluorocytosine/5-FC (or an analogue or derivative) and an effective amount of a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity. The specification links the presence of the minor allele of rs61530665 (a homozygous or heterozygous ‘T’ genotype) with improved survival in patients treated with this drug combination. However, in claims 1, 5, and 6, this administering step is applied to patients known to have any rs61530665 genotype, including patients homozygous for the major allele (‘C’). Therefore, the treatment is not particular, i.e., specifically identified so that it does not encompass all applications of the judicial exceptions. In addition, although the specification states that the phenotype of survival post-treatment with the claimed drug combination is associated with the presence of a homozygous or heterozygous rs61530665 ‘T’ genotype, this association failed validation. That is, although the association was significant in the training dataset, when tested in the validation dataset, the difference between genotypes was not significant, having a p-value of 0.37 (par. 324; Fig. 4). Thus, claims 2-4, 7, and 8 also fail to provide a particular treatment. The “administering” step is merely instruction to apply the exception in generic ways, and the claims do not recite any steps or elements that integrate the judicial exception so as to practically apply the judicial exception.
Step 2B: Evaluate Whether the Claim Provides and Inventive Concept
In addition to the judicial exceptions, the claims recite a step of “administering” a specific combination treatment to the subject. This step does not amount to significantly more because it simply appends well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known in the art, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
This step is recited a high level of generality. Administering an effective amount of 5-fluorocytosine/5-FC (or an analogue or derivative) and an effective amount of a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity merely instructs a scientist or clinician to use any known technique for measuring administering a known combination therapy. The claim does not require the use of any particular non-conventional reagents or equipment or methodology. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation that distinguishes this step from well-understood, routine, and conventional activities engaged in by scientists prior to applicant’s invention and at the time the application was filed.
Additionally, the teachings in the specification demonstrate the well-understood, routine, and conventional nature of additional elements because it teaches that the additional elements are well-known or commercially available. For example, the specification teaches the following:
Further, it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g. at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Immunizing a patient against a disease, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1063, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1497 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Freezing and thawing cells, Rapid Litig. Mgmt. 827 F.3d at 1051, 119 USPQ2d at 1375;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For the reasons set forth above the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
As elaborated below, claim(s) 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1) in view of Cordero (published online May 2, 2012; Cordero et al. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2012 Jun;91(6):1001-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1), as evidenced by dbSNP (data submitted Aug. 7, 2014 – see “dbSNP” and “1000 Genomes Project” attachments; dbSNP: rs61530665. Accessed from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/snp/rs61530665) and 1000 Genomes (data submitted Aug. 7, 2014; NCBI BioProject PRJEB6930; Accessed Sept 29, 2026 from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bioproject/PRJEB6930)
Regarding claim 1, Jolly teaches a method of treating a subject that has high grade glioma (HGG) and is being considered for treatment for HGG, comprising: administering: i) an effective amount of 5-fluorocytosine (5-FC) or a 5-FC analogue or derivative; and, ii) an effective amount of a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity (par. 48-49; par. 153).
Regarding claim 1, Jolly does not explicitly teach that a subject is known to have rs61530665. However, dbSNP shows that the global allele frequencies at this locus, as measured by the 1000Genomes project, are 0.753 ‘C’ and 0.247 ‘T’ (see screenshot below from dbSNP). As the allele frequencies sum to 1.0, and the sample size was large (N = 5008), this data indicates that ‘C’ and ‘T’ are the only variants seen in human populations.
Therefore, it is anticipated that the study population examined in Jolly (par. 156-157; Table 5) had subjects known to have one or more SNPs variants (either a ‘C’ or a ‘T’) of rs61530665 recited in lines 9-14 of claim 1. As such, the limitation is considered to have been met.
Regarding claim 5, Jolly recites administering the virotherapy treatment to subjects having HGG in the form of glioblastoma (par. 153)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1) in view of Cordero (published online May 2, 2012; Cordero et al. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2012 Jun;91(6):1001-9).
The teachings of Jolly anticipate the limitations of claims 1 and 5, as discussed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above. Alternatively, claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1) in view of Cordero (published online May 2, 2012; Cordero et al. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2012 Jun;91(6):1001-9).
Regarding claim 1, Jolly teaches a method of treating a subject that has high grade glioma (HGG) and is being considered for treatment for HGG, comprising: administering: i) an effective amount of 5-fluorocytosine (5-FC) or a 5-FC analogue or derivative; and, ii) an effective amount of a viral vector configured for delivering a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide having cytosine deaminase activity (par. 48-49; par. 153).
Regarding claims 2-4, Jolly teaches genotyping as a part of treatment selection (par. 72, 121, 124). Determination of which nucleotide variant is present in a subject as evidence for selecting a treatment encompasses the limitation that a patient be known to have a particular allele at the time of treatment.
Regarding claim 1, Jolly does not explicitly teach that a subject is known to have rs61530665. However, dbSNP shows that the global allele frequencies at this locus, as measured by the 1000Genomes project, are 0.753 ‘C’ and 0.247 ‘T.’
Regarding claims 2-4, Jolly does not explicitly discuss whether the subject has the minor allele ‘T’ at SNP locus rs61530665.
Cordero teaches large-scale whole-genome sequencing of populations for personalized therapeutics (pg. 1002, col. 1, par. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Jolly and Cordero. One would have been motivated to do so in order to tailor therapeutics to specific genetic profiles (pg. 1002, col. 1, par. 3). One would have had reasonable expectation of success because Cordero discusses resources and methodologies useful for this purpose (Table 1) and because GWAS studies of pharmacological response have been successfully conducted (pg. 1002, col. 2, par. 2).
Regarding claim 1, the claim does not require a particular variant at rs61530665 for treatment, and dbSNP indicates that ‘C’ and ‘T’ are the only viable variants at rs61530665. Therefore, in either the smaller study of Jolly (N=7 subjects – par. 161) or the large-scale population studies of the combination of Jolly and Cordero (pg. 1002, col. 1, par. 3), it is expected that at least one subject would be known to possess either variant allele, and the limitation is considered to have been met.
Regarding claims 2-4, the overall allele frequency of ‘T’ is expected to be around 0.247 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above), and the combination of Jolly and Cordero teaches whole-genome sequencing of patients in large-scale population studies with enough power to reliably discern loci of interest (pg. 1002, col. 1, par. 3). Barring evidence to the contrary, it follows from the combination that at least one subject would be known to possess the claimed minor allele (as either a homozygote or heterozygote). Therefore, the limitation is considered to have been met.
Regarding claim 5, Jolly recites administering the virotherapy treatment to subjects having HGG in the form of glioblastoma (par. 153)
Regarding claim 7, Jolly recites administering virotherapy treatment to subjects having HGG in the form of glioblastoma (par. 153)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1) in view of Cordero (published online May 2, 2012; Cordero et al. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2012 Jun;91(6):1001-9) as applied to claims 1-5 and 7 above, and further in view of Mesti (published April 23, 2016; Mesti et al. Radiol Oncol. 2016 Apr 23;50(2):129-38).
The teachings of Jolly (2017) and Cordero (2012) have been documented above in the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C.103.
Regarding claim 6, Jolly does not explicitly teach the administration of virotherapy to a patient having anaplastic astrocytoma. However, Jolly does teach subjects having high-grade glioma (par. 6, 153). In this case, anaplastic astrocytoma and glioblastoma are 2 of 4 species of high-grade glioma (Mesti: pg. 129, col. 1, par. 1) and Jolly explicitly contemplates both “anaplastic astrocytoma” and “glioblastoma” as high-grade gliomas which would benefit from improved and targeted therapies (Jolly: par. 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to exchange the subject having a high-grade glioma (more specifically, a glioblastoma) with a subject having anaplastic astrocytoma because the diseases are functional equivalents in the context of the claimed method. One would have had reasonable expectation of success because at least some glioblastoma and some anaplastic astrocytoma are known to have or to be caused by overlapping genetic profiles (Mesti: Figure 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Jolly (published May 11, 2017; International Publication No. WO 2017079695 A1) in view of Cordero (published online May 2, 2012; Cordero et al. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2012 Jun;91(6):1001-9) as applied to claims 1-5 and 7 above, and further in view of Mesti (published April 23, 2016; Mesti et al. Radiol Oncol. 2016 Apr 23;50(2):129-38).
The teachings of Jolly (2017) and Cordero (2012) have been documented above in the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C.103.Regarding claim 8, Jolly does not explicitly teach the administration of virotherapy to a patient having anaplastic astrocytoma. However, Jolly does teach subjects having high-grade glioma (par. 6, 153). In this case, anaplastic astrocytoma and glioblastoma are 2 of 4 species of high-grade glioma (Mesti: pg. 129, col. 1, par. 1) and Jolly explicitly contemplates both “anaplastic astrocytoma” and “glioblastoma” as high-grade gliomas which would benefit from improved and targeted therapies (Jolly: par. 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to exchange the subject having a high-grade glioma (more specifically, a glioblastoma) with a subject having anaplastic astrocytoma because the diseases are functional equivalents in the context of the claimed method. One would have had reasonable expectation of success because at least some glioblastoma and some anaplastic astrocytoma are known to have or to be caused by overlapping genetic profiles (Mesti: Figure 1).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682