DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 219414040).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure (FIG. 1), comprising: an assembly stand (FIGS. 6, 7, 17, 18, composed of (321), (323), [0269]), a spindle groove (FIGS. 2, 4, 22, 23, the groove of (340), [0265]) being formed in one side of the assembly stand (FIGS. 17, 18, outer side of (321)/(323)), a mounting column (FIGS. 6, 7, 17, 18, (322), [0269]) and a reinforcement skeleton (FIGS. 6, 7, fastener (330), [0270]; NOTE: (330) is not labeled in the figures) being arranged on the other side of the assembly stand (FIGS. 6, 7, 17, 18, inner side of (321)/(323)), and the reinforcement skeleton being coaxial with and inlaid in the mounting column (FIGS. 6, 7, [0270]); a telescopic rod (FIGS. 1, 29, (310), [0249]), a telescopic tube with a minimum cross-section of the telescopic rod (FIGS. 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 20, 29, (310b), [0249]) being disposed around a columnar surface of the mounting column (disposed in a region neighboring (322); FIGS. 7, 20, (312) is sleeved on (322), and/or (322) is sleeved on (312), [0269]); and a grip portion (composed of (410), (420), (430), [0275-0277]), the grip portion being provided with a cavity ((401)/(402), [0284]), and the telescopic rod being arranged in the cavity ([0278, 0284, 0285, 0306]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further discloses the grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure according to Claim 1, wherein corresponding to a contour structure formed by the assembly stand and the mounting column, the reinforcement skeleton is formed with a first skeleton and a second skeleton (indicated below), the first skeleton is arranged in the assembly stand (arranged in the space defined by (321) and (323)), and the second skeleton is arranged in the mounting column (arranged in the space defined by (322)).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further discloses the grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure according to Claim 2, wherein an end, away from the mounting column, of the second skeleton (indicated below) extends out of the mounting column to be received in a tube cavity of the telescopic tube (extends out of (322) to be received in the cavity of (310b)).
Regarding claim 8, Chen further discloses a handheld monopod (FIGS. 1, 38, 39), comprising a clamping portion (FIGS. 2-5, 10-16, (200), [0056, 0082-0089]) and the grip assembly according to Claim 1, wherein one end of the clamping portion is used for clamping a mobile phone ([0056, 0058]), and the other end of the clamping portion is rotatably connected to the spindle groove (rotatable at (340) of (320); (340) adjusts the rotational friction between (610) and (320), [0265]; (200) is fixedly/rotatably mounted on (610), [0179]; [0162, 0176, 0238]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 219414040) as applied to claims 1-3 and 8 above.
Regarding claim 4:
Chen discloses the grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure according to Claim 2.
Chen does not specifically disclose that at least one guide groove is formed in the columnar surface of the mounting column and arranged in an axial direction of the mounting column, and a guide protrusion matched with the guide groove is arranged on an inner wall of the telescopic tube with the minimum cross-section of the telescopic rod.
Chen teaches that the inserting column (310b) is interference-fitted with the top of the telescopic cylinder (310a) or other forms of fixed connection ([0249]); one guide groove (313) formed in the columnar surface of the telescopic rod (310) (FIG. 30, [0286]) and arranged in an axial direction of the telescopic rod (310) (FIG. 29); and a guide protrusion (412a) matched with the guide groove (313) is arranged on an inner wall of a receiving member (410) (FIG. 34, [0286]); wherein the groove and the protrusion are interchangeable ([0286]).
Since Chen already discloses in FIGS. 29 and 30 that every section of the telescopic cylinders (310a) contains a groove/protrusion (313) ([0286]), and the top two sections (310b) and (310a) are interference-fitted, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable at least one guide groove to be formed in the columnar surface of the mounting column and arranged in an axial direction of the mounting column, and a guide protrusion matched with the guide groove to be arranged on an inner wall of the telescopic tube with the minimum cross-section of the telescopic rod, since it is well known in the art for a telescoping tube to be facilitated by a groove-protrusion sliding mechanism for the purpose of fixing the relative positions of the sliding parts circumferentially in the process of sliding.
Regarding claim 5:
Chen discloses the grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure according to Claim 1, wherein the grip portion comprises a tube segment (FIGS. 1, 38, (410), [0275]) and a grip segment ((420), [0276, 0277]) connected with the tube segment (FIGS. 1, 38).
Chen does not specifically disclose a receiving groove for receiving a remote control is formed in a cylindrical surface of the tube segment.
Chen teaches a receiving groove (FIG. 26, (101), [0205]) for receiving a remote control ((130), [0196, 0197]) is formed in a cylindrical surface of the tube segment (FIG. 10, (120) extends relative to (110) to facilitate the user’s grip, and (130) is exposed to facilitate the user’s operation of the (130) [0196]).
Since Chen already discloses providing a remote control (130) at the top half section (120) of a handle ((100) composed of (110) and (120)) as shown in FIG. 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable a receiving groove for receiving a remote control to be formed in a cylindrical surface of the tube segment for the purpose of facilitating the user’s operation of the remote control to allow easy access while holding the grip portion composed of the three retracted/folded legs (420).
Regarding claim 6:
Chen discloses the grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure according to Claim 5, wherein Chen further discloses that the grip portion comprises a link (indicated below) and a plurality of support legs (FIGS. 1, 21, 27, 38, 39, (420), [0275, 0282]),
one end of the link is connected with the tube segment (the bottom end as shown in FIG. 36), recesses ((411a)/(407), [0298, 0301]) matched with the support legs ([0301]) are formed in a side edge of the other end of the link (the top end as shown in FIG. 36), the number of the recesses is equal to the number of the support legs (the number of (411g) is the same as the number of (420), and (411g) is provided with (411a), [0299]), and the plurality of support legs are pivotably connected into the corresponding recesses (FIG. 27, rotate at (421), [0298, 0299]); and the plurality of support legs are allowed be unfolded or folded with one ends of the recesses as pivots to be in an erected state (FIGS. 1, 21, [0275]) or a handheld state (FIGS. 38, 39, [0275]).
Regarding claim 7:
Chen discloses the grip assembly with a reinforcement skeleton structure according to Claim 6, wherein Chen further discloses that in the handheld state, the plurality of support legs are folded to form a cylinder, and a cylindrical surface of the cylinder is flush with the cylindrical surface of the tube segment (FIGS. 38, 39).
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852