DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of FR2305447 filed 5/31/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 17-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perl et al. (US 2019/0102840 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates “a method (paragraph 102: method), comprising:
receiving, by processing circuitry of an electronic system, location-related data (paragraph 18: the telematics devices capture usage-based and/or user-based and/or operation-based telematics data of the motor vehicle and/or user by means of their sensors, and wherein the telematics sensors, at least, comprise…a global positioning system (GPS) sensor; paragraph 43: Figure 2: reference number 40112 denotes a global positioning system GPS (combined with measuring data from odometers, altimeters and gyroscopes providing an accurate positioning in space);
sensing, using sensing circuitry of the electronic system, data related to the electronic system (paragraph 43: Figure 2: reference number 40117 denotes radar sensors (monitoring the vehicle's surrounding areas, such as, e.g., roads, other vehicles, pedestrians, etc.));
determining, using the processing circuitry, a motion state of the electronic system based on the sensed data (paragraph 8: speed detectors, such as, e.g., radar guns, such as microwave radar devices that use the Doppler effect (i.e. the return echo from a moving object will frequency shift); or IR/laser radar that sends pulses of light for determining the difference in reflection time between consecutive pulses to determine speed);
selecting, using the processing circuitry, a plurality of control parameters from one or more configuration matrixes (paragraph 64: for feature extraction, dataset import as early preprocessing steps of the dynamic time warping-based telematics circuit 10 are performed. There can be at least two main sources generating valid datasets, i.e. compatible with the technical processing provided by the present invention: (i) Comma- separated values (CSV) files obtained by Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI), i.e. files storing tabular data (numbers and text) in plain text parameters, and (ii) CSV files directly generated by the Android GPSLogger app) based on the determined motion state, the plurality of control parameters including a system-mode control parameter and a location- determination control parameter (paragraph 59: Figure 18: sensing of environmental parameters 40111, at a minimum, comprising distances to objects and/or intensity of the ambient light and/or sound amplitude by means of the exteroceptive sensors or measuring devices 4011 of the motor vehicles 41, . . . , 45, i.e. how the onboard automotive control system 9 for autonomous or partially autonomous driving of the motor vehicles 41; paragraph 60: IG. 1 schematically illustrates an architecture for a possible implementation of an embodiment of the electronic, real-time maneuver detection system 1 based on dynamically measured telematics data 3, particularly further providing a dynamic accident causation and accident risk measuring system 1 that measures driver behaviors and operational parameters, and discriminating the same by means of the system 1 based on automatically individuating driver maneuvers 91 within various measured vehicle trajectories 9 and generating an output signal based upon derived risk measure parameters and/or crash attitude measure parameters …the driver maneuvers 91 can be individuated by means of system 1; paragraph 159: 1232 activation control parameter; paragraph 61: proprioceptive sensors 4021 for sensing operating parameters 40121 of the motor vehicle 41, . ., 45 and/or exteroceptive sensors 4011 for sensing environmental parameters 40111 during the operation of the motor vehicle 41,…45…the exteroceptive sensors or measuring devices 4011 can, for example, comprise at least radar devices 40117 for monitoring surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41, . . ., 45 and/or LIDAR devices 40115 for monitoring surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or global positioning systems 40122 or vehicle tracking devices for measuring positioning parameters of the motor vehicle 41, . . ., 45 and/or odometrical devices 40114 for complementing and improving the positioning parameters measured by the global positioning systems 40112 or vehicle tracking devices and/or computer vision devices 40116 or video cameras for monitoring the surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or ultrasonic sensors 40113 for measuring the position of objects close to the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45…the proprioceptive sensors or measuring devices 4012 for sensing operating parameters 40121 of the motor vehicles 41, . . . , 45 can, at a minimum, comprise motor speed and/or wheel load and/or heading and/or battery status data of the motor vehicles 41, . . . , 45; paragraph 62: The measured operating parameters 40121 and/or environmental parameters 40111 ; paragraph 175: Operational data of the control system 461,…, 465; paragraph 195: 4611 Operating parameters of the automotive control circuit);
configuring a system mode of the electronic system based on the system-mode control parameter (paragraph 61: proprioceptive sensors 4021 for sensing operating parameters 40121 of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or exteroceptive sensors 4011 for sensing environmental parameters 40111 during the operation of the motor vehicle 41,…45…the exteroceptive sensors or measuring devices 4011 can, for example, comprise at least radar devices 40117 for monitoring surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or LIDAR devices 40115 for monitoring surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or global positioning systems 40122 or vehicle tracking devices for measuring positioning parameters of the motor vehicle 41); and
determining a location characteristic of the electronic system based on the received location-related data and the location-determination control parameter (paragraph 61: global positioning systems 40122 or vehicle tracking devices for measuring positioning parameters of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or odometrical devices 40114 for complementing and improving the positioning parameters measured by the global positioning systems 40112 or vehicle tracking devices and/or computer vision devices 40116 or video cameras for monitoring the surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41).”
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates the method of claim 1. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “the receiving location- related data comprises: receiving measurements of pseudo-ranges; receiving measurements of Doppler frequencies; or combinations thereof (paragraph 74: he system 1 performs a longitudinal speed correction. It is a known and documented fact in the technical field, the high accuracy of GPS-based speedometers w.r.t. their vehicle counterparts, mainly due to the use of the Doppler shift in the pseudo range signals from satellites, but even thanks to the various filters employed by the algorithm. In this sense, GPS speed is even more accurate than GPS geo-localization).”
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates the method of claim 1. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “determining a location characteristic of the electronic system comprises determining one or more location characteristics including: estimating a position of the electronic system; estimating of a velocity of the electronic system; or combinations thereof (paragraph 61: global positioning systems 40122 or vehicle tracking devices for measuring positioning parameters of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 and/or odometrical devices 40114 for complementing and improving the positioning parameters measured by the global positioning systems 40112 or vehicle tracking devices and/or computer vision devices 40116 or video cameras for monitoring the surrounding areas of the motor vehicle 41; paragraph 8: speed detectors, such as, e.g., radar guns, such as microwave radar devices that use the Doppler effect (i.e. the return echo from a moving object will frequency shift)…or IR/laser radar Ithat sends pulses of light for determining the difference in reflection time between consecutive pulses to determine speed).”
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates the method of claim 1. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “the processing circuitry includes sampling circuitry, the plurality of control parameters includes a sampling-rate control parameter and the method comprises: setting a sampling rate of the sampling circuitry based on the sampling-rate control parameter; sampling the received location-related data using the sampling circuitry; and determining the location characteristic of the electronic system based on the sampled location-related data and the location-determination control parameter (paragraph 54: FIG. 13 shows a diagram schematically illustrating in an exemplary manner a typical example of DTW applied to two sinusoidal-shaped time series. Red curve: sequence lasting 15 secs sampled at regular time intervals; blue curve: sequence lasting 21 secs having tripled and half sampling rate w.r.t. red series, respectively in its initial and final trait; gray dashed lines: optimal temporal correspondence between the two sequences; paragraph 77: the appropriate interpolation is performed by the system 1. Once the original variables have been suitably filtered and cleaned as described above, the next phase concerns interpolation, whose main purposes are threefold: i) to increase the rate of some original variables, especially those having a low sampling frequency, such as GPS speed and geoposition…ii) to temporally align all the original variables given an arbitrarily chosen sampling frequency…iii) to fill-in missing data with proper values).”
Regarding independent claim 10, which is a corresponding device claim of independent method claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 3, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 8, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 9, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 9.
Regarding independent claim 19, which is a corresponding system claim of independent method claim 10, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 10. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “a memory; and processing circuitry coupled to the memory (paragraph 14: telematics technology, may also provide the basic technology for other platforms, such as, e.g., IoT-platforms (internet of things), which provide the network of physical devices, vehicles, buildings and/or other items embedded with electronics, software sensors, actuators, and network connectivity that enable these objects to collect and exchange data…IoT allows objects to be sensed and controlled remotely across the existing network infrastructure, also allowing for a more direct integration of the physical world into processor-driven systems and computer means).”
Regarding claim 20, which is dependent on independent claim 19, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates the system of claim 19. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “the processing circuitry comprises: global positioning circuitry, which, in operation, receives the location related data; and one or more sensors, which, in operation, senses the data related to the system (paragraph 18: the telematics devices capture usage-based and/or user-based and/or operation-based telematics data of the motor vehicle and/or user by means of their sensors, and wherein the telematics sensors, at least, comprise…a global positioning system (GPS) sensor; paragraph 43: Figure 2: reference number 40112 denotes a global positioning system GPS (combined with measuring data from odometers, altimeters and gyroscopes providing an accurate positioning in space).”
Regarding claim 21, which is dependent on independent claim 19, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates the system of claim 19. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “a motor vehicle including the memory and the processing circuitry (paragraph 18: the telematics devices capture usage-based and/or user-based and/or operation-based telematics data of the motor vehicle and/or user by means of their sensors; paragraph 59: Figure 18: sensing of environmental parameters 40111, at a minimum, comprising distances to objects and/or intensity of the ambient light and/or sound amplitude by means of the exteroceptive sensors or measuring devices 4011 of the motor vehicles 41, . . . , 45, i.e. how the onboard automotive control system 9 for autonomous or partially autonomous driving of the motor vehicles 41; paragraph 14: telematics technology, may also provide the basic technology for other platforms, such as, e.g., IoT-platforms (internet of things), which provide the network of physical devices, vehicles, buildings and/or other items embedded with electronics, software sensors, actuators, and network connectivity that enable these objects to collect and exchange data…IoT allows objects to be sensed and controlled remotely across the existing network infrastructure, also allowing for a more direct integration of the physical world into processor-driven systems and computer means).”
Regarding independent claim 22, which is a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium claim of independent device claim 10, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates all the claimed invention, as shown above for device claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, which is dependent on independent claim 22, Perl et al. (‘840) anticipates the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22. Perl et al. (‘840) further anticipates “the contents comprises instructions executed by the processing system (paragraph 14: telematics technology, may also provide the basic technology for other platforms, such as, e.g., IoT-platforms (internet of things), which provide the network of physical devices, vehicles, buildings and/or other items embedded with electronics, software sensors, actuators, and network connectivity that enable these objects to collect and exchange data…IoT allows objects to be sensed and controlled remotely across the existing network infrastructure, also allowing for a more direct integration of the physical world into processor-driven systems and computer means).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perl et al. (US 2019/0102840 A1), and further in view of Proud (US 2014/0247141 A1).
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) discloses the method of claim 1. Perl et al. (‘840) further discloses “the sensing data comprises: sensing a velocity associated with the electronic system (paragraph 8: speed detectors, such as, e.g., radar guns, such as microwave radar devices that use the Doppler effect (i.e. the return echo from a moving object will frequency shift); or IR/laser radar that sends pulses of light for determining the difference in reflection time between consecutive pulses to determine speed);
sensing an acceleration associated with the electronic system (paragraph 67: concerning acceleration, the system 1 relies on the principal component analysis in order to individuate the longitudinal direction (presumably with the maximum variance) and the lateral direction (maximizing the residual variance), assigning the minimum variance component to the vertical acceleration; paragraph 78: Kalman filters are applied, i.e. lateral acceleration reconstruction and sensor acceleration alignment when the sensor's local coordinate system differs from the car's global one, both based on a fusion of accelerometer and gyroscope data; paragraph 110: the mobile telematics devices 400 can, e.g., comprise, at a minimum, a GPS module (global positioning system) and/or geological compass module based on a 3-axis teslameter and a 3-axis accelerometer and/or gyro sensor or gyro meter and/or a MEMS accelerometer sensor comprising a cantilever beam with the seismic mass as a proof mass measuring the proper or g-force acceleration, and/or a MEMS magnetometer or a magneto-resistive permalloy sensor or other three-axis magnetometers);
sensing rotational data associated with the electronic system (paragraph 63: gyroscope sensory data with respect to a rotation rate (rad/s));
sensing an angular velocity associated with the electronic system (paragraph 67: he angular velocities captured by the orientation sensor…the system comprises the canonical correlation analysis with the aim of associating each identified acceleration component with the angular velocity, the linear combination maximizing the correlation with the former);
sensing an altitude associated with the electronic system (paragraph 67: investigating the role that altitude changes may have in the currently extracted features (for example, done by recording tracks through GPS Logger app on mountain streets));
sensing distance data associated with the electronic system (paragraph 8: sensing their surrounding environment and operational status or use. Such modern automotive engineered vehicles are capable of detecting a great variety of operational and surrounding parameters using, e.g., radar, LIDAR (instrument that measures distances by means of laser light); paragraph 26: The variable contextual scoring parameter can, e.g., at a minimum, be based upon measured trip score parameters reliant on road type and/or number of intersections and/or tunnels and/or elevations and/or measured time of travel parameters and/or measured weather parameters and/or measured location parameters and/or measured distance driven parameters);
sensing temperature data associated with the electronic system (paragraph 62: the measured operating parameters 40121 and/or environmental parameters 40111 during the operation of the motor vehicle 41, . . . , 45 can, e.g., comprise time-dependent speed measurements and data regarding…temperature); or
combinations thereof (paragraph 61: the mobile telematics device 400 can be at least partially implemented as part of a mobile phone device/mobile smart phone devices 471, . . . , 475. In particular, the mobile telematics device 400 can, at a minimum, be based mainly on integrated mobile phone telematics 471, . . . , 475 and/or OEM line-fitted telematics device (TCU) of the connected car or motor vehicles 41, . . . , 45…the captured sensory data can be based solely on measuring data from the accelerometer sensor 4011 and the global positioning system (GPS) sensor 4013 and/or the gyroscope sensor 4012 of a smartphone or mobile phone 471, . . . , 475, thus, accommodating mobile telematics device 400 and the sensors and measuring devices 401, . . . , 405, respectively, in the mobile phone/smartphone 471, . . . , 475…the mobile telematics device 400 can also be implemented in a broader sense, comprising on-device sensors and measuring devices 401, . . . , 405 and/or one or more data transmission connections to the onboard sensors and measuring devices 401, . . . , 405 of the motor vehicle 41).”
Perl et al. (‘840) does not explicitly disclose “sensing a pressure associated with the electronic system; sensing proximity data associated with the electronic system.”
Proud (‘141) relates to monitoring devices. Proud (‘141) teaches “sensing a pressure associated with the electronic system; sensing proximity data associated with the electronic system (paragraph 106: a pressure sensor 14 can be placed on a circulatory vessel; paragraph 148: the emergency operator may also be provided with information which identifies an emergency response vehicle in close proximity to remote sensor 14).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Perl et al. (‘840) with the teaching of Proud (‘141) for improved monitoring (Proud (‘141) – paragraph 12). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Perl et al. (‘840) and Proud (‘141)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring using multiple sensors.
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 2, Perl et al. (‘840)/Proud (‘141) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 2.
Claims 4-5, 13-14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perl et al. (US 2019/0102840 A1), and further in view of Breed et al. (US 2012/0323474 A1).
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) discloses the method of claim 1. Perl et al. (‘840) does not explicitly disclose “determining a location characteristic of the electronic system based on the received location-related data and the location-determination control parameter comprises configuring a Kalman filter based on the location-determination parameter and applying the Kalman filter to the received location-related data.”
Breed et al. (‘474) relates to communication system. Breed et al. (‘474) teaches “determining a location characteristic of the electronic system based on the received location-related data and the location-determination control parameter comprises configuring a Kalman filter based on the location-determination parameter and applying the Kalman filter to the received location-related data (paragraph 118: as more sensors which are capable of providing information on the vehicle position, velocity and acceleration are added onto the vehicle, the system can become sufficiently complicated as to require a Kalman filter, neural network, or neural-fuzzy, system to permit the optimum usage of the available information…this becomes even more important when information from outside the vehicle other than the GPS related systems becomes more available…a vehicle may be able to communicate with other vehicles that have similar systems and learn their estimated location…if the vehicle can independently measure the position of the other vehicle, for example through the use of the scanning laser radar system described below, the differenced GPS readings as discussed above, and thereby determine the relative position of the two or more vehicles, a further improvement of the position can be determined for all such vehicles…adding all such additional information into the system would probably require a computational method such as Kalman filters, neural networks or a combination thereof and perhaps a fuzzy logic system).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Perl et al. (‘840) with the teaching of Breed et al. (‘474) for improved detection system (Breed et al. (‘474) – paragraph 20). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Perl et al. (‘840) and Breed et al. (‘474)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring using multiple sensors.
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 4, Perl et al. (‘840) discloses the method of claim 4. Perl et al. (‘840) does not explicitly disclose “the plurality of control parameters comprises multiple location-determination control parameters.”
Breed et al. (‘474) relates to communication system. Breed et al. (‘474) teaches “the plurality of control parameters comprises multiple location-determination control parameters (paragraph 118: as more sensors which are capable of providing information on the vehicle position, velocity and acceleration are added onto the vehicle, the system can become sufficiently complicated as to require a Kalman filter, neural network, or neural-fuzzy, system to permit the optimum usage of the available information…this becomes even more important when information from outside the vehicle other than the GPS related systems becomes more available …a vehicle may be able to communicate with other vehicles that have similar systems and learn their estimated location…if the vehicle can independently measure the position of the other vehicle, for example through the use of the scanning laser radar system described below, the differenced GPS readings as discussed above, and thereby determine the relative position of the two or more vehicles, a further improvement of the position can be determined for all such vehicles…adding all such additional information into the system would probably require a computational method such as Kalman filters, neural networks or a combination thereof and perhaps a fuzzy logic system).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Perl et al. (‘840) with the teaching of Breed et al. (‘474) for improved detection system (Breed et al. (‘474) – paragraph 20). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Perl et al. (‘840) and Breed et al. (‘474)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring using multiple sensors.
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 4, Perl et al. (‘840)/Breed et al. (‘474) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on claim 13, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 5, Perl et al. (‘840)/Breed et al. (‘474) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 23, which is dependent on independent claim 22, and which is a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium claim of method claim 4, Perl et al. (‘840)/Breed et al. (‘474) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 4.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perl et al. (US 2019/0102840 A1), in view of Proud (US 2014/0247141 A1), and further in view of Barone et al. (US 2007/0208841 A1).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Perl et al. (‘840) discloses the method of claim 1. Perl et al. (‘840) does not explicitly disclose “the system-mode power-mode control parameter comprises one or more power-mode control parameters, and the method comprises: setting an operating frequency based on the one or more power-mode control parameters; setting a power-mode of the electronic system based on the one or more power-mode control parameters; or combinations thereof.”
Proud (‘141) relates to monitoring devices. Proud (‘141) teaches “the system-mode power-mode control parameter comprises one or more power-mode control parameters, and the method comprises: setting an operating frequency based on the one or more power-mode control parameters (paragraph 156: the RF transceiver 86 may include an RF Monolithic DR3000 transceiver, although any suitable transceiver or separate transmitter and receiver 34 would suffice…this transceiver 86 allows for both digital transmission and reception. The transceiver 86 can have an operating frequency of 916.5 MHz and is capable of baud rates between 2.4 kbps and 19.2 kbps. It can use OOK modulation and has an output power of 0.75 mW; paragraph 160: the RF backscatter transceiver 90 can include a printed circuit board (PCB) patch antenna for RF reception, and RF modulation, a Schotky diode detector circuit, a comparator circuit for signal decoding, and a logic circuit for wake-up…the logic circuit monitors the incoming data, and when an appropriate wake-up pattern is detected, it triggers the microprocessor 84 so that data reception can begin. In one embodiment, the reader 94 has an operating frequency between 2402 MHz and 2480 MHz, and uses frequency hopping in this band to reduce noise interference);
setting a power-mode of the electronic system based on the one or more power-mode control parameters or combinations thereof (paragraph 155: even though it is a 12-bit sensor, suitable results are achieved with only 9-bit conversions with only the 8 most significant bits used…the sensor has an I2C interface and is normally kept in sleep mode for low power operation. When directed by the microprocessor 84, the thermal transducer can perform a 9-bit temperature conversion in 75 milliseconds).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Perl et al. (‘840) with the teaching of Proud (‘141) for improved monitoring (Proud (‘141) – paragraph 12). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Perl et al. (‘840) and Proud (‘141)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring using multiple sensors.
Barone et al. (‘841) relates to wireless communications. Barone et al. (‘841) teaches “setting a power-supply voltage based on the one or more power-mode control parameters (paragraph 272: the processor 177 in each node is a digital signal processor that has low power "sleep" modes…these types of processors are specifically designed for the type of signal processing that is used to determine if the discriminator criteria is met by the specific node…this type of processor has "sleep" modes that allow external stimulus such as trip circuits on analog sensors implemented by comparator circuits or "wake up" calls from the transmitter/receiver to "wake" the processor from very low power "sleep" modes…this feature is commonly used for cell phones and other wireless systems, and allows for substantial power conservation, and allows wireless devices such as the nodes in this application to have long life when powered by batteries…the generator first supplies power to the sensors, which begin to function, and then to the signal conditioning amplifiers, etc. …when those components are adequately powered, the microcontroller begins to draw power until it enters the awake state, and then the Zigbee transceiver is powered, possibly by some residual power in the supercapacitor).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Perl et al. (‘840)/Proud (‘141) with the teaching of Barone et al. (‘841) for improved monitoring by power conservation (Barone et al. (‘841) – paragraph 12). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Perl et al. (‘840), Proud (‘141) and Barone et al. (‘841)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, monitoring using multiple sensors.
Regarding claim 16, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 7, Perl et al. (‘840)/Proud (‘141)/Barone et al. (‘841) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 7.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perl et al. (US 2019/0102840 A1)/Breed et al. (US 2012/0323474 A1), and further in view of Zhodzishky et al. (US 2002/0021241 A1).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 5, Perl et al. (‘840)/Breed et al. (‘474) discloses the method of claim 5. Perl et al. (‘840)/Breed et al. (‘474) does not explicitly disclose “the multiple location- determination control parameters include: a parameter representing a matrix of noise measurements linked to pseudo-ranges; a parameter representing a matrix of noise measurements linked to Doppler frequencies; a parameter representing a covariance matrix linked to extrapolation of an estimate of a position; a parameter representing a covariance matrix linked to extrapolation of an estimate of a velocity; or combinations thereof.”
Zhodzishky et al. (‘241) relates to navigation systems. Zhodzishky et al. (‘241) teaches “the multiple location- determination control parameters include: a parameter representing a matrix of noise measurements linked to pseudo-ranges (paragraph 3: these measurements enable one to determine the so-called pseudo-ranges between the receiver and the satellites…the pseudo-ranges are different from true ranges (distances) between the receiver and the satellites due to variations in the time scales of the satellites and receiver and various noise sources… If the number of satellites is large enough (more than four), then the measured pseudo-ranges can be processed to determine the user location (e.g., X, Y, and Z coordinates) and to reconcile the variations in the time scales);
a parameter representing a matrix of noise measurements linked to Doppler frequencies (paragraph 69: the task of measuring carrier phase is not as easy at it appears. In practice, we must use non-ideal receivers to measure the phases
and
, with each receiver having a different clock offset with respect to the GPS time, and with each receiver having phase errors occurring during the measurement process…at the present time, it is not practical to individually count the carrier cycles as they are received by the receiver's antenna since the frequency of the carrier signal is over 1 GHz…the PLL loop can easily track the Doppler-shift frequency
of the carrier signal, which is in the kHz range…with a few assumptions, the phases
and
can be related to their respective Doppler-shift frequencies…the satellite transmits at a fixed frequency of
, but the relative motion between the satellite and receiver causes the frequency seen by the receiver to be slightly shifted from the value of
by the Doppler frequency
…we may write the frequency seen by the receiver's antenna as
+
, where
has a positive value when the distance between the satellite and receiver's antenna is shrinking, and a negative value when the distance is increasing…each receiver can then assume that the received phase is proportional to the predictable amount of
, minus the amount
due to the Doppler-shift…the Doppler amount
is subtracted from
because the Doppler frequency increases as the distance between the satellite and receiver's antenna decreases…the predictable amount
will be the same for each receiver, but the Doppler frequencies will usually be different);
a parameter representing a covariance matrix linked to extrapolation of an estimate of a position; a parameter representing a covariance matrix linked to extrapolation of an estimate of a velocity or combinations thereof (paragraph 139: the covariance measurement matrix
is determined by the weight coefficients
and is given in the form:
; paragraph 140: according to the least-squares method, the extrapolation function parameters (in the
vector) for fitting the phase of the m-th satellite are defined as follows:
; paragraph 142: where
is the vector of the
pseudo-range measurements of the m-th satellite in the true group:
(Here, and further on, the superscript "T" means the matrix transposition, and the superscript "-1" means the matrix inversion)…the use of the covariance matrix
is preferred but optional. If matrix
is not used, then the identity matrix E is used in its place in the above equations (The identity matrix has ones for its diagonal elements, and zeros for its off-diagonal elements).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of Perl et al. (‘840) with the teaching of Zhodzishky et al. (‘241) for high accuracy positioning (Zhodzishky et al. (‘241) – paragraph 3). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Perl et al. (‘840) and Zhodzishky et al. (‘241)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, signal processing for target detection.
Regarding claim 15, which is dependent on claim 14, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 6, Perl et al. (‘840)/Zhodzishky et al. (‘241) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 6.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berfkvist et al. (US 2022/0376800 A1) describes a wireless device comprising a positioning sensor, memory circuitry, a wireless interface, and processor circuitry…the processor circuitry is configured to obtain a channel quality parameter indicative of a channel quality of a wireless communication channel…the processor circuitry is configured to determine whether the channel quality parameter satisfies a first criterion…the processor circuitry is configured to, when the channel quality parameter satisfies the first criterion, determine, by using an activation model, a control parameter based on the channel quality parameter…the processor circuitry is configured to, when the channel quality parameter satisfies the first criterion, control the positioning sensor based on the control parameter (paragraph 6).
Brannstorm et al. (US 9,921,065 B2) describes a unit for improving positioning accuracy of an autonomous vehicle driving on a road…the unit comprises a first computation unit configured to compute a first position of the vehicle on the road at a time T1, where the computation is performed using data from at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU)…the unit also comprises a second computation unit configured to compute a second position of the vehicle on the road at the time T1, where the computation is performed using data from at least one external sensor and a map…the unit also comprises a comparison unit configured to compute a position difference between the computed first position and the computed second position…the unit also comprises a correction unit configured to correct an error parameter of at least the IMU, where the error parameter is used for correcting a third position of the vehicle computed by the first computation unit at a time T2 with the computed position difference at time T1, if the second computation unit is unable to compute a fourth position of the vehicle at the time T2…the unit also comprises positioning unit configured to decide the position of the vehicle on the road (column 8 line 49-column 9 line 2).
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648