DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 11 and 12 are new.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to Chinese Patent Application No. 202310590778.1 filed on 5/23/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/20/26, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, except where noted below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 (page 6) are persuasive and claim 10 is no longer rejected under that statute.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 (pages 7-9) are moot in view of the newly cited reference, Jacobs.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Instances in the claims including ‘preset module’, ‘detection module, ‘comparison module’ and ‘control module’ (claim 9) are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in accordance with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the English translation of Xiao et al. Chinese Patent Document CN109210696, published 1/15/2019 (hereinafter Xiao) in view of Jacobs U.S. Patent No. 3802490 (hereinafter Jacobs).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a method for controlling freezing prevention during refrigeration of an air conditioning system [0009 — the present invention provides a control method for air conditioner anti-freeze protection], comprising:
presetting a parameter compensation quantity according to an outdoor ambient temperature [0010 — Set Tw as the ambient temperature; 0032-0038 — compensation for the detected inner coil temperature Tp based on the external ambient temperature… Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb… When Tw≤16℃, calculate Tpb=Tp+0℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb];
detecting a real-time parameter on the air conditioning system in a refrigeration mode [0032 — the detected inner coil temperature Tp; 0042 — Perform internal coil temperature detection and compensation; 0068 — the compensation for the detected inner coil temperature Tp based on the outer ambient temperature];
an indoor heat exchanger and a compressor of the air conditioning system [Abstract, 0047 — the indoor unit heat exchanger; 0014, 0040 — control the compressor operating frequency and the valve opening of the electronic expansion valve];
calculating a corrected parameter according to the sum of the real-time parameter and the corresponding parameter compensation quantity [0036-0038 — When 22℃ < Tw ≤ 29℃, the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb is obtained by calculating Tpb = Tp - 1℃], and comparing whether the corrected parameter is less than a first parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3]; and
controlling the air conditioning system to enter a freezing prevention protection mode if the corrected parameter is less than the first parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3].
But Xiao fails to clearly specify a return air parameter on a low-pressure side of the air conditioning system; the real-time return air parameter being detected between a heat exchanger and a return air end of a compressor of the air conditioning system.
However, Jacobs teaches a return air parameter on a low-pressure side of the air conditioning system; the real-time return air parameter being detected between a heat exchanger and a return air end of a compressor of the air conditioning system [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch].
Xiao and Jacobs are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Xiao, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jacobs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent the evaporator freezing and the accumulation of frost, as taught by Jacobs [col. 1 lines 33-59, col. 2 lines 28-43].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Xiao and Jacobs teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches the outdoor ambient temperature is not greater than the second preset temperature and corresponds to a third parameter compensation quantity, the first preset temperature is greater than the second preset temperature, and the first parameter compensation quantity, the second parameter compensation quantity and the third parameter compensation quantity are increased sequentially [0068-0074 — Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb; When Tw≤16℃, calculate Tpb=Tp+0℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb. When 16℃ < Tw ≤ 22℃, calculate Tpb = Tp + 0℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb. When 22℃ < Tw ≤ 29℃, calculate Tpb = Tp - 1℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb. When 29℃ < Tw ≤ 32℃, calculate Tpb = Tp - 1℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb. When Tw>32℃, calculate Tpb=Tp-2℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb.].
Further, Jacobs teaches a return air parameter [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch].
Regarding claim 9, Xiao teaches a device for controlling freezing prevention during refrigeration of an air conditioning system [0009 — the present invention provides a control method for air conditioner anti-freeze protection; 0023, 0055 — the refrigeration system described in this embodiment; 0084 — the systems, devices, and units described above], comprising:
a preset module, configured to preset a parameter compensation quantity according to an outdoor ambient temperature [0010 — Set Tw as the ambient temperature; 0032-0038 — compensation for the detected inner coil temperature Tp based on the external ambient temperature… Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb… When Tw≤16℃, calculate Tpb=Tp+0℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb];
a detection module, configured to detect a real-time parameter on the air conditioning system in a refrigeration mode [0032 — the detected inner coil temperature Tp; 0042 — Perform internal coil temperature detection and compensation; 0068 — the compensation for the detected inner coil temperature Tp based on the outer ambient temperature];
an indoor heat exchanger and a compressor of the air conditioning system [Abstract, 0047 — the indoor unit heat exchanger; 0014, 0040 — control the compressor operating frequency and the valve opening of the electronic expansion valve];
a comparison module, configured to calculate a corrected parameter according to the sum of the real-time parameter and the corresponding parameter compensation quantity [038 — When 22℃ < Tw ≤ 29℃, the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb is obtained by calculating Tpb = Tp - 1℃], and comparing whether the corrected parameter is less than a first parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3], and compare whether the corrected parameter is less than a first parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3]; and
a control module, configured to control the air conditioning system to enter a freezing prevention protection mode if the corrected parameter is less than the first parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3].
But Xiao fails to clearly specify a return air parameter on a low-pressure side of the air conditioning system; the real-time return air parameter being detected between a heat exchanger and a return air end of a compressor of the air conditioning system.
However, Jacobs teaches a return air parameter on a low-pressure side of the air conditioning system; the real-time return air parameter being detected between a heat exchanger and a return air end of a compressor of the air conditioning system [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch].
Xiao and Jacobs are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by Xiao, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jacobs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent the evaporator freezing and the accumulation of frost, as taught by Jacobs [col. 1 lines 33-59, col. 2 lines 28-43].
Regarding claim 11, Xiao teaches a method for controlling freezing prevention during refrigeration of an air conditioning system [0009 — the present invention provides a control method for air conditioner anti-freeze protection], comprising:
presetting a return air parameter compensation quantity according to an outdoor ambient temperature [0010 — Set Tw as the ambient temperature; 0032-0038 — compensation for the detected inner coil temperature Tp based on the external ambient temperature… Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb… When Tw≤16℃, calculate Tpb=Tp+0℃ to obtain the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb];
detecting a real-time return air parameter on a low-pressure side of the air conditioning system in a refrigeration mode [0032 — the detected inner coil temperature Tp; 0042 — Perform internal coil temperature detection and compensation; 0068 — the compensation for the detected inner coil temperature Tp based on the outer ambient temperature];
an indoor heat exchanger and a compressor of the air conditioning system [Abstract, 0047 — the indoor unit heat exchanger; 0014, 0040 — control the compressor operating frequency and the valve opening of the electronic expansion valve];
calculating a corrected return air parameter according to the sum of the real-time return air parameter and the corresponding return air parameter compensation quantity [0036-0038 — When 22℃ < Tw ≤ 29℃, the compensated inner coil temperature Tpb is obtained by calculating Tpb = Tp - 1℃], and comparing whether the corrected parameter is less than a first parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3], and comparing whether the corrected return air parameter is less than a first return air parameter threshold, the first return air parameter threshold being a first return air threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3]; and
controlling the air conditioning system to enter a freezing prevention protection mode if the corrected return air parameter is less than the first return air parameter threshold [0041-0044 — Determine if Tpb≤3℃; if Tpb≤3℃, proceed to step A2; otherwise, the compressor continues to operate according to the internal coil anti-freeze protection logic… Determine whether the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER19 minutes; if the compensated inner coil temperature continuously decreases within Q_NER20 minutes, the compressor operates at a reduced frequency at a preset speed, and the electronic expansion valve opens to the initial valve opening at a preset speed, then proceed to step A3].
But Xiao fails to clearly specify the air conditioning system comprises a pressure sensor, and the real-time return air parameter is a return air pressure detected by the pressure sensor between an indoor heat exchanger and a return air end of a compressor of the air conditioning system and the first return air parameter threshold being a first return air pressure threshold.
However, Jacobs teaches the air conditioning system comprises a pressure sensor, and the real-time return air parameter is a return air pressure detected by the pressure sensor between an indoor heat exchanger and a return air end of a compressor of the air conditioning system [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch] and the first return air parameter threshold being a first return air pressure threshold [col. 2 lines 28-43 — The valve 36 automatically restricts refrigerant flow from evaporator 30 to prevent the evaporator pressure from falling below a predetermined pressure (pressure threshold) corresponding to a freezing temperature].
Xiao and Jacobs are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Xiao, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jacobs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent the evaporator freezing and the accumulation of frost, as taught by Jacobs [col. 1 lines 33-59, col. 2 lines 28-43].
Claim(s) 3-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xiao and Jacobs in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20250180256 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Xiao and Jacobs teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches the air conditioning system at least comprises the compressor, a throttling element, the indoor heat exchanger which are sequentially connected [Abstract, 0047 — the indoor unit heat exchanger; 0014, 0040 — control the compressor operating frequency and the valve opening of the electronic expansion valve].
Further, Jacobs teaches the air conditioning system at least comprises a compressor, an outdoor heat exchanger, a throttling element, an indoor heat exchanger which are sequentially connected to form a refrigerant circulating flow path [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10…a condenser 18 normally positioned in front of the automobile radiator (outdoor heat exchanger)… In the evaporator 30 (indoor heat exchanger), the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… an expansion valve 24 (throttling element)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Xiao, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jacobs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to facilitate cooling and de-humification of an occupied space, as suggested by Jacobs [col. 1].
But the combination of Xiao and Jacobs fails to clearly specify an outdoor fan.
However, Kim teaches controlling an outdoor fan [0004-0005, 0059, Fig. 1 — heat pump system 1 may include a compressor 102, a refrigerant-water heat exchanger 112, an expansion valve 110, an outdoor heat exchanger 108, a flow diverter valve 106, and an accumulator 104; 0111 — upon identifying that the refrigerant-water heat exchanger 112 is in the abnormal state, such as detecting a risk of freezing of the refrigerant-water heat exchanger 112 as described above, the controller 10 may turn off the compressor 102 and the outdoor fan 109 to protect the heat pump system.].
Xiao, Jacobs and Kim are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao and Jacobs, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to increase the heat exchange efficiency between the refrigerant and the outdoor air, as taught by Kim [0063].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches the freezing prevention protection mode comprises controlling the compressor to stop operating, and the indoor heat exchanger to operate normally [0005, 0029 — During the frequency reduction period, the compressor stops when Tp ≤ 1℃; 0067 — during the frequency reduction period, when Tp≤1℃, the compressor stops and enters a protection state; Abstract, 0047 — the indoor unit heat exchanger].
But the combination of Xiao and Jacobs fails to clearly specify controlling the compressor and the outdoor fan corresponding to the outdoor heat exchanger to stop operating, and the heat exchanger to operate normally.
Further, Kim teaches controlling the compressor and the outdoor fan corresponding to the outdoor heat exchanger to stop operating, and the heat exchanger to operate normally [0004-0005, 0059, Fig. 1 — heat pump system 1 may include a compressor 102, a refrigerant-water heat exchanger 112, an expansion valve 110, an outdoor heat exchanger 108, a flow diverter valve 106, and an accumulator 104; 0111 — upon identifying that the refrigerant-water heat exchanger 112 is in the abnormal state, such as detecting a risk of freezing of the refrigerant-water heat exchanger 112 as described above, the controller 10 may turn off the compressor 102 and the outdoor fan 109 to protect the heat pump system.].
Xiao, Jacobs and Kim are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao and Jacobs, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent freezing, as taught by Kim [0111].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Xiao and Jacobs teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches controlling freezing prevention during refrigeration of an air conditioning system [0005, 0029 — During the frequency reduction period, the compressor stops when Tp ≤ 1℃; 0067 — during the frequency reduction period, when Tp≤1℃, the compressor stops and enters a protection state].
But the combination of Xiao and Jacobs fails to clearly specify a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, which is configured to, when executed, implement the method.
However, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, which is configured to, when executed, implement the method [0148-0149 — embodiments disclosed herein can be implemented in the form of a recording medium storing executable instructions for a computer. The instructions can be stored in the form of program code, and, when executed by the processor, can produce a program module that performs the operation of the disclosed embodiments. The recording medium can be implemented as a computer-readable storage medium. The computer-readable storage medium includes all types of storage media that store instructions that can be decoded by a computer. These may include, for example, read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), magnetic tape, magnetic disc, flash memory, optical data storage devices, and the like].
Xiao, Jacobs and Kim are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao and Jacobs, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to utilize a computer program to reproducibly and flexibly execute a control method. Further, it would be obvious to utilize the known computer control scheme/technique of Kim with the method of Xiao and Jacobs to yield the predictable result of a computer implemented method where flexible control programs may be stored in non-volatile form for continued use.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and Kim in view of Jung et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120179297 (hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 5, the combination Xiao, Jacobs and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches a freezing prevention protection mode exit comprising: comparing whether the corrected parameter is greater than a second return air parameter threshold, the second return air parameter threshold being greater than the first return air parameter threshold; and if the corrected parameter is greater than the second return air parameter threshold, controlling the compressor to start [0005 — When the compressor is running in cooling and dehumidification mode, the compressor frequency is controlled according to the indoor coil temperature. When the indoor coil temperature is <0℃ for 5 minutes, the compressor stops for 3 minutes. When the indoor coil temperature is >6℃, the compressor restarts.; 0068-0074 — Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb].
Further, Jacobs teaches a return air parameter of the air conditioning system [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch].
But the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and Kim fails to clearly specify controlling the outdoor fan to start.
However, Jung teaches controlling the outdoor fan to start [0043— the operation conditions may be set as conditions when the temperature is approximately 3.degree. C. or lower and a fan provided to the outdoor device is stopped, or conditions when a stoppage duration of the fan provided to the outdoor device exceeds approximately 30 minutes at a temperature of approximately 3.degree. C. or lower. The outdoor device 200 may drive the fan at a certain speed, for example, approximately 850 rpm, for a certain period of time, for example, approximately 120 seconds, in order to prevent freezing].
Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, and Kim by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent freezing, as taught by Jung [0043].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and Kim in view of Horii et al. U.S. Patent No. 4320316 (hereinafter Horii) and Temple U.S. Patent No. 6463747 (hereinafter Temple).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and Kim teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches a freezing prevention protection mode exit [0005 — When the compressor is running in cooling and dehumidification mode, the compressor frequency is controlled according to the indoor coil temperature. When the indoor coil temperature is <0℃ for 5 minutes, the compressor stops for 3 minutes. When the indoor coil temperature is >6℃, the compressor restarts.; 0068-0074 — Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb].
But the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and fails to clearly specify detecting the operation stop duration of the compressor after the compressor stops operating, and controlling the compressor to forcibly start and the outdoor fan to start after the operation stop duration exceeds a specified duration.
However, Horii teaches detecting the operation stop duration of the compressor after the compressor stops operating, and controlling the compressor to forcibly start after the operation stop duration exceeds a specified duration [col. 1 lines 10-17 — In general, a modern type air conditioner employs at least two timers, a first timer for prevention of reenergization of a compressor for a predetermined short time, such as 3 minutes from a stopping, and a second time, such as 8 minutes, for restarting of the compressor to avoid discomfort from gradual increase of humidity when temperature rise is very slow].
Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Horii are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao, Jacobs and Kim, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Horii.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to avoid discomfort of a user from prolonged shutdown of the air conditioning system, as taught by Horii [col. 1 lines 10-17].
But the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Horii fails to clearly specify controlling the compressor to forcibly start and the outdoor fan to start.
However, Temple teaches controlling the compressor to forcibly start and the outdoor fan to start [col. 3 lines 1-40 — condenser 12 has a fan 20 operatively associated therewith, which moves air (typically outdoor ambient air) across condenser 12; col. 7 lines 52-58 — cooling run time timer tr is reset to zero and restarted, pursuant to step 159, and compressor 18 and condenser fan 20 are started, pursuant to step 161. ].
Xiao, Jacobs, Kim, Horii and Temple are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Horii, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Temple.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve heat exchange with the outside air when the compressor is operational and therefore improve the performance of the air conditioner.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung in view of Gorthala et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20080315000 (hereinafter Gorthala).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches the air conditioning system further comprises a temperature sensor [0042, 0078 — A2. Perform internal coil temperature detection and compensation every X seconds]; and the first parameter threshold is a first temperature threshold, the second parameter threshold is a second temperature threshold, the first temperature threshold is −5° C. to 5° C., and the second temperature threshold is 6° C. to 15° C [0005 — When the compressor is running in cooling and dehumidification mode, the compressor frequency is controlled according to the indoor coil temperature. When the indoor coil temperature is <0℃ for 5 minutes, the compressor stops for 3 minutes. When the indoor coil temperature is >6℃, the compressor restarts.; 0068-0074 — Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb].
Further, Jacobs teaches the air conditioning system further comprises a temperature sensor, for detecting a return air temperature between the indoor heat exchanger and a return air end of the compressor and a return air parameter of the air conditioning system [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch].
Further, Kim teaches the air conditioning system is a fixed-frequency air conditioning system [0060 — compressor 102 may be configured as an inverter compressor whose compression capacity varies depending on the input frequency, or may be configured as a combination of a plurality of constant speed (fixed frequency) compressors whose compression capacity is constant.].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to simplify the air conditioning system by removing the need for frequency control. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute a fixed frequency air conditioning system for a variable frequency air conditioning system for the predictable result of a method for controlling freeze prevention of a fixed frequency air conditioning system.
But the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung fails to clearly specify a temperature sensor and a thermal expansion valve, for detecting temperature.
However, Gorthala teaches a temperature sensor and a thermal expansion valve, for detecting a temperature [0021-0026, Fig. 1 — the vapor compression system includes a compressor 12, for compressing a low-pressure refrigerant vapor exiting an evaporator coil 14… return air temperature 44 (see Fig. 1)… an integrated controller preferably used with an expansion device 24 of the fixed orifice type, which uses evaporator saturated temperature 56 and evaporator outlet temperature 58 to evaluate refrigerant level of the system… supply air temperature 42 or evaporator temperature 56 is monitored to prevent indoor evaporator coil freezing… an expansion device 24 such as a thermostatic expansion valve (TXV)].
Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung and Gorthala are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known temperature sensor combination of Gorthala for the known temperature sensor of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung for the predictable result of a method for controlling freeze prevention using a temperature sensor and a thermal expansion valve for detecting a temperature.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung in view of Nelson U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180187915 (hereinafter Nelson).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches the air conditioning system further comprises the air conditioning system is a variable-frequency air conditioning system [0005 — When the compressor is running in cooling and dehumidification mode, the compressor frequency is controlled according to the indoor coil temperature. When the indoor coil temperature is <0℃ for 5 minutes, the compressor stops for 3 minutes. When the indoor coil temperature is >6℃, the compressor restarts];
the air conditioning system further comprises a sensor, for detecting a return air parameter; and the first return air parameter threshold is a first return air threshold, the second return air parameter threshold is a second return air threshold [0005 — When the compressor is running in cooling and dehumidification mode, the compressor frequency is controlled according to the indoor coil temperature. When the indoor coil temperature is <0℃ for 5 minutes, the compressor stops for 3 minutes. When the indoor coil temperature is >6℃, the compressor restarts.; 0068-0074 — Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb; 0042, 0078 — A2. Perform internal coil temperature detection and compensation every X seconds].
Further, Jacobs teaches the air conditioning system further comprises a pressure sensor, for detecting a return air pressure between the indoor heat exchanger and a return air end of the compressor; and the return air parameter threshold is a return air pressure threshold [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level (pressure sensor). When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive (pressure sensor) such as a bimetal type switch].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jacobs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent the evaporator freezing and the accumulation of frost, as taught by Jacobs [col. 1 lines 33-59, col. 2 lines 28-43].
But the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung fails to clearly specify the first return air parameter threshold is 0.57 MPa to 0.83 MPa, and the second return air parameter threshold is 0.75 MPa to 1.15 MPa.
However, Nelson teaches an air parameter threshold is 0.621-0.827 MPa [0085 — the system controller controls (e.g., Automated Logic Controller (ALC)) controls the capacity of the variable speed compressor by modulating the speed of the compressor. The variable speed compressor modulates upon the supply air dew point as measured by sensor 106 set point. The modulation can be modified based upon the suction line pressure set point (e.g., about 90 to 120 psi [0.621-0.827 MPa], such as 105 psi, which can be adjustable), as measured by sensor 184, to provide freeze protection.].
Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung and Nelson are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao, Jacobs, Kim and Jung, so that specify the first return air parameter threshold is 0.57 MPa to 0.83 MPa, and the second return air parameter threshold is 0.75 MPa to 1.15 MPa because the pressure set point range of Nelson that was deemed effective by Nelson to prevent freezing overlaps these ranges and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try to determine the best or optimum values for the pressure set points/threshold and the specific ranges claimed are therefore obvious because they merely constitute routine optimization, see MPEP 2144.05 I and II.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xiao and Jacobs in view of Jung.
Regarding claim 12, the combination Xiao and Jacobs teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Xiao teaches a freezing prevention protection mode exit comprising: comparing whether the corrected parameter is greater than a second return air parameter threshold, the second return air parameter threshold being greater than the first return air parameter threshold; and if the corrected parameter is greater than the second return air parameter threshold, controlling the compressor to start [0005 — When the compressor is running in cooling and dehumidification mode, the compressor frequency is controlled according to the indoor coil temperature. When the indoor coil temperature is <0℃ for 5 minutes, the compressor stops for 3 minutes. When the indoor coil temperature is >6℃, the compressor restarts.; 0068-0074 — Set the compensated internal coil temperature to Tpb].
Further, Jacobs teaches the return air parameter is a return air pressure detected by the pressure sensor of the air conditioning system [col. 2 lines 14-43 — Compressor 10… In the evaporator 30, the liquid refrigerant is boiled or evaporated as it absorbs heat from air passing through the evaporator (heat exchanger)… Refrigerant is next drawn through suction conduit 38 (low-pressure side) into the inlet of compressor 10; col. 5 lines 10-18, Fig. 1 — Sensor 106 transmits a signal (a return air parameter on a low-pressure side) to control assembly 56 when the evaporator pressure falls below a predetermined level. When the control assembly 56 receives the signal from the sensor 106, it causes the air door 104 to open so that some air from the heater may flow through the hose 98 and into the blower fan 48 for warming the evaporator. Sensor 106 could also be temperature responsive rather than pressure responsive such as a bimetal type switch] and the return air parameter threshold being a return air pressure threshold [col. 2 lines 28-43 — The valve 36 automatically restricts refrigerant flow from evaporator 30 to prevent the evaporator pressure from falling below a predetermined pressure (pressure threshold) corresponding to a freezing temperature].
Xiao and Jacobs are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Xiao, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jacobs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent the evaporator freezing and the accumulation of frost, as taught by Jacobs [col. 1 lines 33-59, col. 2 lines 28-43].
But the combination of Xiao and Jacobs fails to clearly specify controlling the outdoor fan to start.
However, Jung teaches controlling the outdoor fan to start [0043— the operation conditions may be set as conditions when the temperature is approximately 3.degree. C. or lower and a fan provided to the outdoor device is stopped, or conditions when a stoppage duration of the fan provided to the outdoor device exceeds approximately 30 minutes at a temperature of approximately 3.degree. C. or lower. The outdoor device 200 may drive the fan at a certain speed, for example, approximately 850 rpm, for a certain period of time, for example, approximately 120 seconds, in order to prevent freezing].
Xiao, Jacobs, and Jung are analogous art. They relate to air conditioning systems, particularly with freeze protection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Xiao and Jacobs, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Jung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to utilize an outdoor fan to increase the heat exchange efficiency between the refrigerant and the outdoor air while prevent freezing, as taught by Jung [0043].
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119