Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9, 21-22, 24 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krogstad et al. (“GOALIL Ternary Metal Diboride Coatings with Enhanced Oxidation Resistance and Durability- Understanding Phase Formation from a Metastable Starting State” NFS Award Number 1914769. Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Division of Materials Research, 2019, pp. 1-2)(It is noted that Krogstad as referred to herein is provided in reference to the newly provided Krogstad reference that is the earlier, unmodified version of the document that was not later modified and previously cited by the examiner in the Office Action dated 2/2/2026. This item (Krogstad as applied herein) is listed as item 1 on the IDS provided by the applicant.) as evidenced by Jayaraman et al. (“Chromium diboride thin films by low temperature chemical vapor deposition”, Journal of Vacuum Science Technology A, No. 23, Vol. 4, pp. 630-633).
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, 9 and 21, Krogstad teaches that it is known to deposit an HfCrxBy coating on a substrate by Hf(BH4)4 in conjunction with Cr3(B3H8)2 by “low temperature chemical vapor deposition” (see Technical Details section). Krogstad does not teach the temperature range using a numerical value. However, the examiner has provided an evidentiary reference herein (Jayaraman et al.) which shows that in the field of diboride deposition using low temperature CVD and Cr3(B3H8)2, low temperature CVD temperatures are considered to be temperatures spanning the range of less than 500C (see abstract). Therefore one reading the teachings of Krogstad would readily recognize the temperature range of Krogstad to imply temperatures in the range claimed.
Regarding claim 2 and 4, Krogstad also teaches the formation of HFAlxBy compounds using the same Hf(BH4)4 and some other compound. However, because Krogstad teaches forming HfCrxBy with a compound that provides chromium, it is reasonably implied that the HfAlxBy is provided using a compound that includes at least aluminum in the same way, although the compound is not explicitly named.
Regarding claim 22, Krogstad teaches a range for x that substantially overlaps the claimed range (see Project Outcomes section).
Regarding claim 24, the chemical composition of the composition of Krogstad would be the same as that of the current invention (also by Krogstad) because the same material and methods are used to form it.
Regarding claim 36, the use of chromium-based precursors in the formation of the diboride of Krogstad as provided above would reasonably results in the formation of a chromium diboride material of the composition claimed in the same manner that it results in the formation of a Hf1-xAlxBy, a hafnium-based precursor as cited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogstad et al. (“GOALIL Ternary Metal Diboride Coatings with Enhanced Oxidation Resistance and Durability- Understanding Phase Formation from a Metastable Starting State” NFS Award Number 1914769. Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Division of Materials Research, 2019, pp. 1-2) as evidenced by Jayaraman et al. (“Chromium diboride thin films by low temperature chemical vapor deposition”, Journal of Vacuum Science Technology A, No. 23, Vol. 4, pp. 630-633) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 21-22, 24 and 36 above and further in view of Lamm et al. (“Chemical Vapor Deposition of Zirconium Compounds: A Review”, Coatings, 1/23/2023, 13, pp. 1-30.)
Regarding claims 7, the teachings of Krogstad are as shown above. Krogstad fails to teach wherein the precursor is the titanium-based precursor claimed. However, Lamm teaches that the titanium precursor claimed is a known substitute for Hf(BH4)4 in the formation of metal diborides (see section 6.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Hf(BH4)4 for the formation of metal diborides with the titanium based boron precursor claimed as a simple substitution of one known metal diboride precursor for another wherein the substitution of one for the other would be predictable and have a reasonable expectation of success based upon the teachings of Lamm.
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of Krogstad are as shown above. Krogstad fails to teach wherein the precursor is the titanium based precursor claimed. However, Lamm teaches that the Zr(BH4)4 claimed is a known substitute for Hf(BH4)4 in the formation of metal diborides (see section 6.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Hf(BH4)4 for the formation of metal diborides with the Zr(BH4)4 claimed as a simple substitution of one known metal diboride precursor for another wherein the substitution of one for the other would be predictable and have a reasonable expectation of success based upon the teachings of Lamm.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogstad et al. (“GOALIL Ternary Metal Diboride Coatings with Enhanced Oxidation Resistance and Durability- Understanding Phase Formation from a Metastable Starting State” NFS Award Number 1914769. Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Division of Materials Research, 2019, pp. 1-2) as evidenced by Jayaraman et al. (“Chromium diboride thin films by low temperature chemical vapor deposition”, Journal of Vacuum Science Technology A, No. 23, Vol. 4, pp. 630-633) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 21-22, 24 and 36 above and further in view of Xu et al. (“Enhanced Mechanical Properties of Oxidation Resistance of Zirconium Diboride Ceramics via Grain-Refining and Dislocation Regulation” Advanced Science, 2022, 9, pp. 1-12).
Regarding claim 41, the teachings of Krogstad are as shown above. Krogstad fails to teach further heat treating the diboride composition in order to improve the crystallinity. However, Xu teaches that the heat treatment of diboride composition at temperatures of 400-1700C in order to control the crystallinity of the structure (see Experimental Section). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat treat the diboride material of Krogstad as guided by Xu in order to control the crystallinity present in the invention of Krogstad.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krogstad et al. (“GOALIL Ternary Metal Diboride Coatings with Enhanced Oxidation Resistance and Durability- Understanding Phase Formation from a Metastable Starting State” NFS Award Number 1914769. Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Division of Materials Research, 2019, pp. 1-2) as evidenced by Jayaraman et al. (“Chromium diboride thin films by low temperature chemical vapor deposition”, Journal of Vacuum Science Technology A, No. 23, Vol. 4, pp. 630-633) in view of Xu et al. (“Enhanced Mechanical Properties of Oxidation Resistance of Zirconium Diboride Ceramics via Grain-Refining and Dislocation Regulation” Advanced Science, 2022, 9, pp. 1-12) as applied to claim 41 above and further in view of Venkataramani et al. (USPGPub2008/0020137).
Regarding claim 43, the teachings of Krogstad in view of Xu are as shown above. Krogstad in view of Xu fails to teach avoiding the presence of oxygen in the heat treatment of the diboride composition. However, Venkataramani teaches that it is known to heat treat diboride composition in oxygen free environments in order to prevent the formation of undesirable oxide products that negatively affect desired properties. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat treat the diboride material of Krogstad as guided by Xu in the absence of oxygen as guided by Venkataramani in order to prevent the formation of undesirable oxides in the product of Krogstad in view of Xu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 47 is allowed.
Claims 21-22, 24, 26, 31 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance will be provided upon allowance of all remaining claim in the current application.
Response to Arguments
The applicants’ arguments are generally moot in view of new grounds of rejection based entirely upon the newly provided and non-modified version of Krogstad et al.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717