Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Wang (CN 109972991). On page 2 of the patent publication Wang teaches the following 2 compounds.
These two compounds are anticipatory of the structure found in claims 1-2. The first structure is also anticipatory of claims 3-4 and 7.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Liu (Dyes and Pigments 2007). Figure 2of Liu shows the synthesis of sone dyes. In the synthesis Compound 7,
, in which n = 3 and 8 is anticipatory of the structures found in claims 1-2. When n = 3, the structure is also anticipatory of claims 3-4 and 7.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Jefferies (US 3,839,426). With respect to claim 1, Column 24, line 44 to column 26, line 31 teach the synthesis of 4 different quaternary ammonium chlorides. Column 26, lines 23-31 teach that in addition to those for which detailed preparations are given, the following quaternary ammonium intermediates are obtained when the indicated nitrophenyl-substituted quaternizing agent is interacted with the indicated tertiary amino compound. Of relevance to the instant claims is column 26, lines 69-71 teaching N-Methyl-N-isobutyl-N-3-hydroxybutyl-N-4-aminobenxylarmmonium iodide starting with N-3-hydroxybutyl- N-isobutylmethylamine and 4-nitrobenzyl iodide. The N-Methyl-N-isobutyl-N-3-hydroxybutyl-N-4-aminobenxylarmmonium iodide is anticipatory of claims 1 and 6-7.
Claim(s) 5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang or Liu as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Soleimani-Gorgani. The compounds of Wan and Liu are used in the synthesis of cationic dyes containing at least one azo group. Wang and Liu do not teach that the R groups are the same and are a methyl group or an ethyl group.
In the paper Soleimani-Gorgani teaches cationic reactive dyes for nylon. Table 1 on page 611 shows the dye structures. Schemes 1 and 2 on page 612 show different methods of synthesizing a m-aminophenyltrimethylammonium salt. Scheme 3 in the same page shows the use of the m-aminophenyltrimethylammonium salt to form one of the dyes.
With respect to claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to substitute the trimethylammonium salt structure Soleimani-Gorgani for the propyldimethyl ammonium salt structures used by Wang or Liu because the salt structure of Soleimani-Gorgani is similar to the salt structure of Wang and Liu and is being used for the same purpose in the dyes of Liu, Soleimani-Gorgani and Wang providing an expectation that the substitution would perform the same function when incorporated into the Liu and Wang dyes. With respect to claim 7, its scope includes the structure of claim 5 so that the obviousness of claim 5 extends to claim 7. With respect to claim 10, the proposed substitution into the Wang compound would produce compound CB467b so that claim 10 is obvious for the reasons given above for claim 5. Additionally with respect to claim 10the proposed substitution into the Liu compound would produce compound CB466x so that claim 10 is also obvious for the reasons given above for claim 5.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the required structure of the compounds of claims 8-9 or the mixed mode chromatography medium of claim 11.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited art relates to structure similar to the above applied references.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797