DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 8-18 and 20 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art of record fails to teach the amended limitations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, Applicant contends Kim fails to teach using both the head detection and the finger detection based on the housing position, acceleration and rate of rotation as well as the proximity sensing. However, Kim, in [0119], states “[t]he processor 310 determines the user's posture through an inertial sensor 333, in response to activation of the specification application that uses a function of the proximity sensor 331, in step 703.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this would read on the claim language as the inertial sensor is used to determine the housing position, acceleration and rate of change, as noted in [0072], and the proximity sensor is used for finger detection, which is all the claims, as currently presented, require.
As such, Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al., US PG-Pub 2021/0127000, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device (electronic device 101), comprising:
a housing (housing 350);
a display (display 320, 210) in the housing (Figs. 4A-4B, and corresponding descriptions) and comprising an array of pixels ([0054]-[0056], “a pixel layer of the display 210”) configured to emit images ([0052]-[0054]) and a touch sensor (touch sensor 251);
a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 331) in the housing (Figs. 1 and 3-4B, and corresponding descriptions) configured to be triggered in response to a proximity of an external object ([0066], “The proximity sensor 331 may be configured to sense an approach of a peripheral object without physical contact”);
an inertial measurement unit (inertial sensor 333) in the housing (Figs. 1 and 3-4B, and corresponding descriptions) configured to measure a position of the housing, an acceleration of the housing, and a rate of rotation of the housing ([0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”); and
a controller (processor 310) in the housing (Figs. 1 and 3-4B, and corresponding descriptions), wherein the controller is configured to determine, based on the position of the housing, the acceleration of the housing, and the rate of rotation of the housing ([0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]), whether the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to a finger at a first time period and that the proximity sensor has been triggered ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]) and in response to the housing being held to a head at a second time period ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the display in response to determining that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to the housing being held to the head ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], discussing the auto-off function utilizing the proximity sensor).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to deactivate the display by deactivating the touch sensor in the display ([0107]. “the user may not make a touch input as desired, due to the display 320 auto screen off function”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the display by turning off at least a portion of the array of pixels in the display ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], discussing the auto-off function utilizing the proximity sensor).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to leave the array of pixels and the touch sensor on in response to determining that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to the finger (Figs. 5A-6 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0132]-[0145], describing how the user’s touch keeps the screen active based on the gesture received).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the proximity sensor is under the display ([0070], “The proximity sensor 331 may be disposed below the display 320”).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the proximity sensor is an optical proximity sensor ([0066]-[0067], “The proximity sensor 331 may include, for example, an optical proximity sensor”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to leave the array of pixels and the touch sensor on in response to determining that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to the finger (Figs. 5A-6 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0132]-[0145], describing how the user’s touch keeps the screen active based on the gesture received).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the inertial measurement unit comprises an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer ([0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may include at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a geomagnetic sensor”).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches a method of operating an electronic device (electronic device 101) with a display (display 320, 210), a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 331), and an inertial measurement unit (inertial sensor 333), the method comprising:
gathering proximity sensor measurements with the proximity sensor ([0066], “The proximity sensor 331 may be configured to sense an approach of a peripheral object without physical contact”) and position, acceleration, and rate of rotation measurements with the inertial measurement unit ([0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”);
detecting an external object with the proximity sensor ([0066], “The proximity sensor 331 may be configured to sense an approach of a peripheral object without physical contact”);
in response to detecting the external object, determining that the external object is a finger of a user based on the position, acceleration, and rate of rotation measurements at a first time period ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]) and determining that the external object is a head of the user based on the position, acceleration, and rate of rotation measurements at a second time period ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]); and
in response to determining that the external object is the head of the user, deactivating the display ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], discussing the auto-off function utilizing the proximity sensor).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the method of claim 13, wherein deactivating the display comprises deactivating a touch sensor (touch sensor 251) and an array of pixels ([0054]-[0056], “a pixel layer of the display 210”) of the display ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], discussing the auto-off function utilizing the proximity sensor).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
in response to determining that the external object is the finger of the user, leaving the touch sensor and the array of pixels of the display on (Figs. 5A-6 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0132]-[0145], describing how the user’s touch keeps the screen active based on the gesture received).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches an electronic device (electronic device 101), comprising:
a housing (housing 350);
a display (display 320, 210) in the housing (Figs. 4A-4B, and corresponding descriptions);
a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 331) in the housing (Figs. 1 and 3-4B, and corresponding descriptions), wherein the proximity sensor is configured to be triggered in response to an external object ([0066], “The proximity sensor 331 may be configured to sense an approach of a peripheral object without physical contact”);
a motion sensor (inertial sensor 333) in the housing (Figs. 1 and 3-4B, and corresponding descriptions), wherein the motion sensor is configured to measure a position, an acceleration, and a rate of rotation of the housing ([0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”); and
a controller (processor 310) in the housing (Figs. 1 and 3-4B, and corresponding descriptions), wherein the controller is configured to determine, based on the first measurements of position, the acceleration, and the rate of rotation of the housing, that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to a user’s finger ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]) and to determine, based on second measurements of the position, the acceleration, and the rate of rotation of the housing, that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to a user’s head ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]), and wherein the controller is configured to deactivate the display in response to determining that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to the user’s head ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], discussing the auto-off function utilizing the proximity sensor).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the motion of the housing comprises a position of the housing, an acceleration of the housing, and a rate of rotation of the housing ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], [0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the motion sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit that includes an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer ([0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may include at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a geomagnetic sensor”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 7 or 13 above, and further in view of Wantland, US PG-Pub 2019/0141181, hereinafter Wantland.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to use the position of the housing, the acceleration of the housing, and the rate of rotation of the housing as inputs to determine that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to the finger at the first time period ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]) and that the proximity sensor has been triggered in response to the housing being held to the head at the second time period ([0070]-[0072], discussing the proximity sensor response; [0072]-[0078], discussing the inertial sensor response when the user holds the phone to their head; Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0118]-[0122]).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to use a machine-learning algorithm.
Wantland teaches wherein the controller is configured to use a machine-learning algorithm (Wantland: Figs. 2 and 9-14, and corresponding descriptions; [0117]-[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the machine learning taught by Wantland into the device taught by Kim in order to improve the avoidance of unintentional activation of one or more components over time (Wantland: [0091]), thereby providing a more accurate and better trained learning model.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches the method of claim 13, wherein determining that the external object is the finger of the user and determining that the external object is the head of the user based on the motion sensor measurements comprises inputting the position, the acceleration, and the rate of rotation ([0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], [0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach a machine-learning model.
Wantland teaches a machine-learning model (Wantland: Figs. 2 and 9-14, and corresponding descriptions; [0117]-[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the machine learning taught by Wantland into the device taught by Kim in order to improve the avoidance of unintentional activation of one or more components over time (Wantland: [0091]), thereby providing a more accurate and better trained learning model.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim, as modified by Wantland, teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
training the machine-learning algorithm based on known correlations between the position, the acceleration, and the rate of rotation and whether the external object is the finger of the user or the head of the user (Wantland: Figs. 2 and 9-14, and corresponding descriptions; [0117]-[0123]; Kim: [0089]-[0091], [0103]-[0107], [0072], “The inertial sensor 333 may be configured to detect the inertia of a movement, thereby measuring the acceleration, speed, direction, or distance of the electronic device 101 during a movement thereof”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN T. REED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/Stephen T. Reed/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627