DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the claims:
Claim 1, line 26 – “the width”
Claims 2-4, line 2 – “the longitudinal direction”
Claims 5-6, lines 1-3, 5 – “the area”
Claim 6, line 3 – “the same color”
Claims 7-10 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (US 2019/0043895).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a display device (Figs. 1-9) comprising:
an array substrate (100); and
a counter substrate (200) facing the array substrate, wherein
the array substrate comprises:
a plurality of signal lines (DL) arrayed at intervals in a first direction (x, Figs. 2-3);
a plurality of scanning lines (GL) arrayed at intervals in a second direction (y, Figs. 2-3);
a color filter (170) disposed at a position overlapping an opening (110a) surrounded by two adjacent signal lines (DL) and two adjacent scanning lines (GL) (Figs. 1-3; para. [0024]);
a plurality of pixel electrodes (190) provided to respective pixels (paras. [0033-0034]);
a common electrode (132) serving as a translucent conductor overlapping the pixel electrodes (190) with an insulating film (194) interposed therebetween and having a slit (132a) formed corresponding to the opening (Figs. 1, 3);
an insulating film (180) that covers the color filter (170);
at least one spacer (152) that regulates a distance between the array substrate (100) and the counter substrate (200) (Fig. 1); and
a conductive layer (140) with a grid shape stacked on the common electrode (132) and extending along the signal lines (DL) and the scanning lines (GL) in plan view (Figs. 1-3),
the conductive layer (140) has a light-shielding region provided with the spacer (152) and where the width of the conductive layer is widened in at least one of the first direction (x) and the second direction (y) in plan view (Fig. 3; para. [0027]), and
the slit (132a) does not overlap the light-shielding region (Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 2, Shen discloses wherein extending directions in the longitudinal direction of the slits (132a) in two pixels with which the light-shielding region overlaps and that are adjacent to each other in the first direction (x) are different (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 3, Shen discloses wherein extending directions in the longitudinal direction of the slits (132a) in two pixels with which the light-shielding region overlaps and that are adjacent to each other in the second direction (y) are different (annotated Fig. 3 above applied to adjacent pixels in y direction).
Regarding claim 4, Shen discloses wherein extending directions in the longitudinal direction of the slits (132a) in four pixels with which the light-shielding region overlaps and that are adjacent to each other in the first direction (x) and the second direction (y) are different (annotated Fig. 3 above applied to four adjacent pixels in x and y directions).
Regarding claim 6, Shen discloses wherein the area of the slit (132a) in a pixel with which the light-shielding region does not overlap and having the same color as a pixel with which the light-shielding region overlaps is equal to the area of the slit with which the light-shielding region overlaps (Fig. 3; areas of the slits are equal in all the pixels).
Regarding claim 7, Shen discloses wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each intersection provided with the spacer (152) out of a plurality of intersections where the signal lines (DL) and the scanning lines (GL) intersect (Figs. 2-3; para. [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2019/0043895).
Regarding claim 10, Shen fails to explicitly disclose a display system comprising: a lens; the display device according to claim 1; and a control device configured to output an image to the display device.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a display system comprising: a lens; the display device according to claim 1; and a control device configured to output an image to the display device, to apply the display device in a useful system of a head-up display or the like as desired for the intended purpose.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2019/0043895), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Japan Display Inc (JP 2019-211568), translation provided herewith.
Regarding claim 5, Shen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the area of the slit in a pixel with which the light-shielding region overlaps is different from the area of the slit in a pixel with which the light-shielding region does not overlap.
However, Japan Display discloses a display device (Figs. 1-13), wherein the area of the slit in a pixel (e.g., SPr22, Fig. 5) with which the light-shielding region (region with 21 and 30) overlaps is different from the area of the slit in a pixel (e.g., SPw1) with which the light-shielding region does not overlap (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the area of the slit in a pixel with which the light-shielding region overlaps is different from the area of the slit in a pixel with which the light-shielding region does not overlap, as in Japan Display, into the display device of Shen to adjust the position and shape of electrode sections to effectively utilize space within the area (Japan Display, para. [0045]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2019/0043895), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0185141).
Regarding claim 8, Shen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each portion provided with the spacer not overlapping the signal line but overlapping the scanning line.
However, Chen discloses a display device (Figs. 5-7), wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each portion provided with the spacer (42) not overlapping the signal line (33) but overlapping the scanning line (31) (Figs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each portion provided with the spacer not overlapping the signal line but overlapping the scanning line, as in Japan Display, into the display device of Shen to not position the spacer on multiple wiring layers, while still placing it in a light-shielding area to maintain high aperture ratio.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2019/0043895), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2016/0327824).
Regarding claim 9, Shen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each portion provided with the spacer not overlapping the scanning line but overlapping the signal line.
However, Chen discloses a display device (Figs. 1-6), wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each portion provided with the spacer (MPS) not overlapping the scanning line (SL) but overlapping the signal line (DL) (Figs. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the light-shielding region is disposed at each portion provided with the spacer not overlapping the scanning line but overlapping the signal line, as in Chen, into the display device of Shen to position the spacer at a different wiring intersection, thus maintaining high aperture ratio (Chen, para. [0036]).
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871