Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception. The claims will be analyzed with respect to the Subject Matter Eligibility Test at MPEP§2106.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 1 (see MPEP§2106.03)
The claims recite one of the four statutory categories of subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2A Prong 1 (see MPEP§2106.04(a-c))
The claims recite abstract ideas in the following categories;
Methods of organizing human activity such as commercial or legal interactions including “advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors” (MPEP§2106.04(a)(2)II).
The abstract ideas have been noted in the claims below.
Regarding claim 1, responsive to a receipt, from a first device, of data associated with a transfer of an amount of funds from a financial institution account maintained in association with a financial institution to the first device and a receipt of data associated with a fee amount being assessed in association with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account to the first device, cause a ticket voucher to be issued, the ticket voucher being associated with the amount of funds and the ticket voucher being associated with the fee amount assessed, and responsive to a receipt, from a second, different device, of data associated with a redemption of the ticket voucher at the second, different device, communicate data which results in a tracking of a quantity of occurrences of an activity associated with the second, different device, wherein responsive to the tracked quantity of occurrences of the activity at least reaching a threshold quantity of occurrences, a determination of a refund amount of the fee amount assessed occurs (the above steps are an abstract promotional fee refund for players of an EGM and amounts to abstract “advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors”).
Regarding claim 2, the system of Claim 1, wherein the first device comprise at least one of a ticket voucher kiosk and an automated teller machine (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer to take effect).
Regarding claim 3, the system of Claim 1, wherein the second, different device comprises an electronic gaming machine (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer to take effect).
Regarding claim 4, the system of Claim 3, wherein the refund amount is made available in association with an increase of a balance of the electronic gaming machine (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer to take effect).
Regarding claim 5, the system of Claim 3, wherein the activity comprises at least one of an amount of games played, an amount wagered, an amount won, an amount lost, a game outcome obtained, and an amount of time spent playing a game (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer to take effect).
Regarding claim 6, the system of Claim 1, wherein the refund amount is made available in association with an increase of a balance of a gaming establishment account (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer result).
Regarding claim 7, the system of Claim 1, wherein the refund amount comprises a portion of the fee amount assessed (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer result).
Regarding claim 8, the system of Claim 1, wherein a holder of the ticket voucher comprises an anonymous user (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer to take effect).
Regarding claim 9, the system of Claim 1, wherein the ticket voucher comprises a virtual ticket voucher (these are abstract requirements for the promotional offer to take effect).
Regarding claims 10-20, these claims recite abstract ideas as noted above regarding claims 1-9.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2A Prong 2 (see MPEP§2106.04(d))
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are generic computer hardware; insignificant extra solution activity such as collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data; and the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer. These additional elements individually and in combination provide for limitations that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. These additional elements (1) add “insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g)” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) and (2) generally link “the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I).
These additional elements individually and in combination are not limitations that provide for “improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) apply or use the “judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) implement the “judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) effect “a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) or apply or use “the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I). As such the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2B (see MPEP§2106.05)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are well-understood, routine and conventional generic computer hardware and insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP§2106.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2022/0343726 by Azzam.
Regarding claim 1, Azzam discloses a system comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: responsive to a receipt, from a first device, of data associated with a transfer of an amount of funds from a financial institution account maintained in association with a financial institution to the first device and a receipt of data associated with a fee amount being assessed in association with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account to the first device (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see transfer from external bank accounts to EGMs and associated fees), cause a ticket voucher to be issued, the ticket voucher being associated with the amount of funds and the ticket voucher being associated with the fee amount assessed, and responsive to a receipt, from a second, different device, of data associated with a redemption of the ticket voucher at the second, different device, communicate data which results in a tracking of a quantity of occurrences of an activity associated with the second, different device, wherein responsive to the tracked quantity of occurrences of the activity at least reaching a threshold quantity of occurrences, a determination of a refund amount of the fee amount assessed occurs (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see redemption of tickets and gameplay qualifications for fee refund).
Regarding claim 2, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the first device comprise at least one of a ticket voucher kiosk and an automated teller machine (para. 62-65 – see kiosk).
Regarding claim 3, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the second, different device comprises an electronic gaming machine (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see gaming machine).
Regarding claim 4, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 3, wherein the refund amount is made available in association with an increase of a balance of the electronic gaming machine (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see gameplay qualifications).
Regarding claim 5, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 3, wherein the activity comprises at least one of an amount of games played, an amount wagered, an amount won, an amount lost, a game outcome obtained, and an amount of time spent playing a game (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see gameplay qualifications).
Regarding claim 6, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the refund amount is made available in association with an increase of a balance of a gaming establishment account (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see gameplay qualifications).
Regarding claim 7, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the refund amount comprises a portion of the fee amount assessed (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see refund of the fee).
Regarding claim 8, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein a holder of the ticket voucher comprises an anonymous user (Fig. 1B; para. 22, 29, 39, 60-66 – see player tracking, Examiner notes that a certain amount of anonymity is associated with any user account and this meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “anonymous user”. If a lack of registration is required, it should be stated.).
Regarding claim 9, Azzam discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the ticket voucher comprises a virtual ticket voucher (para. 66 – see virtual ticket voucher).
Regarding claims 10-20, these claims are rejected as noted above regarding claims 1-9, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715