DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and other independent claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of newly found reference Joe being used in combination with Nilsson in the current rejection. See the new rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2, amend to read “… to [[a]] said management entity…”
Claim 9, line 6, amend to read “verifying, at [[a]] the management entity…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 2024/0397134 to Nilsson (“Nilsson”) in view of US PG Pub 2012/0198506 to Joe (“Joe”).
Regarding claim 1, “A method for managing access by a read device to segments of a content accessible from content servers” reads on the method of managing content delivery to a client device via a proxy (abstract) disclosed by Nilsson and represented in Figs. 1 and 2. Nilsson further discloses (¶0027) that the content is made up of a sequence of content segments, where the proxy starts off by receiving content requests from the client device over unicast, and fulfilling those requests by forwarding them to a content server, and receiving that content before forwarding onto the client device.
As to “the method comprising: initially obtaining segments of the content from a first server” Nilsson discloses (¶0036) that the system passes the encoded content segment data to the unicast server where the data is stored and made available for delivery by unicast.
As to “an environment-related condition of said read device is reached, …obtaining segments of the content from a second server” Nilsson discloses (¶0038-¶0040, ¶0044) that the client device determines for each content segment, the encoded bit rate (quality) at which to request it, taking into account such factors as the available network throughput and how much data is already received and buffered at the client device awaiting play-out; when the unicast server determines that a sufficient number of client devices have requested the same content segment at about the same time, it instructs the multicast transmitter to transmit the content segment on the multicast channel.
Nilsson meets all the limitation of the claim except “verifying, at a management entity, that an environment-related condition of said read device is reached; and in response to the environment-related condition being verified, obtaining segments of the content from a second server.” However, Joe discloses (¶0037, 0054-¶0058) that the buffer fill rate of the user device is monitored by the congestion detector to indicate switched delivery system to switch to another multicast group/server to obtain content as represented in Fig. 7; (¶0054) the process of Fig. 7 is performed by one of the devices, such as switched delivery system, as represented in Fig. 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nilsson’s system by verifying environment-related condition of the client device and receiving content from a second server as taught by Joe in order to detect the device buffer fill rate and switch between the different quality video streams to ensure uninterrupted streaming (Joe - ¶0010).
Regarding claim 2, “The method according to claim 1, wherein said first server is associated with a unicast receiving mode and/or said second server is associated with a multicast receiving mode” Nilsson discloses (¶0038-¶0040) that the unicast server delivers content segments and the multicast transmitter transmits content segments.
Regarding claim 3, “The method according to claim 1, wherein said environment-related condition of said read device comprises a condition concerning information associated with the segments obtained by said read device” Nilsson discloses (¶0039-¶0040) that the unicast server monitors the requests for content segments made by a plurality of client devices.
Regarding claim 4, “The method according to claim 3, wherein said read device transmits information on its environment to a management entity, and said management entity determines whether said condition is reached as a function of said information” Nilsson discloses (¶0040-¶0041) that the multicast transmitter is configured to take account of buffering requirements on the plurality of proxies that receive the multicast data and store content segments until requested by client devices; when data is delivered by multicast significantly before it has been requested by a large number of client devices, each associated proxy must buffer the multicast data, and Joe discloses (¶0037, 0054-¶0058) that the buffer fill rate of the user device is monitored by the congestion detector to indicate switched delivery system to switch to another multicast group/server to obtain content as represented in Fig. 7; (¶0054) the process of Fig. 7 is performed by one of the devices, such as switched delivery system, as represented in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 5, “The method according to claim 4, wherein said information comprises a time length associated with the segments contained in a buffer memory of said read device” Nilsson discloses (¶0028-¶0029) that to avoid slow/delayed delivery of content to the client device when switching from unicast to multicast, the proxy determines whether, in the event of data being received at the proxy by multicast and then delivered to the client device in response to the requests from the client device, the client device would change the quality level of the content segments being requested. This may be done by the proxy receiving a request for a content segment from the client device, and obtaining that segment from the unicast server over unicast. The proxy also requests timing information from the multicast server to determine a time at which the same segment will complete delivery over multicast. The proxy then delivers the segment received from the unicast server by the determined multicast delivery time; (¶0041) to reduce overall system storage requirements, the multicast transmitter is configured to delay the transmission of a content segment by multicast for a short period of time, such as a few seconds, relative to the time at which the content segment is made available on the unicast server to align the timing of the delivery of content segments by multicast more closely with the timing of the requesting of the content segments by the client devices, to reduce the storage requirements of the proxy, and Joe discloses (¶0037, 0054-¶0058) that the buffer fill rate of the user device is monitored by the congestion detector to indicate switched delivery system to switch to another multicast group/server to obtain content as represented in Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 6, “The method according to claim 5, wherein said information is transmitted with requests for segments transmitted by said read device” Nilsson discloses (¶0028-¶0029) that to avoid slow/delayed delivery of content to the client device when switching from unicast to multicast, the proxy determines whether, in the event of data being received at the proxy by multicast and then delivered to the client device in response to the requests from the client device, the client device would change the quality level of the content segments being requested. This may be done by the proxy receiving a request for a content segment from the client device, and obtaining that segment from the unicast server over unicast. The proxy also requests timing information from the multicast server to determine a time at which the same segment will complete delivery over multicast. The proxy then delivers the segment received from the unicast server by the determined multicast delivery time; (¶0041) to reduce overall system storage requirements, the multicast transmitter is configured to delay the transmission of a content segment by multicast for a short period of time, such as a few seconds, relative to the time at which the content segment is made available on the unicast server to align the timing of the delivery of content segments by multicast more closely with the timing of the requesting of the content segments by the client devices, to reduce the storage requirements of the proxy.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, “A gateway comprising the management entity according to claim 7” Nilsson discloses (¶0033) that the proxy is located within a device such as a home gateway.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection similar to claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection similar to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection similar to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection similar to claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection similar to claim 6.
Conclusion
/PINKAL R CHOKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425