DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the exterior with four bottom panels (seen in fig. 10 of the instant application) in addition to complementary components including a tab and a recess (seen in fig. 1 and 4 of the instant application but only having three panels and no bottom interlocking flaps) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Applicant is mixing embodiments of two unique exterior panels. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The embodiment where “engaged” recesses mate have recesses on the same side of the folded exterior panels (fig. 1), see objections to the drawings, above. The 4 bottom panels of claim 1, embodiment of fig. 10, and the mating opposing recesses of claim 7, fig. 1, are contradictory. Applicant does not have support for what is being claimed, an exterior panel with four sides, four bottom flaps and mating recesses that extend in opposite directions when engaged.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is not clear what “when engaged” means. What is the recess engaged with and how does the engagement cause the recesses to extend in opposite directions? In the instant application, the recesses that are claimed as extending in opposite directions are on a different exterior panel than the exterior panel with four bottom flaps. It is not clear how the exterior with four panels and four bottom panels having recesses at the ends would engage somehow and extend in opposite directions. For the purposes of examination, “a second direction opposing said first direction” is interpreted to mean that the recesses are cut into opposing edges as seen in fig. 4 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasjack (US 2706935) in view of Russell (US 4572425).
Regarding claims 1, 2, Pasjack discloses a partitioned container assembly comprising:
a plurality of transverse panels and a plurality of longitudinal panels, fig. 2 at 17 and 16, each comprising:
a partition having one or more slots at 18;
folding tabs 21 extending from each side of each partition panel and having a top edge and a bottom edge; and
a fold line (at 20, fig. 2) extending a length of each edge shared by said partition and the respective transverse folding tab; and
an exterior panel at 1, fig. 1, comprising a plurality of sections (walls at 3 and 4), each of said sections having an exterior facing surface and an interior facing surface, wherein each folding tab is adjoined to one of said interior facing surfaces of opposing sections of said exterior panel (via adhesive at 25, fig. 3, 5, and 7);
wherein said exterior panel further includes four bottom panels (fig. 1, at 7 and 8), each bottom panel extending from a fold line (not numbered, seen in fig. 1) on a bottom edge of said exterior panel sections, and each bottom panel extending substantially a length of said bottom edge of the exterior panel section adjoined thereto, fig. 1, such that when assembled said bottom panels form a bottom section of said partitioned container assembly, fig. 6; and
wherein said transverse panel slots are mated with said longitudinal panel slots to form a series of individual compartments within said exterior panel, fig. 5.
Pasjack does not disclose that the bottom panels are configured to interlock with one another, they are secured together via staples at 22, in fig. 6. With this in mind, after being assembled the box is not again readily flattened as seen in Figs 1 and 4 of Pasjack.
However, Russell is analogous art in regard to folding boxes and teaches a reuseable knock down box, fig. 1-5, with four panels (12, 14, 16, 18) and bottom panels (22a, 24a, 26a, 28a) extending substantially an entire length of a bottom edge of each panel along a fold line (not numbered), fig. 1. As seen in fig. 1, each of the panels of Russell have a different shape including a rectangular panel, 22a, two panels having an angled side edge opposite a straight side edge, 24a and 26a, and a panel with a shape different from the other panels, 28a, and are intended to interlock together in order to allow the box to be erected, fig. 2-4. The bottom flaps of Russell are taught as being more durable with a simplified design and flaps that readily reopen, in addition the container readily lays flat for storage or return shipment, col. 1: 35-45.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom panels of Pasjack to have the interlocking differently shaped bottom panels for allowing the box to be flattened and shipped as per the teaching of Russell.
Regarding claim 3, Pasjack also discloses that the exterior panel comprises complementary components for mating separate portions of said exterior panel to one another, flap 5 and corresponding area at the opposite end of the blank, fig. 1 and 9.
Regarding claim 5, Pasjack further discloses that the assembly is configured to be folded substantially flat, fig. 1 and 3, col. 2: 30-40, fig. 2 of Russell.
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasjack and Russell as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Corella (US 4115909).
Regarding claims 4, 6, and 7, the references applied above teach all of claim 3, as applied above. The references applied above do not teach that edges of the exterior panels have complementary mating recesses and tabs.
Corella teaches a folded container with four panels, 22, 24, 26, and 28, fig. 1 and 2(b), the two outer end panels, 24 and 22, are mated together by mating alternating tabs 222 and recesses 221 on the side edge of panel 22 and alternating tabs 241 and recesses 242 on the opposing side edge of panel 24, fig. 2(b) that mate together to connect the side edges to form the container, fig. 1 and 4 of Corella; Corella shows the recesses on both edges and the tabs on both edges such that the mating recesses on opposing side edges extend in opposite directions. The interlocking means for joining the edges of Corella allows the container to be erected without requiring any joining operations prior to use, col. 1: 45-52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the connecting means for the opposing edges of the panels of Pasjack which includes a tab 5 with adhesive, col. 1: 15-30, with interlocking alternating tabs and slots of Corella in order to allow the container to be assembled at a point of use and that can be reversely mated without tearing apart adhesively joined edges. The mating recesses of Pasjack as modified above are capable of extending in opposite directions “when engaged” depending on how a user engages the side edges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Hallam are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Hallam for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 7 is not found persuasive because there is no support for the combination of claim 7 and claim 1. The embodiment where “engaged” recesses mate have recesses on the same side of the folded exterior panels (fig. 1), see objections to the drawings, above. The 4 bottom panels of claim 1, embodiment of fig. 10, and the mating opposing recesses of claim 7, fig. 1, are contradictory. Applicant does not have support for what is being claimed, an exterior panel with four sides, four bottom flaps and mating recesses that extend in opposite directions when engaged.
Conclusion
MOLLIE LLEWELLYN IMPINK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/MOLLIE IMPINK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799