DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fold must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marriott (US 2600557 A) in view Lehrer (US 5490289 A).
Re. Claim 1, Marriott discloses a device capable of being a wig maintenance device (Fig. 1-5), comprising:
a water resistant, elongated hood (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 10-14) having
a concave inner surface (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1),
a convex outer surface (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1), and
a fold formed along at least one edge thereof (18/19; Annotated Figure B of Fig. 6; Col. 2, lines 21-26),
a pocket formed on the convex outer surface at a first end of the water resistant, elongated hood (Annotated Figure B of Fig. 6 where it is made by the fold); and
a flexible reinforcement strip (22; Col. 2, lines 29-30) contained within the fold (Fig. 1 where it is within the fold by being integrated within fold).
However, Marriott is silent to an absorbent installed within the pocket. Marriott does disclose that the pocket is designed to have the solution to be collected (Col. 2, lines 29-33).
Lehrer discloses a device in the analogous art of catching material and further discloses a pocket (Fig. 3; 24) where a second panel of absorbent material (42) is found and also extends throughout the device (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 13-18). The absorbent material 42 is removable and intended to catch spills. Further, the pocket also comprises an inner layer made of a broadcloth to absorb liquids (28; Col. 2, lines 44-54).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have pocket of Marriott to include an absorbent installed within the pocket as taught by Lehrer to absorb the liquid spilled into the pocket.
Annotated Figure A
Annotated Figure B
Re. Claim 2, Marriott and Lehrer discloses the wig maintenance device of claim 1, wherein Marriott discloses at least one end of the fold abuts the pocket (Annotated Figure B of Fig. 6).
Re. Claim 3, Marriott and Lehrer discloses the wig maintenance device of claim 1, wherein Lehrer discloses the device comprising a water-resistant layer formed of polyester (Col. 2, lines 37-43). Marriott discloses that the water-resistant hood is made of plastic or any suitable waterproof material (Col. 2, lines 10-14).
As such, it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the water resistant hood of Marriott and Lehrer be formed of polyester as taught by Lehrer as it is a design choice as to the type of material used where the function of being water-resistant remains the same.
Re. Claim 4, Marriott and Lehrer discloses the wig maintenance device of claim 1, wherein Marriott further discloses the concave inner surface is configured to accommodate a mannequin head and the convex outer surface is configured to accommodate a wig (See Fig. 1 where the concave inner surface is configured to a user’s head and as such is fully capable of being configured to a mannequin head. Further, the convex outer surface is fully capable of being configured to accommodate a wig).
Re. Claim 6, Marriott and Lehrer discloses the wig maintenance device of claim 1, wherein Lehrer further discloses the absorbent is an absorbent liner (28; Col. 2, lines 44-54).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
It is found that Marriott is the closest prior art where it discloses a device that can function as the wig maintenance device of claim 1 in combination with Lehrer.
However, though Marriott in combination with Lehrer discloses having an absorbent liner in the device, they are silent to the absorbent being used to specifically keep the pocket in an open position and also the absorbent being a sock resting within an absorbent liner in the pocket.
Further, Marriott is silent to the method of use as further claimed in claim 8-10. It is silent to suspending the wig maintenance device of claim 1 over a doorknob; washing a wig; mounting the wig onto the wig maintenance device; transferring the wig maintenance device and the wig to a mannequin head; and drying the wig.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/HOLLY T. TO/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799