DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action replaces the Final Office Action mailed June 1, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
wherein the controller is configured to control the display device in claims 1, 4, 8, 10, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20170232629 to McGuffin-Noll et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20090133588 to Rummel et al. and in further view of EP2510794 to Eckhardt.
In re claim 1, McGuffin-Noll teaches a food product slicer, comprising:
a base (200);
a knife (300) mounted for rotation relative to the base;
a carriage assembly (400) mounted to the base for reciprocal movement back and forth past a cutting edge of the knife;
an adjustable gauge plate (500) mounted for movement between a closed position that prevents slicing and multiple open positions that permit slicing at respective thicknesses (Para 0030);
a slice thickness identification system including at least one sensor for determining a position of the gauge plate (Para 0033);
a controller that is configured to identify an actual slice thickness based upon output from the at least one sensor (Para 0033);
a display (Para 0033) for communicating information to a slicer operator.
Regarding claim 1, McGuffin-Noll teaches a food product slicer having a touchscreen input system, but does not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the display device to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in a position to achieve a defined slice thickness for a slicing operation.
Rummel teaches a food product slicer having a controller (100), which is a processor based controller (100).
Eckhardt teaches a display (400) for receiving slicing machine parameters, in which the parameters include, for example, slice thickness, which can be represented graphically (by means of image or animation) and/or descriptively (Pg. 4, lines 38-47, Pg. 5, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide McGuffin-Noll with a controller as taught by Rummel which is advantageous for automating the slicer which maximizes operational efficiency.
It would have further been obvious to provide modified McGuffin-Noll with a display as for controlling the display of graphical parameters as taught by Eckhardt in order to provide a visual to the user to maintain enhanced efficiency and precision of the slicer. The modification would lead to the controller configured to control the display device to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in a position to achieve a defined slice thickness for a slicing operation and the controller being configured such that the graphical image displayed on the display device shows a first non-alphanumeric graphic (Pg. 4, lines 38-47, Pg. 5, lines 1-4, Eckhardt) of a target location and a second non-alphanumeric graphic of actual location, and a relative position between the second non-alphanumeric graphic and the first non-alphanumeric graphic varies as the gauge plate moves.
Note, the combination of McGuffin-Noll in view of Rummel and Eckhardt provide a teaching of providing a food slicer with a (processor based) controller and a display. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantages of programming a controller to display a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in position (which is determined by the sensor (Para 0033, McGuffin-Noll). The phrase “the controller is configured to control the display device” invokes 112, sixth paragraph. The structure required is a controller and a display device. The limitations “to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in a position to achieve a defined slice thickness for a slicing operation” are intended use; however, the controller can be programmed to display the graphical image. The controller is also capable of being programmed such that the graphical image displayed on the display device shows a first non-alphanumeric graphic of a target location and a second non-alphanumeric graphic of actual location, and a relative position between the second non-alphanumeric graphic and the first non-alphanumeric graphic varies as the gauge plate moves. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. "KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle. "Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.1. See MPEP 2141, Section II, Part C. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Per Merriam Webster Dictionary, the term alphanumeric is defined as "consisting of both letters and numbers and or other symbols." The term "graphic" is defined as "of or relating to the pictorial arts." Based on the BRI of the term "alphanumeric," Eckhardt teaches and suggest displaying a non-alphanumeric graphic.
In re claim 2, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the controller is configured such that the graphical image (Pg. 4, lines 38-47, Pg. 5, lines 1-4, Eckhardt) is (capable of being) varied as the gauge plate is moved (Para 0033, McGuffin-Noll).
Note, the controller merely has to be capable of being configured to vary an image, in which it is, since the controller (can be programmed) to display various information (including graphical images).
In re claim 3, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein controller is configured such that a color feature of the graphical image changes when the gauge plate reaches the position to achieve the defined slice thickness.
Note, the controller merely has to be capable of being configured such that a color feature of the graphical image changes when the gauge plate reaches a certain position, in which it is, since the controller (can be programmed) and in conjunction with the display can display various (programmed) information regarding the thickness of the slice (including graphical images).
In re claim 4, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the controller (100, Rummel) is configured to control the display device such that display of the graphical image ceases when the gauge plate reaches the position to achieve the defined slice thickness.
Note, the controller can be programmed to control the display device such that the graphical image ceases when the gauge plate reaches a position to achieve the defined thickness.
In re claim 6, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the first non-alphanumeric graphic is a first line on a dial graphic, and the second non-alphanumeric graphic is a second line on the dial graphic (Pg. 4, lines 38-47, Pg. 5, lines 1-4, Eckhardt).
In re claim 7, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the controller is configured such that the graphical image shows a representative slicer knob and a direction of knob rotation necessary to move the gauge plate to the position to achieve the defined slice thickness.
Note, the controller merely has to be capable of being configured such that the graphical image shows a slicer knob and a direction of rotation, in which it is, since (gauge plate) controller works in conjunction with the display (thickness input device) to communicate information regarding the slice thickness.
In re claim 8, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the controller (100, Rummel) is configured to control the display device such that display of the graphical image is implemented in response to operator selection of the defined slice thickness (Para 0033, McGuffin-Noll).
In re claim 9, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the display is a touch screen display (Pg. 3, lines 16-25, Eckhardt), and the defined slice thickness is a thickness selected via an interface presented on the touch screen display.
In re claim 10, McGuffin-Noll teaches a food product slicer, comprising:
a base (200);
a knife (300) mounted for rotation relative to the base;
a carriage assembly (400) mounted to the base for reciprocal movement back and forth past a cutting edge of the knife;
an adjustable gauge plate (500) mounted for movement between a closed position and multiple open positions that permit slicing at respective thicknesses, wherein a knob (600) is operatively connected to effect manual position adjustment of the gauge plate;
at least one sensor for determining a position of the gauge plate (Para 0033);
a display (touchscreen, Para 0033) for communicating information to a slicer operator;
a controller (Para 0033) configured to identify gauge plate position based upon output from the at least one sensor.
Regarding claim 10, McGuffin-Noll teaches a food product slicer having a touchscreen input system, but does not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the display device to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in a position to achieve a defined slice thickness for a slicing operation.
Rummel teaches a food product slicer having a controller (100), which is a processor based controller (100).
Eckhardt teaches a display (400) for receiving slicing machine parameters, in which the parameters include, for example, slice thickness, which can be represented graphically (by means of image or animation) and/or descriptively (Pg. 4, lines 38-47, Pg. 5, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide McGuffin-Noll with a controller as taught by Rummel which is advantageous for automating the slicer which maximizes operational efficiency.
It would have further been obvious to provide modified McGuffin-Noll with a display as for controlling the display of graphical parameters as taught by Eckhardt in order to provide a visual to the user to maintain enhanced efficiency and precision of the slicer. The modification would lead to the controller configured to control the display device to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in a position to achieve a defined slice thickness for a slicing operation and the graphical image simultaneously shows both a first graphic of a target location and a second graphic of actual location, and a relative position between the second graphic and the first graphic varies as the gauge plate moves.
Note, the combination of McGuffin-Noll in view of Rummel and Eckhardt provide a teaching of providing a food slicer with a (processor based) controller and a display. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantages of programming a controller to display a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in position (which is determined by the sensor (Para 0033, McGuffin-Noll). The phrase “the controller is configured to control the display device” invokes 112, sixth paragraph. The structure required is a controller and a display device. The limitations “to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness targeting graphical image to indicate whether the gauge plate is in a position to achieve a defined slice thickness for a slicing operation” are intended use; however, the controller can be programmed to display the graphical image. The controller is also capable of being programmed such the graphical image simultaneously shows both a first graphic of a target location and a second graphic of actual location, and a relative position between the second graphic and the first graphic varies as the gauge plate moves. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. "KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle. "Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.1. See MPEP 2141, Section II, Part C. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
In re claim 11, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the graphical image further includes a directional indicator as to which direction the knob should be rotated in order to move the gauge plate to the position to achieve the defined slice thickness.
Note, the controller controls the display and can be programmed to be such that the graphical image shows a directional indicator and a direction of rotation.
In re claim 12, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the display device is a touch screen display (Pg. 3, lines 16-25, Eckhardt), and the defined slice thickness is a thickness selected via an interface presented on the touch screen display (Pg. 3, lines 16-25, Eckhardt).
In re claim 13, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the graphical image further includes a background graphic and the first graphic and the second graphic is overlayed on the background graphic, wherein the background graphic is a dial graphic or a bar graphic.
Note, the controller controls the display which can be programmed to provide a graphical image including a background graphic and the first graphic is overlayed the second graphic in which the background graphic is a dial graphic.
In re claim 14, modified McGuffin-Noll teaches wherein the graphical image further includes a background graphic and the first graphic and the second graphic is overlayed on the background graphic, wherein controller is configured such that a color feature of the background graphic changes when the gauge plate reaches the position to achieve the defined slice thickness.
Note, the graphical image merely has to be capable of including a background graphic in which the first graphic and the second graphic are overlayed on the background graphic. The controller controls the display which can be programmed such that a color feature of the graphical image changes when the gauge plate reaches a certain position.
In re claim 15, McGuffin-Noll teaches a food product slider comprising:
a base (200);
a knife (300) mounted for rotation relative to the base;
a carriage assembly (400) mounted to the base for reciprocal movement back and forth past a cutting edge of the knife;
an adjustable gauge plate (500) mounted for movement between a closed position and multiple open positions that permit slicing at respective thicknesses, wherein a knob (600) is operatively connected to effect manual position adjustment of the gauge plate;
at least one sensor for determining a position of the gauge plate (Para 0033);
a controller (Para 0033) configured to identify gauge plate position based upon output from the at least one sensor.
Regarding claim 15, McGuffin-Noll teaches a food product slicer having a touchscreen input system, but does not teach wherein the controller is configured to control a display device for communicating information to a slicing operator and to cause the display device to effect display of a slice thickness to effect simultaneous display of both a target gauge plate thickness indicator and an actual gauge plate thickness indicator.
Rummel teaches a food product slicer having a controller (100), which is a processor based controller (100).
Eckhardt teaches a display (400) for receiving slicing machine parameters, in which the parameters include, for example, slice thickness, which can be represented graphically (by means of image or animation) and/or descriptively (Pg. 4, lines 38-47, Pg. 5, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide McGuffin-Noll with a controller as taught by Rummel which is advantageous for automating the slicer which maximizes operational efficiency.
It would have further been obvious to provide modified McGuffin-Noll with a display as for controlling the display of graphical parameters as taught by Eckhardt in order to provide a visual to the user to maintain enhanced efficiency and precision of the slicer. The modification would cause the controller to control the display device to effect simultaneous display of both a target gauge plate thickness indicator and an actual gauge plate thickness indicator.
Note, the combination of McGuffin-Noll in view of Rummel and Eckhardt provide a teaching of providing a food slicer with a (processor based) controller and a display. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantages of programming a controller to display device to effect simultaneous display of both a target gauge plate thickness indicator and an actual gauge plate thickness indicator. The phrase “the controller is configured to control the display device” invokes 112, sixth paragraph. The structure required is a controller and a display device. The limitations “effect simultaneous display of both a target gauge plate thickness indicator and an actual gauge plate thickness indicator” are intended use; however, the controller can be programmed to display the target gauge plate thickness indicator and an actual gauge plate thickness indicator. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. "KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle. "Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.1. See MPEP 2141, Section II, Part C. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 3, 2026 were persuasive and necessitated the replacement of the Final Rejection mailed June 1, 2026 with the Office Action above. This office action will restart the clock. This action is a final rejection since the scope of the claims changed per the amendments filed February 2, 2026.
The crux of the claimed subject matter is directed to the concept of the controller and the graphic image that is displayed. The claims as currently recited, merely requires the structure of the controller. In order to positively recite the functionality of the controller and the graphical image, a nexus should be established in the claim language. For example, the display comprises a graphical image…. This language is exemplary which creates a structural relationship between the display and graphic image. Paras [0038,0039] provide additional support to the structural relationship between rotation of the gauge plate knob, the actual vs desired position of the gauge plate and the image displayed as a result of the position of the gauge plate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724