DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/469169, filed May 26, 2023. Claims 1-21 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 09/04/2024 and 12/15/2025 have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
The following terms in the claims have been given the following interpretations in light of the specification:
error: Claims 6, 13, 20; paragraph [0076], “…a reserved field is empty”
conversion rate: Claims 7, 14, 21; paragraph [0083], “…and/or completion”
Thus, an error will be interpreted as a reserved field that is empty. This definition is used for purposes of searching for prior art, but cannot be incorporated into the claims.
Thus, a conversion rate will be interpreted as completion. This definition is used for purposes of searching for prior art, but cannot be incorporated into the claims.
Should applicant wish different definitions, Applicant should point to the portions of the specification that clearly show a different definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over US Patent Publication US 2009/0158177 A1, (Kodimer et al.) (hereinafter Kodimer) in view of US Patent Publication US 2014/0310127 A1, (HOCH et al.) (hereinafter Hoch).
Regarding Claim 1, Kodimer teaches a system for generating forms with animation (Fig. 8 “[0008] a system for generating a data entry display. The system also comprises template display means adapted for commencing generation of a data entry template.”) comprising:
one or more memories; (“[0034] the device 200 is random access memory 206, suitably formed of dynamic random access memory, static random access memory, or any other suitable, addressable memory system. The random access memory 206 provides a storage area for data instructions associated with applications and data handling accomplished by the processor 202.”)
and one or more processors coupled to the one or memories (“[0033] a processor 202, suitably comprised of a central processor unit. However, it will be appreciated that the processor 202 may advantageously be composed of multiple processors working in concert with one another. Also included is a non-volatile or read only memory 204.”) and configured to:
identify a template of an animated form, wherein the animated form includes one or more fields to receive information (“[0008] the data entry template having at least one data entry field adapted to receive user-specified information.”)
and one or more animated graphical objects directing entry of the information into the one or more fields; (“[0064] An animation is then generated on the designated active data entry field on the display, illustrating the active status thereof. Suitable examples of such animation include, without limitation, blinking or flashing lines surrounding the data entry field, a graphical widget moving around the data entry field, blinking or flashing text associated with the field, or other suitable indicators, as will be known in the art”).
However, Kodimer is silent about customizing the animated form of the template according to user selections by modifying at least one characteristic of animation of the one or more animated graphical objects of the animated form of the template and generating computer code for presenting the animated form.
Hoch teaches customizing the animated form of the template according to user selections (“Fig. 9, [0071] UI 900 of Animation tab 910 of Config Tool 175 illustrates the many different aspects of a Product Module (Term Life Modules selected via Module dropdown 920) that can be configured and customized. In one embodiment, a Table of Contents (TOC 930) is provided to enable a user/provider to select different ‘scenes’ or component Steps of Term Life Module 920 to configure”).
by modifying at least one characteristic of animation of the one or more animated graphical objects of the animated form of the template, (“[0083] a Character Library 1060 (including a database of character parts) enables third-party providers and developers to configure and customize various different aspects of a virtual character’s appearance and behavior. In one embodiment, the ability to customize virtual character attributes is included in Config Tool 175. In others, a separate tool is provided”).
and generating computer code for presenting the animated form (“[0094-0097], [0057] Config Tool 175, the present invention is extensible at a variety of ‘extension points’ including Controllers (e.g., to change the control flow of a module), Views/Controls/Forms (e.g., to add new UI elements and new ways for users to respond), Models (e.g., to store new types of data), Styles (e.g., custom CSS styles), and Tags (e.g., custom XML tags to add new features or simplify data representation). In one embodiment, use of the Parsley Framework also provides various extension points without accessing internal source code.”)
Kodimer and Hoch are analogous art as both of them are related to animation of forms and animated graphical objects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kodimer by modifying at least one characteristic of animation of the one or more animated graphical objects of the animated form of the template and generating computer code for presenting the animated form as taught by Hoch and to use that within Kodimer’s animated form.
The motivation for the above is for improving user customization of animated forms, further enhancing user experience.
Claim 8 is directed to a method claim and its steps are similar in scope and functions performed by the system claim 1 and therefore claim 8 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 15 is directed to a product claim (“[0084-0089] …the environment of the present invention embodiments may include any number of computer or other processing systems…and databases…the computer systems may alternatively be implemented by any type of hardware and/or other processing circuitry…modules 1001 and other software perform the functions of present invention…may be available on one or more non-transitory computer useable or readable mediums or media…the computer or other processing system may utilize any type of connection (e.g., wired, wireless, etc.) for access to the network…the system may employ any number of any conventional or other databases, data stores or storage structures…to store information.”) and its scope and functions are similar in scope and functions performed by the system claim 1 and therefore claim 15 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the at least one characteristic includes one or more from a group of speed of the animation, timing of the animation, sequence of animation steps, animated poses, and animated gestures (Hoch, Fig. 13, “[0091] Upon selecting a virtual Character Set 1340, and customizing its appearance, a provider can then select from among various different behaviors in Animation Library 1350. For example, the selected virtual character can be deployed in different poses surrounded by different props, and exhibiting various different facial expressions. Standard and custom animations can be chosen to enable selected virtual characters to exhibit a wide variety of different behaviors.”)
Regarding Claim 3, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein customizing the animated form further comprises: customizing a layout of the animated form, including one or more from a group of adding, removing, or rearranging the one or more fields, and adjusting at least one from a group of colors, fonts, and styles of the animated form (Hoch “[0065] Other options can include different menu titles, different sets of menu items, or various different levels of menus and sub-menus. Additional Display options 630 are provided, such as whether the Product Module is an ‘Expanding’ Module as well as the size of each screen” and “[0057]… Views/Controls/Forms (e.g., to add new UI elements and new ways for users to respond), Models (e.g., to store new types of data), Styles (e.g., custom CSS styles), and Tags (e.g., custom XML tags) to add new features or simplify data representation”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: display the animated form in real-time during customization (Kodimer, Fig. 8-9, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the animated form includes a plurality of sequential animated segments, and customizing the animated form further comprises: generating an animation including at least one animated graphical object performing an action for each animated segment in accordance with the user selections (Hoch “[0088] Character Library 1300 shown in Fig. 13 can be modified via Config Tool 175” and “[0090] That virtual character can then be employed to generate multiple different animation sequences, exhibiting different behaviors (talking, walking, running, etc.). Moreover, the appearance of that virtual character can be modified by altering its Costumes, Clothing, and facial Expressions.”)
Regarding Claim 6, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein customizing the animated form further comprises: generating a corresponding animation for presentation in response to one of occurrence of an error during completion of the animated form and a request to return to a prior segment (Kodimer “[0083-0086] …When at least one additional field remains in the sequence for completion by the user, e.g., the ‘closing’ data entry field 908 of the greeting card template 902, the next field in the sequence is designated as an active field at step 732. That is, the ‘closing’ data entry field 908 is designated as an active data entry field. Flow then returns to step 716, where upon a static border area is generated on each inactive field, now the ‘greeting text’ data entry field 906 (not shown) and the ‘your name’ data entry field 910 (static border area 916). An animation (not shown) is thereafter generated at step 718 around the active ‘closing’ data entry field 908, visually indicating the active status thereof. Operations continue, as set forth above, with the generation of a suitable prompt 918 at step 720 and the determination at step 722 with respect to the receipt of user-specified information. Upon a determination at step 730 that no additional fields remain for completion with user-specified information, a completed data entry template is generated by the controller 108…”)
Regarding Claim 9, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the at least one characteristic includes one or more from a group of speed of the animation, timing of the animation, sequence of animation steps, animated poses, and animated gestures (Hoch, Fig. 13, “[0091] Upon selecting a virtual Character Set 1340, and customizing its appearance, a provider can then select from among various different behaviors in Animation Library 1350. For example, the selected virtual character can be deployed in different poses surrounded by different props, and exhibiting various different facial expressions. Standard and custom animations can be chosen to enable selected virtual characters to exhibit a wide variety of different behaviors.”)
Regarding Claim 10, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein customizing the animated form further comprises: customizing a layout of the animated form, including one or more from a group of adding, removing, or rearranging the one or more fields, and adjusting at least one from a group of colors, fonts, and styles of the animated form (Hoch “[0065] Other options can include different menu titles, different sets of menu items, or various different levels of menus and sub-menus. Additional Display options 630 are provided, such as whether the Product Module is an ‘Expanding’ Module as well as the size of each screen” and “[0057]… Views/Controls/Forms (e.g., to add new UI elements and new ways for users to respond), Models (e.g., to store new types of data), Styles (e.g., custom CSS styles), and Tags (e.g., custom XML tags) to add new features or simplify data representation”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches further comprising: displaying, via the at least one processor, the animated form in real-time during customization (Kodimer, Fig. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 12, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the animated form includes a plurality of sequential animated segments, and customizing the animated form further comprises: generating an animation including at least one animated graphical object performing an action for each animated segment in accordance with the user selections (Hoch “[0088] Character Library 1300 shown in Fig. 13 can be modified via Config Tool 175” and “[0090] That virtual character can then be employed to generate multiple different animation sequences, exhibiting different behaviors (talking, walking, running, etc.). Moreover, the appearance of that virtual character can be modified by altering its Costumes, Clothing, and facial Expressions.”)
Regarding Claim 13, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein customizing the animated form further comprises: generating a corresponding animation for presentation in response to one of occurrence of an error during completion of the animated form and a request to return to a prior segment (Kodimer “[0083-0086] …When at least one additional field remains in the sequence for completion by the user, e.g., the ‘closing’ data entry field 908 of the greeting card template 902, the next field in the sequence is designated as an active field at step 732. That is, the ‘closing’ data entry field 908 is designated as an active data entry field. Flow then returns to step 716, where upon a static border area is generated on each inactive field, now the ‘greeting text’ data entry field 906 (not shown) and the ‘your name’ data entry field 910 (static border area 916). An animation (not shown) is thereafter generated at step 718 around the active ‘closing’ data entry field 908, visually indicating the active status thereof. Operations continue, as set forth above, with the generation of a suitable prompt 918 at step 720 and the determination at step 722 with respect to the receipt of user-specified information. Upon a determination at step 730 that no additional fields remain for completion with user-specified information, a completed data entry template is generated by the controller 108…”)
Regarding Claim 16, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the at least one characteristic includes one or more from a group of speed of the animation, timing of the animation, sequence of animation steps, animated poses, and animated gestures (Hoch, Fig. 13, “[0091] Upon selecting a virtual Character Set 1340, and customizing its appearance, a provider can then select from among various different behaviors in Animation Library 1350. For example, the selected virtual character can be deployed in different poses surrounded by different props, and exhibiting various different facial expressions. Standard and custom animations can be chosen to enable selected virtual characters to exhibit a wide variety of different behaviors.”)
Regarding Claim 17, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein customizing the animated form further comprises: customizing a layout of the animated form, including one or more from a group of adding, removing, or rearranging the one or more fields, and adjusting at least one from a group of colors, fonts, and styles of the animated form (Hoch “[0065] Other options can include different menu titles, different sets of menu items, or various different levels of menus and sub-menus. Additional Display options 630 are provided, such as whether the Product Module is an ‘Expanding’ Module as well as the size of each screen” and “[0057]… Views/Controls/Forms (e.g., to add new UI elements and new ways for users to respond), Models (e.g., to store new types of data), Styles (e.g., custom CSS styles), and Tags (e.g., custom XML tags) to add new features or simplify data representation”).
Regarding Claim 18, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the program instructions further cause the at least one processor to: display the animated form in real-time during customization (Kodimer, Fig. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 19, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein the animated form includes a plurality of sequential animated segments, and customizing the animated form further comprises: generating an animation including at least one animated graphical object performing an action for each animated segment in accordance with the user selections (Hoch “[0088] Character Library 1300 shown in Fig. 13 can be modified via Config Tool 175” and “[0090] That virtual character can then be employed to generate multiple different animation sequences, exhibiting different behaviors (talking, walking, running, etc.). Moreover, the appearance of that virtual character can be modified by altering its Costumes, Clothing, and facial Expressions.”)
Regarding Claim 20, Kodimer modified by Hoch teaches wherein customizing the animated form further comprises: generating a corresponding animation for presentation in response to one of occurrence of an error during completion of the animated form and a request to return to a prior segment (Kodimer “[0083-0086] …When at least one additional field remains in the sequence for completion by the user, e.g., the ‘closing’ data entry field 908 of the greeting card template 902, the next field in the sequence is designated as an active field at step 732. That is, the ‘closing’ data entry field 908 is designated as an active data entry field. Flow then returns to step 716, where upon a static border area is generated on each inactive field, now the ‘greeting text’ data entry field 906 (not shown) and the ‘your name’ data entry field 910 (static border area 916). An animation (not shown) is thereafter generated at step 718 around the active ‘closing’ data entry field 908, visually indicating the active status thereof. Operations continue, as set forth above, with the generation of a suitable prompt 918 at step 720 and the determination at step 722 with respect to the receipt of user-specified information. Upon a determination at step 730 that no additional fields remain for completion with user-specified information, a completed data entry template is generated by the controller 108…”)
Claims 7, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Kodimer modified by Hoch as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication US 2012/0022937 A1, (Bhatia et al.) (hereinafter Bhatia).
Regarding Claims 7, 14, 21 Kodimer modified by Hoch is silent about wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: track performance metrics of the animated form, wherein the performance metrics include conversion rates and user engagement metrics.
Bhatia teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: track performance metrics of the animated form, wherein the performance metrics include conversion rates and user engagement metrics (“[0089] …heat maps represent, for example, the engagement intensity received by different areas on the page. Heat map data for all panel users, across benchmark and non-benchmark properties, are analyzed to determine the engagement…” and “[0073] …such as site viewership, or the predicted click-through rate…”);
Bhatia and Kodimer modified by Hoch are analogous art as all are related to user engagement and interaction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Kodimer modified by Hoch by modifying the one or more processors further configured to: track performance metrics of the animated form, wherein the performance metrics include conversion rates and user engagement metrics as taught by Bhatia.
The motivation for the above is to have analytics for determining user engagement and conversion rates in animated forms.
Conclusion
/A.V.V/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612