DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-25, 27-28 of U.S. Application No. 18671200 filed on 05/22/2024 are presented for examination. Claims 1-15 have been cancelled. Claim 26 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
1- Arguments regarding the 112(b) rejections:
Claims 22-23 were rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for being unclear. By the Applicant amendments on 02/26/2026, the 112(b) rejection to claims 22-23 is overcome.
Claims 24-26, 27-28 were rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for being unclear. The rejections were not addressed in the reply of 02/26/2026, therefore, the 112(b) rejections to claims 24-26, 27-28 are maintained.
2- Arguments regarding the 102(a) rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6 of the Remarks filed on 02/26/2024, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 under 35 USC 102(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 102 rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made (as detailed in the 35 USC 103 section below)
Applicant's arguments on page 7, regarding the limitation “ wound around the stator tooth” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; (see page 7 (except the last paragraph)). The Applicant alleges that Zirini ‘794 does not disclose the limitations because Zirini winding are around the “winding block” 192. The Examiner disagrees because it is a matter of nomenclature; the protrusion between the slots around which the coils are wound are customarily called tooth/teeth, zirini uses the term winding block to describe the same thing, which make no difference. The tooth, around which the coils are wound, are seen in fig. 10, and also clarified in fig. 5.
3- Arguments regarding the 103 rejections:
The Applicant argues regarding claim 18, that the portions 30A of Iki does not qualify as a first strand, because it is labeled by Iki as a second coil segment. Again, the Examiner points out that the argument is merely regarding the naming of the elements while the claimed structure is the same, and thus the argument is not persuasive. As seen in fig. 3 of Iki, (20A, and 30A) have bigger cross-section, closer the base, and (20B, 30B) with smaller cross-section are nearer to the tip of the tooth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 24-26, and 27-28: claim 24 requires a stator segment for an electrical machine with a base and one or more of stator teeth, one or more of the teeth are in accordance with the stator tooth of claim 16. Since the claim depend on claim 16, it is not clear if the newly claimed stator, electrical machine, base, tooth/teeth are the same or different from the ones claimed previously of claim 16. Same issues are in claims 27-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 20-21, 24-25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zirin et al. (US 2014/0117794; Hereinafter, “Zirin”) in view of Kanazawa et al. (US 2009/0184599; Hereinafter, “Kanazawa”).
Regarding claim 16: Zirin discloses a stator tooth (para [0031]) for an electrical machine (132), comprising a base (annotated fig. 10 below), and a distal end (annotated fig. 10 below) opposite (radially) from the base, wherein the stator tooth extends in a radial direction from the base to the distal end; a winding assembly (174), comprising:
a first winding body (second coil winding 262) mounted around the stator tooth nearer to the base than to the distal end, the first winding body (262) comprising a plurality of first insulated strands wound around the stator tooth (strip shaped conductors; para [0035] which are insulated otherwise the conductors will be short circuit defeating the purpose of being coil), and
a second winding body (first coil winding 260) mounted around the stator tooth (fig. 10) closer to the distal end than the first winding body, the second winding body comprising a plurality of second insulated strands (strip shaped conductors; para [0035] which are insulated otherwise the conductors will be short circuit defeating the purpose of being coil) wound around the stator tooth; and
the second winding body separated from the first winding body by a space (in which 214, and 216 are disposed).
Zirin does not disclose the base comprising interlocking structure configured for attachment to complimentary mating structure of the stator.
Kanazawa discloses the base (of pole/tooth 20) comprising interlocking structure (17; fig. 13) configured for attachment to complimentary mating structure (18) of the stator (at core back 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the base of the stator of Zirin with interlocking structure configured for attachment to complimentary mating structure of the stator as disclosed by Kanazawa for ease of manufacturing (para 90057]) and to reduce eddy currents as well known in the art.
Regarding claim 17/16: Zirin in view of Kanazawa discloses the limitations of claim 16 and Zirin further discloses the first winding body (262) is electrically connected (forming the electrical machine coil winding 186; para [0049]) to the second winding body (260).
Regarding claim 20/16 and 21/20/16: Zirin in view of Kanazawa discloses the limitations of claim 16 and Zirin further discloses a cooling channel (214, and 216) configured in the space separating the second winding body (260) from the first winding body (262); the cooling channel is configured to convey a liquid coolant (160; para [0030]).
Regarding claim 24/16, and 25/24: Zirin in view of Kanazawa discloses the limitations of claim 16 and Zirin further discloses a stator (172) of an electrical machine (132) comprising a plurality of stator teeth (seen in fig. 5).
Kanazawa further discloses wherein the bases of the plurality of stator teeth define a segment base that is configured for attachment in the complimentary mating structure of the stator (portion 17 in the tooth that is mated with 18 in the back 41 of the stator); the segment base is comprises recesses (17) formed in sidewalls of the segment base (fig. 13), the recesses configured to fit in a mating male structure (18) of the stator (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 27/16: Zirin in view of Kanazawa discloses the limitations of claim 16 and Zirin further discloses an electrical machine (132), comprising: a stator (172), the stator comprising one or more stator segments (the teeth seen in fig. 5, 10); each stator segment comprising: a plurality of the stator teeth (fig. 5);
Kanazawa further discloses and wherein the bases of the plurality of stator teeth (20) define a segment base that is configured for attachment (at portion 17) in the complimentary mating structure (18) of the stator.
Claims 18-19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zirin in view of Iki et al. (US 2019/0260250; Hereinafter, “Iki”).
Regarding claim 18/16, 19/18/16, and 22/16, 23/22/16: Zirin discloses the limitations of claim 16 but does not disclose the first winding body is wound completely around the stator tooth at a side of the space nearer to the base of the stator tooth, and the second winding body is wound completely around the stator tooth at a side of the space nearer to the distal end of the stator tooth and a cross-sectional area of the first strands taken in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the stator tooth is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second strands; the cross-sectional area of the first strands is at least 50% greater than the cross-sectional area of the second strands; the first winding body comprises a height in a radial direction of the stator tooth that is greater than a height of the second winding body; the height of the first winding body is at least 150% of the height of the second winding body.
Iki discloses (see fig. 3) the first winding body (formed of strands 20A, 30A) is wound completely around the stator tooth (para [0056]) at a side of the space nearer to the base of the stator tooth (the bottom of the tooth in the radially outside direction), and the second winding body (formed by strands 20B, 30B) is wound completely around the stator tooth at a side of the space nearer to the distal end of the stator tooth (fig. 3) and a cross-sectional area of the first strands (20A, 30A) taken along a longitudinal axis of the stator tooth (para [0056]) is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second strands (20B, 30B);
the cross-sectional area of the first strands (20A, 30A) is at least 50% greater than the cross-sectional area of the second strands (since the first strands are 6 out of the 8 conductors, the first strands are 300% greater);
the first winding body comprises a height (the radial height of 20A, and 30A) in a radial direction of the stator tooth that is greater than a height (the radial height of 20B, and 30B) of the second winding body;
the height of the first winding body is at least 150% of the height of the second winding body (since the first strands are 6 out of the 8 conductors, the first strands are 300% greater).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the stator of Zirin with the first winding body is wound completely around the stator tooth at a side of the space nearer to the base of the stator tooth, and the second winding body is wound completely around the stator tooth at a side of the space nearer to the distal end of the stator tooth and a cross-sectional area of the first strands taken in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the stator tooth is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second strands; the cross-sectional area of the first strands is at least 50% greater than the cross-sectional area of the second strands; the first winding body comprises a height in a radial direction of the stator tooth that is greater than a height of the second winding body; the height of the first winding body is at least 150% of the height of the second winding body as disclosed by Iki to reduce the losses by reducing the eddy currents losses (para [0011]).
Claim 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zirin in view of Kanazawa, and in further view of Urresty et al. (US 2021/0028674; Hereinafter, “Urresty”).
Regarding claim 27/16, and 28/27/16: Zirin discloses the limitations of claim 16 but does not disclose a wind turbine comprising the electrical machine.
Urresty teaches employing electrical machine in a wind turbine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the electrical machine of Zirin in view of Kanazawa in the wind turbine of Urresty to improve the power generation in the turbine by employing the machine of Zirin in view of Kanazawa
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834