DETAILED ACTION
The following is a second non-final office action in response to communications received 06/12/2026. Claims 9, 11, 20 have been cancelled previously. Claim 23 has been added. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-19, 21-23 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and response to the claims are NOT sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection. Examiner maintains the 35 USC 101 rejection as set forth in the previous office action in regards to abstract idea. The claim’s reliance on automatically triggering extension behaviors by emulating user interactions and utilizing honeypages to elicit data flows, does not illustrate a practical application of technology that goes beyond a mere abstract idea.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 22 recites in part process steps which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are a series of mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process or a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore, claims 22-23 recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites automatically triggering extension behaviors by emulating user interactions and utilizing honeypages to elicit data flows, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. As described in MPEP 2106.0S(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 22-23 are directed to a judicial exception.
Claim 22 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 22-23 are not patent eligible.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 23 recites wherein the honeypages are utilized to isolated network traffic initiated by the extension. The specification recites ExtPrivA emulated user interactions on both real-world web pages and a honeypage to elicit the extension’s behavior that generated data traffic (par. 24). It is not cleared how honeypages can utilized to isolated network traffic initiated by the extension. The applicant’s disclosure does not recite such concept and Examiner request further clarification in order to do properly examine claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, 19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL: Duc et al (“Detection of Inconsistencies in Privacy Practices of Browser Extensions”); Publication date May 01, 2023 in view of NPL: Wentao et al (“ExtensionGuard: Towards runtime browser extension information leakage detection”).
As per claim 1, Duc discloses a method of detecting inconsistencies between privacy policy disclosures and practices (we propose ExtPrivA that automatically detects the inconsistencies between browser extensions’ data collection and their privacy disclosures…see abstract), wherein the method is performed by at least one processor executing computer instructions stored on non-transitory, computer-readable memory, and wherein the method comprises the steps of: generating dashboard disclosure privacy statements based on dashboard disclosure data for an extension (see fig.1 and section I, part c); generating privacy policy statements based on privacy policy data for the extension (it extracts privacy statements from the disclosed privacy practices, see section III); determining privacy contradiction data between the dashboard disclosure privacy statements and the privacy policy statements (the system detects contradictory privacy statements and inconsistencies between the data flows and the privacy statements by using a formal model, see section VI); generating extension use data for the extension based on data collected during operation of the extension, wherein generating the extension use data includes extracting data types from one or more extension network requests so as to generate extension use data items (section V, part B; #1a; section VI, part D, #2), and wherein each of the one or more extension network requests includes a receiver and a data object that is sent as a part of the extension network request to the receiver (section VI, part C: Flow-Relevant Privacy Statement…); and determining inconsistencies between extension data practice and an extension privacy policy based on the dashboard disclosure privacy statements, the privacy policy statements, and the extension use data (detection of inconsistencies…section VI…performing in-depth analysis of How to Policy inconsistencies of the extensions…section VII). Duc does not explicitly disclose the method is performed by at least one processor. However Wentao discloses the method is performed by at least one processor (ExtensionGuard is built upon Chromium 42 (64 bit) and test platform is a 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 machine with 16GB memory running Mac OS v10.10.3…section V, part C). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Wentao in Duc for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it is well known in the art to have a system comprising a processor and memory.
As per claim 12, Duc discloses an automated data collection-disclosure consistency determination system (ExtPrivA, an end-to-end system that extracts the stated privacy practices and performs a fine-grained analysis of data flows to detect any inconsistencies between the actual data practices and the privacy disclosures of web browser extension, section I), comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing computer instructions; wherein the automated data collection-disclosure consistency determination system is configured so that, when the computer instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the automated data collection-disclosure consistency determination system: generates dashboard disclosure privacy statements based on dashboard disclosure data for an extension (see fig.1 and section I, part c); generates privacy policy statements based on privacy policy data for the extension (it extracts privacy statements from the disclosed privacy practices, see section III); determines privacy contradiction data between the dashboard disclosure privacy statements and the privacy policy statements (the system detects contradictory privacy statements and inconsistencies between the data flows and the privacy statements by using a formal model, see section VI); generates extension use data for the extension based on data collected during operation of the extension, wherein generating the extension use data includes extracting data types from one or more extension network requests so as to generate extension use data items (section V, part B; #1a; section VI, part D, #2), and wherein each of the one or more extension network requests includes a receiver and a data object that is sent as a part of the extension network request to the receiver (section VI, part C: Flow-Relevant Privacy Statement…); and determines inconsistencies between extension data practice and an extension privacy policy based on the dashboard disclosure privacy statements, the privacy policy statements, and the extension use data (detection of inconsistencies…section VI…performing in-depth analysis of How to Policy inconsistencies of the extensions…section VII). Duc does not explicitly disclose determination system comprising: at least one processor and memory. However Wentao discloses determination system comprising: at least one processor and memory (ExtensionGuard is built upon Chromium 42 (64 bit) and test platform is a 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 machine with 16GB memory running Mac OS v10.10.3…section V, part C). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Wentao in Duc for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it is well known in the art to have a system comprising a processor and memory.
As per claim 22, Duc discloses a method of detecting inconsistencies between privacy policy disclosures and practices, comprising the steps of: generating dashboard disclosure privacy statements based on dashboard disclosure data for an extension
(see fig.1 and section I, part c); generating privacy policy statements based on privacy policy data for the extension (it extracts privacy statements from the disclosed privacy practices, see section III); determining privacy contradiction data between the dashboard disclosure privacy statements and the privacy policy statements the system detects contradictory privacy statements and inconsistencies between the data flows and the privacy statements by using a formal model, see section VI); generating extension use data for the extension based on data collected during operation of the extension, wherein the generation includes automatically triggering extension behaviors by emulating user interactions and utilizing honeypages to elicit data flows (…ExtPrivA triggered an extension’s functionality and inferred data types from its data traffic to extract its actual data-collection practices. ExtPrivA emulated user interactions on both real-world web pages and a honeypage to elicit the extensions’ behavior that generated data traffic from the extensions to external servers, section I, part b) TC2)…section IX cites trigger malicious behaviors, specially honeypages…); and determining inconsistencies between extension data practice and an extension privacy policy based on the dashboard disclosure privacy statements, the privacy policy statements, and the extension use data (detection of inconsistencies…section VI…performing in-depth analysis of How to Policy inconsistencies of the extensions…section VII). Duc does not explicitly disclose generating extension use data for the extension based on data collected during operation of the extension. However Wentao discloses generating extension use data for the extension based on data collected during operation of the extension (detect the leakage of sensitive information in the data flows during the extension execution, section I, II). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Wentao in Duc for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further accommodate security-savvy users' needs to protect their sensitive data, thus the ease of taking inputs from educated users is a critical component to the success of ExtensionGuard, section IV, part D.
As per claims 8, 19, the combination of Duc and Wentao discloses wherein generating the extension use data for the extension based on data collected during operation of the extension includes performing a network request initiator inspection process where an initiator of a network request is inspected to determine whether the network request was initiated from the extension or from a website (Duc: section IV, part B).
As per claim 10, the combination of Duc and Wentao discloses wherein the extension is a browser extension for a web browser (Duc: section I).
As per claim 21, the combination of Duc and Wentao discloses wherein generating the extension use data includes extracting the data types from the one or more extension network requests so as to separate the one or more extension network requests from network requests of web browsers (Duc: section V, part B, #1a).
As per claim 23, the combination of Duc and Wentao discloses wherein the honeypages are utilized to isolated network traffic initiated by the extension (Duc: section I, part b) TC2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to detecting inconsistencies in data privacy policies.
Prakash et al (Pub. No. US 2021/0105302); “Systems and Methods for Determining User Intent at a Website and Responding to the User Intent”;
-Teaches the browser extension, which for example can comprise computer program instructions provided by the counterfeit URL detection system and executable by a processor of the user device, can receive a URL requested by the browser application…before the browser application retrieves and displays content associated with the webpage identified by the URL, the browser extension determines whether the URL is counterfeit…par. 50.
/GHAZAL B SHEHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499