DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,649,676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 1:
The Claims of the Patent disclose the bioreactor system comprising: a housing having an inlet and an outlet; at least one adsorbent layer disposed in the housing comprising a biofilm comprising microbes for metabolizing at least one target contaminant (1,4-dioxane); and at least one screen (first screen) positioned downstream in relation to the at least one adsorbent layer, wherein: the bioreactor system is configured to retain within the housing the biofilm that becomes detached from the at least one adsorbent layer, the housing is configured to receive through the inlet a flow of an influent comprising water contaminated with the at least one target contaminant, and the bioreactor system is configured to discharge an effluent from the outlet, which comprises water with a lower concentration of the contaminant compared to the influent (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 11:
The claims of the Patent disclose the method of reducing a concentration of a target contaminant in a water source, the method comprising: flowing water from the water source as an influent into the bioreactor system of claim 1, wherein the influent has a first concentration of the target contaminant; and collecting treated water discharged as an effluent from the bioreactor system, wherein the bioreactor system is operated such that the effluent has a second concentration of the target contaminant that is lower than the first concentration of the target contaminant (see claim 1).
Regarding Claims 2-4, 6-10 and 12-16:
The limitations of the remaining claims are disclosed by claims 2-17 of the patent.
Claim 1-4 and 6-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/661,889 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations are disclosed by the claims of the copending application. The additional limitations claimed by the copending application are not excluded by the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 3 and 16:
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the phrases "such as" and “e.g.” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al (US 2013/0153493) in view of Nonet et al (US 2022/0411298).
Regarding Claim 1:
Young teaches the bioreactor system comprising: a housing (bioreactor tank) having an inlet and an outlet (influent port and effluent port) (see para. 0047); at least one layer disposed in the housing comprising a biofilm comprising microbes for metabolizing at least one target contaminant (biofilm carriers) (see para. 0031, fig, 2); and at least one screen (membrane module) (see para. 0031, 0040, fig. 2) positioned downstream in relation to the at least one adsorbent layer, wherein: the bioreactor system is configured to retain within the housing the biofilm that becomes detached from the at least one adsorbent layer (see para. 0040), the housing is configured to receive through the inlet a flow of an influent comprising water contaminated with the at least one target contaminant, and the bioreactor system is configured to discharge an effluent from the outlet, which comprises water with a lower concentration of the contaminant compared to the influent (wastewater is treated to water that can be reused) (see para. 0047, 0048).
Young does not teach that the layer is an adsorbent layer.
Nonet teaches an adsorbent layer (biologically activated carbon) disposed in the housing comprising a biofilm comprising microbes for metabolizing at least one target contaminant (see para. 0084).
Young and Nonet are analogous inventions in the art of moving bed bioreactors. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the carriers of Young with the activated carbon (adsorbent) of Nonet because activated carbon improves the degradation of micropollutants (see Nonet para. 0066) and because it is the simple substitution of one known carrier material for a biofilm, with another known carrier material for a biofilm, obviously resulting in the adsorption of pollutants, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 1, wherein the detached biofilm is retained in the space between the adsorbent layer and the at least one screen located downstream in relation to the adsorbent layer (see Young para. 0040).
Regarding Claim 3:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 1.
Young does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one target contaminant comprises at least one of a pharmaceutical and personal care product (PPCP) (e.g., Triclosan, Ibuprofen), an endocrine-disrupting chemical (EDC) and hormone (e.g., Bisphenol A (BPA), Estrone, Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) such as pentabromodiphenyl ether (PentaBDE)), a persistent organic pollutant (POP), a per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) (e.g., 6:2 fluorotelomer alcohol (6:2 FTOH), Perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS)), a chlorinated organic compound (e.g., 1,2,3-Trichloropropane (TCP)), an explosive substance (e.g., Trinitrotoluene (TNT)), an industrial by-product (e.g., N-nitroso-dimethylamine (NDMA)), and Metolachlor.
Nonet teaches treating wastewater wherein the at least one target contaminant comprises at least one of a pharmaceutical and personal care product (PPCP) (see para. 0002).
Through routine experimentation, ones skilled in the art would have found appropriate sources of wastewater to treat with the known system. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the wastewater of Young with the pharmaceutical containing wastewater of Nonet because it is the simple substitution of one known wastewater source with another known wastewater source, obviously resulting in a contaminant that can be treated by the system. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550
U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding Claim 4:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 1, operated in a down-flow mode, up-flow mode, side-flow mode, or moving-bed mode (see para. 0008), wherein: an additional screen (top retentive screen) (see Young para. 0064) is placed between the at least one adsorbent layer and the at least one screen to contain the at least one layer of adsorbent, the additional screen has openings that are larger than openings of the at least one screen, the detached biofilm passes through openings of the additional screen and is retained between the additional screen and the at least one screen (see para. 0064, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 1. Young further teaches that the flow rate through the bioreactor can be controlled (see Young para. 0080).
Young does not teach the bioreactor system configured to be operated to produce an empty bed contact time from about 3 minutes to about 1440 minutes.
Nonet teaches the bioreactor system configured to have an empty bed contact time from about 3 minutes to about 1440 minutes (18.8 minutes) (see Nonet para. 0202).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to operate the bioreactor of Young, as modified by Nonet, at an empty bed contact time between 3 and 1440 minutes because it is a time range known to be effective at removing pollutants (see Nonet para. 0202). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II).
Regarding Claim 9:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 1, wherein the at least one adsorbent layer comprises a bed of adsorbent particles (activated carbon) (see Nonet para. 0084).
Regarding Claim 10:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 1, further comprising a pump in fluid communication with the inlet (feed pump) (see Young para. 0080).
Regarding Claim 11:
Young, as modified, teaches the method of reducing a concentration of a target contaminant in a water source (wastewater), the method comprising: flowing water from the water source as an influent into the bioreactor system of claim 1 (see Young para. 0036), wherein the influent has a first concentration of the target contaminant; and collecting treated water discharged as an effluent from the bioreactor system, wherein the bioreactor system is operated such that the effluent has a second concentration of the target contaminant that is lower than the first concentration of the target contaminant influent (wastewater is treated to water that can be reused therefore the concentration of contaminates is reduced) (see Young para. 0047, 0048).
Regarding Claim 12:
Young, as modified, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the at least one adsorbent layer of the bioreactor system comprises a bed (moving bed) (see Young para. 0001) of adsorbent particles (activated carbon) (see Nonet para. 0084).
Regarding Claim 13:
Young, as modified, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the bed of absorbent particles comprises granular activated carbon (see Nonet para. 0084).
Regarding Claim 14:
Young, as modified, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the bioreactor system is operated at conditions to selectively enrich target contaminant metabolizing microbes that are able to degrade the target contaminant (increasing biomass concentration) (see Young para. 0061).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al (US 2013/0153493) in view of Nonet et al (US 2022/0411298) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chaudhuri et al (WO 2015/071833).
Regarding Claim 7:
Young, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1.
Young does not teach at least one micronutrient disposed in the housing.
Chaudhuri teaches a bioreactor system comprising at least one micronutrient (yeast extract) disposed (added to) the housing (see para. 00032).
Young, as modified, and Chaudhuri are analogous inventions in the art of biological wastewater treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add the micronutrient, as disclosed by Chaudhuri, to the housing of Young because it provides an energy source for the bacteria (see Chaudhuri para. 0032).
Regarding Claim 8:
Young, as modified, teaches the bioreactor system of claim 7, wherein the at least one micronutrient comprises a yeast extract (see Chaudhuri para. 0032).
The combination does not explicitly teach the yeast extract having a concentration between 10 - 100 µg/L. However, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the yeast concentration, and use a concentration within the claimed range. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al (US 2013/0153493) in view of Nonet et al (US 2022/0411298) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DeVaull, III et al (USPN 6,796,741).
Regarding Claim 15:
Young, as modified, teaches the method of reducing an amount of a target contaminant content in water, the method comprising: providing the bioreactor system of claim 1; enriching, via an influent, the biofilm within the bioreactor system (increasing biomass concentration and high biomass concentration) (see Young para. 0061, 0041), which biofilm comprises target contaminant metabolizing microbes (microbial consortium) (see Young para. 0061, Nonet para. 0084); removing the biofilm from the bioreactor system (waste sludge is withdrawn) (see Young para. 0039).
Young, as modified, does not disclose injecting the biofilm into a contaminated site, wherein injecting the biofilm into the contaminated site results in in-situ remediation of the contaminated site through bioaugmentation.
DeVaull teaches disclose injecting biofilm (bacterial slurry, microbial cultures) into a contaminated site (see col. 3 lines 1-3, fig. 1), wherein injecting the biofilm into the contaminated site results in in-situ remediation of the contaminated site through bioaugmentation (see col. 4 lines 10-17).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the bacterial slurry source (biofilm) of DeVaull with the waste sludge (biofilm) generated in the method of Young (as modified) because through routine experimentation one skilled in the art would find appropriate uses for a known biofilm and appropriate sources of biomass. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products)
in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550
U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Regarding Claim 16:
Young, as modified, teaches the method of claims 11 and 15.
Young does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one target contaminant comprises at least one of a pharmaceutical and personal care product (PPCP) (e.g., Triclosan, Ibuprofen), an endocrine-disrupting chemical (EDC) and hormone (e.g., Bisphenol A (BPA), Estrone, Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) such as pentabromodiphenyl ether (PentaBDE)), a persistent organic pollutant (POP), a per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) (e.g., 6:2 fluorotelomer alcohol (6:2 FTOH), Perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS)), a chlorinated organic compound (e.g., 1,2,3-Trichloropropane (TCP)), an explosive substance (e.g., Trinitrotoluene (TNT)), an industrial by-product (e.g., N-nitroso-dimethylamine (NDMA)), and Metolachlor.
Nonet teaches treating wastewater wherein the at least one target contaminant comprises at least one of a pharmaceutical and personal care product (PPCP) (see para. 0002).
Through routine experimentation, ones skilled in the art would have found appropriate sources of wastewater to treat with the known system. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the wastewater of Young with the pharmaceutical containing wastewater of Nonet because it is the simple substitution of one known wastewater source with another known wastewater source, obviously resulting in a contaminant that can be treated by the system. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550
U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 5 contains limitations that would not have been obvious in view of the prior art. Specifically “the at least one screen comprises a plurality of apertures that each having an opening size between 40 – 400 µm” would not have been obvious in view of Young. Young teaches that the screen is in the form of a hollow fiber membrane designed to retain biomass (see para. 0040). Hollow fiber membranes with apertures between 40 and 400µm are not known in this or related prior arts.
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 9/23/2026