DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 10, 15, and 20 are independent.
Claims 1, 5, 10, and 15 have been amended
This FINAL is in response to communications received 06 February 2026.
Response to Amendment/Remarks
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed 06 February 2026, Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and were not wholly persuasive. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, there is a new ground(s) of rejection made in view of newly found prior art.
Final Office Action
Claim Interpretation
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See 15 MPEP 2111.01 (II).
A first exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has not provided any lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has not acted as his/her own lexicographer.
A second exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three-prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function limitation in a claim:
The Office has found herein that the claims do not contain limitations of means or means type language that must be analyzed under 35 U.S.C. §112 (f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20170253181 A1), hereinafter Choi, in view of Rhee et al. (US 20250196642 A1), hereinafter Rhee.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses:
A hybrid augmented navigation system for a vehicle, the hybrid augmented navigation including (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region):
an imaging system including a tracking camera (Fig. 7; [0087], The user interface apparatus 200 may include an input unit 210, an internal camera 220, a biometric sensing unit 230, an output unit 250 and a processor 270; [0103], The internal camera 220 may acquire an internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user's state based on the internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may acquire information related to the user's gaze from the internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user gesture from the internal image of the vehicle; [0027], In one embodiment disclosed herein, the controller may control the display module to output an additional warning image on a part of the display region, which overlaps the object, when the object is located within a virtual region defined by the display region and a driver's gaze.);
a navigation system including navigation data (Fig. 7; [0011], The HUD projects a virtual image on a windshield of the vehicle. For example, navigation information for guiding speed of the vehicle or navigating a path up to a destination may be output as a virtual image on the windshield);
a controller communicatively coupled with the imaging system and the navigation system and configured to generate a hybrid augmented navigation at the windshield via a hybrid augmented navigation application, the hybrid augmented navigation application including tactical navigation graphics projected at the tactical region of the primary viewing envelope and strategic navigation graphics projected at the strategic region of the primary viewing envelope, the tactical navigation graphics including a navigation path and the strategic navigation graphics including landmark indicia based on the navigation data (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
However, Choi does not specifically state:
a windshield including a primary viewing envelope, the primary viewing envelope including a tactical region extending along a majority of a height of the windshield and a strategic region extending along a majority of a width of the windshield, the strategic region defined by a blacked out area of the windshield;
Rhee teaches:
a windshield including a primary viewing envelope, the primary viewing envelope including a tactical region extending along a majority of a height of the windshield and a strategic region extending along a majority of a width of the windshield, the strategic region defined by a blacked out area of the windshield (Fig. 2; [0088] The information displayed on the first display area Z1 may include fuel or battery remaining information and vehicle speed information ‘80 km/h’ at the bottom portion. An AR image may be mapped and displayed for both lanes of the vehicle, and AR TBT information indicating to turn right ahead ‘820 m’ may be displayed. The AR lane image may be the positions of both sides of the driving lane and displayed in the predetermined position; [0089] The navigation TBT information may be displayed at the top portion of the second display area Z2, and the speed limit information may be displayed below the navigation TBT information.; [0090] The third display area Z3 may display a playing bar PB indicating the playback status of media content as media content information at the top, digital RVM, i.e., a real image RM by a rear-view camera at the center portion of the top, and destination arrival information D on the right; [0091] The third display area Z3 may display AVN menus including ‘Map’ for displaying maps, ‘Search’ for searching destinations, ‘Phone’ for making or receiving calls, ‘Media’ for selecting and playing media content, ‘Setup’ for setting up an AVN function, and ‘Vehicle’ for a vehicle settings menu at the bottom portion; [0092] The fourth display area Z4 may display the list of the media contents, and weather and time information on the top);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rhee into the invention of Choi to include a whole windshield display as Rhee discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that separates the windshield into different useable areas to display immediate navigational instructions and overall navigation goals. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of navigation using a heads-up display (HUD) as disclosed by Choi and a whole windshield display as taught by Rhee. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the hybrid augmented navigation application is configured to generate the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics based on image data from the imaging system (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the navigation path is projected at the tactical region of the windshield (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the strategic navigation graphics include distance instructions, the distance instructions being a distance between a first landmark and a second landmark (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 5, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the hybrid augmented navigation application includes a compass function configured to project a destination marker relative to a location of the vehicle via the strategic navigation graphics (Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B; [0364], When the vehicle has to make a right turn in order to move from the first road to the second road, the first figure image guides (navigates) the right turn. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 18A, a triangle 1820 pointing at a right direction may be the first figure image. In this instance, a right end (vertex) of the triangle which guides a navigation point 1830 is transformed (1820---,.1820'--,.1820") according to the position of a vehicle 1810; [0365], As another example, as illustrated in FIG. 18B, one end of a triangle may point at the navigation point itself, and the first figure image may also rotate (1822---,.1822'--,.1822"), in response to the movement of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 6, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the compass function is configured to move the destination marker about a landmark based on a direction of the vehicle (Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B; [0364], When the vehicle has to make a right turn in order to move from the first road to the second road, the first figure image guides (navigates) the right turn. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 18A, a triangle 1820 pointing at a right direction may be the first figure image. In this instance, a right end (vertex) of the triangle which guides a navigation point 1830 is transformed (1820---,.1820'--,.1820") according to the position of a vehicle 1810; [0365], As another example, as illustrated in FIG. 18B, one end of a triangle may point at the navigation point itself, and the first figure image may also rotate (1822---,.1822'--,.1822"), in response to the movement of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 7, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
further including a display proximate to the windshield and including a first head-up display (HUD) and a second HUD (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the first HUD is configured to project the tactical navigation graphics at the tactical region of the primary viewing envelope and the second HUD is configured to project the strategic navigation graphics at the strategic region of the primary viewing envelope (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 9, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein the tracking camera is configured to monitor a gaze of a user, the hybrid augmented navigation application being configured to identify the primary viewing envelope based on the monitored gaze received from the tracking camera (Fig. 7; [0087], The user interface apparatus 200 may include an input unit 210, an internal camera 220, a biometric sensing unit 230, an output unit 250 and a processor 270; [0103], The internal camera 220 may acquire an internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user's state based on the internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may acquire information related to the user's gaze from the internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user gesture from the internal image of the vehicle; [0027], In one embodiment disclosed herein, the controller may control the display module to output an additional warning image on a part of the display region, which overlaps the object, when the object is located within a virtual region defined by the display region and a driver's gaze.).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses:
A computer-implemented method when executed by data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; [0117], The processor 270 may control an overall operation of each unit of the user interface apparatus 200.):
generating, via a navigation system, a route of a vehicle to a destination (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B);
executing, based on the generated route, a hybrid augmented navigation application (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B);
determining, based on navigation data from the navigation system and image data from
an imaging system, landmarks along the route (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B);
generating, via the hybrid augmented navigation application, tactical navigation graphics and strategic navigation graphics based on the generated route and determined landmarks along the route (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10);
and updating, via the hybrid augmented navigation application, the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics based on updated image data (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
However, Choi does not specifically state:
projecting, at a primary viewing envelope of a windshield, the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics, the primary viewing envelope including a tactical region extending along a majority of a height of the windshield and a strategic region extending along a majority of a width of the windshield, the strategic region defined by a blacked out area of the windshield;
Rhee teaches:
projecting, at a primary viewing envelope of a windshield, the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics, the primary viewing envelope including a tactical region extending along a majority of a height of the windshield and a strategic region extending along a majority of a width of the windshield, the strategic region defined by a blacked out area of the windshield (Fig. 2; [0088] The information displayed on the first display area Z1 may include fuel or battery remaining information and vehicle speed information ‘80 km/h’ at the bottom portion. An AR image may be mapped and displayed for both lanes of the vehicle, and AR TBT information indicating to turn right ahead ‘820 m’ may be displayed. The AR lane image may be the positions of both sides of the driving lane and displayed in the predetermined position; [0089] The navigation TBT information may be displayed at the top portion of the second display area Z2, and the speed limit information may be displayed below the navigation TBT information.; [0090] The third display area Z3 may display a playing bar PB indicating the playback status of media content as media content information at the top, digital RVM, i.e., a real image RM by a rear-view camera at the center portion of the top, and destination arrival information D on the right; [0091] The third display area Z3 may display AVN menus including ‘Map’ for displaying maps, ‘Search’ for searching destinations, ‘Phone’ for making or receiving calls, ‘Media’ for selecting and playing media content, ‘Setup’ for setting up an AVN function, and ‘Vehicle’ for a vehicle settings menu at the bottom portion; [0092] The fourth display area Z4 may display the list of the media contents, and weather and time information on the top);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rhee into the invention of Choi to include a whole windshield display as Rhee discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that separates the windshield into different useable areas to display immediate navigational instructions and overall navigation goals. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of navigation using a heads-up display (HUD) as disclosed by Choi and a whole windshield display as taught by Rhee. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 11, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
executing, via the hybrid augmented navigation application, a compass function based on the strategic navigation graphics and the destination (Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B; [0364], When the vehicle has to make a right turn in order to move from the first road to the second road, the first figure image guides (navigates) the right turn. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 18A, a triangle 1820 pointing at a right direction may be the first figure image. In this instance, a right end (vertex) of the triangle which guides a navigation point 1830 is transformed (1820---,.1820'--,.1820") according to the position of a vehicle 1810; [0365], As another example, as illustrated in FIG. 18B, one end of a triangle may point at the navigation point itself, and the first figure image may also rotate (1822---,.1822'--,.1822"), in response to the movement of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein executing the compass function includes orienting, based on the destination, the strategic navigation graphics (Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B; [0364], When the vehicle has to make a right turn in order to move from the first road to the second road, the first figure image guides (navigates) the right turn. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 18A, a triangle 1820 pointing at a right direction may be the first figure image. In this instance, a right end (vertex) of the triangle which guides a navigation point 1830 is transformed (1820---,.1820'--,.1820") according to the position of a vehicle 1810; [0365], As another example, as illustrated in FIG. 18B, one end of a triangle may point at the navigation point itself, and the first figure image may also rotate (1822---,.1822'--,.1822"), in response to the movement of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 13, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein projecting the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics includes projecting the tactical navigation graphics at a tactical region of the primary viewing envelope and projecting the strategic navigation graphics at a strategic region of the primary viewing envelope (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein generating the strategic navigation graphics includes generating landmark indicia ([0265], Also, the surrounding information regarding the vehicle (or surrounding environment information) may include ambient brightness, temperature, a solar position, an adjacent object (person, another vehicle, road sign, etc.), a type of a currently-driving road surface, a landmark, line information, lane information, and information required for autonomous driving/autonomous parking/automatic parking/ manual parking modes; [0259], The display module 820 may output various information according to the control of the controller 830 provided in the vehicle control device 800. The display module 820 may be implemented as a head up display (HUD) or a transparent display. When implemented as the transparent display, the display module 830 may be arranged on a windshield or window of the vehicle. Hereinafter, for the sake of explanation, the present invention will be described under assumption that the display module 820 is implemented as the HUD, but the display module 820 may be implemented in various manners of creating augmented reality (AR); Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses:
A hybrid augmented navigation system comprising (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; [0117], The processor 270 may control an overall operation of each unit of the user interface apparatus 200.):
data processing hardware (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; [0117], The processor 270 may control an overall operation of each unit of the user interface apparatus 200.);
and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (Fig. 7; [0084], As illustrated in FIG. 7, the vehicle 100 may include a user interface apparatus 200, an object detecting apparatus 300, a communication apparatus 400, a driving control apparatus 500, a vehicle operating apparatus 600, a operation system 700, a navigation system 770, a sensing unit 120, an interface unit 130, a memory 140, a controller 170 and a power supply unit 190; [0237], The navigation system 770 may include a memory and a processor. The memory may store the navigation information. The processor may control an operation of the navigation system 770.):
generating, via a navigation system, a route of a vehicle to a destination (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B);
executing, based on the generated route, a hybrid augmented navigation
application (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B);
determining, based on navigation data from the navigation system and image data from an imaging system, landmarks along the route (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10; Fig. 11; Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B);
generating, via the hybrid augmented navigation application, tactical navigation graphics and strategic navigation graphics based on the generated route and determined landmarks along the route (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10);
and updating, via the augmented navigation application, the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics based on updated image data (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
However, Choi does not specifically state:
projecting, at a primary viewing envelope of a windshield, the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics, the primary viewing envelope including a tactical region extending along a majority of a height of the windshield and a strategic region extending along a majority of a width of the windshield, the strategic region defined by a blacked out area of the windshield;
Rhee teaches:
projecting, at a primary viewing envelope of a windshield, the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics, the primary viewing envelope including a tactical region extending along a majority of a height of the windshield and a strategic region extending along a majority of a width of the windshield, the strategic region defined by a blacked out area of the windshield (Fig. 2; [0088] The information displayed on the first display area Z1 may include fuel or battery remaining information and vehicle speed information ‘80 km/h’ at the bottom portion. An AR image may be mapped and displayed for both lanes of the vehicle, and AR TBT information indicating to turn right ahead ‘820 m’ may be displayed. The AR lane image may be the positions of both sides of the driving lane and displayed in the predetermined position; [0089] The navigation TBT information may be displayed at the top portion of the second display area Z2, and the speed limit information may be displayed below the navigation TBT information.; [0090] The third display area Z3 may display a playing bar PB indicating the playback status of media content as media content information at the top, digital RVM, i.e., a real image RM by a rear-view camera at the center portion of the top, and destination arrival information D on the right; [0091] The third display area Z3 may display AVN menus including ‘Map’ for displaying maps, ‘Search’ for searching destinations, ‘Phone’ for making or receiving calls, ‘Media’ for selecting and playing media content, ‘Setup’ for setting up an AVN function, and ‘Vehicle’ for a vehicle settings menu at the bottom portion; [0092] The fourth display area Z4 may display the list of the media contents, and weather and time information on the top);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rhee into the invention of Choi to include a whole windshield display as Rhee discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that separates the windshield into different useable areas to display immediate navigational instructions and overall navigation goals. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of navigation using a heads-up display (HUD) as disclosed by Choi and a whole windshield display as taught by Rhee. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 16, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
executing, via the hybrid augmented navigation application, a compass function based on the strategic navigation graphics and the destination (Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B; [0364], When the vehicle has to make a right turn in order to move from the first road to the second road, the first figure image guides (navigates) the right turn. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 18A, a triangle 1820 pointing at a right direction may be the first figure image. In this instance, a right end (vertex) of the triangle which guides a navigation point 1830 is transformed (1820---,.1820'--,.1820") according to the position of a vehicle 1810; [0365], As another example, as illustrated in FIG. 18B, one end of a triangle may point at the navigation point itself, and the first figure image may also rotate (1822---,.1822'--,.1822"), in response to the movement of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 17, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein executing the compass function includes orienting, based on the destination, the strategic navigation graphics (Fig. 18A; Fig. 18B; [0364], When the vehicle has to make a right turn in order to move from the first road to the second road, the first figure image guides (navigates) the right turn. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 18A, a triangle 1820 pointing at a right direction may be the first figure image. In this instance, a right end (vertex) of the triangle which guides a navigation point 1830 is transformed (1820---,.1820'--,.1820") according to the position of a vehicle 1810; [0365], As another example, as illustrated in FIG. 18B, one end of a triangle may point at the navigation point itself, and the first figure image may also rotate (1822---,.1822'--,.1822"), in response to the movement of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 18, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein projecting the tactical navigation graphics and the strategic navigation graphics includes projecting the tactical navigation graphics at a tactical region of the primary viewing envelope and projecting the strategic navigation graphics at a strategic region of the primary viewing envelope (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19, Choi in view of Rhee teaches:
wherein generating the strategic navigation graphics includes generating landmark indicia ([0265], Also, the surrounding information regarding the vehicle (or surrounding environment information) may include ambient brightness, temperature, a solar position, an adjacent object (person, another vehicle, road sign, etc.), a type of a currently-driving road surface, a landmark, line information, lane information, and information required for autonomous driving/autonomous parking/automatic parking/ manual parking modes; [0259], The display module 820 may output various information according to the control of the controller 830 provided in the vehicle control device 800. The display module 820 may be implemented as a head up display (HUD) or a transparent display. When implemented as the transparent display, the display module 830 may be arranged on a windshield or window of the vehicle. Hereinafter, for the sake of explanation, the present invention will be described under assumption that the display module 820 is implemented as the HUD, but the display module 820 may be implemented in various manners of creating augmented reality (AR); Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses:
A vehicle equipped with the hybrid augmented navigation system of Claim 15 (Abstract, The present invention relates to a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, and a method for controlling the vehicle. The vehicle control device includes a communication module configured to receive driving information regarding the vehicle, a display module configured to output visual information on a display region formed on a windshield of the vehicle, and a controller configured to control the display module based on the driving information to output graphic objects guiding a path of driving of the vehicle on a first region of the display region, the display region divided into the first region and a second region. The controller controls the display module based on the driving information to output on the second region at least one of the graphic objects output on the first region; Fig. 7; [0117], The processor 270 may control an overall operation of each unit of the user interface apparatus 200; Fig. 7; [0084], As illustrated in FIG. 7, the vehicle 100 may include a user interface apparatus 200, an object detecting apparatus 300, a communication apparatus 400, a driving control apparatus 500, a vehicle operating apparatus 600, a operation system 700, a navigation system 770, a sensing unit 120, an interface unit 130, a memory 140, a controller 170 and a power supply unit 190; [0237], The navigation system 770 may include a memory and a processor. The memory may store the navigation information. The processor may control an operation of the navigation system 770.).
Documents Considered but Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lettau discloses a system and method displays a compass control with a map or other image. The compass control displays locations that may be displayed on the map, as well as locations that are outside of the map area being displayed, to allow the user to view such locations and interact with them.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666