DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/08/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhu (Pub No 20260074763).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art Kim does not teach the limitations of claim 1.
The applicant relies on newly cited Zhu to teach the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu (Pub No 20260074763)
Regarding claim 1 and 11,
Zhu teaches a method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising:
transceivers; memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceivers and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the terminal to:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes a CSI report configuration including a plurality of sub-configurations; (interpreted as a terminal equipment receives a channel state information (CSI) report configuration, the channel state information (CSI) report configuration being related to K pieces of CSI, the channel state information (CSI) report configuration including P sub-configurations, one of the P sub-configurations corresponding to at least one piece of CSI, where 1≤P≤K, see para [0081])
receiving, from the base station, at least one channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) associated with the CSI report configuration; (interpreted as In some embodiments, the sub-configuration includes at least one of the following information: parameter N1; parameter N2; parameter Ng; a codebook subset restriction; or port information, the port information being used to indicate partial ports of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources associated with the channel state information (CSI) report configuration, see para [0090])
identifying CSI based on the CSI-RSs and the configuration information; and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI, wherein the CSI includes CSI fields corresponding to the plurality of sub-configurations respectively, and (interpreted as CSI Part 1, the CSI field mapping order includes: mapping first information corresponding to the first L sub-configurations in the N sub-configurations according to a sub-configuration index ascending order, where 1≤L≤N…one sub-configuration includes at least one of the following: a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) corresponding to the sub-configuration, see para [0100][0101])
wherein the CSI fields are ordered by indexes of the plurality of sub-configurations (interpreted as The terminal equipment reports a CSI report at a CSI report time, the CSI report including a first CSI, a second CSI . . . a Nth CSI which correspond to sub-configuration 1, sub-configuration 2 . . . sub-configuration N of the CSI respectively, different sub-configurations correspond to different spatial domain/energy domain adjustment modes, see para [0086]. Also see sub-configuration index para [[0381][0423[0440])
Regarding claim 6 and 16,
Zhu teaches a method performed by a base station in a communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes a CSI report configuration including a plurality of sub-configurations; (interpreted as a terminal equipment receives a channel state information (CSI) report configuration, the channel state information (CSI) report configuration being related to K pieces of CSI, the channel state information (CSI) report configuration including P sub-configurations, one of the P sub-configurations corresponding to at least one piece of CSI, where 1≤P≤K, see para [0081])
transmitting, to the terminal, at least one channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) associated with the CSI report configuration; and interpreted as In some embodiments, the sub-configuration includes at least one of the following information: parameter N1; parameter N2; parameter Ng; a codebook subset restriction; or port information, the port information being used to indicate partial ports of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources associated with the channel state information (CSI) report configuration, see para [0090])
receiving, from the terminal, CSI corresponding to the CSI-RSs and the configuration information, wherein the CSI includes CSI fields corresponding to the plurality of sub-configurations respectively, and wherein the CSI fields are ordered by indexes of the plurality of sub-configurations.(interpreted as The terminal equipment reports a CSI report at a CSI report time, the CSI report including a first CSI, a second CSI . . . a Nth CSI which correspond to sub-configuration 1, sub-configuration 2 . . . sub-configuration N of the CSI respectively, different sub-configurations correspond to different spatial domain/energy domain adjustment modes, see para [0086]. Also see sub-configuration index para [[0381][0423[0440])
Regarding claim 3 and 8 and 13 and 18,
Kim teaches the method of claim 2, wherein CSI fields of a sub-configuration include zero padding bits determined based on a sub-configuration. (interpreted as TABLE-US-00029 TABLE 29 CSI report number CSI fields CSI report #n CRI of sub-configuration 1, if reported; Rank Indicator of sub-configuration 1, if reported; LI of sub-configuration 1, if reported; Zero padding bits O.sub.p, if reported)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Pub No 20260074763) further in view of and Yi (Pub No 20240388345)
Regarding claim 2 and 7 and 12 and 17,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein in case that the CSI corresponds to a plurality of CSI reports, the CSI includes CSI fields of the plurality of CSI reports, and wherein CSI fields of a single part CSI report include CSI fields of sub-configurations corresponding to the CSI report ordered by indexes of the sub-configurations corresponding to the CSI report.
However, Zhu does not teach single part CSI.
Yi teaches single part CSI. (interpreted as CSI report is transmitted in the structure of the single part CSI, see para [0340])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the CSI report as taught by Zhu with the single party CSI report as taught by Yi since it would have been obvious to choose between single part or two part CSI report formatting for transmitting the report.
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10, 14-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Pub No 20260074763) further in view of Jin (Pub No 20210250076)
Regarding claim 4 and 9 and 14 and 19,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein in case that the CSI corresponds to a plurality of two part CSI reports, the CSI includes a first bit sequence and a second bit sequence, wherein the first bit sequence includes first CSI parts associated with sub-configurations of the plurality of two part CSI reports, and a second bit sequence includes CSI parts associated with sub-configuration of the plurality of two part CSI reports;
Jin teaches wherein in case that the CSI corresponds to a plurality of two part CSI reports, the CSI includes a first bit sequence and a second bit sequence, wherein the first bit sequence includes first CSI parts associated with sub-configurations of the plurality of two part CSI reports, and a second bit sequence includes CSI parts associated with sub-configuration of the plurality of two part CSI reports; (interpreted as the terminal device may send one or more CSI reports in one time of CSI reporting. When reporting a plurality of CSI reports, the terminal device may separately generate a bit sequence of the first part of each CSI report and a bit sequence of the second part of each CSI report based on a predefined priority sequence of the CSI reports, see para [0575])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the CSI reports as taught by Zhu in view of Zhu with the bit sequence as taught by Jin with the motivation being to organize the plurality of reports using the bit sequence.
Regarding claim 5 and 10 and 15 and 20,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 4, wherein in case that second CSI parts include subband precoding matrix indicators (PMIs) or subband channel quality indicators (CQIs). (interpreted as CSI Part 2 wideband, wideband (pmi-FormatIndicator=subbandPMI or cqi-FormatIndicator=subbandCQI), see para [0075]) for a two part CSI report, CSI fields for even subbands of sub-configurations and CSI fields corresponding to odd subbands of the sub-configurations following the CSI fields for even subbands of the sub-configurations are included in the second bit sequence. (interpreted as mapping PMI subband information or codebook index of even subbands with ascending order, corresponding to the N sub-configurations, according to a sub-configuration index ascending order; [0236] mapping subband differential CQI for a second transport block (TB) of odd subbands with ascending order, corresponding to N sub-configurations, according to a sub-configuration index ascending order; [0237] mapping PMI subband information or codebook index of odd subbands with ascending order, corresponding to the N sub-configurations, according to a sub-configuration index ascending order, see para [0233])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461