DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11-12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0023455).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 20, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) a connector 22 (i.e. conductive union: see par. [0029]) configured to fluidically couple a first conduit 30 [0030] and a second conduit 25 [0030] (as shown in Fig. 2) to enable flow therethrough of a mobile phase for liquid chromatography [0003], the connector 22 comprising an electrically-conductive junction 22 [0029] for providing, when the electrically-conductive junction 22 is electrically connected with a power source [0029], an electrospray voltage [0031] to the mobile phase, the electrically-conductive junction 22 comprising:
a first receptacle 720/730 [0039] for receiving a distal end of the first conduit 30 ([0039]; Fig. 2), the first receptacle 720/730 comprising a first sealing surface (inner surface of 720/730) that interfaces with the mobile phase and fluidically seals with the distal end of the first conduit 30 ([0039]; Fig. 2);
a second receptacle 701/710 [0039] for receiving a proximal end of the second conduit 25 ([0039]; Fig. 2), the second receptacle 701/710 comprising a second sealing surface (inner surface of 701/710) that interfaces with the mobile phase and fluidically seals with the proximal end of the second conduit 25 ([0039]; Fig. 2), wherein a distal end of the second conduit 25 (i.e. the spraying/emitting end shown on the left side in Figs. 1-2) is fluidically coupled with a capillary of a non-conductive emitter (i.e. the conduit/emitter 25 is made of fused silica: [0031], which is not conductive); and
a through-hole 715 [0039] extending from the first receptacle 720/730 to the second receptacle 701/710 (as shown in Figs. 7E-F);
wherein the first sealing surface (inner surface of 720/730) and the second sealing surface (inner surface of 701/710) each comprise an electrochemical corrosion-resistant material (i.e. made of/plated with stainless steel, gold, titanium, platinum: [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Bailey further discloses a system for analyzing a sample by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry [0003], the system comprising: an electrospray ionization (ESI) emitter [0013]-[0017], wherein the ESI emitter is a non-conductive emitter (i.e. the conduit/emitter 25 is made of fused silica: [0031], which is not conductive); and the connector 22 enables flow of a mobile phase to the ESI emitter (see pars. [0013]-[0017] and [0043]).
The apparatus of Bailey, as applied above in the rejection of claims 1 and 16, would be made by the method of claim 20 (and meets the limitations of said claim).
Regarding claim 2, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material (stainless steel, gold, platinum: [0039]) has a standard reduction potential that is greater than a reduction potential of a standard hydrogen electrode (SHE) – (i.e. is an inherent property of these materials: see the cited table of Standard Reduction Potentials of various materials).
Regarding claim 3, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material (stainless steel, gold, platinum: [0039]) has a standard reduction potential that is greater than the standard reduction potential of titanium (i.e. is an inherent property of these materials: see the cited table of Standard Reduction Potentials of various materials).
Regarding claim 4, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a noble metal (i.e. gold, platinum: [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises gold [0039].
Regarding claim 9, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) the electrically-conductive junction 22 comprises a first material (stainless steel: [0039]) and a second material comprising a coating on the first material (gold, titanium, platinum: [0039]) at the first sealing surface (inner surface of 720/730) and the second sealing surface (inner surface of 701/710), the second material comprising the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material (gold, titanium, platinum: [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Bailey discloses (Figs. 1-7) the electrically-conductive junction 22 further comprises the second material (gold, titanium, platinum: [0039]) on the first material [0039] on an inside surface of the through-hole 715 [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0023455) in view of ATI (ATI technical data sheet for 904L stainless steel, Allegheny Technologies Inc., 2012, available at: https://www.nickel-systems.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/ati_904l_tds_en_v1.pdf).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 8, Bailey is applied as above, but does not disclose the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a metal alloy that includes greater than about twenty percent (20%) nickel by mass; and the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a metal alloy that includes less than about one percent (1%) iron by mass; and the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a 904L stainless steel.
ATI discloses the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a metal alloy (stainless steel: see Composition, p. 1) that includes greater than about twenty percent (20%) nickel by mass (Composition, p. 1); and the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a metal alloy that includes less than about one percent (1%) iron by mass (Composition, p. 1); and the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a 904L stainless steel (ATI, p. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bailey’s connector so that the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a metal alloy that includes greater than about twenty percent (20%) nickel by mass; and the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a metal alloy that includes less than about one percent (1%) iron by mass; and the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material comprises a 904L stainless steel, as taught by ATI.
Such a modification would improve the corrosion resistance of the connector (ATI, bottom p. 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0023455) in view of Wagner et al. (U.S. Pub. 2011/0186497).
Regarding claim 10, Bailey is applied as above, but does not disclose the first material comprises titanium (since claim 9 requires that the first material be coated with a second).
Wagner discloses the first material comprises titanium (Wagner, [0064], claim 9 – the body of the seal is a metal coated with gold: see Wagner pars. [0062] and [0064] and claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bailey’s connector so that the first material comprises titanium, as taught by Wagner.
Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0023455) in view of Bohne (U.S. Patent 3,623,968).
Regarding claims 13-15, Bailey discloses (re. claim 15) the electrically-conductive junction 22 comprises a first material (stainless steel: [0039]) and a second material comprising a coating on the first material [0039] at the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface ([0039]; see Figs. 7E-F).
Regarding claims 13-15, Bailey does not disclose the electrically-conductive junction further comprises a sacrificial electrode interfacing with the mobile phase and configured to preferentially corrode relative to the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material of the first sealing surface and second sealing surface; and the sacrificial electrode comprises a metal having a lower standard reduction potential than the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material; and the electrically-conductive junction comprises a first material and a second material comprising a coating on the first material at the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface, the sacrificial electrode comprising the first material and the second material comprising the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material.
Bohne discloses (Figs. 1-2) the electrically-conductive junction further comprises a sacrificial electrode (sacrificial anode: col. 1, lines 51-52) interfacing with the mobile phase and configured to preferentially corrode relative to the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material of the first sealing surface and second sealing surface (col. 1, lines 55-65; col. 2, lines 32-43); and the sacrificial electrode comprises a metal (col. 2, line 73) having a lower standard reduction potential than the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material (i.e. is an inherent property of these materials: see the cited table of Standard Reduction Potentials of various materials); and the sacrificial electrode comprising the first material (col. 2, lines 32-43) and the second material comprising the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material (when combined with the teachings of Bailey, see above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bailey’s connector so that the electrically-conductive junction further comprises a sacrificial electrode interfacing with the mobile phase and configured to preferentially corrode relative to the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material of the first sealing surface and second sealing surface; and the sacrificial electrode comprises a metal having a lower standard reduction potential than the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material; and the electrically-conductive junction comprises a first material and a second material comprising a coating on the first material at the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface, the sacrificial electrode comprising the first material and the second material comprising the electrochemical corrosion-resistant material, as taught by Bohne.
Such a modification would be the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0023455).
Regarding claim 17, Bailey is applied as above, but does not disclose a chromatographic column comprising a stationary phase.
However, although Bailey does not disclose the system includes a chromatographic column comprising a stationary phase, the Examiner takes official notice that a chromatographic column comprising a stationary phase was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed. See MPEP 2144.03.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bailey’s system to include a chromatographic column comprising a stationary phase.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Bailey is applied as above, but does not disclose the chromatographic column is positioned upstream/downstream of the connector such that an outlet/inlet of the chromatographic column is fluidically coupled with the first/second conduit.
However, such a modification would be “obvious to try” since there are only two possibilities (i.e. the connector 22 is either upstream or downstream of the LC column).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bailey’s system so that the chromatographic column is positioned upstream/downstream of the connector such that an outlet/inlet of the chromatographic column is fluidically coupled with the first/second conduit – see MPEP 2144.03(I)(E).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06-30-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Specifically, Bailey discloses: wherein a distal end of the second conduit 25 (i.e. the spraying/emitting end shown on the left side in Figs. 1-2) is fluidically coupled with a capillary of a non-conductive emitter (i.e. the conduit/emitter 25 is made of fused silica: [0031], which is not conductive) – note that in the above rejection, the first and second conduits 25/30 have been swapped with the way they were applied in the Non-Final, so that Bailey is still considered to anticipate the amended claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852