DETAILED ACTION
This responds to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 10/21/2025. Claims 1-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are now pending in this Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because
II. Mental Processes 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) addresses mental steps. "[M]ental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. [C]oncepts that cannot practically be performed in the human mind and..are not "mental processes"...The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation... Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer.
Step 2A, Prong One
The amended claim remains directed to an abstract idea. The added limitation of “generating an update information for a meta data store in the meta buffer; obtaining, from the update information; invalidating a first journal which is stored in the journal buffer and has the first meta data address; recording, in the journal buffer a second journal corresponding to the update information” merely represents “data collection, analysis and record result” and does not alter the fundamental character of the claim.
The amended claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the added feature: generating an update information for a meta data store in the meta buffer; obtaining, from the update information; invalidating a first journal which is stored in the journal buffer and has the first meta data address; recording, in the journal buffer a second journal corresponding to the update information.
The amendment does not improve the functioning of computer or other technology.
Merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract.
.
Step 2A, Prong Two and Step 2B:
Considering the claim elements both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional limitation does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself
Receiving and storing pre-existing documents and joint documentation data amounts to necessary data gathering - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
iv. Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
Accordingly, the amendment does not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S. C. 101. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0032731), and in view of Kim et al (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0206713]).
As per claim 1, DE discloses an operation method of a storage device, the storage device comprising a meta buffer and a journal buffer, the operation method comprising:
generating an update information for a meta data stored in the meta buffer (Par [0020, 0061] new binary version detected);
obtaining, from the update information, a first meta data address of the meta data (Par [0066-0067]);
invalidating a first journal which is stored in the journal buffer and has the first meta data address; and recording, in the journal buffer a second journal in corresponding to the update information (Par [0040, 0067-0071]]).
DE does not explicitly disclose meta buffer and journal buffer and invalidating journal.
However, Kim discloses meta buffer and journal buffer and invalidating journal (Par [0038, 0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 2, DE discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein searching the first journal from the journal buffer based on a journal search table that stores at least one meta data address and at least one journal buffer identifier (Fig 6 and par [0014, 0036, 0046]).
DE does not explicitly disclose journal buffer.
However, Kim discloses journal buffer (Par [0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 3, DE discloses the operation method of claim 2, further comprising recording, in the journal search table, a journal information corresponding the second journal (Par [0067-0072]).
DE does not explicitly disclose journal.
However, Kim discloses journal (Par [0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 4, DE discloses the operation method of claim 3, wherein the: recording of the journal information comprises: obtaining a journal buffer identifier indicating where the second journal is located in the journal buffer; and recording the journal buffer identifier and the first meta data address in the journal search table (Par [0036, 0046]).
DE does not explicitly disclose journal.
However, Kim discloses journal (Par [0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 5, Kim discloses the operation method of claim 4, further comprising: removing journal information corresponding the first journal from the journal search table (Par [0038, 0051]).
As per claim 6, DE discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein indicating the first journal comprises: correcting a value of a valid field of the first journal (Par [0044]).
As per claim 7, Kim discloses operation method of claim 1, the storage device is configured to communicate with a host and includes a nonvolatile memory, and
The meta data is a mapping table for a logical block address of the host and a physical block address of the nonvolatile memory (Par [0007]).
As per claim 11, DE discloses a storage device comprising:
generate an update information based on updating the meta data (Par [0020, 0061] new binary version detected);
obtain a first meta data address corresponding to the meta data (Par [0066-0067]);
invalidate a first journal which is included in the journal data and has the first meta data address; generate a second journal based on the update information; and update the journal data based on the second journal (Par [0040, 0067-0071]]).
DE discloses memories but does not explicitly disclose a non-volatile memory; a buffer memory configured to store a metadata and a journal data; a storage controller configure to; and meta buffer and journal buffer, invalidate journal.
However, Kim discloses a non-volatile memory; a buffer memory configured to store a metadata and a journal data; a storage controller configure to (Par [0007-0008]);
meta buffer and journal buffer, invalidate journal (Par [0038, 0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 12, Kim discloses the storage device of claim 11, wherein the storage controller is configured to communicate with a host ; and the meta data is a mapping table for a logical block address of the host and a physical block address of the non-volatile memory (par [0007, 0075-0080]).
As per claim 13, DE discloses the storage device of claim 12, wherein the storage controller is configured to determine, based on a journal search table storing a journal information of the journal data, whether the first journal has the first meta data address (par [0066-0067]).
DE does not explicitly disclose journal.
However, Kim discloses journal (Par [0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 14, DE discloses the storage device of claim 13, wherein the storage controller is further configured to update the journal search table based on the second journal (par [0066-0067]).
DE does not explicitly disclose journal.
However, Kim discloses journal (Par [0059-0061, 0083, 0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feature as disclosed in Kim into the teachings of DE in order to improve a storage device (Par [0169]).
As per claim 15, Kim discloses the storage device of claim 11, wherein the storage controller is configured to invalidate the first journal by changing a value of a valid field of the first journal (par [0075-0080).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0032731), and Kim et al (U.S Pub No. 2022/0206713 A1), and further in view of Kim et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0026763 A1).
As per claim 8, Kim (‘731)disclose the operation method of claim 1, wherein recording the second journal comprises: (Par [0007-0008]).
DE and Kim (“731) does not explicitly disclose overwriting the second journal to a memory where the first journal is located in the journal buffer.
However, Kim (‘763) discloses overwriting the second journal to a memory where the first journal is located in the journal buffer (Par [0026, 0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Kim (‘763) into the teaching of DE as modified by Kim (‘731) in order to improve the system (Par [0002]).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0032731), and in view of Kim et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0026763 A1).
As per claim 8, DE does not explicitly disclose the operation method of claim 1, wherein recording the second journal comprises: overwriting the second journal to a memory where the first journal is located in the journal buffer.
However, Kim discloses wherein recording the update information as the second journal comprises: overwriting the second journal to a memory where the first journal is located in the journal buffer (Par [0026, 0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Kim into the teaching of DE in order to improve the system (Par [0002]).
As per claim 9, DE discloses an operation method of a storage device, the operation method comprising:
obtaining meta data (Par [0029]);
obtaining journal data including a first journal having a first meta data address and a second journal having a second meta data address; and recovering the meta data by parallelly replaying the first journal and the second journal (Par [0066, 0067]).
DE discloses data but DE does not explicitly disclose dividing the journal data into at least two journal fragments; and recovering the meta data in parallel based on the at least two journal fragments by a plurality of replayers.
However, Kim discloses dividing the journal data into at least two journal fragments (Par [0036]); and
recovering the meta data in parallel based on the at least two journal fragments by a plurality of replayers (Par [0032, 0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Kim into the teaching of DE in order to improve the system (Par [0002]).
As per claim 10, Kim discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first journal and the second journal are replayed by different replayers (Par [0032, 0036, 0064]).
As per claim 16, DE does not explicitly disclose the storage device of claim 11, wherein the storage controller is configured to invalidate the first journal by overwriting the second journal in the buffer memory at a position where the first journal is recorded.
However, Kim discloses wherein the storage controller is configured to invalidate the first journal by overwriting the second journal in the buffer memory at a position where the first journal is recorded (Par [0026, 0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Kim into the teaching of DE in order to improve the system (Par [0002]).
As per claim 17, Kim discloses the storage device of claim 11, wherein the buffer memory is configured to flush the updated journal data and updated meta data to the non-volatile memory in response to a sudden power off of the storage device (Par [0026, 0029]).
As per claim 18, Kim discloses the storage device of claim 17, wherein the buffer memory comprises a meta buffer configured to store the meta data, and a journal buffer configured to store the journal data, and when the journal buffer is full, the buffer memory is configured to flush the meta data and the journal data to the non-volatile memory (Par [0064]).
As per claim 19, Kim discloses the storage device of claim 17, wherein: the non-volatile memory is configured to provide the journal data and the meta data to the buffer memory when the storage device is turned on, and the storage controller is configured to perform a replay operation for plurality of journals included in the journal data in parallel (Par [0032, 0036, 0064]).
As per claim 20, Kim discloses the storage device of claim 19, wherein the storage controller comprises:
a first replayer and a second replayer configured to perform the replay operation based on the plurality of journals simultaneously (Par [0032, 0056, 0077, 0084]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
January 15, 2026
/THU N NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154