DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process. may obtain a patent therefore. (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller V. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/ie/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,035,350 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as illustrated in the table below, the claims of the instant application are taught by limitations of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,035,350 B2, where any minor differences between the claim language of the instant application and U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,035,350 B2 are obvious variants.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in the claims at issue would have been an obvious variation of the invention defined in the claims of the patent because simple substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. The mapping of independent claims is provided herein, for example.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,035,350 B2
Claim 1. A device,
Claim 1. A device,
comprising: a processor;
comprising: a processor;
and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations,
and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations,
the operations comprising:
the operations comprising: obtaining an indication of a version of software that is available on equipment that is configured for wireless communications;
generating an access point slice based on a device connection request associated with equipment that is configured for wireless communications,
generating an access point slice based on a device connection request associated with the equipment,
wherein the access point slice is generated based at least in part on an indication of a version of software that is available on the equipment;
wherein the access point slice is generated based at least in part on the version of the software that has been indicated;
coordinating the access point slice with a network core slice,
coordinating the access point slice with a network core slice,
wherein the coordinating takes into account whether or not the equipment uses a billing function;
wherein the coordinating takes into account whether or not the equipment uses a billing function;
provisioning a slice pair based on the access point slice and the network core slice;
provisioning a slice pair based on the access point slice and the network core slice;
and in response to a change in a performance parameter of the device connection request, updating the access point slice
and in response to a change in a performance parameter of the device connection request, updating the access point slice
and updating the coordinating of the access point slice with the network core slice.
and updating the coordinating of the access point slice with the network core slice.
12. A method,
12. A method,
comprising: provisioning, by a system comprising a processor, an access point slice from computing resources of an access point device,
comprising: obtaining, by a system comprising a processor, an indication of a version of software that is available on user equipment that is configured for wireless communications;
provisioning, by the system, an access point slice from computing resources of an access point device,
wherein computing resources embodied via the access point slice are selected based on a connection request of user equipment that is configured for wireless communications,
wherein computing resources embodied via the access point slice are selected based on a connection request of the user equipment,
and wherein the computing resources that are selected are based at least in part on an indication of a version of software that is available on the user equipment;
and wherein the computing resources that are selected are based at least in part on the version of the software that has been indicated;
causing, by the system, provisioning of a network core slice that is coordinated with the access point slice,
causing, by the system, provisioning of a network core slice that is coordinated with the access point slice,
wherein the network core slice is coordinated with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the user equipment uses a billing function;
wherein the network core slice is coordinated with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the user equipment uses a billing function;
and updating, by the system, the access point slice based on changes to a performance of a connection between the user equipment and the access point device.
and updating, by the system, the access point slice based on changes to a performance of a connection between the user equipment and the access point device.
17. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium,
17. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium,
comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations,
comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations,
the operations comprising:
the operations comprising:
obtaining an indication of a version of software that is available on an end point device that is configured for wireless communications;
selecting an access point slice of an access point device,
selecting an access point slice of an access point device,
wherein the access point slice is selected based on a connection parameter corresponding to a connection between the access point device and an end point device that is configured for wireless communications,
wherein the access point slice is selected based on a connection parameter corresponding to a connection between the access point device and the end point device,
and wherein the access point slice is selected based at least in part on a version of software that is available on the end point device;
and wherein the access point slice is selected based at least in part on the version of the software that has been indicated;
synchronizing a network core slice with the access point slice,
synchronizing a network core slice with the access point slice,
wherein the network core slice is synchronized with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the end point device uses a billing function;
wherein the network core slice is synchronized with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the end point device uses a billing function;
and in response to changes in the connection parameter between the end point device and the access point device, adapting the access point slice
and in response to changes in the connection parameter between the end point device and the access point device, adapting the access point slice
and updating the synchronizing to the network core slice.
and updating the synchronizing to the network core slice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-10, 12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al. (US 2018/0242304 A1), hereinafter Rong, and Altay et al. (US 2019/0223023 A1), hereinafter Altay, and Goel et al. (US 2023/0025799 A1), hereinafter Goel, and Kodaypak et al. (US 2019/0174320 A1), hereinafter Kodaypak.
Re. Claim 1, Rong teaches:
A device, (¶0129 FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of an example simplified processing system 400, which may be used to implement the methods and systems disclosed herein, and the example methods described below. The UE 110, AP 105, Resource Allocation Manager, Scheduler 120, slice manager 130, core network slice manager 140 and/or RAN slice manager may be implemented using the example processing system 400, or variations of the processing system 400.)
comprising: a processor; (¶0130 The processing system 400 may include one or more processing devices 405, such as a processor,)
and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, (¶0131 The processing system 400 may include one or more memories 425, which may include a volatile or non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM), and/or a read-only memory (ROM)). The non-transitory memories 425 (as well as storage 420) may store instructions for execution by the processing devices 405, such as to carry out methods such as those described in the present disclosure.)
the operations comprising: (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13 & ¶0142 In 1308, each of the core networks, or the core network slices, is associated with at least one slice of the radio edge of the RAN. It should be understood that if there are a plurality of different services carried within a core network, or core network slice, there may be more than one slice of the RAN radio edge associated with the core network or core network slice.)
provisioning a slice pair based on the access point slice and the network core slice; (¶0080 RAN slicing and network core slicing are coordinated to provide end-to-end slicing that can be used to provide service-specific network slices extending across the entire core network and RAN communications infrastructure. & ¶0142 In step 1302, instructions are transmitted to an AP to create a plurality of slices in the radio edge of the RAN. Information about core networks and possibly core network slices that will be served by the RAN slices is received in 1304. & In 1308, each of the core networks, or the core network slices, is associated with at least one slice of the radio edge of the RAN. It should be understood that if there are a plurality of different services carried within a core network, or core network slice, there may be more than one slice of the RAN radio edge associated with the core network or core network slice. In 1310, routing instructions based on the association of core networks or core network slices to the RAN slices is transmitted to nodes within the radio access network. [i.e. a core network slice being associated with a RAN slice creates a slice pair, and in step 1310 routing instructions received based on this association provisions the slice pair])
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: generating an access point slice based on a device connection request associated with equipment that is configured for wireless communications, wherein the access point slice is generated based at least in part on an indication of a version of software that is available on the equipment;
However, in the analogous art, Altay teaches:
generating an access point slice based on a device connection request associated with equipment that is configured for wireless communications, (¶0032 An enterprise network is sliced in such a way that a slice is created per user-group wherein the members of the user-group are provided the same grade of service regardless of local transport technology and end device type. The slicing is achieved by an integrated virtual CPE, which is remotely programmed using a control infrastructure located at a service provider's data center. The integrated virtual CPE is comprised of (i) an SDN switch (or multiple SDN switches) that can route traffic to multiple types of access networks (MPLS, Private Line, DSL, Cable, etc.) and that can be remotely controlled by an SDN controller, (ii) at least one sliceable virtualized network function, (iii) a sliceable RAN, (iv) a sliceable core network and (v) a control agent. Each user-group is given a slice of the RAN. [i.e. RAN (access point) slices are created/generated] ¶0066 FIGS. 9a and 9b illustrate example message flow diagrams for introduction of new policies to the enterprise network and implementation of pre-defined policies during a UE's connection establishment (so called attach request). In FIG. 9a, a policy update can be referred as addition, removal, or configuration modification of a slice. [i.e. an attach request (device connection request) from a UE (user equipment configured for wireless communication) triggers the addition/generation of slices through a policy update])
wherein the access point slice is generated based at least in part on an indication of a version of software that is available on the equipment; (¶0015-¶0016 In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile. groups of users of the CPE with different profiles are given different slices of the RAN & ¶0035 Network slicing is specified per user-group for simplicity in one embodiment. An exemplary set of user-groups of an enterprise can be employees, visitors, management team, and Internet of Things (IOT), each of which has different rights and requirements. In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. [i.e. network slices of the RAN are generated based on different profiles, where the profiles indicate application type (version of software of the equipment)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Altay’s teaching of access point slice generation being based on a version of software or application type of the equipment because it would enable mapping network slices to application types for latency-sensitive, high throughput, or delay sensitive scenario. (see Altay ¶0035)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and in response to a change in a performance parameter of the device connection request, updating the access point slice and updating the coordinating of the access point slice with the network core slice.
However, in the analogous art, Goel teaches:
and in response to a change in a performance parameter of the device connection request, updating the access point slice (Fig. 2 & ¶0041 the NSSF may assign a network slice to a requesting user equipment during the registration procedure, inter-PLMN mobility procedure, PDU session establishment procedure, UE configuration update procedure, and the like. In response to receiving a network slice selection request message (e.g., via the Nnssf_NSSelection_Get service operation), the NSSF selects the network slice instance based on pre-provisioned information. [i.e. the initial device connection request where slice is selected using pre-provisioned information (parameters)] & ¶0043 FIG. 2 is a message flow diagram illustrating the communication of network slice instance modification information according to an embodiment of the subject matter described herein. NSMF 212 may also be responsible for generating performance data at the network slice interface level, wherein the performance data can include network traffic load data of the entire network slice instance that indicates a total user traffic level and/or a total signalling traffic level that are present within a network slice instance. The performance data generated at the network slice interface level can also include service performance data that is provided by the network slice instance. In some embodiments, the service performance data includes the total user traffic, the signalling traffic, and quality of service data (e.g., QoS data of service can indicate whether the network slice instance delivers services at an expected QoS level) that corresponds to a particular service instance. Moreover, NSMF 212 can be configured to conduct management and orchestration of network slice instances based on the performance data [i.e. management of network slice instances based on performance data (parameters) of the slice instance,] & ¶0047 In block 205, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 is configured to process the network traffic load levels and apply local policies at the network slice instance layer. In some embodiments, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be provisioned or configured with local policies that are directed to the orchestration and management of network slices. Specifically, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be provisioned with policies that can be used to determine whether a particular traffic load level change experienced by a network function associated with a supported network slice instance needs to be addressed and/or remedied. For example, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 may be configured to process the changes pertaining to the network traffic load levels of network functions when notified by NRF 214. NSMF 212 can also utilize the policies and configured network traffic load thresholds (e.g., operator provisioned load thresholds) for performing network slice management tasks to assess whether specific changes to the network slice instance(s) is needed. For example, if the network traffic load level change experienced by the network function exceeds a predetermined threshold defined by the policy, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be configured to modify the characteristics of the underlying network slice instance (e.g., adjust/increase additional network resources for the network slice, [i.e. when performance parameters of network slice instance change, the slice is modified/updated].)
and updating the coordinating of the access point slice with the network core slice. (Fig. 4 steps 404-410 & ¶0043 The communication links connecting NSMF 302 and network slice subset instances 311-332 can assist with facilitating performance feedback from network slice instances and/or network slice instance level updates based on policies. For example, NSMF 302 orchestrates the management of various network slices by utilizing the communications links to collect performance and/or metric information regarding the network slice instances, [i.e. slices are orchestrated according to performance parameters] the network slice subset instances, and the underlying network functions. & ¶0047 if the network traffic load level change experienced by the network function exceeds a predetermined threshold defined by the policy, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be configured to modify the characteristics of the underlying network slice instance (e.g., adjust/increase additional network resources for the network slice)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong and Altay’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Goel’s teaching of updating network slice based on a change in performance data parameters in a request for device connection, because it would enable network slice management based on performance of network slice characteristics such as network traffic load level data. (see Goel ¶0043-¶0045)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the coordinating takes into account whether or not the equipment uses a billing function;
However, in the analogous art, Kodaypak teaches:
wherein the coordinating takes into account whether or not the equipment uses a billing function; (¶0039-¶0040 PSC 410 can enable access to slice pair selection information, for example, via RAN slice management link 415 and/or CN slice management link 413. In another embodiment, slice pair information can be accessed by another device that manages or provisions a RAN or CN slice as part of a network slice. Slice pair selection information can comprise an indication of one or more RAN slice(s) and one or more CN slice(s) to pair into a network slice. Slice pair selection information can be employed to initiate provisioning of the indicated network slice. a network slice can comprise one or more RAN slice(s) and one or more CN slice(s). As an example, UE 402 can be provided with network access via a first network slice comprising RAN slice 420 and CN slice 450, as directed by PSC 410 via RAN slice management link 415 and CN slice management link 413, which can provide UE 402 with access to VNF group 451 that can comprise one or more VNFs. The VNFs comprising VNF group 451 can, in some embodiments be relevant to the use of a service corresponding to UE 402, for example, VNF group 451 can comprise a virtual function supporting a mobile billing feature that can be used to enable billing for mobile network access by UE 402. [i.e. the coordination of RAN slices and CN slices takes into account a virtual function supporting a mobile billing feature])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Goel’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Kodaypak’s teaching of taking into account if the equipment uses a billing function when coordinating network slices, because it would enable the network slicing to be based on device functionality and need, in order to better provision network resources. (see Kodaypak ¶0022 & ¶0039)
Re. Claim 3, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 1.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the access point slice corresponds to a portion of computing resources of a wireless local area network component. (¶0100 All nodes (AP's 105 or UEs 110) transmitting data in the slice are then allocated transmission resources by network scheduler 120, based on the network f/t resource parameter set assigned by at least one of RAN slice manager 150, and the nodes transmitting within the allocated AP resources 154 and UE resources 156. A network entity or entities, such as the RAN slice manager 150 and resource allocation manager 115 can assign parameters to each slice based on the requirements of the service supported by that slice. In addition to the service isolation discussed above, the generation of a slice specific to a service (or a class of services) allows for the RAN resources to be tailored to the supported services in some embodiments. & ¶0127 In the core network, it may be possible to provide each of the network supported services with their own slice, and have this slice associated with a corresponding RAN slice such that end-to end slice management can be carried out under the control of slice manager 130. slice manager 130 exchanges information with each of core slice manager 140 and RAN slice manager 150 to create end-to-end service-centric Slices 1-Slices-5. Each of Slices 1 to Slices-5 includes a resource set for the core network that defines an associated core network slice and a resource set for RAN 125 that devices an associated RAN slice 152. [i.e. resources for slices are assigned based on service supported by that slice. Each slice is then further defined by a resource set for RAN (computing resources for a wireless network)] & ¶0130 The processing system 400 may include one or more network interfaces 415 for wired or wireless communication with a network (e.g., an intranet, the Internet, a P2P network, a WAN and/or a LAN) [i.e. method includes operation in wireless local area networks])
Re. Claim 4, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 3.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the wireless local area network component employs an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 802.11 standard. (¶0093 The radio air interface configuration 160 can, for example, specify attributes in one or more of the following categories: the radio-access technology 162 to be used for the slice (e.g. LTE, 5G, WiFi, etc.); & ¶0119 AP 604 and 606 may connect directly to the core network. APs 604 and 606 may provide service in higher frequency band, such as mmWave, and/or they may support a different set of RATs (for example WiFi or access technologies dedicated to higher frequency APs). [i.e. 802.11 is the standard used for WiFi networks, which is a type of wireless local area network])
Re. Claim 5, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 1.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the coordinating the access point slice with the network core slice results in the access point slice supporting a same virtual network function as is supported by the network core slice. (¶0127 In the core network, it may be possible to provide each of the network supported services with their own slice, and have this slice associated with a corresponding RAN slice such that end-to end slice management can be carried out under the control of slice manager 130. In this regard, FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a Service Customized Virtual Network (SCVN) implementation in which Slices 1-Slice 5 are each implemented as a virtual network that extends through core network 130 and RAN 125. [i.e. virtual network slices are coordinated between RAN (access point) and core network, therefore the coordination is for supporting a same virtual network function])
Re. Claim 6, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 1.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise coordinating the access point slice with a radio access network slice. (¶0127 In the core network, it may be possible to provide each of the network supported services with their own slice, and have this slice associated with a corresponding RAN slice such that end-to end slice management can be carried out under the control of slice manager 130.)
Re. Claim 9, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 1.
Altay further teaches:
wherein the generating the access point slice based on the device connection request comprises inferring a usage of an access point device corresponding to the access point slice. (¶0032 An enterprise network is sliced in such a way that a slice is created per user-group wherein the members of the user-group are provided the same grade of service regardless of local transport technology and end device type. The slicing is achieved by an integrated virtual CPE, which is remotely programmed using a control infrastructure located at a service provider's data center. The integrated virtual CPE is comprised of (i) an SDN switch (or multiple SDN switches) that can route traffic to multiple types of access networks (MPLS, Private Line, DSL, Cable, etc.) and that can be remotely controlled by an SDN controller, (ii) at least one sliceable virtualized network function, (iii) a sliceable RAN, (iv) a sliceable core network and (v) a control agent. Each user-group is given a slice of the RAN. [i.e. RAN (access point) slices are created/generated] ¶0066 FIGS. 9a and 9b illustrate example message flow diagrams for introduction of new policies to the enterprise network and implementation of pre-defined policies during a UE's connection establishment (so called attach request). In FIG. 9a, a policy update can be referred as addition, removal, or configuration modification of a slice. [i.e. an attach request (device connection request) from a UE (user equipment configured for wireless communication) triggers the addition/generation of RAN (access point) slices through a policy update, which infers the usage of a RAN (access point device) by each user group being given a slice of the RAN)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Goel, and Kodaypak’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Altay’s teaching of inferring the usage of RAN slice generation being configured by pre-defined policies based on the anticipation of device connection requests for addition of network slices because it would enable the access point slice generation to be based on pre-defined policy before receiving device connection requests for adding network slices. (see Altay ¶0066)
Re. Claim 10, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 9.
Altay further teaches:
wherein the inferring the usage anticipates receiving the device connection request. (¶0032 An enterprise network is sliced in such a way that a slice is created per user-group wherein the members of the user-group are provided the same grade of service regardless of local transport technology and end device type. The slicing is achieved by an integrated virtual CPE, which is remotely programmed using a control infrastructure located at a service provider's data center. The integrated virtual CPE is comprised of (i) an SDN switch (or multiple SDN switches) that can route traffic to multiple types of access networks (MPLS, Private Line, DSL, Cable, etc.) and that can be remotely controlled by an SDN controller, (ii) at least one sliceable virtualized network function, (iii) a sliceable RAN, (iv) a sliceable core network and (v) a control agent. Each user-group is given a slice of the RAN. [i.e. RAN (access point) slices are created/generated] ¶0066 FIGS. 9a and 9b illustrate example message flow diagrams for introduction of new policies to the enterprise network and implementation of pre-defined policies during a UE's connection establishment (so called attach request). In FIG. 9a, a policy update can be referred as addition, removal, or configuration modification of a slice. [i.e. the inferred usage of RAN (access node device) for slicing anticipates receiving a UE connection request])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Goel, and Kodaypak’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Altay’s teaching of access point slice generation being anticipated by device connection requests for addition of network slices because it would enable the access point slice generation to be based on pre-defined policy before receiving device connection requests for adding network slices. (see Altay ¶0066)
Re. Claim 12, Rong teaches:
A method, (¶0087 ¶0087-¶0088 The following disclosure provides systems and methods for enabling network slicing at the radio edge of RAN 125)
comprising: provisioning, by a system comprising a processor, (¶0129-¶0130 FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of an example simplified processing system 400, which may be used to implement the methods and systems disclosed herein, and the example methods described below. The UE 110, AP 105, Resource Allocation Manager, Scheduler 120, slice manager 130, core network slice manager 140 and/or RAN slice manager may be implemented using the example processing system 400. The processing system 400 may include one or more processing devices 405, such as a processor, [i.e. processing system implementing a RAN slice manager is a system which comprises a processor])
an access point slice from computing resources of an access point device, (¶0087-¶0088 The following disclosure provides systems and methods for enabling network slicing at the radio edge of RAN 125, and for facilitating routing of traffic between slices of the radio edge of RAN 125 and core network 130, which may also be sliced. In some examples, this can enable an end-to-end network slice, and allows network operators to then divide the network and provide service isolation in wireless connections within a single network infrastructure. in example embodiments the RAN slice manager 150 is configured to create and manage RAN slices 152. Each of the RAN slices 152 have a unique allocation of RAN resources. The RAN resources that are available for allocation can be categorized as: RAN access resources, which include the AP's 105 and UEs 110;)
causing, by the system, provisioning of a network core slice that is coordinated with the access point slice, (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13 & ¶0133 a processing system 400 configured to implement RAN slice manager 150 may be configured to maintain information that specifies the resource allocations for each of RAN slices 152 in memory 425 or storage 420 or a combination thereof. & ¶0142 In 1308, each of the core networks, or the core network slices, is associated with at least one slice of the radio edge of the RAN. It should be understood that if there are a plurality of different services carried within a core network, or core network slice, there may be more than one slice of the RAN radio edge associated with the core network or core network slice.)
Yet, Rong does not explicitly teach: wherein computing resources embodied via the access point slice are selected based on a connection request of user equipment that is configured for wireless communications, and wherein the computing resources that are selected are based at least in part on an indication of a version of software that is available on the user equipment;
However, in the analogous art, Altay teaches:
wherein computing resources embodied via the access point slice are selected based on a connection request of user equipment that is configured for wireless communications, (¶0032 An enterprise network is sliced in such a way that a slice is created per user-group wherein the members of the user-group are provided the same grade of service regardless of local transport technology and end device type. The slicing is achieved by an integrated virtual CPE, which is remotely programmed using a control infrastructure located at a service provider's data center. The integrated virtual CPE is comprised of (i) an SDN switch (or multiple SDN switches) that can route traffic to multiple types of access networks (MPLS, Private Line, DSL, Cable, etc.) and that can be remotely controlled by an SDN controller, (ii) at least one sliceable virtualized network function, (iii) a sliceable RAN, (iv) a sliceable core network and (v) a control agent. Each user-group is given a slice of the RAN. [i.e. RAN (access point) slices are created/generated] ¶0066 FIGS. 9a and 9b illustrate example message flow diagrams for introduction of new policies to the enterprise network and implementation of pre-defined policies during a UE's connection establishment (so called attach request). In FIG. 9a, a policy update can be referred as addition, removal, or configuration modification of a slice. [i.e. an attach request (device connection request) from a UE (user equipment configured for wireless communication) triggers the addition/generation of slices through a policy update])
and wherein the computing resources that are selected are based at least in part on an indication of a version of software that is available on the user equipment; (¶0015-¶0016 In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile. groups of users of the CPE with different profiles are given different slices of the RAN & ¶0035 Network slicing is specified per user-group for simplicity in one embodiment. An exemplary set of user-groups of an enterprise can be employees, visitors, management team, and Internet of Things (IOT), each of which has different rights and requirements. In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. [i.e. network slices of the RAN are generated based on different profiles, where the profiles indicate application type (version of software of the equipment)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Altay’s teaching of access point slice generation being based on a version of software or application type of the equipment because it would enable mapping network slices to application types for latency-sensitive, high throughput, or delay sensitive scenario. (see Altay ¶0035)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the network core slice is coordinated with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the user equipment uses a billing function;
However, in the analogous art, Kodaypak teaches:
wherein the network core slice is coordinated with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the user equipment uses a billing function; (¶0039-¶0040 PSC 410 can enable access to slice pair selection information, for example, via RAN slice management link 415 and/or CN slice management link 413. In another embodiment, slice pair information can be accessed by another device that manages or provisions a RAN or CN slice as part of a network slice. Slice pair selection information can comprise an indication of one or more RAN slice(s) and one or more CN slice(s) to pair into a network slice. Slice pair selection information can be employed to initiate provisioning of the indicated network slice. a network slice can comprise one or more RAN slice(s) and one or more CN slice(s). As an example, UE 402 can be provided with network access via a first network slice comprising RAN slice 420 and CN slice 450, as directed by PSC 410 via RAN slice management link 415 and CN slice management link 413, which can provide UE 402 with access to VNF group 451 that can comprise one or more VNFs. The VNFs comprising VNF group 451 can, in some embodiments be relevant to the use of a service corresponding to UE 402, for example, VNF group 451 can comprise a virtual function supporting a mobile billing feature that can be used to enable billing for mobile network access by UE 402. [i.e. the coordination of RAN slices and CN slices takes into account a virtual function supporting a mobile billing feature])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong and Altay’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Kodaypak’s teaching of taking into account if the equipment uses a billing function when coordinating network slices, because it would enable the network slicing to be based on device functionality and need, in order to better provision network resources. (see Kodaypak ¶0022 & ¶0039)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and updating, by the system, the access point slice based on changes to a performance of a connection between the user equipment and the access point device.
However, in the analogous art, Goel teaches:
and updating, by the system, the access point slice based on changes to a performance of a connection between the user equipment and the access point device. (¶0015 According to another aspect of the subject matter described herein, a system for providing updated network slice information to a NSSF, the system comprising a NSMF (Network Slice Management Function) including at least one processor and a memory. & ¶0043 FIG. 2 is a message flow diagram illustrating the communication of network slice instance modification information according to an embodiment of the subject matter described herein. NSMF 212 may also be responsible for generating performance data at the network slice interface level, wherein the performance data can include network traffic load data of the entire network slice instance that indicates a total user traffic level and/or a total signalling traffic level that are present within a network slice instance. The performance data generated at the network slice interface level can also include service performance data that is provided by the network slice instance. In some embodiments, the service performance data includes the total user traffic, the signalling traffic, and quality of service data (e.g., QoS data of service can indicate whether the network slice instance delivers services at an expected QoS level) that corresponds to a particular service instance. Moreover, NSMF 212 can be configured to conduct management and orchestration of network slice instances based on the performance data [i.e. management of network slice instances done by NSMF (the system), based on performance data (parameters) of the slice instance,] & ¶0047 In block 205, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 is configured to process the network traffic load levels and apply local policies at the network slice instance layer. In some embodiments, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be provisioned or configured with local policies that are directed to the orchestration and management of network slices. Specifically, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be provisioned with policies that can be used to determine whether a particular traffic load level change experienced by a network function associated with a supported network slice instance needs to be addressed and/or remedied. For example, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 may be configured to process the changes pertaining to the network traffic load levels of network functions when notified by NRF 214. NSMF 212 can also utilize the policies and configured network traffic load thresholds (e.g., operator provisioned load thresholds) for performing network slice management tasks to assess whether specific changes to the network slice instance(s) is needed. For example, if the network traffic load level change experienced by the network function exceeds a predetermined threshold defined by the policy, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be configured to modify the characteristics of the underlying network slice instance (e.g., adjust/increase additional network resources for the network slice, [i.e. when performance parameters of network slice instance change, the slice is modified/updated].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Kodaypak’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Goel’s teaching of updating network slice based on a change in performance data parameters in a request for device connection, because it would enable network slice management based on performance of network slice characteristics such as network traffic load level data. (see Goel ¶0043-¶0045)
Re. Claim 14, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 12.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the provisioning the access point slice comprises provisioning a virtual network function. (¶0127 In the core network, it may be possible to provide each of the network supported services with their own slice, and have this slice associated with a corresponding RAN slice such that end-to end slice management can be carried out under the control of slice manager 130. In this regard, FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a Service Customized Virtual Network (SCVN) implementation in which Slices 1-Slice 5 are each implemented as a virtual network that extends through core network 130 and RAN 125. [i.e. slices are configured as virtual network functions with RAN (access point) and core network])
Re. Claim 15, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 12.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the provisioning the access point slice comprises provisioning radio spectrum corresponding to an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 802.11 spectrum. (¶0093 The radio air interface configuration 160 can, for example, specify attributes in one or more of the following categories: the radio-access technology 162 to be used for the slice (e.g. LTE, 5G, WiFi, etc.); & ¶0119 AP 604 and 606 may connect directly to the core network. APs 604 and 606 may provide service in higher frequency band, such as mmWave, and/or they may support a different set of RATs (for example WiFi or access technologies dedicated to higher frequency APs). [i.e. 802.11 is the standard used for WiFi networks, which is a type of wireless local area network])
Re. Claim 16, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 12.
Altay further teaches:
wherein the provisioning comprises determining an inference of computing resource usage by the access point device. (¶0032 An enterprise network is sliced in such a way that a slice is created per user-group wherein the members of the user-group are provided the same grade of service regardless of local transport technology and end device type. The slicing is achieved by an integrated virtual CPE, which is remotely programmed using a control infrastructure located at a service provider's data center. The integrated virtual CPE is comprised of (i) an SDN switch (or multiple SDN switches) that can route traffic to multiple types of access networks (MPLS, Private Line, DSL, Cable, etc.) and that can be remotely controlled by an SDN controller, (ii) at least one sliceable virtualized network function, (iii) a sliceable RAN, (iv) a sliceable core network and (v) a control agent. Each user-group is given a slice of the RAN. [i.e. RAN (access point) slices are created/generated] ¶0066 FIGS. 9a and 9b illustrate example message flow diagrams for introduction of new policies to the enterprise network and implementation of pre-defined policies during a UE's connection establishment (so called attach request). In FIG. 9a, a policy update can be referred as addition, removal, or configuration modification of a slice. [i.e. an attach request (device connection request) from a UE (user equipment configured for wireless communication) triggers the addition/generation of RAN (access point) slices through a policy update, which infers the usage of a RAN (access point device) by each user group being given a slice of the RAN)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Goel, and Kodaypak’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Altay’s teaching of inferring the usage of RAN slice generation being configured by pre-defined policies based on the anticipation of device connection requests for addition of network slices because it would enable the access point slice generation to be based on pre-defined policy before receiving device connection requests for adding network slices. (see Altay ¶0066)
Re. Claim 17, Rong teaches:
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, (¶0131 The processing system 400 may include one or more memories 425, which may include a volatile or non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM), and/or a read-only memory (ROM)). The non-transitory memories 425 (as well as storage 420) may store instructions for execution by the processing devices 405,)
comprising executable instructions (¶0131 The processing system 400 may include one or more memories 425, which may include a volatile or non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM), and/or a read-only memory (ROM)). The non-transitory memories 425 (as well as storage 420) may store instructions for execution by the processing devices 405,)
that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, (¶0131 The processing system 400 may include one or more memories 425, which may include a volatile or non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory, a random access memory (RAM), and/or a read-only memory (ROM)). The non-transitory memories 425 (as well as storage 420) may store instructions for execution by the processing devices 405,)
the operations comprising: selecting an access point slice of an access point device, (Fig. 10 step 1008 Select RAN slice associated with received traffic in accordance with any of CN ID, CN slice ID and service ID & ¶0088 in example embodiments the RAN slice manager 150 is configured to create and manage RAN slices 152. Each of the RAN slices 152 have a unique allocation of RAN resources. The RAN resources that are available for allocation can be categorized as: RAN access resources, which include the AP's 105 and UEs 110; ¶0138 In step 1008, a RAN slice associated with the identified CN, CN slice, and service ID (as appropriate) is selected. [i.e. a RAN slice (access point slice) is selected])
synchronizing a network core slice with the access point slice, (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13 ¶0080 RAN slicing and network core slicing are coordinated to provide end-to-end slicing that can be used to provide service-specific network slices extending across the entire core network and RAN communications infrastructure. ¶0087 The following disclosure provides systems and methods for enabling network slicing at the radio edge of RAN 125, and for facilitating routing of traffic between slices of the radio edge of RAN 125 and core network 130, which may also be sliced. & ¶0128 In embodiments in which both core and RAN slicing occur, resource allocation manager 115 (under instructions from Slice Manager 130) can ensure that traffic received in a slice from RAN 125 is provided to a virtualized decoder that is connected to the corresponding slice in the Core network 130. [i.e. describes that the RAN slice is synchronized with a Core network slice under instruction by the Slice Manager by ensuring traffic is received through the associated slices])
Yet, Rong does not explicitly teach: wherein the access point slice is selected based on a connection parameter corresponding to a connection between the access point device and an end point device that is configured for wireless communications, and wherein the access point slice is selected based at least in part on a version of software that is available on the end point device;
However, in the analogous art, Altay teaches:
wherein the access point slice is selected based on a connection parameter corresponding to a connection between the access point device and an end point device that is configured for wireless communications, (¶0032 An enterprise network is sliced in such a way that a slice is created per user-group wherein the members of the user-group are provided the same grade of service regardless of local transport technology and end device type. The slicing is achieved by an integrated virtual CPE, which is remotely programmed using a control infrastructure located at a service provider's data center. The integrated virtual CPE is comprised of (i) an SDN switch (or multiple SDN switches) that can route traffic to multiple types of access networks (MPLS, Private Line, DSL, Cable, etc.) and that can be remotely controlled by an SDN controller, (ii) at least one sliceable virtualized network function, (iii) a sliceable RAN, (iv) a sliceable core network and (v) a control agent. Each user-group is given a slice of the RAN. [i.e. RAN (access point) slices are created/generated] ¶0066 FIGS. 9a and 9b illustrate example message flow diagrams for introduction of new policies to the enterprise network and implementation of pre-defined policies during a UE's connection establishment (so called attach request). In FIG. 9a, a policy update can be referred as addition, removal, or configuration modification of a slice. [i.e. an attach request (device connection request) from a UE (user equipment configured for wireless communication) triggers the addition/generation of slices through a policy update parameters])
and wherein the access point slice is selected based at least in part on a version of software that is available on the end point device; (¶0015-¶0016 In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile. groups of users of the CPE with different profiles are given different slices of the RAN & ¶0035 Network slicing is specified per user-group for simplicity in one embodiment. An exemplary set of user-groups of an enterprise can be employees, visitors, management team, and Internet of Things (IOT), each of which has different rights and requirements. In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. [i.e. network slices of the RAN are generated based on different profiles, where the profiles indicate application type (version of software of the equipment)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Altay’s teaching of access point slice generation being based on a version of software or application type of the equipment because it would enable mapping network slices to application types for latency-sensitive, high throughput, or delay sensitive scenario. (see Altay ¶0035)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the network core slice is synchronized with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the end point device uses a billing function;
However, in the analogous art, Kodaypak teaches:
wherein the network core slice is synchronized with the access point slice by taking into account whether or not the end point device uses a billing function; (¶0039-¶0040 PSC 410 can enable access to slice pair selection information, for example, via RAN slice management link 415 and/or CN slice management link 413. In another embodiment, slice pair information can be accessed by another device that manages or provisions a RAN or CN slice as part of a network slice. Slice pair selection information can comprise an indication of one or more RAN slice(s) and one or more CN slice(s) to pair into a network slice. Slice pair selection information can be employed to initiate provisioning of the indicated network slice. a network slice can comprise one or more RAN slice(s) and one or more CN slice(s). As an example, UE 402 can be provided with network access via a first network slice comprising RAN slice 420 and CN slice 450, as directed by PSC 410 via RAN slice management link 415 and CN slice management link 413, which can provide UE 402 with access to VNF group 451 that can comprise one or more VNFs. The VNFs comprising VNF group 451 can, in some embodiments be relevant to the use of a service corresponding to UE 402, for example, VNF group 451 can comprise a virtual function supporting a mobile billing feature that can be used to enable billing for mobile network access by UE 402. [i.e. the coordination of RAN slices and CN slices takes into account a virtual function supporting a mobile billing feature])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong and Altay’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Kodaypak’s teaching of taking into account if the equipment uses a billing function when coordinating network slices, because it would enable the network slicing to be based on device functionality and need, in order to better provision network resources. (see Kodaypak ¶0022 & ¶0039)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and in response to changes in the connection parameter between the end point device and the access point device, adapting the access point slice and updating the synchronizing to the network core slice.
However, in the analogous art, Goel teaches:
and in response to changes in the connection parameter between the end point device and the access point device, adapting the access point slice and updating the synchronizing to the network core slice. (Fig. 2 & ¶0041 the NSSF may assign a network slice to a requesting user equipment during the registration procedure, inter-PLMN mobility procedure, PDU session establishment procedure, UE configuration update procedure, and the like. In response to receiving a network slice selection request message (e.g., via the Nnssf_NSSelection_Get service operation), the NSSF selects the network slice instance based on pre-provisioned information. [i.e. the initial device connection request where slice is selected using pre-provisioned information (connection parameters)] & ¶0043 FIG. 2 is a message flow diagram illustrating the communication of network slice instance modification information according to an embodiment of the subject matter described herein. NSMF 212 may also be responsible for generating performance data at the network slice interface level, wherein the performance data can include network traffic load data of the entire network slice instance that indicates a total user traffic level and/or a total signalling traffic level that are present within a network slice instance. The performance data generated at the network slice interface level can also include service performance data that is provided by the network slice instance. In some embodiments, the service performance data includes the total user traffic, the signalling traffic, and quality of service data (e.g., QoS data of service can indicate whether the network slice instance delivers services at an expected QoS level) that corresponds to a particular service instance. Moreover, NSMF 212 can be configured to conduct management and orchestration of network slice instances based on the performance data [i.e. management/synchronization of network slice instances based on performance data (connection parameters) of the slice instance,] & ¶0047 In block 205, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 is configured to process the network traffic load levels and apply local policies at the network slice instance layer. In some embodiments, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be provisioned or configured with local policies that are directed to the orchestration and management of network slices. Specifically, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be provisioned with policies that can be used to determine whether a particular traffic load level change experienced by a network function associated with a supported network slice instance needs to be addressed and/or remedied. For example, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 may be configured to process the changes pertaining to the network traffic load levels of network functions when notified by NRF 214. NSMF 212 can also utilize the policies and configured network traffic load thresholds (e.g., operator provisioned load thresholds) for performing network slice management tasks to assess whether specific changes to the network slice instance(s) is needed. For example, if the network traffic load level change experienced by the network function exceeds a predetermined threshold defined by the policy, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be configured to modify the characteristics of the underlying network slice instance (e.g., adjust/increase additional network resources for the network slice, [i.e. when performance/connection parameters of network slice instance change, the slice is modified/updated].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Kodaypak’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Goel’s teaching of updating network slice based on a change in performance data parameters in a request for device connection, because it would enable network slice management based on performance of network slice characteristics such as network traffic load level data. (see Goel ¶0043-¶0045)
Re. Claim 19, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 17.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the access point device is part of a wireless local area network. (¶0100 All nodes (AP's 105 or UEs 110) transmitting data in the slice are then allocated transmission resources by network scheduler 120, based on the network f/t resource parameter set assigned by at least one of RAN slice manager 150, and the nodes transmitting within the allocated AP resources 154 and UE resources 156. A network entity or entities, such as the RAN slice manager 150 and resource allocation manager 115 can assign parameters to each slice based on the requirements of the service supported by that slice. In addition to the service isolation discussed above, the generation of a slice specific to a service (or a class of services) allows for the RAN resources to be tailored to the supported services in some embodiments. & ¶0127 In the core network, it may be possible to provide each of the network supported services with their own slice, and have this slice associated with a corresponding RAN slice such that end-to end slice management can be carried out under the control of slice manager 130. slice manager 130 exchanges information with each of core slice manager 140 and RAN slice manager 150 to create end-to-end service-centric Slices 1-Slices-5. Each of Slices 1 to Slices-5 includes a resource set for the core network that defines an associated core network slice and a resource set for RAN 125 that devices an associated RAN slice 152. [i.e. resources for slices are assigned based on service supported by that slice. Each slice is then further defined by a resource set for RAN (computing resources for a wireless network)] & ¶0130 The processing system 400 may include one or more network interfaces 415 for wired or wireless communication with a network (e.g., an intranet, the Internet, a P2P network, a WAN and/or a LAN) [i.e. method includes operation in wireless local area networks])
Re. Claim 20, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 19.
Rong further teaches:
wherein the network core slice corresponds to a wireless public wide area network. (¶0085 the core network 130 includes a core network slice manager 140 for implementing (and optionally managing) core network slicing. As shown in FIG. 1, Core Network 130 has four illustrates slices CN Slice 1 132, CN Slice 2 134, CN Slice 3 136 and CN Slice 4 138. These slices can, in some embodiments, appear to the RAN as distinct Core Networks. & ¶0094 the RAN slice manager defines the RAN resources for RAN slices 152 based on slicing requirements received from the core network 130, and in particular the core network slice manager 140. & ¶0130 The processing system 400 may include one or more network interfaces 415 for wired or wireless communication with a network (e.g., an intranet, the Internet, a P2P network, a WAN and/or a LAN) [i.e. method includes operation in WAN (wireless public wide area network])
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong combined with Altay, Goel, Kodaypak, in further view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0367036 A1), hereinafter Chen, and further in view of Kita et al. (US 2023/0043362 A1), hereinafter Kita, and further in view of Tu et al. (US 2026/0164238 A1), hereinafter Tu.
Re. Claim 2, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the device connection request indicates information selected from a group of information comprising a device type identifier, a service identifier, an application identifier, a key performance metric threshold, a user identifier, and a location identifier.
However, in the analogous art, Kita teaches:
wherein the device connection request indicates information selected from a group of information comprising (¶0110 in response to the reception of a bundle file, the bundle development module 60 determines a bundle ID that corresponds to a data group generated based on the bundle file. A bundle ID is uniquely assigned to each generated data group. & ¶0156 the planned data [i.e. bundle file contains planned data (group of information)] includes a purchase bundle ID (“0010” in the example of FIG. 16). In addition, the planned data includes a user ID being an identifier of the purchaser (user) who has made a purchase request. & ¶0248 the purchaser terminal 14 transmits a purchase request for the network service to the purchase management module 54 of the MPS 10 (Step S301). It is assumed that the purchase request is linked to the purchase bundle ID and the purchase service requirement data transmitted in the process step of Step S201.)
a service identifier, (¶0233 The bundle data includes a plurality of types of template data including the slice template data and the service template data. The bundle development module 60 receives the bundle data uploaded from the vendor terminal 16, and distributes the plurality of types of template data included in the bundle data to the plurality of functional blocks of the NOS 12 in association with the service indicated by the bundle data.)
a key performance metric threshold, (¶0339 When the slice manager module 72 constructs the NSIs and the NSSIs, the slice manager module 72 may store the KPI threshold value of each of the NSI and the NSSI described in the purchase service requirement data (or slice template data).)
a user identifier, (¶0156 the planned data includes a purchase bundle ID (“0010” in the example of FIG. 16). In addition, the planned data includes a user ID being an identifier of the purchaser (user) who has made a purchase request.)
and a location identifier. (¶0162 based on the purchase service requirement data, the E2EO module 62 may identify, for each of a plurality of locations, the type and the number of functional units constructed at the location. In this case, in accordance with the location that is identified based on the purchase service requirement data, the E2EO module 62 may determine the number of functional units for each type that are constructed at the location.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Goel’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Kita’s teaching of the device connection request indicating information selected from a group of information comprising a device type identifier, a service identifier, an application identifier, a key performance metric threshold, a user identifier, and a location identifier, because it would contribute to maintaining network slices through indication of configuration of a group of information based on service requirement data. (see Kita ¶0155)
Although the combined references teach a device connection request indicating information selected from a group of information they do not explicitly teach: the device connection request indicates information selected from a group of information comprising a device type identifier.
However, in the analogous art, Chen teaches:
the device connection request indicates information selected from a group of information comprising a device type identifier (¶0040 Referring in particular to FIG. 4A, at 1, in accordance with the illustrated example, the UE 2502 after power up. After powering, the UE 2502 may conduct cell search and synchronization, and then the UE may acquire system information, for example, from MIB and SIBs. At 2, the UE 2502 sends a Radio Connection Request to the NR-node 2504. In particular, the UE may send Radio Connection Request message to the RAN slicing management apparatus 2508 (at 2 A) (e.g., network selected slice) or the mMTC slice 2510 (at 2 B) (e.g., UE selected slice). The request may be a request for access to a network or UE selected RAN slice 2510 at the NR-node 2504. The request may include various context information associated with the UE 2502. The context information may include, for example and without limitation, a device type (e.g., mMTC, URLLC) of the UE 2502)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, Goel, and Kita’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Chen’s teaching of the device connection request indicating a device type identifier because it would enable network slice discovery and selection for various types of devices. (see Chen ¶0038)
Although the combined references teach a device connection request indicating information selected from a group of information they do not explicitly teach: the device connection request indicates information selected from a group of information comprising an application identifier.
However, in the analogous art, Tu teaches:
the device connection request indicates information selected from a group of information comprising an application identifier. (¶0031 the connection request information transmitted by the terminal application when the terminal application initiates the network slice connection request may carry application feature information corresponding to the terminal application. The application feature information includes network slice selection parameter information for selecting a network slice, feature parameter information for verifying whether the terminal application is authorized to use the corresponding network slice, etc. The network slice selection parameter information includes, but is not limited to, Data Network Name (DNN), Full Qualified Domain Name (FQDN), a terminal application identifier (Application ID), IP triplet, and other parameter information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, Goel, Chen, and Kita’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Tu’s teaching of the device connection request indicating an application identifier, because it would enable the terminal to apply to network side for connecting to network slice according to the application type information for proper authorization and identification based on application feature information. (see Tu ¶0049-¶0050)
Claims 7-8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong combined with Altay, Goel, Kodaypak, and further in view of Barton et al. (US 2021/0282020 A1), hereinafter Barton.
Re. Claim 7, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 6.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the coordinating the access point slice with the radio access network slice facilitates a handover operation that migrates the equipment from an access point device corresponding to the access point slice to a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice.
However, in the analogous art, Barton teaches:
wherein the coordinating the access point slice with the radio access network slice facilitates a handover operation that migrates the equipment from an access point device corresponding to the access point slice to a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice. (Fig. 1 & ¶0015-¶0016 FIG. 1 illustrates a Wi-Fi domain 125 with Wi-Fi slices 150 that mirror 5G slices 105 in a 5G domain 100, [i.e. WiFi slices (access point slices) coordinated with 5G slices (radio access network slices)] according to one embodiment. FIG. 1 illustrates a client device 160 roaming from the 5G domain 100 to the Wi-Fi domain 125. For example, the client device 160 may be an autonomous vehicle that moves from an area covered by the 5G radios 110 (e.g., a public street) to an area better covered by APs 135 in the Wi-Fi domain 125 (e.g., a parking garage). [i.e. though this describes facilitating handover from 5G radio (radio access network) to a WiFi slice (access point slice), Fig. 1 shows that this movement can occur the other way as well moving from a WiFi slice to a 5G radio slice])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Goel’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Barton’s teaching of a handover operation that migrates UE from an access point device corresponding to the access point slice to a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice, because it would enable the UE to handover to a device that has better coverage for uninterrupted communication when in motion. (see Barton ¶0016)
Re. Claim 8, Rong combined with Altay, Goel, and Kodaypak teaches claim 6.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the coordinating the access point slice with the radio access network slice facilitates a handover operation that migrates the equipment from a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice to an access point device corresponding to the access point slice.
However, in the analogous art, Barton teaches:
wherein the coordinating the access point slice with the radio access network slice facilitates a handover operation that migrates the equipment from a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice to an access point device corresponding to the access point slice. (Fig. 1 & ¶0015-¶0016 FIG. 1 illustrates a Wi-Fi domain 125 with Wi-Fi slices 150 that mirror 5G slices 105 in a 5G domain 100, [i.e. WiFi slices (access point slices) coordinated with 5G slices (radio access network slices)] according to one embodiment. FIG. 1 illustrates a client device 160 roaming from the 5G domain 100 to the Wi-Fi domain 125. For example, the client device 160 may be an autonomous vehicle that moves from an area covered by the 5G radios 110 (e.g., a public street) to an area better covered by APs 135 in the Wi-Fi domain 125 (e.g., a parking garage). [i.e. facilitates handover from 5G radio (radio access network) to a WiFi slice (access point slice), each with corresponding slices])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Goel’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Barton’s teaching of a handover operation that migrates UE from an access point device corresponding to the access point slice to a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice, because it would enable the UE to handover to a device that has better coverage for uninterrupted communication when in motion. (see Barton ¶0016)
Re. Claim 13, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 12.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: further comprising causing, by the system, provisioning of a radio access network slice that is coordinated with the access point slice to facilitate migrating the user equipment between a radio access network device and the access point device.
However, in the analogous art, Barton teaches:
further comprising causing, by the system, provisioning of a radio access network slice that is coordinated with the access point slice to facilitate migrating the user equipment between a radio access network device and the access point device. (Fig. 1 & ¶0015-¶0016 FIG. 1 illustrates a Wi-Fi domain 125 with Wi-Fi slices 150 that mirror 5G slices 105 in a 5G domain 100, [i.e. WiFi slices (access point slices) coordinated with 5G slices (radio access network slices)] according to one embodiment. FIG. 1 illustrates a client device 160 roaming from the 5G domain 100 to the Wi-Fi domain 125. For example, the client device 160 may be an autonomous vehicle that moves from an area covered by the 5G radios 110 (e.g., a public street) to an area better covered by APs 135 in the Wi-Fi domain 125 (e.g., a parking garage). [i.e. facilitates handover from 5G radio (radio access network) to a WiFi slice (access point slice), each with corresponding slices])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Goel’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Barton’s teaching of a handover operation that migrates UE from an access point device corresponding to the access point slice to a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice, because it would enable the UE to handover to a device that has better coverage for uninterrupted communication when in motion. (see Barton ¶0016)
Re. Claim 18, Rong combined with Altay, Kodaypak, and Goel teaches claim 17.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the operations further comprise synchronizing a radio access network slice of a radio access network device with the access point slice to facilitate migrating the end point device between the radio access network device and the access point device.
However, in the analogous art, Barton teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise synchronizing a radio access network slice of a radio access network device with the access point slice to facilitate migrating the end point device between the radio access network device and the access point device. (Fig. 1 & ¶0015-¶0016 FIG. 1 illustrates a Wi-Fi domain 125 with Wi-Fi slices 150 that mirror 5G slices 105 in a 5G domain 100, [i.e. WiFi slices (access point slices) coordinated with 5G slices (radio access network slices)] according to one embodiment. FIG. 1 illustrates a client device 160 roaming from the 5G domain 100 to the Wi-Fi domain 125. For example, the client device 160 may be an autonomous vehicle that moves from an area covered by the 5G radios 110 (e.g., a public street) to an area better covered by APs 135 in the Wi-Fi domain 125 (e.g., a parking garage). [i.e. facilitates handover from 5G radio (radio access network) to a WiFi slice (access point slice), each with corresponding slices])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rong, Altay, and Goel’s invention of systems and methods for determining air interface configuration to include Barton’s teaching of a handover operation that migrates UE from an access point device corresponding to the access point slice to a radio access network device corresponding to the radio access network slice, because it would enable the UE to handover to a device that has better coverage for uninterrupted communication when in motion. (see Barton ¶0016)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417