DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the response to restriction requirement filed February 17, 2026. Claims 1-25 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on February 17, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 7-25 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chapman et al. (US 5,190,544).
Regarding claim 1, Chapman teaches a drill guide/reduction system for use with an orthopedic plate 69 to fix a bone and having with a top surface (fig. 28, left) and a bottom surface configured to face the bone (fig. 28, right), comprising the drill guide/reduction system comprising a body 171 having a first surface contoured so as to have a portion that overlaps the plate (portion 199) and which can be secured to the plate 69 as seen at fig. 31 and a portion having a second surface contiguous with the first surface having a concave curve which can envelop a portion of the bone as seen in fig. 31, the second portion having a hook extending and in the direction of the concave curve (portion 175 is considered a hook as claimed) and including at least one drill guide body through hole (the holes through 171 as seen at fig. 29 are considered capable of use as drill guide bodies).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman in view of Peterson et al. (US 2017/03331002 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chapman teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach a drill guide tube which has a through hole and which is configured to mate with the drill guide body through hole.
Peterson teaches an arrangement at fig. 88 including a plate and a drill guide tube 8835 couplable thereto which has a throughhole and which is configured to mate with a through hole of the plate.
Since plate portion 171 is being considered a drill guide in Chapman, the coupling between 8835 and the through hole of the plate is considered analogous.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a drill guide tube with the Chapman device by coupling a drill guide tube to one of the through holes thereof, as taught by Peterson. Doing so would have served to protect tissue surrounding a surgical site from undesired interaction with a drill or other tool passed through the tube.
Regarding claim 3, the drill guide tube will now be considered to include a nut, and the through hole of the drill guide tube will now be considered to include a hole through the nut. The through hole of the drill guide tube 8835 (the nut) is threaded and the system further including a threaded k-wire 8806 having threads 8805 that are configured to mate with the threads of the k-wire. (It is noted that other k-wires 8802/8804 are also described which function in the same manner; these k-wires are inserted with bushings which are also considered to be drill guide tubes).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a threaded k-wire and nut of Peterson with the Chapman device in order to provide for compressional force upon the bone to improve reduction of bone fragments.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman in view of Peterson and Prasad et al. (US 2011/0093018 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the combination teaches limitations of claim 2, above, and further teaches the drill guide tube being positioned within the screw holes. [1229]
The exterior surface of the drill guide tube 8835, 8827, 8831 are not demonstrated sufficiently to ascertain whether it is threaded. However, coupling a guide to a bone screw hole of a plate by a threaded means is considered to have been old and well known in the art:
Prasad teaches use of drill guides in the form of drill guide tubes which tubes are threaded to engage with threaded screw holes on the plate. , the interior of the drill guide body hole is threaded and the exterior drill guide tube threads and the interior drill guide body threads are configured to mate. [0036]
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to cause the connection between the guide tube and the plate to be by a threaded coupling as taught by Prasad. One would have done so in order to provide for a selectable releasable connection means between the tubes and the plate.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman in view of Castaneda et al. (US 2008/0015591 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chapman teaches the limitations of claim 1, as above. Chapman does not teach the claimed drill guide body structures.
Castaneda teaches a bone plate (analogous to the drill guide body) wherein the drill guide body 10 has a plurality of through holes 18 and a plurality of guide tubes 30 and wherein one or more of the guide tubes 30 can be positioned at a variable angle within a through hole 18 of the drill guide body 10.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a drill guide tube with the Chapman device by coupling a drill guide tube to one of the through holes thereof, as taught by Castaneda. Doing so would have served to protect tissue surrounding a surgical site from undesired interaction with a drill or other tool passed through the tube.
Conclusion
/DAVID W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799