DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooper (US 2,398,345).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Cooper teaches a heat and mass transfer system (see page 1, right column, lines 6-63; Figs. 1-3) comprising:
at least one vessel configured to receive a gas and a liquid (see page 1, right column, lines 49-55);
a series of heat and mass transfer chambers (1), each heat and mass transfer chamber (1) of the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (1) configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently in a direction of gravity through each heat and mass transfer chamber (1) during the heat and mass transfer (see page 2, left column, lines 3-53; Figs. 1-3); and
a conduit system (8, 9, 30) including a plurality of channels configured to route the gas and the liquid between the heat and mass transfer chambers (1) (see page 2, right column, lines 34-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (1) are arranged in at least one vessel (see page 1, right column, lines 49-55; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel of the plurality of channels extends vertically along the length of the at least one vessel and is disposed within the at least one vessel (see page 2, right column, lines 34-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel has a cross-sectional shape that conforms to a shape of the at least one vessel and permits each channel to be disposed between the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (1) and an interior surface of the at least one vessel (see page 2, right column, lines 34-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the at least one vessel is a cylindrical vessel, each channel defines an arcuate surface that follows a portion of a circumference of the at least one vessel, and the plurality of channels is arrayed circumferentially around the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (see page 2, right column, lines 23-33; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the at least one vessel is a rectangular vessel, and each channel has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (see page 2, right column, lines 23-33; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each heat and mass transfer chamber (1) includes a regenerative froth contactor (see page 1, right column, lines 6-63; Figs. 1-3). The examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “regenerative froth contactor,” in light of the specification, includes a gas-liquid contactor structure which increases the mass-transfer between a gas stream and a liquid stream.
Regarding claim 9, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to at least one of: a quasi-counter-current flow regime and a quasi-cross-current flow regime (see page 2, right column, lines 34-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, as no structural difference is seen between the instantly claimed apparatus and that of the apparatus taught by Cooper, the apparatus of Cooper is considered capable of accepting a liquid solvent selected from one of an ammonia-based solvent and a mixed salt solvent (see page 1, right column, lines 49-53).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Cooper teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel is part of a conduit assembly, the conduit assembly including at least one of: a gas distribution chamber configured to direct the gas to a first heat and mass transfer chamber, an input chamber configured to direct the liquid to the first heat and mass transfer chamber, and a collector configured to receive the liquid and the gas from a second heat and mass transfer chamber (see page 2, right column, lines 34-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 22, the reference Cooper teaches a heat and mass transfer system (see page 1, right column, lines 6-63; Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a series of vessels (see page 1, right column, lines 49-55) configured to receive a gas and a liquid, wherein each vessel of the series of vessels includes a heat and mass transfer chamber (1) configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently in a direction of gravity through each heat and mass transfer chamber (1) during the heat and mass transfer (see page 2, left column, lines 3-53; Figs. 1-3); and
a conduit system (8, 9, 30) including a plurality of channels configured to route the gas and the liquid between the vessels, wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to at least one of: a quasi-counter-current flow regime and a quasi-cross-current flow regime (see page 2, right column, lines 34-64; Figs. 1-3).
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koch (US 2,678,199).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Koch teaches a heat and mass transfer system (see col. 1, lines 1-15; Fig. 9) comprising:
at least one vessel configured to receive a gas and a liquid (see col. 7, lines 3-10; Fig. 9);
a series of heat and mass transfer chambers (A-E), each heat and mass transfer chamber of the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (A-E)) configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently in a direction of gravity through each heat and mass transfer chamber during the heat and mass transfer (see col. 7, lines 11-67; Fig. 9); and
a conduit system including a plurality of channels (212; 214) configured to route the gas and the liquid between the heat and mass transfer (see col. 7, lines 11-67; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (A-E) are arranged in at least one vessel see col. 7, lines 3-10; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel of the plurality of channels extends vertically along the length of the at least one vessel and is disposed within the at least one vessel (see col. 7, lines 3-10; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel has a cross-sectional shape that conforms to a shape of the at least one vessel and permits each channel to be disposed between the series of heat and mass transfer chambers and an interior surface of the at least one vessel (see col. 7, lines 3-10; Figs. 9-12).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the at least one vessel is a cylindrical vessel, each channel defines an arcuate surface that follows a portion of a circumference of the at least one vessel, and the plurality of channels is arrayed circumferentially around the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (see col. 7, lines 3-10; Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each heat and mass transfer chamber includes a regenerative froth contactor (see col. 2, lines 1-4; col. 7, lines 68-75; Fig. 9). The examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “regenerative froth contactor,” in light of the specification, includes a gas-liquid contactor structure which increases the mass-transfer between a gas stream and a liquid stream.
Regarding claim 9, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to at least one of: a quasi-counter-current flow regime and a quasi-cross-current flow regime (see col. 7, lines 11-67; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, as no structural difference is seen between the instantly claimed apparatus and that of the apparatus taught by Koch, the apparatus of Koch is considered capable of accepting a liquid solvent selected from one of an ammonia-based solvent and a mixed salt solvent (see col. 6, lines 63-75).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Koch teaches the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel is part of a conduit assembly, the conduit assembly including at least one of: a gas distribution chamber configured to direct the gas to a first heat and mass transfer chamber, an input chamber configured to direct the liquid to the first heat and mass transfer chamber, and a collector configured to receive the liquid and the gas from a second heat and mass transfer chamber (see col. 7, lines 11-67; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 22, the reference Koch teaches a heat and mass transfer system (see col. 1, lines 1-15; Fig. 9) comprising:
a series of vessels (A-E) (see col. 7, lines 3-10; Fig. 9) configured to receive a gas and a liquid, wherein each vessel of the series of vessels (A-E) includes a heat and mass transfer chamber configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently in a direction of gravity through each heat and mass transfer chamber during the heat and mass transfer (see col. 7, lines 11-67; Fig. 9); and
a conduit system including a plurality of channels (212; 214) configured to route the gas and the liquid between the vessels (A-E), wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to at least one of: a quasi-counter-current flow regime and a quasi-cross-current flow regime (see col. 7, lines 11-67; Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper.
Regarding claim 6, the claim depends from claim 5 such that the reasoning applied to claim 4 above with reference to Cooper is applied herein for the dependent portion of the claim. The reference Cooper teaches that the heat and mass transfer system may be provided in any suitable shape desired (see page 2, right column, lines 23-33). The reference Cooper, however, does not specifically specify wherein each heat and mass transfer chamber has a hexagonal shape, and each channel defines a flat surface adjacent to a side of a heat and mass transfer chamber and opposing the arcuate surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each heat and mass transfer chamber in a hexagonal shape and have each channel define a flat surface adjacent to a side of a heat and mass transfer chamber and opposing the arcuate surface, as claimed by applicant, since the reference Cooper teaches that the heat and mass transfer system may be provided in any suitable shape desired (see page 2, right column, lines 23-33). Further, it has been held that a change in configuration or shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774