DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11 and 22), Species I (shown in Figures 8-9) in the reply filed on 26 May 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious search and examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter and the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein each heat and mass transfer chamber includes a packing material configured as a regenerative froth contactor” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as to what particular packing material is intended to be included or excluded by the recitation “a packing material configured as a regenerative froth contactor.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trutna (US 4,361,469).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Trutna discloses a heat and mass transfer system (10, 63) comprising:
at least one vessel (11, 64) configured to receive a gas and a liquid (see col. 3, lines 37-61; Figs. 1-3);
a series of heat and mass transfer chambers, each heat and mass transfer chamber of the series of heat and mass transfer chambers configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently during the heat and mass transfer (see col. 5, lines 15-49; col. 6, lines 38-61; Figs. 1-3); and
a conduit system (15-17, 37, 38; 66-69) including a plurality of channels (15-17, 37, 38; 66-69) configured to route the gas and the liquid between the heat and mass transfer chambers (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 14; col. 6, lines 38-61; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the series of heat and mass transfer chambers are arranged in at least one vessel (see col. 5, lines 15-49; col. 6, lines 38-61; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel of the plurality of channels extends vertically along the length of the at least one vessel and is disposed within the at least one vessel (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 14; col. 6, lines 38-61; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel has a cross-sectional shape that conforms to a shape of the at least one vessel and permits each channel to be disposed between the series of heat and mass transfer chambers and an interior surface of the at least one vessel (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 14; col. 6, lines 38-61; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the at least one vessel is a cylindrical vessel, each channel defines an arcuate surface that follows a portion of a circumference of the at least one vessel, and the plurality of channels is arrayed circumferentially around the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 14; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the at least one vessel is a rectangular vessel, and each channel has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (see col. 4, line 41 to col. 5, line 14; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according a quasi-counter-current flow regime (see col. 3, lines 37-61; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, as no structural difference is seen between the instantly claimed apparatus and that of the apparatus taught by Trutna, the apparatus of Trutna is considered capable of accepting a liquid solvent selected from one of an ammonia-based solvent and a mixed salt solvent (see Example 1).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Trutna discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel is part of a conduit assembly (see col. 6, lines 19-36; Figs. 1-2), the conduit assembly including at least one of: a gas distribution chamber configured to direct the gas to a first heat and mass transfer chamber (see col. 5, lines 15-49; Fig. 1), an input chamber configured to direct the liquid to the first heat and mass transfer chamber (see col. 5, lines 15-49; Fig. 1), and a collector configured to receive the liquid and the gas from a second heat and mass transfer chamber (see col. 5, lines 15-49; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, the reference Trutna discloses a heat and mass transfer system (10) comprising:
a series of vessels configured to receive a gas and a liquid (i.e., sections of column 10 corresponding to the three stages illustrated in Figure 1 may suitably construed as vessels), wherein each vessel of the series of vessels includes a heat and mass transfer chamber configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently through each heat and mass transfer chamber (see col. 5, lines 15-49; Fig. 1); and
a conduit system (15-17, 37, 38) including a plurality of channels (15-17, 37, 38) configured to route the gas and the liquid between the vessels (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 14; Fig. 1-2), wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to a quasi-counter-current flow regime (see col. 3, lines 37-61).
Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 1, 246, 462 (hereinafter: GB ‘462).
Regarding claim 1, the reference GB ‘462 discloses a heat and mass transfer system (see page 2, lines 6-29; Fig. 1a) comprising:
at least one vessel configured to receive a gas and a liquid (see page 2, lines 6-29; Fig. 1a);
a series of heat and mass transfer chambers, each heat and mass transfer chamber of the series of heat and mass transfer chambers configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently during the heat and mass transfer (see page 2, lines 6-29; page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a); and
a conduit system including a plurality of channels configured to route the gas and the liquid between the heat and mass transfer chambers (see page 2, lines 6-29; page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 2, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the series of heat and mass transfer chambers are arranged in at least one vessel (see page 2, lines 6-29; page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 3, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel of the plurality of channels extends vertically along the length of the at least one vessel and is disposed within the at least one vessel (see page 2, lines 6-29; page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 4, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel has a cross-sectional shape that conforms to a shape of the at least one vessel and permits each channel to be disposed between the series of heat and mass transfer chambers and an interior surface of the at least one vessel (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Figs. 1a-1b).
Regarding claim 5, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the at least one vessel is a cylindrical vessel, each channel defines an arcuate surface that follows a portion of a circumference of the at least one vessel, and the plurality of channels is arrayed circumferentially around the series of heat and mass transfer chambers (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Figs. 1a-1b).
Regarding claim 6, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each heat and mass transfer chamber has a hexagonal shape, and each channel defines a flat surface adjacent to a side of a heat and mass transfer chamber and opposing the arcuate surface (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Figs. 1a-1b) .
Regarding claim 8, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each heat and mass transfer chamber includes a packing material configured as a regenerative froth contactor (see page 2, lines 39-40; lines 51-63).
Regarding claim 9, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to at least one of: a quasi-counter-current flow regime (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 10, as no structural difference is seen between the instantly claimed apparatus and that of the apparatus taught by the reference GB ‘462, the apparatus of GB ‘462 is considered capable of accepting a liquid solvent selected from one of an ammonia-based solvent and a mixed salt solvent (see Examples).
Regarding claim 11, the reference GB ‘462 discloses the heat and mass transfer system, wherein each channel is part of a conduit assembly, the conduit assembly including at least one of: a gas distribution chamber configured to direct the gas to a first heat and mass transfer chamber, an input chamber configured to direct the liquid to the first heat and mass transfer chamber, and a collector configured to receive the liquid and the gas from a second heat and mass transfer chamber (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 22, the reference GB ‘462 discloses a heat and mass transfer system, comprising:
a series of vessels configured to receive a gas and a liquid (i.e., sections of the column corresponding to the three stages illustrated in Figure 1a may suitably construed as vessels), wherein each vessel of the series of vessels includes a heat and mass transfer chamber (2) configured to receive a portion of the gas and a portion of the liquid, and facilitate heat and mass transfer between the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid, wherein the portion of the gas and the portion of the liquid flow co-currently through each heat and mass transfer chamber (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a); and
a conduit system (1, 5, 6, 7, 9) including a plurality of channels (1, 6, 9) configured to route the gas and the liquid between the vessels (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a), wherein the plurality of channels are configured to route the fluid and the gas according to a quasi-counter-current flow regime (see page 2, line 120 to page 3, line 8; Fig. 1a).
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774