DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1,3,10,17 and 19 have been amended. No Claim has been canceled in this amendment. No New Claim has been added in this amendment.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1,9 and 17 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to objections for the disclosure have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, “. . a beam from a reference . . resource set” should read ““. . a beam from a set of reference . .resource”
In claim 9, line 3, “. . a beam from a reference . . resource set” should read ““. . a beam from a set of reference . .resource”
In claim 17, line 5, “. . a beam from a reference . . resource set” should read ““. . a beam from a set of reference . .resource”
In claim 19, line 3, “the beam” should read “the beam information”
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed on 06/15/2026 on pages 15-16 and of applicant's remark regarding Claims 1,9,17, the applicant argues that Gao does not disclose UE determining QCL assumption based on beam information. The applicant further argues that Takeda does not disclose search space for BFR.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's
arguments for the following reasons: Gao discloses reference signal configured as a resource set and the elements in the resource set satisfies QCL relationship. The beam is based on a reference signal and the beam information is providing QCL assumption between a reference signal and antenna port of the UE (Gao Para[012-1216]). The applicant here also fails to provide specific information on UE determining QCL assumption based on the beam information without any help of base station. The broad interpretation of the claim is that the UE acquires the beam information from somewhere to use it to determine QCL assumption. The applicant is advised that it has been held that the recitation that an element is “for receiving PDCCH” performing a function is not a positive limitation, but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. Gao addresses communication between the UE and the base station using QCL assumption (Gao Para[0133]). Thus, limitation of “for receiving PDCCH” is considered intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Takeda clearly discloses QCL assumption is used for receiving signals from the base station which includes PDCCH (Takeda Para[0048-50,0083-84]. The search space used by the base station to send PDCCH is for the best beam and beam information includes QCL between CSI-RS resources and DMRS ports (Takeda Para[0084]). The applicant is advised that it has been held that the recitation that an element is “for beam failure recovery” performing a function is not a positive limitation, but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. Takeda addresses communication between the UE and the base station using QCL assumption. Thus, limitation of “for beam failure recovery” is considered intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The dependent claims 2-8 are rejected based upon same motivation and rationale used for claim 1.
The dependent claims 10-16 are rejected based upon same motivation and rationale used for claim 9.
The dependent claims 18-20 are rejected based upon same motivation and rationale used for claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,7,9-12,15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US 2020/0244413 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Takeda”) in view of Gao et al. (US 2022/0271891 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Gao”).
Regarding claims 1,9 and 17, Takeda discloses a user equipment (UE) (Takeda Fig.1A A UE), a base station (Takeda Fig.1A A TRP) comprising: a transceiver (Takeda Fig.12 Para[0165] A communication apparatus) and a processor (Takeda Fig.12 Para[0165] A processor) configured to transmit, in a first uplink (UL) channel, a request comprising information related to a beam from a reference signal (RS) resource set (Takeda Fig.2A,2B Para[0046-47] A measurement report is sent with beam ID (i.e. information) for CSI-RS resources associated with TX beams. A recovery signal is sent with beam information, see Para[0064-65]); and receive, based on the QCL assumption (Takeda Fig.2A,2B Para[0048-50,0083-84] QCL assumption used), the PDCCH in a search space set configured for beam failure recovery (BFR) (Takeda Fig.2A,2B Para[0048-50,0083-84] The BS sends response signal (i.e. PDCCH) using QCL assumption and UE search space), wherein the PDCCH provides a response to the request (Takeda Fig.2A,2B Para[0048-50,0083-84] The PDCCH is sent and received for recovery signal response).
Takeda does not explicitly disclose determine, based on the beam, a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption for receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, Gao from the same field of invention discloses determine, based on the beam, a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption for receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Gao Para[0122,0126-127] A QCL assumption is used for sending and receiving beam indication. Fig.10 Para[0137] DCI (i.e. PDCCH) signal is used for DL. The applicant is advised that it has been held that the recitation that an element is “for receiving PDCCH” is not a positive limitation, but only requires the ability to so perform. Thus, limitation of “for receiving PDCCH” is considered intended use).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeda to have the feature of “determine, based on the beam, a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption for receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)” as taught by Gao. The motivation would have been for efficient beam management (Gao Para[0006]).
Regarding claims 2,10 and 18, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. Takeda further discloses wherein: the first UL channel is one of: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Takeda Para[0072,0113] The PUCCH or PDSCH is used for UL signals); and the request is transmitted via a scheduling request (SR) or via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Takeda Para[0069] The SR is used as recovery signal).
Regarding claims 3,11 and 19, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. Takeda further discloses wherein the information includes at least one of: a first indication of presence of the beam (Takeda Para[0046-47,0064-65] A beam ID (i.e. presence) in the measurement report or recovery signal); a second indication of the beam in the RS resource set (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim); or an index or identity of a cell associated to the RS resource set, wherein the RS resource set comprises one or more channel state information RS (CSI-RS) resource configuration indexes, or synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indexes (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Regarding claims 4,12 and 20, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. The claim recites wherein the second indication includes at least one of: an index of the beam in the RS resource set, wherein a bitwidth of the index is log2L, and L is a number of RS resource indexes in the RS resource set; or a bitmap with each bit position of the bitmap associated with a RS resource index in the RS resource set, wherein a RS resource index associated with a bit position set to ‘1’ corresponds to the beam (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim it depends on).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. Takeda further discloses receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; the first UL channel is earlier in time than the second UL channel; and the first UL channel is associated with the RS resource set (Takeda Para[0048-49] The QCL association is used for uplink and downlink beams and resources).
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Gao and further in view of KAASALAINEN et al. (US 2019/0350028 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Kaasalainen”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. Takeda in view of Gao does not explicitly disclose receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; the first UL channel is earlier in time than the second UL channel; and the first UL channel is associated with the RS resource set.
However, Kaasalainen from a similar field of invention discloses receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; the first UL channel is earlier in time than the second UL channel; and the first UL channel is associated with the RS resource set (Kaasalainen Para[0080] The UL resources are dedicated for scheduling request which is sent regularly or frequently. The resources are scheduled in the same beam direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeda and Gao to have the feature of “receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; the first UL channel is earlier in time than the second UL channel; and the first UL channel is associated with the RS resource set” as taught by Kaasalainen. The motivation would have been for reducing errors and improve data speed (Kaasalainen Para[0005]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. Takeda in view of Gao does not explicitly disclose receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; and transmit, in the second UL channel, the request.
However, Kaasalainen from a similar field of invention discloses receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; and transmit, in the second UL channel, the request (Kaasalainen Para[0080] A persistent data resource allocation for SRs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeda and Gao to have the feature of “receive a configuration for a second UL channel to transmit the request; and transmit, in the second UL channel, the request” as taught by Kaasalainen. The motivation would have been for reducing errors and improve data speed (Kaasalainen Para[0005]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Gao and further in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2016/0302174 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Chatterjee”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Takeda in view of Gao discloses the method, the UE and the base station as explained above for Claim 1. Takeda in view of Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein the response is via at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI) format with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); a one-bit indicator field in a DCI format; presence or absence of an indicator field in a DCI format; or a DCI format scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number as for transmitting the first UL channel.
However, Chatterjee from a similar field of invention discloses wherein the response is via at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI) format with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (Chatterjee Para[0064] A DCI message (i.e. response) is sent using C-RNTI and carried by UE-Specific SS); a one-bit indicator field in a DCI format (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim); presence or absence of an indicator field in a DCI format (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim); or a DCI format scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number as for transmitting the first UL channel (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takeda and Gao to have the feature of “wherein the response is via at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI) format with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); a one-bit indicator field in a DCI format; presence or absence of an indicator field in a DCI format; or a DCI format scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number as for transmitting the first UL channel” as taught by Chatterjee. The motivation would have been for enhancing coverage (Chatterjee Para[0004]).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415