DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Cl.1, 17: “is serial flow arrangement” is believed to be in error for –in serial flow arrangement—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation(s) “a farthest upstream portion” in l.3 is unclear whether it is the same as, or different from, the previous recitation thereof.
Regarding claim 15, “the primary flow of fuel including a fuel different from the fuel of the primary flow of fuel” is nonsensical by claiming a first flow different from itself. Furthermore, the term “the fuel” lacks antecedent basis if the first “primary flow of fuel” is meant to recited the secondary flow of fuel.
Regarding claim 16, “the at least one air channel” lack antecedent basis (it is interpreted as referring to the air injection orifice of claim 1, which is located downstream of the vortex generator). Furthermore, “a combination thereof” is unclear because it is unclear what it means for a single orifice to be provided along the vortex generator in “combination” with being provided axially between the vortex generator and the at least one air channel (interpreted as discussed above).
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites dependency to claim 16, but it is separate from claim 16 by independent claim 17; thus it is unclear whether the claim is meant to depend on claim 16 or claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, “a plurality of fuel injection orifices provided along of the leading edge” is unclear because it is not idiomatic English.
Dependent Claims 18-20 are also rejected for relying on at least one rejected claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Angel 5675971.
Regarding Claim 1, Angel teaches fuel nozzle (Figs 2-3) for a turbine engine (Title) comprising a compressor section (col.2 ll.27-30), combustion section (Fig 1), and turbine section (downstream of 14 in Fig 1) in serial flow arrangement (Fig 1, col.2 ll.27-30), the fuel nozzle being provided within the combustion section (Fig 1) and comprising:
a premixer body (incl. 40) having a premixer centerline (A), the premixer body defining a primary flow path (for fuel and air therethrough);
a vortex generator (incl. 26, 28, 30) extending into the primary flow path (Figs 2-3);
an air injection orifice (including outlets of 43) provided in the premixer body and located downstream of the vortex generator (Figs 2-3); and
a fuel injection orifice (outlets of 35) provided along the premixer body and opening into the primary flow path (Figs 2-3), the fuel injection orifice being provided axially forward of the air injection orifice (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the air injection orifice emits a flow of compressed air into the primary flow path at a cross angle to the primary flow path (col.4 ll.55-end).
Regarding claim 3, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches a fuel injection channel (35) exhausting into the primary flow path at the fuel injection orifice (Figs 2-3),
the fuel injection channel having a fuel channel centerline (centered along 35) intersecting the fuel injection orifice at a center point (center of outlet of 35 in plane perpendicular to A; Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the vortex generator extends between a farthest upstream portion and a farthest downstream portion a first axial distance (A1), with respect to the premixer centerline (Fig 2 below; shared feature with Fig 3); and
the center point is provided a second axial distance (A2) from a farthest upstream portion of the vortex generator (Fig 2 above; shared feature with Fig 3), with respect to the premixer centerline, the second axial distance being greater than 0% and less than or equal to 500% of the first axial distance (100% per Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the premixer body includes a fuel nozzle outlet (at 44), the fuel nozzle outlet having a hydraulic diameter (Dh in Fig 2 below; shared feature with Fig 3); and
the center point is provided a first axial distance (A1) from the fuel nozzle outlet, the first axial distance being greater than 0 times and less than or equal to 200 times the hydraulic diameter (A1 is greater than Dh but much less than 200 times Dh).
Regarding claim 6, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches a fuel manifold (33, 38) provided within the premixer body (Figs 2-3), with the fuel injection channel extending between the fuel manifold and the fuel injection orifice (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches a centerbody (42) extending through the primary flow path (Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the centerbody includes a central fuel channel (52) exhausting into the primary flow path at a fuel jet (66).
Regarding claim 9, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the fuel jet is provided downstream of the vortex generator (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the vortex generator is included within a plurality of vortex generators (Figs 2-3; plural vanes of 26, 28, 30) circumferentially spaced along the premixer body (Figs 2-3);
the fuel injection orifice is included within a plurality of fuel injection orifices circumferentially spaced along the premixer body (Figs 2-3); and
each vortex generator of the plurality of vortex generators is circumferentially aligned with at least one fuel injection orifice of the plurality of fuel injection orifices (Figs 2-3; 35 outlets being formed in 28).
Regarding claim 11, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the fuel injection orifice is circumferentially aligned with the air injection orifice (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the vortex generator is circumferentially oriented to direct a flow of compressed air flowing over the vortex generator in a circumferential direction such that the flow of compressed air includes a swirl number of greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1 (26 and 28 being swirlers; col.4 ll.12-33).
Regarding claim 13, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the vortex generator is a counter-rotating vortex generator (26 and 28 may be counter-rotating (col.4 ll.12-33).
Regarding claim 16, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the fuel injection orifice is provided along the vortex generator (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 17, Angel a fuel nozzle (Figs 2-3) for a turbine engine (Title) comprising a compressor section (col.2 ll.27-30), combustion section (Fig 1), and turbine section (downstream of 14 in Fig 1) is serial flow arrangement (Fig 1; col.2 ll.27-30), the fuel nozzle comprising:
a premixer body (incl. 40) defining a primary flow path (for fuel and air therethrough);
a vortex generator (incl. 26, 28, 30) extending into the primary flow path (Figs 2-3); and
a fuel injection orifice (outlets of 35) provided along the premixer body and opening into the primary flow path (Figs 2-3), the fuel injection orifice being provided along the vortex generator (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above.
Angel further teaches the vortex generator comprises a leading edge and a trailing edge relative to the primary flow path (Fig 2 above; shared feature with Fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the fuel injection orifice is provided along the trailing edge (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 20, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the fuel injection orifice is included within a plurality of fuel injection orifices (Figs 2-3) provided along the trailing edge (Figs 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel in view of Boardman 11454396.
Regarding claim 14, Angel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches the fuel injection orifice is configured to emit a primary flow of fuel into the primary flow path (col.5 ll.61-64), the primary flow of fuel including a gaseous fuel (col.5 ll.61-64).
Angel does not teach the gaseous fuel contains a hydrogen fuel.
However, Boardman teaches natural gas, hydrogen fuel, and blends thereof being suitable gaseous fuels for gas turbine combustion (col.5 l.60 – col.6 l.14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generic gaseous fuel for the gas turbine fuel injector of Angel to be a hydrogen fuel as taught by Boardman because Boardman teaches hydrogen and natural gas as suitable gas turbine engine fuels and because MPEP2144.07 provides that selection of a known material (fuel blend including hydrogen fuel) based on its suitability for its intended use (for combustion in gas turbine engines burning gaseous fuel) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. Additionally, MPEP2115 provides that a claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus inclusion of the material (i.e. fuel including a hydrogen fuel) worked upon by a structure being claimed (fuel nozzle configured to emit the fuel) does not impart patentability to the claims.
Regarding claim 15, Angel in view of Boardman teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Angel further teaches a centerbody (42) extending through the primary flow path and having a central fuel channel (52), wherein the central fuel channel is configured to emit a secondary flow of fuel into the primary flow path (col.5 ll.61-64), the primary flow of fuel including a fuel different from the fuel of the primary flow of fuel (a liquid fuel through 52 and a gaseous fuel through 35).
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741