DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2024 being considered by the examiner. A copy of initialed form is attached for Applicant’s record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al.(US 20180335609 A1) in view of Huang (US 20160033742 A1 of record).
Regarding claim 1, Change discloses an optical imaging system, in figure 2A, comprising: a first lens (210) comprising a refractive power; a second lens (220) comprising a refractive power; a third lens (230) comprising a refractive power; a fourth lens (240) comprising a refractive power; a fifth lens (250) comprising a refractive power; a sixth lens (260) comprising negative refractive power (par.[0167]); and a seventh lens (180) comprising a refractive power, wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side, and wherein 1.1 < |f/f1|+|f/f2| < 2.1 (Table 3, |f/f1| = 0.888 and |f/f2|= 0.983) where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens. Chang does not disclose wherein an ƒ-number of the optical imaging system is 1.8 or less. However, Huang is in same field of endeavor and teaches wherein an ƒ-number of the optical imaging system is 1.8 or less (Fig.1, Table 1, 1.60; Fig.3, Table 3, 1.8; Fig.5, Table 5, 1.9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply teaching of Huang et al. to device of Chang et al. for purpose of forming an imaging device.
Regarding claim 2, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 1, Chang further discloses wherein the first lens (210)(Figure 2A) has a convex object-side surface (212).
Regarding claim 3, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 1, Chang further discloses wherein the second lens (220) has a convex object-side surface (222)(Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 1, Chang further discloses wherein the third lens (230) has a convex object-side surface (232)(Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 1, Chang further discloses wherein the fifth lens (250) has a concave object-side surface (252)(Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 1, Chang further discloses wherein the sixth lens (260) has a concave image-side surface (264)(a concave aspheric surface; par.[0167]).
Regarding claim 7, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 1, Chang further discloses wherein the seventh lens (270) has a convex object-side surface (274)(figure 2A).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses an optical imaging system, in figure 3A or 4A, comprising: a first lens (310) comprising a refractive power; a second lens (320) comprising a refractive power; a third lens (330) comprising a refractive power; a fourth lens (340) comprising a refractive power; a fifth lens (350) comprising a refractive power; a sixth lens (360) comprising a refractive power; and a seventh lens (370) comprising negative refractive power, wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side, wherein a radius of curvature (R324=26.87)(Table 5)(figure 3A) of an image-side surface of the second lens (320) is greater than a radius of curvature (R372=6.01)(Table 5)(figure 3A) of an object-side surface of the seventh lens (370), and wherein 1.1 < |f/f1|+|f/f2| < 2.1 (Table 5, |f/f1|=1.44, |f/f2|=0.46), where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens. Chang does not disclose wherein an ƒ-number of the optical imaging system is 1.8 or less. However, Huang is in same field of endeavor and teaches wherein an ƒ-number of the optical imaging system is 1.8 or less (Fig.1, Table 1, 1.60; Fig.3, Table 3, 1.8; Fig.5, Table 5, 1.9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply teaching of Huang et al. to device of Chang et al. for purpose of forming an imaging device.
Regarding claim 9, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 8, Chang further discloses wherein the first lens (310) has a convex object-side surface (312).
Regarding claim 10, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 8, Chang further discloses wherein the second lens (320) has a convex object-side surface (322).
Regarding claim 11, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 8, Chang further discloses wherein the third lens (330) has a convex object-side surface (332).
Regarding claim 12, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 8, Chang further discloses wherein the sixth lens (360) has a concave image-side surface.
Regarding claim 13, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 8, Chang further discloses wherein the seventh lens (470)(figure 4A) has a concave image-side surface (a concave surface 474, par.[0196]).
Regarding claim 14, Chang and Huang disclose the optical imaging system of claim 8, Chang further discloses wherein the seventh lens (370) has an inflection point formed on an image-side surface (374) thereof.
Conclusion
/TUYEN TRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872