DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on December 24, 2025 has been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites limitations “the eye trajectory of the pedestrian” and “the direction that is opposite” in eighth line and eighth thru twelfth lines of the claim, but it is unclear at least because the claim uses terms “the eye trajectory of the pedestrian” and “the direction that is opposite” for a first time without previously reciting the terms in the claim. Therefore, Examiner suggests the limitations “the eye trajectory of the pedestrian” and “the direction that is opposite” should be amended, without adding new matter, in a manner that resolves the antecedent basis issues. Accordingly, any claims dependent on claim 1 are objected to based on same above reasoning.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites limitations “the eye trajectory of the pedestrian” and “the direction that is opposite” in tenth line and tenth thru thirteenth lines of the claim, but it is unclear at least because the claim uses terms “the eye trajectory of the pedestrian” and “the direction that is opposite” for a first time without previously reciting the terms in the claim. Therefore, Examiner suggests the limitations “the eye trajectory of the pedestrian” and “the direction that is opposite” should be amended, without adding new matter, in a manner that resolves the antecedent basis issues. Accordingly, any claims dependent on claim 11 are objected to based on same above reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-14, 17-19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalev-Schwartz et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0283746 A1 (hereinafter Schwartz), in view of Kitayama et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0213887 A1 (hereinafter Kitayama), and Chan, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0118303 A1 (hereinafter Chan).
Regarding claim 1, Schwartz teaches a method, comprising: detecting a pedestrian in an environment of a vehicle (2700, 2620, 2610 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0450] of Schwartz teaches FIG. 26A shows an example of a scene that may be captured and analyzed during navigation of a host vehicle 2610 (which may comprise host vehicle 200); specifically, the scene shown in FIG. 26A is an example of one of the images that may be captured at time t from an environment of the host vehicle 2610; the navigation system may include at least one processing device that is specifically programmed to receive the plurality of images and analyze the images to determine a navigational action in response to the scene; specifically, the at least one processing device may implement pedestrian identification module 2502 to identify pedestrian 2620, and eye identification module 2504 may identify eves of pedestrian 2620 and determine that pedestrian 2620 is looking towards host vehicle 2610; as explained above, eye identification module 2504 may make this determination by constructing a cone apexed at host vehicle 2610 or at pedestrian 2620 and determining that the looking direction of pedestrian 2620 intersects the cone at an angle less than a threshold or is within the cone, respectively; it will be appreciated that a cone is used here as an example of a geometric shape that can be used to translate the looking direction of the pedestrian into a geometric shape; it will be further appreciated that other 3-D shapes in real space can be used; furthermore, 2-D shapes may be used in image space instead of or in combination with the 3-D shapes in real space; for example, a triangle may be used in some embodiments; navigation action module 2506 may then determine a navigation action for host vehicle, such as deceleration, or braking, or switching lanes; and in some embodiments, the host vehicle may switch lanes and/or may decelerate to a stop, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0166], [0121], [0451]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches identifying a pedestrian captured in an image that includes an environment of a host vehicle));
acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian (FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0005]-[0006], [0008]-[0009], [0097], [0112], [0121], [0447], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle));
determining a change in the eye trajectory data of the pedestrian; to determine whether or not the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is; the travel direction of the vehicle (2708 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0121], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle, or determines a looking direction of the pedestrian is away from the host vehicle)); and responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is; the travel direction of the vehicle, causing (2712 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0459] of Schwartz teaches at step 2712, processing unit 110 may cause control of at least one navigational actuator of the host vehicle in accordance with the determined first or second navigational action for the host vehicle; the navigational actuator may include at least one of a steering mechanism, a brake, or an accelerator; and processing unit 110 may cause one or more signals to be transmitted to the navigational actuator to trigger a navigational action, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0450]-[0458], and [0460]-[0461] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle)); but do not expressly teach comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle; opposite; opposite; a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified.
However, Kitayama teaches comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle (FIGS. 13, paragraph[0115] of Kitayama teaches however, the position of a vehicle that is traveling on the roadway may be detected, and whether or not the gaze direction of the target pedestrian is facing the direction of the vehicle may be determined; and then, when the gaze direction of the target pedestrian also moves in accompaniment with the position of the vehicle moving, the target pedestrian may be determined to have performed the safety confirmation regarding vehicles, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0111]-[0114] of Kitayama (i.e., Kitayama teaches analyzing a gaze direction of a pedestrian with respect to a direction of a traveling vehicle)); but the combination of Schwartz and Kitayama do not expressly teach opposite; opposite; a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified.
However, Chan teaches opposite; opposite; a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0099] of Chan teaches the likelihood for the pedestrian to recognize the vehicle 100 may vary depending on what the pedestrian is currently doing; for example, although the pedestrian’s viewing direction is opposite to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian is looking straight at her cell phone, the pedestrian may be less likely to recognize the vehicle 100; and as another example, although the pedestrian's viewing direction is identical to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian tries to hail a cab, the pedestrian may be highly likely to recognize the vehicle 100, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0098], and [0100]-[0146] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, and wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle)), but the combination of Schwartz and Chan still do not expressly teach comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle.
Furthermore, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a vehicle, and involve the same problem of suitably, which includes safely, operating the vehicle based on a pedestrian. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Schwartz based on Kitayama and Chan for comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle to determine whether or not the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is opposite the travel direction of the vehicle; responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction opposite the travel direction of the vehicle, causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified. One reason for the modification as taught by Kitayama is to suitably detect a pedestrian who is present in the periphery of a vehicle (paragraph[0002] of Kitayama). Another reason for the modification as taught by Chan is to suitably control a vehicle and output a warning signal depending on behaviors of pedestrians near the vehicle (ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0002], and [0009]-[0010] of Chan). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 1, wherein causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing a behavior of the vehicle to be modified (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-9, paragraph[0118] of Chan teaches if the first recognition value is determined, the vehicle 100 may output a warning signal (S300); and specifically, the processor 110 may control an output device, e.g., the communication module 150, the lamp 160, the horn 170, or the spraying device 180, to output a warning signal, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0117], and [0119]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle, and wherein if the first recognition value is determined then the vehicle is capable of controlling an output device (e.g., the communication module, a lamp, a horn, or a spraying device to output a warning signal thereby warning the pedestrian of danger))).
Regarding claim 3, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 2, wherein causing a behavior of the vehicle to be modified includes decreasing a speed of the vehicle (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-9, paragraphs[0143]-[0144] of Chan teaches in particular, if the second recognition value is less than the control reference value, the processor 110 may control the driving module 140 to reduce the speed of the vehicle 100; meanwhile, where the vehicle 100 is an AV 100, the processor 110 may control the driving module 140 via an obstacle avoidance algorithm, allowing the vehicle 100 to drive around the pedestrian; regarding speed control, the processor 110 may control the speed of the vehicle 100 to be proportional to the second recognition value; and in other words, the processor 110 may control the speed of the vehicle 100 to be lower as the second recognition value decreases and to be higher as the second recognition value increases, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0071]-[0072], [0089]-[0142], and [0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches reducing speed of the vehicle when the second recognition value is less than a control reference value)).
Regarding claim 6, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 1, wherein acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian is performed by one or more pedestrian sensors carried on the vehicle (122, 124, 126 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0112] of Schwartz teaches one or more cameras (e.g., image capture devices 122, 124, and 126) may be part of a sensing block included on a vehicle; various other sensors may be included in the sensing block, and any or all of the sensors may be relied upon to develop a sensed navigational state of the vehicle; in addition to cameras (forward, sideward, rearward, etc.), other sensors such as RADAR, LIDAR, and acoustic sensors may be included in the sensing block; additionally, the sensing block may include one or more components configured to communicate and transmit/receive information relating to the environment of the vehicle; for example, such components may include wireless transceivers (RF, etc.) that may receive from a source remotely located with respect to the host vehicle sensor-based information or any other type of information relating to the environment of the host vehicle; such information may include sensor output information, or related information, received from vehicle systems other than the host vehicle; in some embodiments, such information may include information received from a remote computing device, a centralized server, etc; and furthermore, the cameras may take on many different configurations: single camera units, multiple cameras, camera clusters, long FOV, short FOV, wide angle, fisheye, etc, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0005]-[0006], [0008]-[0009], [0097], [0108]-[0109], [0111], [0121], [0157], [0437]-[0444], [0447], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle by utilizing image capture devices included on the vehicle, wherein the image capture devices acquire images for input to an image processor of the processing unit)).
Regarding claim 7, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 1, wherein acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian is performed by one or more infrastructure devices (122, 124, 126 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0112] of Schwartz teaches one or more cameras (e.g., image capture devices 122, 124, and 126) may be part of a sensing block included on a vehicle; various other sensors may be included in the sensing block, and any or all of the sensors may be relied upon to develop a sensed navigational state of the vehicle; in addition to cameras (forward, sideward, rearward, etc.), other sensors such as RADAR, LIDAR, and acoustic sensors may be included in the sensing block; additionally, the sensing block may include one or more components configured to communicate and transmit/receive information relating to the environment of the vehicle; for example, such components may include wireless transceivers (RF, etc.) that may receive from a source remotely located with respect to the host vehicle sensor-based information or any other type of information relating to the environment of the host vehicle; such information may include sensor output information, or related information, received from vehicle systems other than the host vehicle; in some embodiments, such information may include information received from a remote computing device, a centralized server, etc; and furthermore, the cameras may take on many different configurations: single camera units, multiple cameras, camera clusters, long FOV, short FOV, wide angle, fisheye, etc, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0005]-[0006], [0008]-[0009], [0097], [0108]-[0109], [0111], [0121], [0157], [0437]-[0444], [0447], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle by utilizing image capture devices included on the vehicle, wherein the image capture devices acquire images for input to an image processor of the processing unit, and wherein at least one image capture device is connected to the processing unit)).
Regarding claim 8, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 1, wherein acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian is performed by receiving eye trajectory data from a mobile device of the pedestrian (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0104] of Chan teaches referring back to FIG. 8, the sensor module 130 may identify pedestrian A adjacent to the driving road, and the processor 110 may determine that the first recognition value of pedestrian A is 1 depending on the walking direction of pedestrian A; subsequently, the sensor module 130 may identify that pedestrian A is using a cell phone; and the memory 120 may previously store a recognition correction value, e.g., 0.6, corresponding to the behavior of using a cell phone, and the processor 110 may determine that the first recognition value of pedestrian A is 0.6 which is a result of multiplying the first recognition value, 1, by 0.6, by referring to the memory 120, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0099], [0100]-[0103], and [0105]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle, and wherein the sensor module is capable of identifying the pedestrian using their cell phone and the pedestrian’s behavior such as looking at their cell phone)).
Regarding claim 11, Schwartz teaches a system, comprising: (100 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0097] of Schwartz teaches FIG. 1 is a block diagram representation of a system 100 consistent with the exemplary disclosed embodiments; system 100 may include various components depending on the requirements of a particular implementation; in some embodiments, system 100 may include a processing unit 110, an image acquisition unit 120, a position sensor 130, one or more memory units 140, 150, a map database 160, a user interface 170, and a wireless transceiver 172; processing unit 110 may include one or more processing devices; in some embodiments, processing unit 110 may include an applications processor 180, an image processor 190, or any other suitable processing device; similarly, image acquisition unit 120 may include any number of image acquisition devices and components depending on the requirements of a particular application; in some embodiments, image acquisition unit 120 may include one or more image capture devices (e.g., cameras, CCDs, or any other type of image sensor), such as image capture device 122, image capture device 124, and image capture device 126; system 100 may also include a data interface 128 communicatively connecting processing unit 110 to image acquisition unit 120; and for example, data interface 128 may include any wired and/or wireless link or links for transmitting image data acquired by image acquisition unit 120 to processing unit 110, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0121], [0450]-[0454], and [0456]-[0461] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a system that is capable of being included in a vehicle)) one or more processors programmed to initiate executable operations, the executable operations including: (110 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0113], [0121], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle)) detecting a pedestrian in an environment of a vehicle (2620, 2610 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0450] of Schwartz teaches FIG. 26A shows an example of a scene that may be captured and analyzed during navigation of a host vehicle 2610 (which may comprise host vehicle 200); specifically, the scene shown in FIG. 26A is an example of one of the images that may be captured at time t from an environment of the host vehicle 2610; the navigation system may include at least one processing device that is specifically programmed to receive the plurality of images and analyze the images to determine a navigational action in response to the scene; specifically, the at least one processing device may implement pedestrian identification module 2502 to identify pedestrian 2620, and eye identification module 2504 may identify eves of pedestrian 2620 and determine that pedestrian 2620 is looking towards host vehicle 2610; as explained above, eye identification module 2504 may make this determination by constructing a cone apexed at host vehicle 2610 or at pedestrian 2620 and determining that the looking direction of pedestrian 2620 intersects the cone at an angle less than a threshold or is within the cone, respectively; it will be appreciated that a cone is used here as an example of a geometric shape that can be used to translate the looking direction of the pedestrian into a geometric shape; it will be further appreciated that other 3-D shapes in real space can be used; furthermore, 2-D shapes may be used in image space instead of or in combination with the 3-D shapes in real space; for example, a triangle may be used in some embodiments; navigation action module 2506 may then determine a navigation action for host vehicle, such as deceleration, or braking, or switching lanes; and in some embodiments, the host vehicle may switch lanes and/or may decelerate to a stop, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0166], [0121], [0451]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches identifying a pedestrian captured in an image that includes an environment of a host vehicle));
acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian (FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0005]-[0006], [0008]-[0009], [0097], [0112], [0121], [0447], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle));
determining a change in the eye trajectory data of the pedestrian; to determine whether or not the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is; the travel direction of the vehicle (2708 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0121], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle, or determines a looking direction of the pedestrian is away from the host vehicle)); and responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is; the travel direction of the vehicle, causing (2712 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0459] of Schwartz teaches at step 2712, processing unit 110 may cause control of at least one navigational actuator of the host vehicle in accordance with the determined first or second navigational action for the host vehicle; the navigational actuator may include at least one of a steering mechanism, a brake, or an accelerator; and processing unit 110 may cause one or more signals to be transmitted to the navigational actuator to trigger a navigational action, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0450]-[0458], and [0460]-[0461] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle)); but do not expressly teach comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle; opposite; opposite; a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified.
However, Kitayama teaches comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle (FIGS. 13, paragraph[0115] of Kitayama teaches however, the position of a vehicle that is traveling on the roadway may be detected, and whether or not the gaze direction of the target pedestrian is facing the direction of the vehicle may be determined; and then, when the gaze direction of the target pedestrian also moves in accompaniment with the position of the vehicle moving, the target pedestrian may be determined to have performed the safety confirmation regarding vehicles, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0111]-[0114] of Kitayama (i.e., Kitayama teaches analyzing a gaze direction of a pedestrian with respect to a direction of a traveling vehicle)); but the combination of Schwartz and Kitayama do not expressly teach opposite; opposite; a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified.
However, Chan teaches opposite; opposite; a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0099] of Chan teaches the likelihood for the pedestrian to recognize the vehicle 100 may vary depending on what the pedestrian is currently doing; for example, although the pedestrian’s viewing direction is opposite to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian is looking straight at her cell phone, the pedestrian may be less likely to recognize the vehicle 100; and as another example, although the pedestrian's viewing direction is identical to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian tries to hail a cab, the pedestrian may be highly likely to recognize the vehicle 100, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0098], and [0100]-[0146] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, and wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle)), but the combination of Schwartz and Chan still do not expressly teach comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle.
Furthermore, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a vehicle, and involve the same problem of suitably, which includes safely, operating the vehicle based on a pedestrian. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Schwartz based on Kitayama and Chan for comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle to determine whether or not the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is opposite the travel direction of the vehicle; responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction opposite the travel direction of the vehicle, causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified. One reason for the modification as taught by Kitayama is to suitably detect a pedestrian who is present in the periphery of a vehicle (paragraph[0002] of Kitayama). Another reason for the modification as taught by Chan is to suitably control a vehicle and output a warning signal depending on behaviors of pedestrians near the vehicle (ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0002], and [0009]-[0010] of Chan). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 12, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are carried on the vehicle (110, 2700, 2708 FIGS. 1 and 27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0113], [0121], [0452]-[0454], and [0456]-[0461] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches the processing unit that determines that the looking direction of the pedestrian is towards the host vehicle, wherein the vehicle is equipped with the processing unit)).
Regarding claim 13, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, wherein causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing a behavior of the vehicle to be modified (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-9, paragraph[0118] of Chan teaches if the first recognition value is determined, the vehicle 100 may output a warning signal (S300); and specifically, the processor 110 may control an output device, e.g., the communication module 150, the lamp 160, the horn 170, or the spraying device 180, to output a warning signal, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0117], and [0119]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle, and wherein if the first recognition value is determined then the vehicle is capable of controlling an output device (e.g., the communication module, a lamp, a horn, or a spraying device to output a warning signal thereby warning the pedestrian of danger))).
Regarding claim 14, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 13, wherein causing a behavior of the vehicle to be modified includes decreasing a speed of the vehicle (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-9, paragraphs[0143]-[0144] of Chan teaches in particular, if the second recognition value is less than the control reference value, the processor 110 may control the driving module 140 to reduce the speed of the vehicle 100; meanwhile, where the vehicle 100 is an AV 100, the processor 110 may control the driving module 140 via an obstacle avoidance algorithm, allowing the vehicle 100 to drive around the pedestrian; regarding speed control, the processor 110 may control the speed of the vehicle 100 to be proportional to the second recognition value; and in other words, the processor 110 may control the speed of the vehicle 100 to be lower as the second recognition value decreases and to be higher as the second recognition value increases, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0071]-[0072], [0089]-[0142], and [0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches reducing speed of the vehicle when the second recognition value is less than a control reference value)).
Regarding claim 17, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, further including one or more pedestrian sensors carried on the vehicle, wherein the one or more pedestrian sensors being are operatively connected to the one or more processors, and wherein acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian is performed by one or more pedestrian sensors (122, 124, 126 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0112] of Schwartz teaches one or more cameras (e.g., image capture devices 122, 124, and 126) may be part of a sensing block included on a vehicle; various other sensors may be included in the sensing block, and any or all of the sensors may be relied upon to develop a sensed navigational state of the vehicle; in addition to cameras (forward, sideward, rearward, etc.), other sensors such as RADAR, LIDAR, and acoustic sensors may be included in the sensing block; additionally, the sensing block may include one or more components configured to communicate and transmit/receive information relating to the environment of the vehicle; for example, such components may include wireless transceivers (RF, etc.) that may receive from a source remotely located with respect to the host vehicle sensor-based information or any other type of information relating to the environment of the host vehicle; such information may include sensor output information, or related information, received from vehicle systems other than the host vehicle; in some embodiments, such information may include information received from a remote computing device, a centralized server, etc; and furthermore, the cameras may take on many different configurations: single camera units, multiple cameras, camera clusters, long FOV, short FOV, wide angle, fisheye, etc, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0005]-[0006], [0008]-[0009], [0097], [0108]-[0109], [0111], [0121], [0157], [0437]-[0444], [0447], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle by utilizing image capture devices included on the vehicle, wherein the image capture devices acquire images for input to an image processor of the processing unit)).
Regarding claim 18, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, wherein acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian includes receiving the eye trajectory data from one or more infrastructure devices, and wherein the one or more infrastructure devices are operatively connected to the one or more processors (122, 124, 126 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0112] of Schwartz teaches one or more cameras (e.g., image capture devices 122, 124, and 126) may be part of a sensing block included on a vehicle; various other sensors may be included in the sensing block, and any or all of the sensors may be relied upon to develop a sensed navigational state of the vehicle; in addition to cameras (forward, sideward, rearward, etc.), other sensors such as RADAR, LIDAR, and acoustic sensors may be included in the sensing block; additionally, the sensing block may include one or more components configured to communicate and transmit/receive information relating to the environment of the vehicle; for example, such components may include wireless transceivers (RF, etc.) that may receive from a source remotely located with respect to the host vehicle sensor-based information or any other type of information relating to the environment of the host vehicle; such information may include sensor output information, or related information, received from vehicle systems other than the host vehicle; in some embodiments, such information may include information received from a remote computing device, a centralized server, etc; and furthermore, the cameras may take on many different configurations: single camera units, multiple cameras, camera clusters, long FOV, short FOV, wide angle, fisheye, etc, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0005]-[0006], [0008]-[0009], [0097], [0108]-[0109], [0111], [0121], [0157], [0437]-[0444], [0447], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle by utilizing image capture devices included on the vehicle, wherein the image capture devices acquire images for input to an image processor of the processing unit, and wherein at least one image capture device is connected to the processing unit)).
Regarding claim 19, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, wherein acquiring eye trajectory data of the pedestrian includes receiving the eye trajectory data from a mobile device of a pedestrian, and wherein the mobile device is operatively connected to the one or more processors (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0104] of Chan teaches referring back to FIG. 8, the sensor module 130 may identify pedestrian A adjacent to the driving road, and the processor 110 may determine that the first recognition value of pedestrian A is 1 depending on the walking direction of pedestrian A; subsequently, the sensor module 130 may identify that pedestrian A is using a cell phone; and the memory 120 may previously store a recognition correction value, e.g., 0.6, corresponding to the behavior of using a cell phone, and the processor 110 may determine that the first recognition value of pedestrian A is 0.6 which is a result of multiplying the first recognition value, 1, by 0.6, by referring to the memory 120, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0071]-[0072], [0085]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having a viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle, wherein the sensor module is capable of identifying the pedestrian using their cell phone and the pedestrian’s behavior such as looking at their cell phone, and wherein vehicle speed is reduced when the second recognition value is less than a control reference value base on a pedestrian’s behavior including the viewing direction while wearing a headset)).
Regarding claim 22, Schwartz teaches further including: responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian does not move toward the direction that is opposite the travel direction of the vehicle, (2708 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0121], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle, or determines a looking direction of the pedestrian is away from the host vehicle)); but does not expressly teach taking no action regarding modifying the perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian.
However, Chan teaches taking no action regarding modifying the perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0099] of Chan teaches the likelihood for the pedestrian to recognize the vehicle 100 may vary depending on what the pedestrian is currently doing; for example, although the pedestrian’s viewing direction is opposite to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian is looking straight at her cell phone, the pedestrian may be less likely to recognize the vehicle 100; and as another example, although the pedestrian's viewing direction is identical to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian tries to hail a cab, the pedestrian may be highly likely to recognize the vehicle 100, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0072]-[0073], [0089]-[0098], and [0100]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, and wherein, when a recognition value is less than a warning reference value that indicates a likelihood to recognize a vehicle, a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle)).
Regarding claim 23, Schwartz teaches wherein the executable operations further include: responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian does not move toward the direction that is opposite the travel direction of the vehicle, (2708 FIGS. 1-2A, 4, 5A-5D, and 26A-27, paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0121], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz (i.e., Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle, or determines a looking direction of the pedestrian is away from the host vehicle)); but does not expressly teach taking no action regarding modifying the perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian.
However, Chan teaches taking no action regarding modifying the perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0099] of Chan teaches the likelihood for the pedestrian to recognize the vehicle 100 may vary depending on what the pedestrian is currently doing; for example, although the pedestrian’s viewing direction is opposite to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian is looking straight at her cell phone, the pedestrian may be less likely to recognize the vehicle 100; and as another example, although the pedestrian's viewing direction is identical to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian tries to hail a cab, the pedestrian may be highly likely to recognize the vehicle 100, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0072]-[0073], [0089]-[0098], and [0100]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, and wherein, when a recognition value is less than a warning reference value that indicates a likelihood to recognize a vehicle, a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle)).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz, in view of Kitayama, Chan, and Rice et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0080602 A1 (hereinafter Rice).
Regarding claim 4, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 1, further including:;, causing the perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing a degree of modification to be increased (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-9, paragraph[0134] of Chan teaches referring to FIG. 9, when the pedestrian's first recognition value is less than the warning reference value, the processor 110 may output a warning sound, warning message, water, or air via the output device; in this case, a priority may be preset on each warning signal, and the warning sound may have the highest priority; and thus, the processor 110 may control the horn 170 to output the warning sound, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0071]-[0072], [0089]-[0133], and [0135]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches at least enhancing the warning signal based on priority via a warning sound, warning message, water or air)); but do not expressly teach determining whether the vehicle is located in a rural environment; and when the vehicle is determined to be located in a rural environment.
However, Rice teaches determining whether the vehicle is located in a rural environment; and when the vehicle is determined to be located in a rural environment (FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0065] of Rice teaches in some implementations, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine a current modification for a system onboard the vehicle 104 based at least in part on the current operating conditions of the vehicle 104; by way of example, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine that the vehicle’s current speed is decreasing and/or below a threshold and that the vehicle 104 is travelling in a geographic area with a low crowd density (e.g., in a rural environment without pedestrians); the vehicle computing system 102 can determine that the vehicle 104 can safely operate below the maximum capability of the sensor system 111 based at least in part on such vehicle parameter(s) 140; accordingly, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine a modification to one or more operating characteristics of the sensor system 111; the operating characteristic(s) of the sensor system 111 can include, for example, data acquisition characteristics (e.g., associated with the collection of the sensor data 118 by a sensor 112) and/or data processing characteristics (e.g., associated with the processing of the sensor data 118); for instance, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine (e.g., using the rule(s)-based algorithm, model 202, etc.) that one or more of the sensors 118 (e.g., cameras) should be modified to utilize a lower frame rate and/or acquire sensor data 118 a lower rate; and this can allow the sensor system 111 to consume less power for image acquisition/processing and, ultimately, to generate less heat, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0021], [0026], [0034], and [0058] of Rice (i.e., Rice teaches a vehicle computing system that is capable of determining a vehicle is traveling in a geographic area with a low crowd density)).
Furthermore, Schwartz, Kitayama, Chan, and Rice are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a vehicle, and involve the same problem of suitably, which includes safely, operating the vehicle based on a pedestrian. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Schwartz based on Kitayama, Chan, and Rice for determining whether the vehicle is located in a rural environment; and when the vehicle is determined to be located in a rural environment. One reason for the modification as taught by Kitayama is to suitably detect a pedestrian who is present in the periphery of a vehicle (paragraph[0002] of Kitayama). Another reason for the modification as taught by Chan is to suitably control a vehicle and output a warning signal depending on behaviors of pedestrians near the vehicle (ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0002], and [0009]-[0010] of Chan). Still another reason for the modification as taught by Rice is to suitably determine that a vehicle can safely operate below maximum capability of a sensor system of the vehicle (paragraphs[0026] and [0065] of Rice). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 4 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to all claims mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 15, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, wherein the executable operations further include:;, causing the perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing a degree of modification to be increased (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-9, paragraph[0134] of Chan teaches referring to FIG. 9, when the pedestrian's first recognition value is less than the warning reference value, the processor 110 may output a warning sound, warning message, water, or air via the output device; in this case, a priority may be preset on each warning signal, and the warning sound may have the highest priority; and thus, the processor 110 may control the horn 170 to output the warning sound, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0016], [0043], [0049]-[0050], [0071]-[0072], [0089]-[0133], [0135]-[0145], [0452]-[0454], and [0456]-[0461] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches at least enhancing the warning signal based on priority via a warning sound, warning message, water or air)); but do not expressly teach determining whether the vehicle is located in a rural environment; and when the vehicle is determined to be located in a rural environment.
However, Rice teaches determining whether the vehicle is located in a rural environment; and when the vehicle is determined to be located in a rural environment (FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0065] of Rice teaches in some implementations, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine a current modification for a system onboard the vehicle 104 based at least in part on the current operating conditions of the vehicle 104; by way of example, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine that the vehicle’s current speed is decreasing and/or below a threshold and that the vehicle 104 is travelling in a geographic area with a low crowd density (e.g., in a rural environment without pedestrians); the vehicle computing system 102 can determine that the vehicle 104 can safely operate below the maximum capability of the sensor system 111 based at least in part on such vehicle parameter(s) 140; accordingly, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine a modification to one or more operating characteristics of the sensor system 111; the operating characteristic(s) of the sensor system 111 can include, for example, data acquisition characteristics (e.g., associated with the collection of the sensor data 118 by a sensor 112) and/or data processing characteristics (e.g., associated with the processing of the sensor data 118); for instance, the vehicle computing system 102 can determine (e.g., using the rule(s)-based algorithm, model 202, etc.) that one or more of the sensors 118 (e.g., cameras) should be modified to utilize a lower frame rate and/or acquire sensor data 118 a lower rate; and this can allow the sensor system 111 to consume less power for image acquisition/processing and, ultimately, to generate less heat, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0021], [0026], [0034], and [0058] of Rice (i.e., Rice teaches a vehicle computing system that is capable of determining a vehicle is traveling in a geographic area with a low crowd density)).
Claims 9-10, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz, in view of Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0209916 A1 (hereinafter Sendai).
Regarding claim 9, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the method of claim 1, wherein causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0099] of Chan teaches the likelihood for the pedestrian to recognize the vehicle 100 may vary depending on what the pedestrian is currently doing; for example, although the pedestrian’s viewing direction is opposite to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian is looking straight at her cell phone, the pedestrian may be less likely to recognize the vehicle 100; and as another example, although the pedestrian's viewing direction is identical to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian tries to hail a cab, the pedestrian may be highly likely to recognize the vehicle 100, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0098], and [0100]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, and wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle)); but do not expressly teach a size of an extended reality representation of the vehicle to be modified in an extended reality display device carried or worn by the pedestrian.
However, Sendai teaches a size of an extended reality representation of the vehicle to be modified in an extended reality display device carried or worn by the pedestrian (FIGS. 5 and 14, paragraph[0166] of Sendai teaches in an initial state (i.e., immediately after the start of the procedure a42), the guiding section 144 displays the virtual object VO31 having a default size in a default position; thereafter, the guiding section 144 changes at least any one of the position, the size, and the shape of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of, for example, the part of the body of the user in the procedure a42; the default position can be set as, for example, a predetermined position (the center, etc.) on a screen or a position overlapping any real object on the screen; in the example shown in FIG. 14, the guiding section 144 changes the position and the size of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of the right hand RH and the left hand LH of the user; for example, if a circle formed by the right hand RH and the left hand LH gradually decreases (increases) in size, the guiding section 144 gradually reduces (increases) the diameter of the virtual object VO31; and further, if the right hand RH and the left hand RH move upward (downward), the guiding section 144 moves the virtual object VO31 upward (downward) to follow the movement of the right hand RH and the left hand LH, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0027]-[0028], [0037], [0061]-[0062], [0086], [0122]-[0130], [0165], and [0223] of Sendai (i.e., Sendai teaches changing, on a head mounted display worn by a user, a size (i.e., increase or decrease the size) of a virtual object such as a car)).
Furthermore, Schwartz, Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a vehicle, and involve the same problem of suitably, which includes safely, operating the vehicle based on a pedestrian. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Schwartz based on Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai to have a size of an extended reality representation of the vehicle to be modified in an extended reality display device carried or worn by the pedestrian. One reason for the modification as taught by Kitayama is to suitably detect a pedestrian who is present in the periphery of a vehicle (paragraph[0002] of Kitayama). Another reason for the modification as taught by Chan is to suitably control a vehicle and output a warning signal depending on behaviors of pedestrians near the vehicle (ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0002], and [0009]-[0010] of Chan). Still another reason for the modification as taught by Rice is to have a suitable head-mounted display device with which a user can visually recognize a virtual image (ABSTRACT of Sendai). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 9 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 10, Schwartz, Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai teach the method of claim 9, wherein causing the size of the extended reality representation of the vehicle to be modified in an extended reality display device carried or worn by the pedestrian includes causing the size of the extended reality representation of the vehicle to be increased in the extended reality display device carried or worn by the pedestrian (FIGS. 5 and 14, paragraph[0166] of Sendai teaches in an initial state (i.e., immediately after the start of the procedure a42), the guiding section 144 displays the virtual object VO31 having a default size in a default position; thereafter, the guiding section 144 changes at least any one of the position, the size, and the shape of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of, for example, the part of the body of the user in the procedure a42; the default position can be set as, for example, a predetermined position (the center, etc.) on a screen or a position overlapping any real object on the screen; in the example shown in FIG. 14, the guiding section 144 changes the position and the size of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of the right hand RH and the left hand LH of the user; for example, if a circle formed by the right hand RH and the left hand LH gradually decreases (increases) in size, the guiding section 144 gradually reduces (increases) the diameter of the virtual object VO31; and further, if the right hand RH and the left hand RH move upward (downward), the guiding section 144 moves the virtual object VO31 upward (downward) to follow the movement of the right hand RH and the left hand LH, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0027]-[0028], [0037], [0061]-[0062], [0086], [0122]-[0130], [0165], and [0223] of Sendai (i.e., Sendai teaches changing, on a head mounted display worn by a user, a size (i.e., increase or decrease the size) of a virtual object such as a car)).
Regarding claim 20, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan teach the system of claim 11, wherein causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing (FIGS. 1, 3, and 7-8, paragraph[0099] of Chan teaches the likelihood for the pedestrian to recognize the vehicle 100 may vary depending on what the pedestrian is currently doing; for example, although the pedestrian’s viewing direction is opposite to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian is looking straight at her cell phone, the pedestrian may be less likely to recognize the vehicle 100; and as another example, although the pedestrian's viewing direction is identical to the driving direction of the vehicle 100, if the pedestrian tries to hail a cab, the pedestrian may be highly likely to recognize the vehicle 100, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0012], [0049]-[0050], [0089]-[0098], and [0100]-[0145] of Chan (i.e., Chan teaches a pedestrian wearing a headset and having viewing direction that is opposite to a driving direction of a vehicle, wherein a sensor module of the vehicle is capable of detecting the pedestrian’s behavior and a processor in the vehicle determines a first recognition value based on the behavior, and wherein a warning message is transmitted to the headset based on the pedestrian’s behavior via the processor and a communication module of the vehicle)); but do not expressly teach a size of the vehicle presented in an extended reality device worn or carried by the pedestrian to be modified.
However, Sendai teaches a size of the vehicle presented in an extended reality device worn or carried by the pedestrian to be modified (FIGS. 5 and 14, paragraph[0166] of Sendai teaches in an initial state (i.e., immediately after the start of the procedure a42), the guiding section 144 displays the virtual object VO31 having a default size in a default position; thereafter, the guiding section 144 changes at least any one of the position, the size, and the shape of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of, for example, the part of the body of the user in the procedure a42; the default position can be set as, for example, a predetermined position (the center, etc.) on a screen or a position overlapping any real object on the screen; in the example shown in FIG. 14, the guiding section 144 changes the position and the size of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of the right hand RH and the left hand LH of the user; for example, if a circle formed by the right hand RH and the left hand LH gradually decreases (increases) in size, the guiding section 144 gradually reduces (increases) the diameter of the virtual object VO31; and further, if the right hand RH and the left hand RH move upward (downward), the guiding section 144 moves the virtual object VO31 upward (downward) to follow the movement of the right hand RH and the left hand LH, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0027]-[0028], [0037], [0061]-[0062], [0086], [0122]-[0130], [0165], and [0223] of Sendai (i.e., Sendai teaches changing, on a head mounted display worn by a user, a size (i.e., increase or decrease the size) of a virtual object such as a car)).
Furthermore, Schwartz, Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a vehicle, and involve the same problem of suitably, which includes safely, operating the vehicle based on a pedestrian. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Schwartz based on Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai to have a size of the vehicle presented in an extended reality device worn or carried by the pedestrian to be modified. One reason for the modification as taught by Kitayama is to suitably detect a pedestrian who is present in the periphery of a vehicle (paragraph[0002] of Kitayama). Another reason for the modification as taught by Chan is to suitably control a vehicle and output a warning signal depending on behaviors of pedestrians near the vehicle (ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0002], and [0009]-[0010] of Chan). Still another reason for the modification as taught by Rice is to have a suitable head-mounted display device with which a user can visually recognize a virtual image (ABSTRACT of Sendai). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 20 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 21, Schwartz, Kitayama, Chan, and Sendai teach the system of claim 20, wherein causing the size of the vehicle presented in the extended reality device worn or carried by the pedestrian to be modified includes causing the size of the vehicle to be increased in the extended reality device worn or carried by the pedestrian (FIGS. 5 and 14, paragraph[0166] of Sendai teaches in an initial state (i.e., immediately after the start of the procedure a42), the guiding section 144 displays the virtual object VO31 having a default size in a default position; thereafter, the guiding section 144 changes at least any one of the position, the size, and the shape of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of, for example, the part of the body of the user in the procedure a42; the default position can be set as, for example, a predetermined position (the center, etc.) on a screen or a position overlapping any real object on the screen; in the example shown in FIG. 14, the guiding section 144 changes the position and the size of the virtual object VO31 to follow the motion of the right hand RH and the left hand LH of the user; for example, if a circle formed by the right hand RH and the left hand LH gradually decreases (increases) in size, the guiding section 144 gradually reduces (increases) the diameter of the virtual object VO31; and further, if the right hand RH and the left hand RH move upward (downward), the guiding section 144 moves the virtual object VO31 upward (downward) to follow the movement of the right hand RH and the left hand LH, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0027]-[0028], [0037], [0061]-[0062], [0086], [0122]-[0130], [0165], and [0223] of Sendai (i.e., Sendai teaches changing, on a head mounted display worn by a user, a size (i.e., increase or decrease the size) of a virtual object such as a car)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The following is a brief summary of Applicant’s arguments:
In regard to currently amended claim 1, Applicants submitted that the combination of prior art of record does not disclose the following limitations: “determining a change in the eye trajectory data of the pedestrian; comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle to determine whether or not the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is opposite the travel direction of the vehicle”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In regard to the argument ‘A’ summarized above paragraph[0455] of Schwartz teaches at step 2708, processing unit 110 may determine, based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images and based on the identification of the eyes of the at least one pedestrian in the at least one of the plurality of images, a looking direction of the at least one pedestrian; for example, based on characteristics of features associated with or near the eye, processing unit 110 may determine a looking direction; for example, processing unit 110 may identify a pupil and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking towards the host vehicle; and additionally or alternatively, processing unit 110 may identify the back of a head and determine, based on this identification, that the pedestrian is looking away from the host vehicle, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0097], [0121], [0450]-[0454], [0456]-[0461], and [0545] of Schwartz.
Thus, Schwartz teaches a processing unit that determines that a looking direction of a pedestrian is towards a host vehicle, or determines a looking direction of the pedestrian is away from the host vehicle).
In addition, paragraph[0115] of Kitayama teaches however, the position of a vehicle that is traveling on the roadway may be detected, and whether or not the gaze direction of the target pedestrian is facing the direction of the vehicle may be determined; and then, when the gaze direction of the target pedestrian also moves in accompaniment with the position of the vehicle moving, the target pedestrian may be determined to have performed the safety confirmation regarding vehicles, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0111]-[0114] of Kitayama.
Thus, Kitayama teaches analyzing a gaze direction of a pedestrian with respect to a direction of a traveling vehicle.
Furthermore, as mentioned above, Schwartz, Kitayama, and Chan are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a vehicle, and involve the same problem of suitably, which includes safely, operating the vehicle based on a pedestrian. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Schwartz based on Kitayama and Chan for comparing the change in the eye trajectory data to a travel direction of the vehicle to determine whether or not the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction that is opposite the travel direction of the vehicle; responsive to determining that the eye trajectory of the pedestrian moves toward the direction opposite the travel direction of the vehicle, causing a perception of the vehicle by the pedestrian to be modified. One reason for the modification as taught by Kitayama is to suitably detect a pedestrian who is present in the periphery of a vehicle (paragraph[0002] of Kitayama). Another reason for the modification as taught by Chan is to suitably control a vehicle and output a warning signal depending on behaviors of pedestrians near the vehicle (ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0002], and [0009]-[0010] of Chan). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Also, in regard to independent claim 1 Applicant submitted that similar arguments apply to independent claim 11 and respective dependent claims. Therefore, the Examiner’s response in regard to arguments ‘A’, summarized above, also applies to the independent claim 11 and respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621