January 30, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claims 1-3 and 18, Applicant defines that “the non-linear stiffness profile including the region of quasi-zero stiffness”. However, Applicant does not explain what “quasi-zero stiffness” is. In paragraph [0028], Applicant describes “The non-linear stiffness profile can include a region of quasi-zero stiffness.” In paragraph [0044], Applicant describes “The non-linear stiffness profile can include a region of quasi-zero stiffness.” And “As an example, FIG. 7 is an example of one manner of achieving vibration isolator with a stiffness profile including a region of quasi-zero stiffness.” However, Applicant never explains how or why the region achieves quasi-zero stiffness or what “quasi-zero stiffness” is.
The aforementioned problem renders the claims vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, so far as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE BAEK HEE et al. (KR 102187558 B1 and KR 102187559 B1).
As for claim 1, LEE BAEK HEE et al. teach a headrest comprising: a first headrest structure 100; a second headrest structure 200; and a vibration isolator 110 operatively positioned between the first headrest structure and the second headrest structure, the vibration isolator being configured to exhibit a non-linear stiffness profile, the non-linear stiffness profile including a region of quasi-zero stiffness (see the specification of both patents where it reads “each of the contact ribs 110 exhibits a non-linear characteristic in which stiffness varies depending on a position where vibration is input, and the support stiffness of the pole guide is variably adjusted.”).
Claim 1, so far as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishimoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,308,236 B2).
As for claim 1, Ishimoto et al. teaches a headrest comprising: a first headrest structure; a second headrest structure; and a vibration isolator 50 operatively positioned between the first headrest structure and the second headrest structure, the vibration isolator being configured to exhibit a non-linear stiffness profile, the non-linear stiffness profile including a region of quasi-zero stiffness
As for claim 17, Ishimoto et al. teach that the first headrest structure is a headrest plate, and wherein the second headrest structure is a headrest shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilievski et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,293,718 B1).
As for claim 1, Ilievski et al. teach a headrest comprising: a first headrest structure (see annotated Fig. 2 above); a second headrest structure 206b; and a vibration isolator 208 operatively positioned between the first headrest structure and the second headrest structure. Ilievski et al. teach do not teach that the vibration isolator 208 is configured to exhibit a non-linear stiffness profile, the non-linear stiffness profile including a region of quasi-zero stiffness. However, Ilievski et al. teach do teach that vibration isolator 208 dos have adjustable stiffness values, that is, the spring systems 208 have stiffness values that can be varied, changed, or adjusted (see column 3, lines 35-44, where it reads “The springs 204a,b,c are sets of passive, or fixed, stiffness leaf springs extending generally in series and/or parallel with each other to form the surface contours of the support surfaces 202a,b. In order to improve the anti-vibration performance of the seating system 200, the support surfaces 202a,b formed by the springs 204a,b,c are coupled to the frames 206a,b by spring systems 208 having adjustable stiffness values, that is, the spring systems 208 have stiffness values that can be varied, changed, or adjusted.” Ilievski et al. also teach that vibration isolator 308 that has stiffness values that change in a non-linear manner (see column 5, lines 3-16 where it reads “Stiffness values of the spring system 308 change in a non-linear manner, as the buckling elements 322 can be designed as bendable structures with directional instabilities. In other words, the spring 318 can be repositioned and the buckling elements 322 can be bent using the actuator 320 to achieve desirable stiffness properties. Combined with the damping effect of the passive springs 304a,c of the support surface 302a, the seating system 300 is able to quickly and effectively tune stiffness characteristics independent of the applied load (i.e., the weight of the vehicle occupant). The spring system 308 is an actively variable stiffness structure that can reduce vibrations transmitted from the road via the vehicle to the vehicle occupant. Reducing vibrations can reduce long-drive discomfort of vehicle occupants.” Therefore, the vibration isolator 208 could be replaced with a vibration isolator, such as vibration isolator 308, that can be configured to exhibit a non-linear stiffness profile.
As for Claim 2, Ilievski et al. teach more than one isolator member operatively connected to each other but foes not teach a first isolator member configured to exhibit a positive stiffness profile; and a second isolator member configured to exhibit a negative stiffness profile. Since Ilievski et al. teach that the various vibration isolators are adjustable in stiffness and the vibration isolator 308 can exhibit negative stiffness (see the specification at column 4, lines 45-56 where it reads “The spring system 308 in FIG. 3 is a negative stiffness or stiffness-correcting device.”)., it would have been obvious to configure one of those isolators to exhibit positive stiffness and the other to exhibit negative stiffness to define the non-linear stiffness profile including the region of quasi-zero stiffness, wherein the positive stiffness profile of the first isolator member substantially matches the negative stiffness profile of the second isolator member., as defined in claim 3.
As for claims 4 and 19, Ilievski et al. teach that the first isolator member is a compression spring 318.
As for claims 5 and 19, Ilievski et al. teach isolator members 104a,b,c includes a spring material member arranged in an arched configuration (Ilievski et al. disclose that isolator members 104a,b,c are sets of leaf springs, which are normally are made from a spring material that is in an arched configuration).
As for claim 12, Ilievski et al. further includes a connecting structure operatively connected to the first headrest structure and the second headrest structure, wherein the connecting structure is configured to constrain a movement of the first headrest structure relative to the second headrest structure.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilievski et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,293,718 B1), as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Gilmore et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0144152 A1).
Ilievski et al. do not specify that the second isolator member includes one or more conical springs with a height to thickness ratio of more than about 1.41. However, Gilmore et al. teach isolator members that are conical shaped to be old. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the any of the isolator members disclosed by Ilievski et al., configured as conical springs, as taught by Gilmore et al. since Ilievski et al., teach isolators in the form of different types of springs such as leaf springs and compressions springs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-11, 13-16, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636