DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This communication is in response to the reply received on 05-21-2026.
Per the reply, page 7, claims 12, 15, and 19 are cancelled, claims 1, 8-10, 13, 14, 16-18 and 20 are amended and claims 21-22 are added.
Claims 1-11, 13-14, 16-18 and 20-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 9, 13-14, 16-17 and 20 is withdrawn as addressed via amendment.
Claims 1-11, 13-14, 16-18 and 20-22 are rejected as provided below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09-26-2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I (fig. 1A), III (fig. 3A) and V (fig. 4a) and invention I (corresponding to claims 1-11, 13, 14, 16-18, and 20) in the reply filed on 10-13-2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings filed 05-22-2024 are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation Under 35 USC § 112
No claim elements in this application are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 2019/0262201 A1, hereinafter D4 (previously presented).
As to claim 1.
D1 discloses a patient table (fig. 1) comprising:
a patient support surface (generally top surface of mattress 22) for supporting a patient (this is interpreted as a statement of intended use and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)); and
at least one pressure redistribution assembly (fig. 1 and fig. 4), each of the at least one pressure redistribution assemblies comprising:
a pressure sensing assembly (sensing mat 20 in fig. 4 including associated electrical conductors 50 and preprocessing circuit boards 52. Each preprocessing circuit board may, in turn, be connected to an electronic control module 54) located proximate to the patient support surface (fig. 1) to measure a pressure between the patient support surface and the patient at a plurality of sensing regions ([0034] Circuit boards 52 and control module 54 are designed to perform all of the electrical work necessary to determine the pressures being exerted at each of the pressure sensor locations of mat 20);
a repositioning assembly (controller 26 and fluid bladders or cells 28) located between the patient support surface and the pressure sensing assembly, the repositioning assembly including a plurality of inflatable cells (fluid bladders or cells 28) overlapping the plurality of sensing regions ([0014] and fig 1 where sensing mat 20 above inflatable cell 28 = sensing region), a medium located within the inflatable cells ([0016] fluid inside cells), and an actuator for selectively redistributing a quantity of the medium between the inflatable cells ([0037] single controller, such as control module 54, may be used to control bladder or cell inflation and deflation); and
a processor (mattress controller 26 and/or electronic control module includes memory [0017]) and a memory ([0017]) containing instructions that, when executed by the processor (mattress controller 26 includes memory [0017]), cause the processor (mattress controller 26 includes memory [0017]) to:
receive a measurement of the pressure from the pressure sensing assembly ([0017] mattress controller 26 will include a set of electronic components that are designed to carry out the functions of controlling the inflation and deflation of the bladders or cells 28, and communicating with pressure mat 20; electronic control module 54 is in electrical communication with mattress controller 26);
determine if the measurement of pressure is above a threshold ([0038] When control module 54 outputs information indicating that a specific sensor is detecting a pressure that is undesirably high, mattress controller 26 will be able to determine which air zone this corresponds to and adjust the pressure in that zone accordingly; [0040]); and
if the measurement of pressure is above the threshold ([0038] and [0040]), generate a signal to redistribute the medium ([0038]).
D1 does not disclose the repositioning assembly is located between the patient support surface and the pressure sensing assembly as amended.
However, D4 (previously presented), is in a related field of patient support surface control and teaches it is known (see e.g. figs. 27-30) to provide a repositioning assembly (plurality of air bladders 712 in fig. 27) located between a patient support surface(upper ticking 714) and a pressure sensing assembly (touch sensor 716).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined modified D1 (directed to a pressure sensing mattress) and D4 (directed to a patient support surface control) and arrived at pressure sensing mattress with a repositioning assembly located between the patient support surface and the pressure sensing assembly as the amended claim requires. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. choosing from a limited number of arrangements to arrange the sensor and the repositioning assembly under the patient) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. both the repositioning assembly and the sensor need to be under a patient).
Further, the claimed arrangement is obvious as a matter of design choice. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the repositioning assembly between the patient support surface and the pressure sensing assembly. Applicant has not disclosed that such an arrangement is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the claimed arrangement or as the arrangement disclosed in D1 because both provide a measure of pressure at a desired point, and both the repositioning assembly and the sensor need to be under a patient, therefore the number of functional arrangements is limited.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine to one of ordinary skill in this art to arrange the repositioning assembly between the patient support surface and the pressure sensing assembly to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1 as a matter of design choice.
As to claim 2.
D1 discloses wherein the pressure sensing assembly (sensing mat 20 in fig. 4) includes a piezo-resistive layer ([0020] sensing mat 20 includes a top cover 30, a first layer 32, a second layer 34, a third layer 36, and a bottom cover 38; [0029] Second layer 34 is an elastically stretchable fabric that includes materials having one or more electrical characteristics that change in response to applied pressure. In one embodiment, layer 34 is a piezoresistive layer).
As to claim 3
D1 discloses wherein the pressure sensing assembly (sensing mat 20 in fig. 4) further includes a top conductive layer ([0022] As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, first layer 32 includes a plurality of conductive rows 40) and a bottom conductive layer ([0031] Third layer 36 is formed in the same manner as first layer 32, third layer 36 will include alternating layers of parallel conductive columns 44).
As to claim 4.
D1 discloses wherein the piezo-resistive layer ([0029] layer 34 is a piezoresistive layer) is located between the top conductive layer ([0022] As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, first layer 32 includes a plurality of conductive rows 40) and the bottom conductive layer ([0031] Third layer 36 is formed in the same manner as first layer 32, third layer 36 will include alternating layers of parallel conductive columns 44)
As to claim 5
D1 discloses wherein the top conductive layer ([0022] As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, first layer 32 includes a plurality of conductive rows 40) includes a plurality of rows of conductive pathways (fig. 2 shows conductive rows 40) and the bottom conductive layer ([0031] Third layer 36 is formed in the same manner as first layer 32, third layer 36 will include alternating layers of parallel conductive columns 44) includes a plurality of columns of conductive pathways (fig. 2 shows conductive columns 44).
As to claim 6
D1 discloses wherein the plurality of rows of conductive pathways extend transversely to the plurality of columns of conductive pathways and overlap to form the plurality of sensing regions (fig. 2).
As to claim 7
D1 discloses wherein the plurality of rows includes five or more rows of conductive pathways (fig. 2 shows 11 conductive rows 40) and the plurality of columns includes five or more columns of conductive pathways (fig. 2 shows 7 conductive columns) defining at least 25 sensing regions (a 7 x 11 matrix has > 25 intersections/sensing regions).
As to claim 13.
D1 as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of the plurality of inflatable cells is equal to a number of the plurality of sensing regions.
However, D1 does disclose that the number of sensing locations where pressure is measured is changeable ([0032]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the number of sensing locations to correspond to the number of cells. Applicant has not disclosed that wherein the number of inflatable cells is equal to the number of sensing regions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the claimed ratio of cells to sensing regions or any other ratio as disclosed in D1 ([0032]) because both provide a measure of pressure at a desired point, the greater ratio disclosed by D1 merely provides improved sensing resolution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine to one of ordinary skill in this art to choose a ratio of cells to sensing regions of 1:1 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13 as a matter of design choice. However, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions (i.e. a ratio of cells to sensing regions) would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 14.
D1 as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the sensing regions includes a single one of the inflatable cells aligned therewith.
Applicant has not disclosed that wherein each of the sensing regions includes a single one of the inflatable cells aligned therewith provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the claimed ratio of cells to sensing regions or any other ratio as disclosed in D1 ([0032]) because both provide a measure of pressure at a desired point, the greater ratio disclosed by D1 merely provides improved sensing resolution and a single sensing region per cell is a known minimum. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine to one of ordinary skill in this art to choose wherein each of the sensing regions includes a single one of the inflatable cells aligned therewith to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14 as a matter of design choice. However, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions (i.e. a ratio of cells to sensing regions) would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 2019/0262201 A1, hereinafter D4 (previously presented), and further in view of US 6,721,980, hereinafter D3 (previously presented).
As to claim 8.
D1 as modified by D4 does not disclose further including a first protective layer and a second protective layer, and wherein the piezo-resistive layer, the top conductive layer, and the bottom conductive layer are sandwiched between the first protective layer and the second protective layer.
However, D3 is in a related field and teaches a patient support assembly (11, figs. 1-4) which includes a sensor layer (see annotated figures 4-5; 14 in fig. 4) which includes a first protective layer (108 in fig. 5) and a second protective layer (108 in fig. 5), and wherein a piezo-resistive layer (14; see annotated figure), a top conductive layer (see annotated figure), and a bottom conductive layer (see annotated figure) are sandwiched between the first protective layer (108) and the second protective layer (108).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined modified D1 (directed to a pressure sensing mattress) and D3 (directed to a patient support) and arrived at the amended claim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. choosing from a known sensor) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. the claimed sensor provides a known benefit per col. 5, lns. 19-49).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of D3 to modify D1 in view D4 for the purpose of providing an improved surface for preventing and treating pressure ulcers (col. 1, lns. 9-11).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 2019/0262201 A1, hereinafter D4 (previously presented), and further in view of US 2004/0159219 A1, hereinafter D5 (necessitated by amendment).
As to claim 9.
D1 as modified by D4 does not disclose wherein the at least one pressure redistribution assembly is radiolucent.
However, D5 is in a related field (fig. 1 shows a bed with inflatable lifting cells 102-146, [0037]-[0038]) and teaches it is known to use radiolucent materials ([0073]-[[0077]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of D5 to modify D1 in view of D4 for the purpose of to facilitate fluoroscopy and the taking of conventional X-rays ([0073]). An invention is obvious where some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 2019/0262201 A1, hereinafter D4 (previously presented) and further in view of US 20230181396 A1, hereinafter D6.
As to claim 10.
D1 as modified does not disclose the memory further includes instructions that cause the processor to, after a magnitude of pressure threshold is obtained, wait a period of time that the measurement of pressure is above the magnitude of pressure threshold before redistributing the medium.
D6 is in a related field of a system for supporting a body of a user and teaches a controller with instructions in memory ([0014] controller comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured and programmed to:
after a magnitude of pressure threshold is obtained, wait a period of time that the measurement of pressure is above the magnitude of pressure threshold before redistributing the medium ([0018] in some embodiments, the system also comprises a controller operatively associated with each of the cells within the plurality of the cells, the controller comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured and programmed to measure a duration of time the compressible fluid is contained in the bladder of each cell to determine a pressure time-value for each cell, compare the pressure-time value of each cell to a predetermined threshold, and lower the pressure of a cells within the plurality of cells for which the pressure-time value exceeds the predetermined threshold, and maintain or increase the pressure of cells within the plurality of cells for which the pressure-time value does not exceed the predetermined threshold).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined modified D1 (directed to a pressure sensing mattress) and D6 (directed to a patient support surface and control thereof) and arrived at the claimed subject matter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. utilizing a controller with an interface) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. an interface for a controller enables interaction with the controller and its associated functions; the controller monitors the pressure and determines the pressure-time value to minimize risk of injury to an occupant, [0018]-[0022]).
As to claim 21.
D1 as modified teaches the patient table of claim 1, but does not disclose further including a user interface including a display, wherein the memory further includes instructions that cause the processor to: generate on the display, the plurality of sensing regions; and if the measurement of pressure is above the threshold, generate a signal to highlight pressure sensing regions associated with a location of where the pressure is above the threshold.
D6 is in a related field of a system for supporting a body of a user and teaches including a user interface including a display (shown but not numbered in fig. 8B), wherein a memory further includes instructions that cause a processor to ([0014] controller comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured and programmed to: independently control the pressure of the compressible fluid to at least 10 mmHg, and the height of each bladder to an accuracy of +/−20 mm; and record and/or display the pressure and/or the height of each bladder): generate on the display (shown but not numbered in fig. 8B), the plurality of sensing regions ([0046] FIG. 8A shows an image of a display of a graphical user interface of a system displaying color-coded height depictions of a plurality of cells; FIG. 15 schematically depicts a GUI 1500 of a controller configured and programmed to display three different views of color-coded pressure and height maps of the overall support surface representing the body support topology); and if the measurement of pressure is above the threshold, generate a signal to highlight pressure sensing regions associated with a location of where the pressure is above the threshold ([0172] for each cell where a pressure-time threshold for injury is reached, the control system may do one or more of alerting an operator of the device or adjusting the pressure/bladder height of the cell (and/or surrounding or distant cells) to reduce the pressure applied to below the threshold and/or reposition the patient to redistribute applied forces to achieve a similar effect).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined modified D1 (directed to a pressure sensing mattress) and D6 (directed to a patient support surface and control) and arrived at the claimed subject matter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. utilizing a controller with an interface) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. an interface for a controller enables interaction with the controller and its associated functions).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 2019/0262201 A1, hereinafter D4 (previously presented) and further in view of US 2014/0101861, hereinafter D2.
As to claim 11
D1 as modified by D4 teaches further including an output port (interface between 54 and 56 in fig. 4) and at least one cushion defining the patient support surface located in an outer envelope ([0021] top cover 30 and bottom cover 38 are sealed together about their periphery to thereby envelope first, second, and third layers 32, 34, and 36), but does not disclose wherein the at least one pressure redistribution assembly is located in the cushion outer envelope, and wherein a power conduit operably connects the pressure redistribution assembly to the output port.
D2 is in a related field and teaches a patient support (100 in fig. 3) which has a pressure redistribution assembly (inflatable support 210 in fig. 5) which is located within an envelope 150 of patient support (fig. 4 and [0093]) and a power conduit assembly (178, 184, 188 are connected via interface 160).
An invention is obvious where some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings D2 to arrange the components of D1 in view of D4 to provide the claimed recitation for the purpose of a unitary patient support assembly which is compact and convenient and provides improved patient support ([0005]).
As to claim 20.
D1 as modified does not disclose wherein the power conduit extends through and is hermetically sealed (interpreted per the specification at) to the envelope.
D4 is in a related filed of patient support surface control and teaches it is known to provide a substantially fluid-proof seal for a power cord passing into a mattress ([0405] coupling the umbilical 3400 to the overmold 3382, the power cord 3222 is permitted to exit the mattress 3200, while maintaining a substantially fluid-proof seal that inhibits ingress of fluids into the mattress 3200; fig. 107).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined modified D1 (directed to a pressure sensing mattress) and D4 (directed to a patient support surface control) and arrived at pressure sensing mattress with a sealed interface for a control line). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. forming sensor pad 20 with a sealed interface) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. a control line is permitted to exit the pad, while maintaining a substantially fluid-proof seal that inhibits ingress of fluids into the pad 20).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 2019/0262201 A1, hereinafter D4 (previously presented) and further in view of US 2014/0101861, hereinafter D2, as applied to claim 11, and further in view of US 6,721,980, hereinafter D3.
As to claim 16.
D1 as modified does not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by D3: wherein the at least one cushion includes an upper cushion layer that is located proximate to the patient support surface and a lower cushion layer that is spaced from the patient support surface by the upper cushion layer.
D3 is in a related field and teaches a patient support assembly (11, figs. 1-4) and teaches at least one cushion includes an upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38) that is located proximate to a patient support surface (indicated by 11) and a lower cushion layer (foam/air support layer 36) that is spaced from the patient support surface (indicated by 11) by the upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of D3 to modify D1 for the purpose of providing an improved surface for preventing and treating pressure ulcers (col. 1, lns. 9-11).
As to claim 17.
D1 as modified does not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by D3: wherein a pressure redistribution assembly (upper mattress layer 12 and sensor layer 14) is located between the upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38) and the lower cushion layer (36).
D3 is in a related field and teaches a patient support assembly (11, figs. 1-4) and teaches at least one cushion includes an upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38) that is located proximate to a patient support surface (indicated by 11) and a lower cushion layer (foam/air support layer 36) that is spaced from the patient support surface (indicated by 11) by the upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of D3 to modify D1 for the purpose of providing an improved surface for preventing and treating pressure ulcers (col. 1, lns. 9-11).
As to claim 18.
D1 as modified does not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by D3: wherein the pressure redistribution assembly (upper mattress layer 12 and sensor layer 14) is located along a top surface of the lower cushion layer (on support layer 9, fig. 4).
D3 is in a related field and teaches a patient support assembly (11, figs. 1-4) and teaches at least one cushion includes an upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38) that is located proximate to a patient support surface (indicated by 11) and a lower cushion layer (foam/air support layer 36) that is spaced from the patient support surface (indicated by 11) by the upper cushion layer (collectively 34, 40 and 38).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of D3 to modify D1 for the purpose of providing an improved surface for preventing and treating pressure ulcers (col. 1, lns. 9-11).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0091961, hereinafter D1 (previously presented), in view of US 20230181396 A1, hereinafter D6 (cited in response to the amendment).
As to claim 22.
D1 discloses a patient table (fig. 1) comprising:
a patient support surface (generally top surface of mattress 22) for supporting a patient (this is interpreted as a statement of intended use and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987));
at least one pressure redistribution assembly (fig. 1 and fig. 4), each of the at least one pressure redistribution assemblies comprising:
a pressure sensing assembly (sensing mat 20 in fig. 4 including associated electrical conductors 50 and preprocessing circuit boards 52. Each preprocessing circuit board may, in turn, be connected to an electronic control module 54) located proximate to the patient support surface (fig. 1) to measure a pressure between the patient support surface and the patient at a plurality of sensing regions ([0034] Circuit boards 52 and control module 54 are designed to perform all of the electrical work necessary to determine the pressures being exerted at each of the pressure sensor locations of mat 20);
a repositioning assembly (controller 26 and fluid bladders or cells 28), the repositioning assembly including a plurality of inflatable cells (fluid bladders or cells 28) overlapping the plurality of sensing regions ([0014] and fig 1 where sensing mat 20 above inflatable cell 28 = sensing region), a medium located within the inflatable cells ([0016] fluid inside cells), and an actuator for selectively redistributing a quantity of the medium between the inflatable cells ([0037] single controller, such as control module 54, may be used to control bladder or cell inflation and deflation); and
a processor (mattress controller 26 and/or electronic control module includes memory [0017]) and a memory ([0017]) containing instructions that, when executed by the processor (mattress controller 26 includes memory [0017]), cause the processor (mattress controller 26 includes memory [0017]):
receive a measurement of the pressure from the pressure sensing assembly ([0017] mattress controller 26 will include a set of electronic components that are designed to carry out the functions of controlling the inflation and deflation of the bladders or cells 28, and communicating with pressure mat 20; electronic control module 54 is in electrical communication with mattress controller 26);
determine if the measurement of pressure is above a threshold ([0038] When control module 54 outputs information indicating that a specific sensor is detecting a pressure that is undesirably high, mattress controller 26 will be able to determine which air zone this corresponds to and adjust the pressure in that zone accordingly; [0040]).
D1 does not disclose:
a display;
generate on the display, the plurality of sensing regions; or
if the measurement of pressure is above the threshold, generate a signal to highlight pressure sensing regions associated with a location of where the pressure is above the threshold.
D6 is in a related field of a system for supporting a body of a user and teaches including a user interface including a display (shown but not numbered in fig. 8B), wherein a memory including instructions that cause a processor to ([0014] controller comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured and programmed to: independently control the pressure of the compressible fluid to at least 10 mmHg, and the height of each bladder to an accuracy of +/−20 mm; and record and/or display the pressure and/or the height of each bladder):
generate on the display (shown but not numbered in fig. 8B), the plurality of sensing regions ([0046] FIG. 8A shows an image of a display of a graphical user interface of a system displaying color-coded height depictions of a plurality of cells; FIG. 15 schematically depicts a GUI 1500 of a controller configured and programmed to display three different views of color-coded pressure and height maps of the overall support surface representing the body support topology); and
if the measurement of pressure is above the threshold, generate a signal to highlight pressure sensing regions associated with a location of where the pressure is above the threshold ([0172] for each cell where a pressure-time threshold for injury is reached, the control system may do one or more of alerting an operator of the device or adjusting the pressure/bladder height of the cell (and/or surrounding or distant cells) to reduce the pressure applied to below the threshold and/or reposition the patient to redistribute applied forces to achieve a similar effect).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined modified D1 (directed to a pressure sensing mattress) and D6 (directed to a patient support surface and control) and arrived at the claimed subject matter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. utilizing a controller with an interface) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. an interface for a controller enables interaction with the controller and its associated functions).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on the attached PTOL-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as each further discloses a state of the art.
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or pointed out by the examiner.
Inquiry
/J. T. Newton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673 11 August 2026
* * * * *