Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 198-200 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160027203) in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160223987).
With respect to claim 198, Lee et al. disclose a method comprising: obtaining respective primitive data of each of a plurality of primitives corresponding to an object from a first buffer (paragraph 111, In operation 720, the hybrid rendering apparatus 200 may extract properties of primitives in tiles and classify a tile including at least one primitive having one of a reflectivity and a refractive index greater than 0 as a first tile by using the properties of primitives. The properties of primitives include material properties such as reflectivities and refractive indices), wherein the respective primitive data of each of the plurality of primitives comprises respective view dependent lighting information for the primitive (paragraph 40, ray tracing technique for generating an image by tracing a path of light incident along a ray that is emitted from a viewpoint of a camera toward each pixel of an image, paragraph 42, In FIG. 1, the first object 31 has reflective or transparent properties and has a reflectivity and a refractive index greater than 0);
storing the respective view dependent lighting information with the respective primitive data for each of the plurality of primitives in a second buffer that is different from the first buffer (paragraph 114, Before initiating rendering via ray tracing (operation 745), the hybrid rendering apparatus 200 stores geometric information of primitives in the first tiles, which is needed for ray tracing rendering, in the GPU internal memory 250, paragraph 127, Thus, before ray tracing rendering starts, the geometric information of the primitives in a first tile, which is stored in the first stage, is fetched from the buffer 440 and copied into the GPU internal memory 250). However, Lee et al. do not expressly disclose determining a corresponding electromagnetic (EM) field contribution from each of the plurality of primitives to each of a plurality of display elements of a display by taking into consideration of the respective view dependent lighting information for the primitive from the second buffer.
Park et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method for determining a corresponding electromagnetic (EM) field contribution from each of the plurality of primitives to each of a plurality of display elements of a display by taking into consideration of the respective view dependent lighting information for the primitive from the second buffer (paragraph 50, when an object to be displayed is a stereoscopic object, the holographic display distortion correcting apparatus may calculate the complex aberration light field by dividing the object into successive object planes, calculating respective complex aberration light fields, and calculating a sum of the calculated respective complex aberration light fields).
Lee et al. and Park et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of determining a corresponding electromagnetic (EM) field contribution from each of the plurality of primitives to each of a plurality of display elements of a display by taking into consideration of the respective view dependent lighting information for the primitive from the second buffer, as taught by Park et al., to the Lee et al. system, because a quality of a holographically reproduced image may be improved by correcting a distortion of the holographically reproduced image, and thus a viewing window-based holographic display may be used as a commercial three-dimensional (3D) stereoscopic video display (paragraph 32 of Park et al.).
With respect to claim 199, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. disclose the method of claim 198, wherein the respective view dependent lighting information for each of the plurality of primitives comprises a reflectivity of a surface of the primitive upon a viewing angle (Lee et al.: paragraph 111, In operation 720, the hybrid rendering apparatus 200 may extract properties of primitives in tiles and classify a tile including at least one primitive having one of a reflectivity and a refractive index greater than 0 as a first tile by using the properties of primitives).
With respect to claim 200, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. disclose the method of claim 198, wherein determining the corresponding EM field contribution from each of the plurality of primitives to each of the plurality of display elements of the display comprises: adding a contribution of the respective view dependent lighting information for the primitive to the display element (Park et al.: paragraph 50, calculating a sum of the calculated respective complex aberration light fields).
Claim(s) 201 and 203 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160027203) in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160223987) and further in view of Kroll et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20100149139).
With respect to claim 201, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. disclose the method of claim 198. However, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. do not expressly disclose storing information of an occluder, together with at least one of information of one or more primitives associated with the occluder or one or more display elements associated with the occluder, in the second buffer.
Kroll et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method for storing information of an occluder, together with at least one of information of one or more primitives associated with the occluder or one or more display elements associated with the occluder, in the second buffer (paragraph 217, An example of the desired occlusion behaviour for a holographic display is given in FIG. 29. In FIG. 29, from the eye position shown, it should not be possible to see the thick side of the cube, because it is occluded by the side of the cube which is closest to the viewer). The cube is associated with the occluder.
Lee et al., Park et al, and Kroll et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of storing information of an occluder, together with at least one of information of one or more primitives associated with the occluder or one or more display elements associated with the occluder, in the second buffer, as taught by Kroll et al., to the Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. system, because the implementation of occlusion involves ensuring that object points closer to the virtual observer window mask object points further away from the virtual observer window, along the same line of sight (paragraph 216 of Kroll et al.), thus generating a natural, more-realistic image.
With respect to claim 203, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. and Kroll et al. disclose the method of claim 201, further comprising: during a rendering process of the object for obtaining the primitive data of the plurality of primitives, determining the one or more primitives associated with the occluder and the one or more display elements associated with the occluder (Kroll et al.: paragraph 220, In FIG. 31, from eye position 1 the viewer will see object point 1 but not the occluded object point 2. From eye position 2, the viewer will see the object point 2, but not object point 1 which cannot be seen from that position and viewing direction. Therefore from eye position 2 the viewer can see object point 2 which is occluded by object point 1 when viewing from eye position 1. Object point 1 and object point 2 are encoded respectively in subhologram 1 and subhologram 2). By generating the subholograms, his determines the display elements associated with the occluder.
Claim(s) 204 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160027203) in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160223987) and further in view of Leister (U.S. PGPUB 20150124302).
With respect to claim 204, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. disclose the method of claim 198. However, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. do not expressly disclose storing information of diffraction efficiency of the display in the second buffer.
Leister, who also deals with rendering an image, disclose a method for storing information of diffraction efficiency of the display in the second buffer (paragraph 59, This diffraction efficiency can, for example, be stored in a table of values).
Lee et al., Park et al., and Leister are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of storing information of diffraction efficiency of the display in the second buffer, as taught by Leister, to the Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. system, because this relative diffraction efficiency can then be used for determining the correction value (paragraph 29 of Leister), thus generating a high-quality image result.
Claim(s) 205 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160027203) in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160223987) and further in view of Sumi et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160157828).
With respect to claim 205, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. disclose the method of claim 198. However, Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. do not expressly disclose for each of the plurality of display elements, generating a respective control signal based on a corresponding sum of EM field contributions from the plurality of primitives to the display element, the respective control signal being for modulating at least one property of the display element based on the corresponding sum of the EM field contributions from the plurality of primitives to the display element; and illuminating light on the display, such that modulated display elements of the display cause the light to propagate in different directions to form a volumetric light field corresponding to a reconstruction of the object in a three-dimensional (3D) space, wherein the volumetric light field comprises view dependent lighting for the reconstruction of the object based on the respective view dependent lighting information of each of the plurality of primitives.
Sumi et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method for each of the plurality of display elements, generating a respective control signal based on a corresponding sum of EM field contributions from the plurality of primitives to the display element, the respective control signal being for modulating at least one property of the display element based on the corresponding sum of the EM field contributions from the plurality of primitives to the display element (paragraph 167, Transducers 10 or 20 to be used include various ones that allow generating or receiving arbitrary waves such as electromagnetic waves, lights, mechanical waves, acoustic waves or thermal waves etc., paragraph 208, FIG. 4 shows the reception unit (or the reception device) 35 which is equipped with the phasing and summing device 35d that performs the phasing and summing processings, and other data generation device 35e that implements the digital signal processings on generated image signals); and illuminating light on the display, such that modulated display elements of the display cause the light to propagate in different directions to form a volumetric light field corresponding to a reconstruction of the object in a three-dimensional (3D) space, wherein the volumetric light field comprises view dependent lighting for the reconstruction of the object based on the respective view dependent lighting information of each of the plurality of primitives (paragraph 214, When performing receiving waves suing [using] plural reception aperture elements 20a in an effective aperture, the command signal to be sent to the transmission element to be excited first, last or other elements can be used, paragraph 244, As a representative output device 50 is a display device, which can display the generated image signals, and others such as various results measured on the basis of the image signals as numeric data or images etc.).
Lee et al., Park et al., and Sumi et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of, for each of the plurality of display elements, generating a respective control signal based on a corresponding sum of EM field contributions from the plurality of primitives to the display element, the respective control signal being for modulating at least one property of the display element based on the corresponding sum of the EM field contributions from the plurality of primitives to the display element; and illuminating light on the display, such that modulated display elements of the display cause the light to propagate in different directions to form a volumetric light field corresponding to a reconstruction of the object in a three-dimensional (3D) space, wherein the volumetric light field comprises view dependent lighting for the reconstruction of the object based on the respective view dependent lighting information of each of the plurality of primitives, as taught by Sumi et al., to the Lee et al. as modified by Park et al. system, because this allows, for waves such as electromagnetic waves, vibration (mechanical) waves such as acoustic waves (compressible waves), shear waves, ballistic waves, surface waves etc., thermal waves etc., arbitrary beamformings with high accuracies and high speeds on the basis of digital processings (paragraph 104 of Sumi et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 186-197 allowed.
Claim 202 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kroll et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20180364643) is made of record as describing a related holographic display system for determining pixel contribution associated with an object point. However, none of the prior art teaches or suggests the effect of primitive occluders for determining the effect of electromagnetic fields on display elements, i.e.,
determining one or more particular display elements of a plurality of display elements of a display that do not contribute to a reconstruction of the given primitive at an effect of the occluder; storing information of the one or more particular display elements in a second buffer that is different from the first buffer; and determining a respective electromagnetic (EM) field contribution from the given primitive to each of the plurality of display elements other than the one or more particular display elements based on the information of the one or more particular display elements in the second buffer;
for each of a plurality of display elements of a display, determining a respective part of the given primitive that does not make an electromagnetic (EM) field contribution to the display element at an effect of the occluder; storing at least one of information of the respective part of the given primitive or information of one or more remaining parts of the given primitive in a second buffer that is different from the first buffer, the respective part and the one or more remaining parts forming the given primitive; and for each of the plurality of display elements, determining a respective EM field contribution from the one or more remaining parts of the given primitive to the display element based on the at least one of the information of the respective part of the given primitive or the information of the one or more remaining parts of the given primitive in the second buffer;
determining a subtractive contribution of the occluder for a corresponding primitive to a corresponding display element using a first mathematical algorithm, and determining an additive contribution of corresponding view dependent lighting information for the corresponding primitive to the corresponding display element using a second mathematical algorithm that is substantially same as the first mathematical algorithm, wherein determining an EM field contribution from the corresponding primitive to the corresponding display element is based on the subtractive contribution of the occluder and the additive contribution of the corresponding view dependent lighting information.
Conclusion
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
2/14/26