DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 6 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/2/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "and that holds" in line 3. It is unclear which element this limitation is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Bradley (PGPub 2007/0033786).
Re Claim 1, Bradley discloses a tool holder [that is used in a machine tool including a cutting tool holder having a plurality of parallel cutting tool fixing grooves to which a shank of a cutting tool can be fixed], and that holds a tool [for machining a workpiece gripped by a spindle that is capable of rotating about a spindle axis], the tool holder comprising:a shaft part (lower shaft portion of 15) that is fixed to the cutting tool fixing groove; anda holding part (collar portion of 15) that holds, as the tool that performs machining about a machining axis, at least one of a rotary tool 32 and a non-rotary tool in which the machining axis extends along the spindle axis (Fig. 1-3). The recitation in brackets [ ] is considered functional language. The reference discloses all the structural components of the tool, which read on those of the instant invention. Therefore, the device is capable of performing the same desired functions as the instant invention as claimed. This statement applies to dependent claims below as well.
Re Claim 2, Bradley discloses the holding part [holds the tool such that the machining axis has a different orientation to the orientation of the cutting tool fixing groove] (Fig. 1-3).
Re Claim 3, Bradley discloses a connection part 20 that is connected to the holding part from the shaft part and [positions the holding part further away from the workpiece prior to machining, which is gripped by the spindle, than a position overlapping an extension part of the cutting tool fixing groove on the machining axis], wherein the holding part [holds the tool so that a tip end of the tool is closer than the holding part to the workpiece prior to machining, which is gripped by the spindle] (Fig. 1-3).
Re Claim 4, Bradley discloses [the orientation of the machining axis is orthogonal to a placement surface of the cutting tool holder, in which the plurality of cutting tool fixing grooves are provided, the cutting tool fixing groove includes a bottom surface that is narrower than an opening on a lateral section of the cutting tool fixing groove, a first inside surface that contacts the shaft part, and a second inside surface on the opposite side to the first inside surface, the cutting tool holder includes a cutting tool holder main body that includes the plurality of cutting tool fixing grooves, and a clamp piece that fixes the shaft part to the cutting tool fixing groove by being attached to the cutting tool holder main body in a state where a part thereof is inserted between the second inside surface and the shaft part], the shaft part includes a first outside surface [that contacts the first inside surface], and a second outside surface on the opposite side to the first outside surface, and when the tool holder attached to the cutting tool fixing groove is projected onto a virtual plane extending along the placement surface, [the machining axis is positioned closer to an extension line of the second outside surface than an extension line of the first outside surface] (Fig. 1-3).
Re Claim 5, Bradley discloses [the orientation of the machining axis is orthogonal to a placement surface of the cutting tool holder, in which the plurality of cutting tool fixing grooves are provided, the cutting tool fixing groove includes a bottom surface that is narrower than an opening on a lateral section of the cutting tool fixing groove, a first inside surface that contacts the shaft part, and a second inside surface on the opposite side to the first inside surface, the cutting tool holder includes a cutting tool holder main body that includes the plurality of cutting tool fixing grooves, and a clamp piece that fixes the shaft part to the cutting tool fixing groove by being attached to the cutting tool holder main body in a state where a part thereof is inserted between the second inside surface and the shaft part], the shaft part includes a first outside surface [that contacts the first inside surface], and a second outside surface on the opposite side to the first outside surface, and [when the tool holder attached to the cutting tool fixing groove is projected onto a virtual plane extending along the placement surface, the machining axis is positioned closer to an extension line of the second outside surface than an extension line of the first outside surface] (Fig. 1-3).
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799