Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I comprising claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 9/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/8/26.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4, line 2 recites “between about 150°F and 200°F” and claim 5, line 2 recites “about 170°F”. Given “about” is a relative term, it may under certain circumstances render a claim indefinite. Per MPEP 2173.05(b),
“Terms of degree are not necessarily indefinite. “Claim language employing terms of degree has long been found definite where it provided enough certainty to one of skill in the art when read in the context of the invention.” Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 766 F.3d 1364, 1370, 112 USPQ2d 1188, 1192-93 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (citing Eibel Process Co. v. Minnesota & Ontario Paper Co., 261 U.S. 45, 65-66 (1923) (finding ‘substantial pitch’ sufficiently definite because one skilled in the art ‘had no difficulty … in determining what was the substantial pitch needed’ to practice the invention)). Thus, when a term of degree is used in the claim, the examiner should determine whether the specification provides some standard for measuring that degree. Hearing Components, Inc. v. Shure Inc., 600 F.3d 1357, 1367, 94 USPQ2d 1385, 1391 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Enzo Biochem, Inc., v. Applera Corp., 599 F.3d 1325, 1332, 94 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Seattle Box Co., Inc. v. Indus. Crating & Packing, Inc., 731 F.2d 818, 826, 221 USPQ 568, 574 (Fed. Cir. 1984).”
Par. 0021 of the PGPUB discloses a value modified by a term such as “about” may refer to being within a 10 percent margin, i.e., including values within ten percent greater or less than the stated value. Therefore, since the specification provides guidance for measuring the degree of the claims, claims 4 and 5 are not considered to be indefinite. The recited values in claims 4 and 5 will be read on by values that are within ten percent greater or less than the recited values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 4 recites “a cabinet” (emphasis added) which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the recited “cabinet” in line 4 is the same as or different from the one recited in line 3. For the purposes of substantiative examination, either interpretation will be considered as reading on the limitation.
Claims 2-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependency from base claim 1.
Claim 7, lines 2-5 recite “determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber comprises: obtaining the chamber temperature using the chamber temperature sensor; and determining that the chamber temperature falls below a predetermined temperature threshold” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 7 depends from claim 6, which recites “determine that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber based on feedback from at least one of a cooking timer or a meat probe” (lines 2-3). It is unclear how one condition (i.e., determining that a cooking process is no longer being performed) can involve conflicting processes: 1) feedback from at least one of a cooking timer or a meat probe (as recited in claim 6) and 2) obtaining a chamber temperature and determining that the chamber temperature falls below a predetermined temperature threshold (claim 7). For the purposes of substantiative examination, claim 7 will be interpreted as an alternative process of determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed. This interpretation aligns with Par. 0068 of the PGPUB which discloses determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber involves obtaining the chamber temperature and determining the chamber temperature falls below a predetermined threshold or using a meat temperature probe or a cooking timer.
Examiner recommends amending claim 7 to depend from claim 1 to overcome this rejection.
Amendments to the claims are kindly requested for clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings (US 20220248696 A1, as cited in Applicant’s 5/22/24 IDS) in view of Wada (JP H0571746 A).
Reference is made to the attached Japanese to English machine translation of Wada ‘746.
Regarding claim 1, Hastings discloses a smoker defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction (Par. 0001 and Fig. 1), the smoker comprising:
a cabinet (Fig. 2, walls forming oven 12) defining a discharge vent (Par. 0104, “oven vent downstream of the CSE 26” and Par. 0094, “Fan 28 may also be activated to draw smoke from chamber 13, through CSE 26 (removing smoke and the smoky smell therefrom) and into the environment around the cooking appliance”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand there must necessarily be a vent in the oven in order for smoke to be drawn into the environment around the cooking appliance);
a smoking chamber (Fig. 2, chamber 13 and Par. 0068, “the smoker compartment could be formed within or inserted into or mounted on the oven chamber's base”) positioned within a cabinet and defining a chamber outlet (Par. 0064, “remove smoke from the gases exhausted, via a vent, from the chamber”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand there must necessarily be a chamber outlet for gases to be exhausted, via a vent, from the chamber);
a chamber heater (Fig. 2, upper heating source 15) for regulating a chamber temperature in the smoking chamber (Par. 0063, “The oven 12 has at least one primary heating source within chamber 13 such as an upper heating source 15”);
a smoke generating assembly (Figs. 2-3, smoker 20) for providing a flow of smoke into the smoking chamber (Par. 0118, “The smoke regulation holes 35 in compartment lid 34 ensure a controlled flow of smoke out of the smoker compartment (aided by incoming air from air injector 37) and into oven chamber 13.”);
an exhaust duct providing fluid communication between the chamber outlet and the discharge vent (Fig. 2, vent connected to CSE 26 and fan 28; Par. 0064, “remove smoke from the gases exhausted, via a vent, from the chamber” and Par. 0094, “Fan 28 may also be activated to draw smoke from chamber 13, through CSE 26 (removing smoke and the smoky smell therefrom) and into the environment around the cooking appliance”.);
an air handler operably coupled to the exhaust duct for urging the flow of smoke from the smoking chamber, through the exhaust duct, and out of the discharge vent (Fig. 2, fan 28 and Par. 0094, “Fan 28 may also be activated to draw smoke from chamber 13, through CSE 26 (removing smoke and the smoky smell therefrom) and into the environment around the cooking appliance”);
a catalytic converter for reducing emissions within the flow of smoke (Fig. 2, CSE 26 and Par. 0086, catalytic smoke eliminator 26 will reach its required temperature for eliminating smoke); and
a controller (Fig. 2, controller 18) in operative communication with the smoke generating assembly (Par. 0077, “Controller 18 is configured to operate the smoker 20 and other components of the oven 12 according to the smoke cycle (step 55”), the air handler (Par. 0064, “venting fan 28 may be switched on or off, or its speed adjusted, by controller 18”), and the catalytic converter (Par. 0064, “The heating element of the catalytic smoke eliminator 26 can be switched on/off, or its power output adjusted, by controller 18).
However, Hastings does not disclose the controller being configured to:
turn off the smoke generating assembly;
determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and
operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber.
Wada discloses a heating cooker (Par. 0001) similar to the present invention and Wada further discloses it is known for a controller (Pg. 4, Par. 5, “controller 26 drives and controls the heater 4, the catalyst heater 10, the valve motor 22 and the fan motor 13”) to be configured to (capable of):
turn off the smoke generating assembly (Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater” and Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is turned off (step S23)”. Note the heater and the object to be heated during cooking comprise a ‘smoke generating assembly’ because they generate smoke);
determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber (Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “When the cooking end set time is reached (determined in step S22), the heater 4 is turned off (step S23), and the heating and cooking are terminated, but the exhaust operation, the odorless operation, and the smokeless operation are continuously executed. That is, until a predetermined time (for example, an appropriate time between 1 and 2 minutes) elapses from the end of cooking (the heater 4 is cut off) (step S24).” A cooking process is a series of actions or a process related to cooking, therefore the exhaust operation, odorless operation, and smokeless operation are all ‘cooking processes’ because they comprise a series of actions that exhaust the byproducts of cooking, such as odor and smoke. Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater is exhausted from a heating chamber”. Note the heating chamber is a smoking chamber because it contains smoke from the object to be heated); and
operate the air handler (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, fan motor 13) and the catalytic converter (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, catalyst heater 10 and Par. 0011, “catalyst 9, a catalyst heater 10”) after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber (Pg. 5, 4th and 3rd Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is turned off [i.e., smoke generating assembly has been turned off]… the heating and cooking are terminated, but the exhaust operation, the odorless operation, and the smokeless operation are continuously executed [i.e., the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber]…Standing in this state, that is, the valve plate 15 open position state, the fan motor 13 energized state, and the catalyst heater 10 energized state are maintained”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings in view of the device of Wada so the controller is configured to turn off the smoke generating assembly; determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber to better ensure the exhaust air is deodorized and smokeless (As suggested by Pg. 5, 2nd Par from the bottom of Wada: “exhaust air for deodorizing and smokeless air in the heating chamber 3”) so smoke does not return to the room (As suggested by Pg. 6, 2nd Par of Wada: “It is odorless and smokeless and therefore The smoke inside does not return to the room”).
Regarding claim 6, Hastings discloses the smoker of claim 1.
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose the controller is further configured to:
determine that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber based on feedback from at least one of a cooking timer or a meat probe; and
stop operation of the air handler and the catalytic converter in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber.
Wada further discloses the controller (Pg. 4, Par. 5, “controller 26 drives and controls the heater 4, the catalyst heater 10, the valve motor 22 and the fan motor 13”) is configured to (capable of):
determine that the cooking process (Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the exhaust operation, the odorless operation, and the smokeless operation”) is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber (Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater is exhausted from a heating chamber”) based on feedback from a cooking timer (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, “a predetermined time has elapsed from the end of cooking (step S25)”. See Pg. 4, Par. 7, “The control device 26 waits for switch inputs from various switches…a cooking time setting switch”); and
stop operation of the air handler (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, fan motor 13) and the catalytic converter (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, catalyst heater 10 and Par. 0011, “catalyst 9, a catalyst heater 10”. Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, “the catalyst heater 25 is turned off when a predetermined time has elapsed from the end of cooking (step S25). At the same time, the fan motor 13 is turned off (step S26)”) in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly (Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater” and Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is turned off (step S23)”.) and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber (Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the exhaust operation, the odorless operation, and the smokeless operation” and Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater is exhausted from a heating chamber”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings in view of the device of Wada so the controller is further configured to determine that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber based on feedback from a cooking timer and stop operation of the air handler and the catalytic converter in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber to exhaust an appropriate amount (As suggested by Pg. 6, Par. 1 of Wada: “the inside of the heating chamber 3 is always exhausted in an appropriate amount”) so the cooking finish of cooked food is improved (As suggested by Pg. 6, Par. 1 of Wada: “the inside of the heating chamber 3 is always exhausted in an appropriate amount. Therefore, the temperature ripple in the heating chamber 3 can be reduced. As a result, the cooking finish of the cooked food is improved”).
Regarding claim 9, Hastings discloses the smoker of claim 1, wherein the controller (Par. 0077, ” controller 18 undertakes to operate the smoker 20 and other components of the oven 12 in order to carry out the smoking process in the oven”) is further configured to: determine that the smoke generating assembly is operating to generate the flow of smoke (Par. 0107, “Smoke production can be monitored by sensors connected to the smoker 20 and/or oven 12 so that combustion can be automatically monitored/controlled”).
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose the controller is further configured to determine that the smoke generating assembly is operating to generate the flow of smoke; and operate the air handler and the catalytic converter.
Wada further discloses the controller (Pg. 4, Par. 5, “controller 26 drives and controls the heater 4, the catalyst heater 10, the valve motor 22 and the fan motor 13”) is configured to (capable of) determine that the smoke generating assembly is operating to generate the flow of smoke (Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater” and Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is turned off (step S23)”); and operate the air handler (Pg. 4, 4th Par from bottom, fan motor 13) and the catalytic converter (Pg. 4, 4th Par from bottom, catalyst heater 10 and Par. 0011, “catalyst 9, a catalyst heater 10”. Pg. 4, 4th Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is energized (step S4) to start heating and cooking. Then, the catalyst heater 10 is energized (step S5) and the fan motor 13 is energized (step S6).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings in view of the device of Wada so the controller is configured to turn off the smoke generating assembly; determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber to better ensure the exhaust air is deodorized and smokeless (As suggested by Pg. 4, 4th Par from the bottom of Wada: “cooking is performed in the heating chamber 3, and the air in the heating chamber 3 is exhausted through the small holes 15a of the valve plate 15, and the exhaust is deodorized and smokeless by the catalyst 9”) so smoke does not return to the room (As suggested by Pg. 6, 2nd Par of Wada: “It is odorless and smokeless and therefore The smoke inside does not return to the room”).
Regarding claim 10, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 9, wherein operating the catalytic converter (Wada: Pg. 4, 4th Par from bottom, catalyst heater 10 and Par. 0011, “catalyst 9, a catalyst heater 10”) comprises: energizing one or more catalyst heaters (Wada: Pg. 4, 4th Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is energized (step S4) to start heating and cooking. Then, the catalyst heater 10 is energized (step S5)).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings (US 20220248696 A1, as cited in Applicant’s 5/22/24 IDS) in view of Imamoto (JP 2856530 B2).
Reference is made to the attached Japanese to English machine translation of Imamoto ‘530.
Regarding claim 1, Hastings discloses a smoker defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction (Par. 0001 and Fig. 1), the smoker comprising:
a cabinet (Fig. 2, walls forming oven 12) defining a discharge vent (Par. 0104, “oven vent downstream of the CSE 26” and Par. 0094, “Fan 28 may also be activated to draw smoke from chamber 13, through CSE 26 (removing smoke and the smoky smell therefrom) and into the environment around the cooking appliance”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand there must necessarily be a vent in the oven in order for smoke to be drawn into the environment around the cooking appliance);
a smoking chamber (Fig. 2, chamber 13 and Par. 0068, “the smoker compartment could be formed within or inserted into or mounted on the oven chamber's base”) positioned within a cabinet and defining a chamber outlet (Par. 0064, “remove smoke from the gases exhausted, via a vent, from the chamber”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand there must necessarily be a chamber outlet for gases to be exhausted, via a vent, from the chamber);
a chamber heater (Fig. 2, upper heating source 15) for regulating a chamber temperature in the smoking chamber (Par. 0063, “The oven 12 has at least one primary heating source within chamber 13 such as an upper heating source 15”);
a smoke generating assembly (Figs. 2-3, smoker 20) for providing a flow of smoke into the smoking chamber (Par. 0118, “The smoke regulation holes 35 in compartment lid 34 ensure a controlled flow of smoke out of the smoker compartment (aided by incoming air from air injector 37) and into oven chamber 13.”);
an exhaust duct providing fluid communication between the chamber outlet and the discharge vent (Fig. 2, vent connected to CSE 26 and fan 28; Par. 0064, “remove smoke from the gases exhausted, via a vent, from the chamber” and Par. 0094, “Fan 28 may also be activated to draw smoke from chamber 13, through CSE 26 (removing smoke and the smoky smell therefrom) and into the environment around the cooking appliance”.);
an air handler operably coupled to the exhaust duct for urging the flow of smoke from the smoking chamber, through the exhaust duct, and out of the discharge vent (Fig. 2, fan 28 and Par. 0094, “Fan 28 may also be activated to draw smoke from chamber 13, through CSE 26 (removing smoke and the smoky smell therefrom) and into the environment around the cooking appliance”);
a catalytic converter for reducing emissions within the flow of smoke (Fig. 2, CSE 26 and Par. 0086, catalytic smoke eliminator 26 will reach its required temperature for eliminating smoke); and
a controller (Fig. 2, controller 18) in operative communication with the smoke generating assembly (Par. 0077, “Controller 18 is configured to operate the smoker 20 and other components of the oven 12 according to the smoke cycle (step 55”), the air handler (Par. 0064, “venting fan 28 may be switched on or off, or its speed adjusted, by controller 18”), and the catalytic converter (Par. 0064, “The heating element of the catalytic smoke eliminator 26 can be switched on/off, or its power output adjusted, by controller 18), and
the controller is configured to operate the fan and catalytic converter together (Par. 0102, “During the pyrolytic cleaning operation the CSE 26 and fan 26 may still be operated” and Par. 0064, as quoted above. Note the reference to the fan as element 26 appears to be a typo and should instead refer to the fan as element 28).
However, Hastings does not disclose the controller being configured to:
turn off the smoke generating assembly;
determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and
operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber.
Imamoto discloses a heating cooker (Overview) similar to the present invention and Imamoto further discloses it is known for a controller (Pg. 4, Par. 5, “control device 24 controls cooking”) to be configured to (capable of):
turn off the smoke generating assembly (Pg. 5, 2nd Par from bottom, “grill cooking heater 21 is intermittently de-energized for a short time during the cooking heating”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand smoke or the like may be generated by cooking food heated by the grill cooking heater 21, therefore the grill cooking heater 21 is a ‘smoke generating assembly’);
determine that a cooking process is still being performed in a smoking chamber (Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the power-off period of the oven cooking heater 18 indicated by A is due to the fact that the temperature in the cooking chamber 2 has become equal to or higher than the set temperature”. A cooking process is still being performed at least because the cooking chamber is still being kept near a set temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the cooking chamber is a ‘smoking chamber’ because it contains smoke from the cooking food); and
operate the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber (Pg. 5, 2nd Par from bottom, “catalyst heater 12 is energized at the time of the de-energization”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings in view of the device of Wada so the controller is configured to turn off the smoke generating assembly; determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber and thereby prevent the current value of the entire oven grill range from exceeding the rated value (As suggested by Pg. 5, 4th Par from the bottom of Imamoto: “The reason why the oven cooking heater18 or the grill cooking heater 21 is de-energized when the catalyst heater 12 is energized is to prevent the current value of the entire oven grill range from exceeding the rated value”). This beneficially increases the safety of operating the device of modified Imamoto.
NOTE: The limitation “the controller being configured to: turn off the smoke generating assembly; determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber” (emphasis added) is necessarily met by modified Hasting. To elaborate, Hastings teaches the air handler and catalytic converter are operated together so turning on the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly is turned off and determining that a cooking process is still being performed as disclosed by Imamoto necessarily means the controller is configured to (capable of): turn off the smoke generating assembly; determine that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber; and operate the air handler and the catalytic converter after the smoke generating assembly has been turned off and in response to determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber. Examiner notes “configured to” is a recitation of functional language so the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the controller is capable of operating the air handler and catalytic converter in response to determining that the smoke generating assembly is turned off and a cooking process is still being performed in the cooking chamber.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings (US 20220248696 A1, as cited in Applicant’s 5/22/24 IDS) in view of Imamoto (JP 2856530 B2) and Wada (JP H0571746 A).
Regarding claim 6, Hastings discloses the smoker of claim 1.
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose the controller is further configured to:
determine that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber based on feedback from at least one of a cooking timer or a meat probe; and
stop operation of the air handler and the catalytic converter in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber.
Wada discloses a heating cooker (Par. 0001) similar to the present invention and Wada further discloses it is known for a controller (Pg. 4, Par. 5, “controller 26 drives and controls the heater 4, the catalyst heater 10, the valve motor 22 and the fan motor 13”) to be configured to (capable of):
determine that a cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber (Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater is exhausted from a heating chamber” and Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “heating and cooking are terminated”) based on feedback from a cooking timer (Pg. 5, 34d Par from bottom, “cooking end set time is reached”. See Pg. 4, Par. 7, “The control device 26 waits for switch inputs from various switches…a cooking time setting switch”); and
stop operation of the air handler (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, fan motor 13) and the catalytic converter (Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, catalyst heater 10 and Par. 0011, “catalyst 9, a catalyst heater 10”. Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, “the catalyst heater 25 is turned off when a predetermined time has elapsed from the end of cooking (step S25). At the same time, the fan motor 13 is turned off (step S26)”) in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly (Par. 0001, “exhaust of smoke or the like generated from an object to be heated during cooking by a heater” and Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “the heater 4 is turned off (step S23)”.) and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber (Pg. 5, 4th Par from bottom, “heating and cooking are terminated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings in view of the device of Wada so the controller is further configured to determine that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber based on feedback from a cooking timer and stop operation of the air handler and the catalytic converter in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber and to better ensure the exhaust air is deodorized and smokeless (As suggested by Pg. 5, 2nd Par from the bottom of Wada: “exhaust air for deodorizing and smokeless air in the heating chamber 3”) so smoke does not return to the room (As suggested by Pg. 6, 2nd Par of Wada: “It is odorless and smokeless and therefore The smoke inside does not return to the room”).
Regarding claim 8, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 6, wherein stopping the operation of the air handler and the catalytic converter in response to turning off the smoke generating assembly and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber (See claim 6 rejection) comprises:
continuing operation of the air handler (Hastings: Fig. 2, fan 28) and the catalytic converter (Hastings: Fig. 2, CSE 26) for a predetermined amount of time after turning off the smoke generating assembly (Hastings: Figs. 2-3, smoker 20. Examiner notes this limitation is necessarily met after the modification with Wada explained in claim 6. Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom of Wada: “the fan motor 13 energized state, and the catalyst heater 10 energized state are maintained, and the catalyst heater 25 is turned off when a predetermined time has elapsed from the end of cooking (step S25). At the same time, the fan motor 13 is turned off (step S26)”) and determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber (Wada: Pg. 5, 3rd Par from bottom, “a predetermined time has elapsed from the end of cooking (step S25)”.).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings (US 20220248696 A1, as cited in Applicant’s 5/22/24 IDS) and Wada (JP H0571746 A) and further in view of Colston et al. (US20220142406A1, hereafter Colston).
Regarding claim 2, Hastings discloses the smoker of claim 1, further comprising: a chamber temperature sensor (Par. 0105, “smoker compartment temperature probe to detect and monitor smoker compartment temperature”) for obtaining a chamber temperature of the smoking chamber (Fig. 2, chamber 13 and Par. 0068, “the smoker compartment could be formed within or inserted into or mounted on the oven chamber's base”).
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose determining that the cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber comprises:
obtaining the chamber temperature using the chamber temperature sensor; and
determining that the chamber temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature threshold.
Colston discloses a barbecue smoker (Fig. 3 and Par. 0010) similar to the present invention and Colston further discloses it is known to have a chamber temperature sensor (Fig. 3, temperature sensors 242) for obtaining a chamber temperature of a smoking chamber (Fig. 3, cooking chamber 105 and Par. 0129, “The temperature of smoke inside the warming/cooking chamber 105 can be measured by temperature sensors 242 inside the warming/cooking chamber 105”. Note the cooking chamber 105 is a ‘smoking chamber’ because it is a chamber that contains smoke), and wherein determining that a cooking process is still being performed in the smoking chamber (Par. 0109, “cold smoke grilling modes… Colder smoke often provides a preferable taste and can transfer flavors more favorably to the food being prepare within the warming/cooking chamber 105”) comprises:
obtaining the chamber temperature using the chamber temperature sensor (Fig. 7b, step 720b which includes measuring the temperature inside the cooking chamber. See Par. 0129, as quoted above); and
determining that the chamber temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature threshold (Fig. 7b, step 730b, which includes maximizing cold smoke while minimizing cooking chamber temperatures. See Par. 0132, “adjusting power to the blower 215 and heating element 220 maximizes cold smoke while minimizing temperatures in the warming/cooking chamber 105 as described herein. For example, the blower 215 and heating element 220 are regulated to create temperatures that break down lignin in the fuel 310 while avoiding continuous combustion due to autoignition of surrounding fuel 310” and Par. 0076, “Notably, in order to maintain a cold smoke, the pellet grilling device 100 directs the auger to dispense only a few pellets at a time so that the pellets can be at least partially combusted without generating enough heat within the main oven to exceed cold smoke temperatures, such as main oven temperatures from about 70° F. to about 150° F”. Note the predetermined temperature threshold is 70° F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings with the temperature sensor as taught by Colston in order to have a chamber temperature sensor for obtaining a chamber temperature of the smoking chamber and thereby make it more convenient for the user to cook at low smoke temperatures (As suggested by Par. 0008 of Colston: “when a user desires a low smoke temperature, a flame produced by runaway, self-sustaining combustion of the solid fuel being fed into the firepot during pre-heating may become too hot before the temperature sensor relays the temperature feedback information back to the processor to correct the temperature overshoot. When this happens, even if the fuel feeder completely stops feeding fuel into the firepot, the user must wait for the existing fuel to reduce down and reduce temperature, which takes time. In many instances, a cold smoke is produced from smoldering fuel rather than runaway combustion of fuel that produces a hot flame. Generally, waiting for the fuel to reduce down to a smolder after a flame has been produced, in order to correct the temperature control system overshoot and produce the desired cold smoke, takes longer than increasing the temperature in the firepot to obtain a hotter smoke”) so the user can better cook to their preferences (As suggested by Par. 0109, “Colder smoke often provides a preferable taste and can transfer flavors more favorably to the food being prepare within the warming/cooking chamber 105”).
Regarding claim 3, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 2, wherein the predetermined temperature threshold (Colston: Fig. 7b, Par. 0132, as quoted in claim 2 and Par. 0076, as quoted in claim 2. Note the predetermined temperature threshold is about 70° F) is a temperature above which food products within the smoking chamber may be combusted or generate smoke (Colston: Par. 0076, “Notably, in order to maintain a cold smoke, the pellet grilling device 100 directs the auger to dispense only a few pellets at a time so that the pellets can be at least partially combusted without generating enough heat within the main oven to exceed cold smoke temperatures, such as main oven temperatures from about 70° F. to about 150° F”. The predetermined temperature threshold of about 70° F is a temperature above which food products within the smoking chamber may generate smoke because it is less than smoking temperature 150° F. In addition see Par. 0041, “As the wood burns at higher temperatures, generally at or above about 540° F”. The predetermined temperature threshold of about 70° F is a temperature above which food products within the smoking chamber may be combusted because it is less than combustion temperature 540° F. ).
Regarding claim 4, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 2, wherein the predetermined temperature threshold is between about 150°F and 200°F (Colston: Fig. 7b, Par. 0132, as quoted in claim 2 and Par. 0076, as quoted in claim 2. Note the predetermined temperature threshold is between about 70° F and about 150° F. As explained in the Claim Interpretation section above, ‘about’ is interpreted as within ten percent greater or less than the recited values. Colston’s teaching of about 150° F falls within the range of ten percent less than the recited values of about 150°F and 200°F, therefore it reads on the claim).
Regarding claim 5, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 2.
Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose the predetermined temperature threshold is about 170°F as claimed. However, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Hastings, as modified above, discloses a predetermined temperature threshold of about 150°F (Colston: Par. 0132, as quoted in claim 2 and Par. 0076, as quoted in claim 2) but does not specifically recite a predetermined temperature threshold of about 170°F as claimed. Achieving a predetermined temperature threshold of about 170°F is a results-effective variable because Colston states “implementations of the present invention provide devices that a user can adjust or be set to various cooking modes, including varying temperatures over time, to customize cooking modes and smoke temperatures within the grilling devices described herein. Users can apply mechanized, automated means to achieve various initial smoke/cooking temperatures with short pre-heat times and also change smoke/cooking temperatures quickly and precisely” (Par. 0032). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hastings, as modified above, to have a predetermined temperature threshold of about 170°F, because the selection of a higher temperature to cook food constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings (US 20220248696 A1, as cited in Applicant’s 5/22/24 IDS), Wada (JP H0571746 A) and Sengoku et al. (JP 2004226040 A, hereafter Sengoku) and further in view of Lee (KR 20060062211 A).
Reference is made to the attached Korean to English machine translation of Lee ‘211.
Regarding claim 7, Hastings discloses the smoker of claim 6, further comprising:
a chamber temperature sensor (Par. 0105, “smoker compartment temperature probe to detect and monitor smoker compartment temperature”) for obtaining a chamber temperature of the smoking chamber (Fig. 2, chamber 13 and Par. 0068, “the smoker compartment could be formed within or inserted into or mounted on the oven chamber's base”).
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber comprises:
obtaining the chamber temperature using the chamber temperature sensor; and
determining that the chamber temperature falls below a predetermined temperature threshold.
Lee discloses a microwave (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Lee further discloses a chamber temperature sensor for obtaining a chamber temperature of a chamber (Pg. 3, Par. 2, “A temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the cooking chamber”), and wherein determining that a cooking process is no longer being performed in the chamber (Pg. 4, last Par, “step S303 to determine whether the cooking mode, for example, the thawing cooking mode is finished”) comprises:
obtaining a chamber temperature using a chamber temperature sensor (Pg. 5, Par. 1, “measure the temperature of the cooking chamber from the temperature sensor 225”); and
determining that the chamber temperature falls below a predetermined temperature threshold (Pg. 5, Par. 1, “it is determined whether the temperature in the cooking chamber has reached a predetermined reference value… microcomputer 207 determines whether the temperature in the current cooking chamber is lower than 20 ° C. to 22 ° C. which is a preset reference temperature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings, as modified above, to include the process as taught by Lee so determining that the cooking process is no longer being performed in the smoking chamber comprises obtaining the chamber temperature using the chamber temperature sensor; and determining that the chamber temperature falls below a predetermined temperature threshold and thereby prevent hardening of cooked food (As suggested by the Abstract of Lee: “to prevent hardening of the cooked food”) and/or increase the energy efficiency and/or safety of the device by placing a limit on how long it is operated.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings (US 20220248696 A1, as cited in Applicant’s 5/22/24 IDS) and Wada (JP H0571746 A) and further in view of Norris (US20180279634A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 1.
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose the smoke generating assembly comprises:
a smoke barrel defining a smoldering chamber that extends between a first end and a second end along a central axis, the smoke barrel being configured for receiving combustible material;
an auger positioned within the smoke barrel and being rotatable about the central axis for selectively urging the combustible material from the first end toward the second end of the smoldering chamber; and
a smoldering heater in thermal communication with the smoke barrel for smoldering the combustible material as the auger advances the combustible material past the smoldering heater.
Norris discloses a smoker (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Norris further discloses it is known for a smoke generating assembly (Fig. 7, smoke generator 125) to comprise:
a smoke barrel (Fig. 7, conveyor casing 330 and Par. 0058, “Conveyor casing 330 extends from housing 310, so that smoke created by smoke generator 125 may be delivered to cooking area 210”) defining a smoldering chamber (Fig. 7, chamber inside conveyor casing 330) that extends between a first end (Fig. 7, left end of conveyor casing) and a second end (Fig. 7, right end of conveyor casing) along a central axis (Fig. 7, axis running lengthwise through conveyor casing), the smoke barrel being configured for receiving combustible material (Fig. 7 and Par. 0066, “Hopper 620 is in communication with conveyor casing 330 and auger 740 so that wood pellets 1010 held in hopper 620 are fed 920 to auger 740”);
an auger (Fig. 7, auger 740) positioned within the smoke barrel and being rotatable about the central axis for selectively urging the combustible material from the first end toward the second end of the smoldering chamber (Fig. 7 and Par. 0067, “As the wood pellets 1010 within conveyor casing 330 are heated, motor 730 rotates 940 auger shaft 745 and helical portion 750 to move the wood pellets 1010 along the length of auger 740. When a wood pellet reaches the end of auger 740”); and
a smoldering heater (Fig. 7, heat tape 335) in thermal communication with the smoke barrel for smoldering the combustible material as the auger advances the combustible material past the smoldering heater (Par. 0066, “Hopper 620 is in communication with conveyor casing 330 and auger 740 so that wood pellets 1010 held in hopper 620 are fed 920 to auger 740. Electric current is provided to heat tape 335 so that heat is applied 930 to conveyor casing 330 and auger 740 so the wood pellets 1010 within conveyor casing 330 are heated.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings, as modified above, with the device of Norris, including the motor 730, hoper 630, and hopper feed 320 in addition to the structures describe above, in order to have the smoke generating assembly comprise a smoke barrel defining a smoldering chamber that extends between a first end and a second end along a central axis, the smoke barrel being configured for receiving combustible material; an auger positioned within the smoke barrel and being rotatable about the central axis for selectively urging the combustible material from the first end toward the second end of the smoldering chamber; and a smoldering heater in thermal communication with the smoke barrel for smoldering the combustible material as the auger advances the combustible material past the smoldering heater and thereby automate the addition of combustible material to the smoker (As suggested by Par. 0057 of Norris: “hopper feed 320 may be configured to receive a container including the smoking fuel, whereby the container provides a supply of the smoking fuel as the smoking fuel is used by smoke generator 125.”) for increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 12, Hastings, as modified above, discloses the smoker of claim 11.
However, Hastings, as modified above, does not disclose the smoke generating assembly further comprises:
a container positioned below the smoke barrel for receiving and extinguishing the combustible material, wherein the container is filled with water.
Norris further discloses the smoke generating assembly (Fig. 7, smoke generator 125) comprises:
a container (Fig. 7, reservoir 770) positioned below the smoke barrel (Fig. 7, conveyor casing 330) for receiving and extinguishing the combustible material, wherein the container is filled with water (Fig. 7 and Par. 0065, “Once the smoking fuel has been rotated through the length of auger 740, the spent fuel is deposited into reservoir 770. Reservoir 770 may contain a cooling liquid 775, such as water”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hastings, as modified above, with the device of Norris in order to have the smoke generating assembly further comprise a container positioned below the smoke barrel for receiving and extinguishing the combustible material, wherein the container is filled with water and thereby increase the safety of the device (As suggested by Par. 0065 of Norris: “Reservoir 770 may contain a cooling liquid 775, such as water, that reduces the heat of the fuel and allows for safe disposal of the spent fuel after use.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Klein et al. (DE 3447481 C2) discloses it is known to turn on a catalytic device after a heater is paused.
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762