DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 5/22/2024.
The Examiner notes claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And/or
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-13, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by INABA TAKAO (JP 2003309097 A), hereinafter Inaba.
Regarding claim 1. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Inaba discloses an apparatus for cleaning brushes [Fig 3], the apparatus comprising: a scrubbing jig [Fig 1; 10] configured to simultaneously scrub at least two brushes that are configured to clean a wafer [Fig 3; 10 cleans both wafer cleaning brushes (52) simultaneously]; and wherein at least two scrubbing surfaces provided to the scrubbing jig are configured to contact the at least two brushes [Fig 3].
Regarding claim 2. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least two brushes comprise an upper brush and a lower brush [Fig 3], wherein the scrubbing jig is positioned between the upper brush and the lower brush [Fig 3], and wherein the at least two scrubbing surfaces correspond to an upper surface and a lower surface of the scrubbing jig [Fig 1-3; 10 has upper and lower scrubbing surfaces].
Regarding claim 3. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the scrubbing jig has a circular plate shape [Fig 1 & 3].
Regarding claim 4. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the scrubbing jig is configured to rotate with respect to a vertical axis [Fig 3].
Regarding claim 5. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a plurality of guide rollers [42] configured to rotatably support an edge portion of the scrubbing jig [Fig 3].
Regarding claim 6. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two scrubbing surfaces comprises a plurality of scrubbing grooves [Fig 1-3; 12 has a plurality of scrubbing grooves formed by the peaks (14) and valleys (16)].
Regarding claim 8. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one cleaning nozzle configured to inject a cleaning agent to the at least two brushes, the at least two scrubbing surfaces, or both of the at least two brushes and the at least two scrubbing surfaces [Fig 3; ¶15 of the translation; there is a nozzle (46) provided on both sides of the scrubbing jig providing cleaning liquid to both brushes and both sides of the scrubbing jig].
Regarding claim 11. Inaba discloses an apparatus for cleaning brushes, the apparatus comprising: a scrubbing jig rotatably arranged between an upper brush and a lower brush that are configured to clean a wafer, the scrubbing jig configured, with respect to a vertical axis, to simultaneously scrub the upper brush and the lower brush; at least one upper cleaning nozzle configured to inject a cleaning agent to at least one of the upper brush or an upper surface of the scrubbing jig; and at least one lower cleaning nozzle configured to inject the cleaning agent to at least one of the lower brushes or a lower surface of the scrubbing jig [Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-2 & 8].
Regarding claim 12. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the scrubbing jig has a circular plate shape [Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 3].
Regarding claim 13. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the scrubbing jig comprises: a plurality of upper scrubbing grooves defined at the upper surface of the scrubbing jig; and a plurality of lower scrubbing grooves defined at the lower surface of the scrubbing jig [Fig 1-3; 12 has a plurality of scrubbing grooves formed by the peaks (14) and valleys (16) on both upper and lower surfaces].
Regarding claim 15. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of guide rollers configured to rotatably support an edge portion of the scrubbing jig [Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 10, 14, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba in view of ARAKI SHINICHIRO (JP 2003243350 A), hereinafter Araki.
Regarding claim 7 & 14. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 6, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of the scrubbing grooves extend radially from a center point of the scrubbing jig.
However Araki teaches a scrubbing jig [Fig 8; F] for a cleaning brush wherein the plurality of the scrubbing grooves extend radially from a center point of the scrubbing jig [Fig 8; the scrubbing jig (F) has a plurality of scrubbing grooves (the portions between 148) that extend radially from a center point on the jig].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of grooves as disclosed by Inaba to extend radially from a center point of the scrubbing jig as taught by Araki as an alternative arrangement of the grooves that achieves the same purpose; as pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-VI-C, it has been held that shifting the position or placement of parts that does not modify the operation of the device has no patentable significance, it considered to be matters of design/engineering choice which a person skilled in the art would have found obvious. Further the Applicant has not place any criticality on the grooves extending radially from a center point of the scrubbing jig.
Regarding claim 10 & 17. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose further comprising: an imager configured to obtain an image of the at least two brushes; and a controller configured to identify contamination information of the at least two brushes based on the image and configured to control the scrubbing jig based on the contamination information.
However Araki further teaches an imager configured to obtain an image of the at least two brushes; and a controller configured to identify contamination information of the at least two brushes based on the image and configured to control the scrubbing jig based on the contamination information [Fig 11; ¶70-¶71 of the translation; an optical scope (162) is used to obtain an image of the brushes (98) and send it to a controller (166) to determine if the brushes need to be cleaned and then control the scrubbing jig (F) to clean the brushes if they are sufficiently contaminated].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Inaba to have an imager configured to obtain an image of the at least two brushes; and a controller configured to identify contamination information of the at least two brushes based on the image and configured to control the scrubbing jig based on the contamination information as taught by Araki for the purpose of automatically initiating the cleaning process when the brushes become sufficiently contaminated [Araki: ¶71 of the translation].
Claim(s) 9 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba in view of TIEN et al. (US 20170189944), hereinafter Tien.
Regarding claim 9 & 16. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one … nozzle configured to apply an … to the at least two brushes, the at least two scrubbing surfaces, or both of the at least two brushes and the at least two scrubbing surfaces.
Inaba may not explicitly disclose an ultrasonic wave nozzle configured to apply an ultrasonic wave.
However Tien discloses ultrasonic wave nozzles configured to apply an ultrasonic wave to two brushes and sides of a wafer or dummy wafer [Fig 10; ¶54 & ¶64-¶65; 331d are nozzles that apply ultrasonic wave to the liquid to clean the brushes (¶54 describes the frequency range of the ultrasonic agitation applied to the liquid)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nozzles as disclosed by Inaba to be ultrasonic wave nozzle configured to apply an ultrasonic wave as taught by Tien for the purpose of increasing the cleaning effectiveness by varying the ultrasonic energy to match particles to cleaned [Tien: ¶54].
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba in view of Araki further in view of Tien.
Regarding claim 18. Inaba discloses an apparatus for cleaning brushes, the apparatus comprising: a scrubbing jig rotatably arranged between an upper brush and a lower brush that are configured to clean a wafer, the scrubbing jig configured, with respect to a vertical axis, to simultaneously scrub the upper brush and the lower brush; at least one upper cleaning nozzle configured to inject a cleaning agent to at least one of the upper brushes or an upper surface of the scrubbing jig; at least one lower cleaning nozzle configured to inject the cleaning agent to at least one of the lower brushes or a lower surface of the scrubbing jig; at least one upper ultrasonic wave nozzle configured to apply an ultrasonic wave to at least one of the upper brushes or the upper surface of the scrubbing jig; at least one lower ultrasonic wave nozzle configured to apply the ultrasonic wave to at least one of the lower brushes or the lower surface of the scrubbing jig; an imager configured to obtain images of the upper brush and the lower brush; and a controller configured to identify contamination information of the upper brush and the lower brush based on the images and to control, based on the communication information, the scrubbing jig, the upper cleaning nozzle and the lower cleaning nozzle, and the upper ultrasonic wave nozzle and the lower ultrasonic wave nozzle. [Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1-2, 8-10]
Regarding claim 19. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the scrubbing jig comprises: a plurality of upper scrubbing grooves on the upper surface of the scrubbing jig extending in a radial direction from a center point of the scrubbing jig; and a plurality of lower scrubbing grooves on the lower surface of the scrubbing jig extending in the radial direction from the center point of the scrubbing jig. [Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 7]
Regarding claim 20. Inaba discloses the apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a plurality of guide rollers configured to rotatably support an edge portion of the scrubbing jig. [Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 5]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723