Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11, and 13-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0238531 in view of Trim et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0271555 in further view of Su, U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0123927.
Per Claim 1, Wang discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (Paragraph 13; notebook computer 100), comprising: a processor (Notebook computers comprise processors); and a memory coupled to the processor (Notebook computers comprise memory coupled to processors), the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to (Paragraphs 13 and 24; Wang teaches any combination of firmware, software, or hardware can be used to achieve the claimed invention. “It is even possible for the system 120 to utilize firmware to write-in the BIOS 110 to execute the method of the present invention.”): receive, by a pre-boot application (BIOS), telemetry data (Fig. 2; AC/DC power supply determination and/or remaining battery capacity), wherein the telemetry data comprises a current battery charge or level (Paragraph 15, Fig. 2 numeral 240; Remaining capacity of a battery); in response to a determination, by the pre-boot application, that a policy condition or rule is met based, at least in part, upon the telemetry data, modify a display setting (Paragraphs 13-15, Fig. 2; The remaining battery capacity is compared to a predetermined value at step 240. If the remaining battery capacity is below this value, then a screen brightness is reduced to reduce power consumption of the battery 140.).
Wang does not specifically disclose an embedded controller. However, Trim similarly discloses a portable computing device (Paragraph 18; tablet PC) and further teaches an embedded controller for providing a battery charge status (Paragraphs 3, 13, 43, Fig. 1 and 2).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to implement an embedded controller, as taught by Trim, for the purpose of providing the remaining battery capacity to the BIOS for evaluation because embedded controllers are commonly known in the art for being responsible for power management (Trim, paragraph 13).
Wang does not specifically disclose determining a time-to-shutdown value based on a current charge level, with the modification being performed based upon said time-to-shutdown value.
However, Trim discloses evaluating a plurality of data points, including a battery charge status and discharge rate (Paragraphs 43 and 44). Trim further discloses determining a predicted discharge rate based upon a scheduled/known upcoming event (Paragraph 45). The three steps outlined in Fig. 5 numerals 504-508 provide a user with a time-to-shutdown value. Trim further discloses determining the charge level needed to perform the scheduled event and can modify the discharge rate through system modifications to reduce the current discharge rate (Paragraph 45). The system modifications include reducing a display brightness (Paragraph 39).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to implement Trim’s expected usage for a scheduled event to determine a time-to-shutdown value for guiding the power usage modifications because a depleting the battery prior to completion of scheduled task is counterproductive.
Neither Wang nor Trim specifically teach, “prior to the time-to-shutdown, auto-save a change to a configuration parameter received by the pre-boot application”.
However, Su teaches automatically saving changes/modifications to a BIOS as part of a BIOS modification automatic backup mode (Paragraphs 10, 44, and 48). By automatically backing up a BIOS (i.e. pre-boot application) modification, it is inherently performed “prior to a time-to-shutdown”.
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Su’s automatic BIOS modification backup teachings within the system of Wang/Trim because automatically saving a modification to a pre-boot application ensures that the system can subsequently boot using the correct version of firmware/BIOS since it was properly backed up before any power loss or device failure occurs.
Per Claim 2, Wang discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the pre-boot application comprises a Basic Input/Output System (BIOS)/Unified Extensible Firmware Interface (UEFI) application (Paragraphs 13-15; BIOS).
Wang does not specifically teach that the BIOS is configured to communicate with a remote server in a pre-boot environment.
However, Su teaches a BIOS application configured to communicate with a remote server in a pre-boot environment (Paragraphs 26-27; Remote management device 101 reads on the claimed server as it is described as “any suitable computing device” and it connects to the BMC 106 via a network interface for monitoring and managing hardware and software functionalities of server 102. Remote management device 101 stores updated BIOS configuration that can be used to modify a BIOS setting in BIOS 104.).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Su’s remote management device BIOS teachings within the computing device of Wang/Trim because it allows for remote management functionality such as BIOS restoration (Su, Paragraph 33).
Per Claim 3, Wang discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the display setting comprises a display power state selected from the group consisting of: on, or standby (Figure 2; Both of the settings represented by numerals 230 and 250 represent display settings of the display being “on”.).
Per Claim 4, Wang discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the display setting comprises a display brightness level (Paragraphs 13-15; screen brightness value).
Per Claim 6, Wang discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, cause the IHS to at least one of: reduce the display brightness level based, at least in part, upon a determination that the current battery charge or level is below a threshold (Paragraphs 13, 15, 20 and 22, Figure 2; Numerals 240 and 260); or increase the display brightness level based, at least in part, upon a determination that the current battery charge or level is below a threshold.
Per Claim 7, Wang discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, cause the IHS to increase the display brightness level in response to a determination that the IHS is coupled to AC power (Paragraph 6; Fig. 2 numerals 220 and 230; The screen brightness value for the condition of being connected to AC power is higher than that of DC power. Therefore, a change in power connection from DC to AC would increase the screen brightness.).
Per Claim 11, Wang does not specifically teach utilizing a current load or utilization level of the processor for determining an action to take with respect to the display brightness level.
However, Trim teaches utilizing current processor workload for determining actions to be taken for prolonging battery life (Paragraph 34 and 44; Paragraph 39, “Processor 310 may also reduce the current battery discharge rate by reducing display brightness 316”).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to implement Trim’s processor workload as an input metric for determining corrective actions to take for prolonging battery usage because a processors workload directly reflects the rate at which power will be consumed by the device.
Per Claim 13, Wang discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (Paragraph 13; notebook computer 100), comprising: a processor (Notebook computers comprise processors); and a memory coupled to the processor (Notebook computers comprise memory coupled to processors), the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to (Paragraphs 13 and 24; Wang teaches any combination of firmware, software, or hardware can be used to achieve the claimed invention. “It is even possible for the system 120 to utilize firmware to write-in the BIOS 110 to execute the method of the present invention.”): receive, by a pre-boot application (BIOS), telemetry data (Fig. 2; AC/DC power supply determination and/or remaining battery capacity),; in response to a determination, by the pre-boot application, that a policy condition or rule is met based, at least in part, upon the telemetry data, modify a display setting (Paragraphs 13-15, Fig. 2; The remaining battery capacity is compared to a predetermined value at step 240. If the remaining battery capacity is below this value, then a screen brightness is reduced to reduce power consumption of the battery 140.).
Wang does not specifically disclose an embedded controller. However, Trim similarly discloses a portable computing device (Paragraph 18; tablet PC) and further teaches an embedded controller for providing a battery charge status (Paragraphs 3, 13, 43, Fig. 1 and 2).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to implement an embedded controller, as taught by Trim, for the purpose of providing the remaining battery capacity to the BIOS for evaluation because embedded controllers are commonly known in the art for being responsible for power management (Trim, paragraph 13).
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the telemetry data comprises a current battery charge or level determining a time-to-shutdown value based at least in part on a current load or utilization level of the processor, or the modification being performed based upon said time-to-shutdown value.
However, Trim discloses evaluating a plurality of data points, including a processor workload, and determining a predicted discharge rate based upon a current workload of the processor (Paragraphs 34 and 44). The three steps outlined in Fig. 5 numerals 504-508 provide a user with a time-to-shutdown value. Trim further discloses determining the charge level needed to perform the scheduled event and can modify the discharge rate through system modifications to reduce the current discharge rate (Paragraph 45). The system modifications include reducing a display brightness (Paragraph 39).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Wang to implement Trim’s processor workload data to determine a time-to-shutdown value for guiding the power usage modifications because a processors workload directly reflects the rate at which power will be consumed by the device and depleting the battery prior to completion of scheduled task is counterproductive.
Neither Wang nor Trim specifically teach, “prior to the time-to-shutdown, auto-save a change to a configuration parameter received by the pre-boot application”.
However, Su teaches automatically saving changes/modifications to a BIOS as part of a BIOS modification automatic backup mode (Paragraphs 10, 44, and 48). By automatically backing up a BIOS (i.e. pre-boot application) modification, it is inherently performed “prior to a time-to-shutdown”.
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Su’s automatic BIOS modification backup teachings within the system of Wang/Trim because automatically saving a modification to a pre-boot application ensures that the system can subsequently boot using the correct version of firmware/BIOS since it was properly backed up before any power loss or device failure occurs.
Per Claim 17, please refer to the above rejection of claim 1 as the limitations are substantially similar and the mapping of the references to the limitations is equally applicable.
Per Claim 18, Wang discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the telemetry data further comprises at least one of: battery data (Paragraphs 13-15; remaining battery capacity), or processor data, and wherein the display setting comprises a display brightness (paragraphs 13-15; screen brightness).
* * * * * * *
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0238531 in view of Trim et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0271555 in further view of Su, U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0123927 and Nishio et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0355308.
Per Claim 14, none of Wang, Trim, or Su specifically teach wherein the telemetry data comprises at least one of: Ambient Light Sensor (ALS) data, or presence detection data.
However, Nishio similarly teaches a notebook computer which increases/decreases a screen brightness to conserve battery power (Paragraph 49). Nishio further teaches using presence detection data to perform the brightness adjustment (Paragraphs 44-48, Fig. 3).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Nishio’s presence detection teachings within the system of Wang/Trim/Su because it adds another level of power conservation through varying the screen brightness based on user presence and attention, which is desirable for all portable computer users.
* * * * * * *
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0238531 in view of Trim et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0271555 in further view of Su, U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0123927 and Chen et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0283438.
Per Claims 15 and 16, none of Wang, Trim, or Su specifically teach a SoC as part of the computing device or a RISC processor coupled to the specific bus types of claim 16.
However, Chen discloses a notebook computer (Paragraph 26) comprising SoC devices (Paragraphs 31 and 36) and ARM cores coupled to AMBA interconnects (Paragraphs 34, 42, 43, and 46, Figure 3; ARM processing cores are examples of a RISC processor.)
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for system of Wang/Trim/Su to include the SoC, ARM and AMBA interconnect, as taught by Chen, because it provides a user with the flexibility to run multiple different operating systems on the same device (Chen, Paragraphs 2-3 and 23).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN T MISIURA whose telephone number is (571)272-0889. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 8-4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Andrew Jung can be reached on (571) 272-3779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175