DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s submission, filed on September 16, 2025, amending claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13 and 15. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, in claim 1, there is no antecedent basis for “the sleep reminder window” recited therein. Claims 2-6 and 8 depend from claim 1, and thereby include all of the limitations of claim 1. Accordingly, claims 2-6 and 8 are also considered indefinite for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0367634 to Zhao (“Zhao”), over U.S. Patent No. 7,836,400 to May et al. (“May”), and also over Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN 111479016 A to Wu (“Wu”). Reference is made herein to the previously-provided electronic translation of Wu.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 13, Zhao generally describes a method for controlling time-limited use of an application (see e.g. paragraph 0007). Like claimed, Zhao particularly teaches:
presenting a multimedia player interface and a break reminder setting window on the multimedia player interface, wherein the break reminder setting window displays reminder setting options (see e.g. paragraphs 0013 and 0134-0139, and FIG. 12(a): Zhao teaches displaying an interface to a user if a running time and/or quantity of running times of an application in a preset time period exceeds a preset threshold, wherein the interface prompts the user to exit the application. The application can be a multimedia player application, such as a video application – see e.g. paragraph 0138 and FIG. 12(a). Zhao discloses that the user can select a “Continue” option within the interface to display a delay setting window for setting a delay time to continue using the application – see e.g. paragraphs 0159-0162 and FIG. 12(b). Thereafter the user can continue using the application for the set delay time, whereupon the user is again prompted to exit the application – see e.g. paragraph 0161 and FIGS. 9 and 10. The delay setting window is considered a “break reminder setting window” like claimed, as it is presented on the multimedia player interface and displays reminder setting options such as particular, selectable delay times – see e.g. FIG. 12(b).),
wherein the presenting the break reminder setting window on the multimedia player interface comprises presenting reminder interval setting content in the break reminder setting window in response to a current moment being within a first preset time period, wherein the reminder interval setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating respective time intervals, a break reminder window is presented at a selected time interval of the time intervals (see e.g. paragraphs 0013, 0134-0139, and 0159-0162, and FIGS. 12(a) and 12(b): like noted above, Zhao teaches displaying an interface to a user if a running time and/or quantity of running times of an application in a preset time period exceeds a preset threshold; the user can select a “Continue” option within the interface to display a delay setting window, which is considered a “break reminder setting window” like claimed, for setting a delay time to continue using the application. The preset time period is with respect to the current time and can correspond to, for example, a workday – see e.g. paragraphs 0087-0090. Accordingly, the delay setting window is presented to the user in response to, in part, a current moment being within a first preset time period. Moreover, Zhao demonstrates that the delay setting window comprises reminder interval setting content that comprises delay time setting options indicating respective time intervals – see e.g. paragraph 0161 and FIG. 12(b). After selecting a time interval, the user can continue using the application for the selected interval, whereupon the user is again prompted via a message window to exit the application – see e.g. paragraph 0161 and FIGS. 9 and 10. The delay setting window, i.e. the break reminder setting window, thus displays reminder interval setting content that comprises reminder, i.e. delay time, setting options indicating respective time intervals, whereupon a break reminder message window that prompts the user to exit the application is presented at a selected time interval of the time intervals.); and
obtaining, in response to a setting confirmation in the break reminder setting window, a reminder triggering condition corresponding to a target reminder setting option selected in the break reminder setting window and closing the break reminder setting window (see e.g. paragraphs 0114-0117 and 0161, and FIG. 12(b): Zhao teaches that selecting a delay time and then an “OK” control within the delay setting window sets the selected delay time and closes the delay time setting window. Zhao thus further teaches obtaining, in response to a setting confirmation, i.e. selection of the “OK” control, in the break reminder setting window, a reminder triggering condition, i.e. a delay time, corresponding to a target reminder setting option, i.e. a selectable delay time, selected in the break reminder setting window and closing the break reminder setting window.).
Accordingly, Zhao teaches an interaction method similar to that of claim 1. Zhao discloses that such teachings can be implemented via an electronic device (e.g. a mobile phone) comprising at least one processor and a memory configured to store at least one program, wherein the processor executes the at least one program to perform the above-described tasks (see e.g. paragraphs 0063-0065, 0068, 0079 and 0179). Such an electronic device implementing the above-described teachings of Zhao is considered an electronic device similar to that of claim 9, and the at least one program as stored in the memory of the electronic device for implementing the above-described teachings is considered a computer program product similar to that of claim 13. Zhao however does not explicitly disclose that the break reminder window is presented regularly at the selected time interval, as is required by claims 1, 9 and 13. Moreover, Zhao does not explicitly disclose that presenting the break reminder setting window on the multimedia player interface also comprises presenting sleep reminder setting content in the break reminder setting window in response to the current moment being within a second preset time period, wherein the sleep reminder setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating time points, the sleep reminder window is present at a selected time point of the time points, the second time is set to a time period of the day other than the first preset time period, and the sleep reminder setting content includes a time point, as is required by claims 1, 9 and 13.
Similar to Zhao, May teaches presenting reminder interval setting content (i.e. selectable snooze time durations) in a reminder setting window, wherein the reminder interval setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating respective time intervals (see e.g. column 9, lines 1-27; and FIG. 9). Like claimed, May suggests that, after one of the time intervals is selected, a reminder window can be presented regularly at the selected time interval (i.e. if the user selects a “snooze” option each time the reminder window is later presented after the time interval) (see e.g. column 7, lines 9-54; and FIGS. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao and May before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao such that that the reminder window (i.e. the break reminder window) is presented regularly at the selected time interval, like taught by May. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would enable the user to reminded repeatedly, without needing to select a reminder interval each time, as is evident from May (see e.g. column 7, lines 9-54; and FIGS. 4 and 5).
Similar to Zhao, Wu describes a method “for reminding use duration of a terminal,” wherein the method comprises: “acquiring and accumulating the use duration of an application program running in a foreground in a preset time period; determining whether the use time reaches a preset time threshold; and when the use time length is determined to reach the time length threshold value, reminding the user that the use time is overtime.” (Abstract). Regarding the claimed invention, Wu suggests that such a reminder can be presented to the user in different preset time periods of the day, and particularly discloses that a sleep reminder is presented to the user, in part, in response to the current moment being within a preset bedtime period:
According to an embodiment of the present invention, the preset time period includes a plurality of preset time periods.
(Page 3)
According to an embodiment of the present invention, the preset time period includes: a preset bedtime period; the reminding the user of the timeout of the usage time comprises the following steps: reminding the user to go to bed.
(Page 3).
The preset time period may be, for example, a time period before sleep set by a user. Or, the terminal may also be a preset time period set by the parents when the teenagers use the terminal.
(Page 5).
It should be noted that, the reminding user of the use time is overtime, and different prompting purposes can be set according to different application scenarios. For example, when it is desired to remind the user to go to bed, reminding the user that the usage time has expired may include: reminding the user of sleeping, etc.
(Page 5).
As shown in fig. 8A, it may be set whether or not the "reminder before sleep" function is turned on by the user. When the function is turned on, as shown in fig. 8B, the above-mentioned preset time period may be set, for example, as shown in the drawing, the preset time period is set to 22:00 to 23: 20. As shown in fig. 8C, the above-described time period threshold may be further set, for example, as shown in the drawing, the time period threshold is set to 30 minutes.
(Page 8).
In some embodiments, a configuration interface with a plurality of preset time periods can be provided for the user, for example, a reminder before going to bed, for example, in addition to setting a bedtime period at night, a time period for a reminder for afternoon nap can be set, so as to provide a more flexible configuration scheme for the user.
(Page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao, May and Wu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao and May so that, in addition to presenting the reminders to limit application usage during the first preset time period (e.g. during work hours, in the afternoon), reminders can also be presented to limit application usage during a second preset time period (e.g. during bedtime, in the evening) like taught by Wu, wherein the second preset time period is set to a time of day other than the first preset time period. That is, it would have been obvious to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao and May so as, in response to the current moment being within a second preset time period that is set to a time period of a day (i.e. during bedtime, in the evening) other than the first prese time period (e.g. during work hours, in the afternoon), to also display the interface prompting the user to exit the application (i.e. to sleep) and display the delay setting window (i.e. break reminder setting window). Like noted above, Zhao teaches that the delay setting window comprises selectable time intervals (i.e. delay times); after selecting a time interval, the user can continue using the application for the selected interval, whereupon the user is again prompted via a message window to exit the application (see e.g. paragraph 0161 and FIGS. 9, 10 and 12(b)). The content presented within such an interface (i.e. in the delay setting window) during the second preset time period (i.e. during bedtime every day) taught by Wu can be considered sleep reminder setting content that comprises reminder setting options (i.e. selectable intervals/delay times) indicating time points, wherein a sleep reminder window is presented at a selected time point every day to prompt the user to exit the application and/or go to sleep. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to present such a sleep reminder during the second preset time period because it can result in improved user health, as is suggested by Wu (see e.g. page 2, which recites “many people are accustomed to using an application on an intelligent terminal for a while before going to sleep…the use time is too long, thereby occupying the sleeping time of the user and causing the health of the user to be affected,” and page 3, which recites “[b]y the method, whether the user needs to be reminded of the overtime use time can be determined according to the use time of the user for the application program in the specified time period, so that the user can be reminded in time when the user uses the terminal for too long in the specified time period, and the condition that the health of the user is influenced due to the too long use time of the terminal is avoided.”). Accordingly, Zhao, May and Wu are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 1, an electronic device like that of claim 9 and a computer program product like that of claim 13.
As per claims 2, 10 and 14, Zhao further discloses that presenting the break reminder setting window (i.e. the delay setting window) on the multimedia player interface comprises presenting the break reminder setting window in a preset presenting region of the multimedia player interface (i.e. over the video application interface) in response to, inter alia, the user having set no reminder triggering condition and a target running duration of a client (i.e. a running time and/or quantity of running times of the video application) reaching a target running duration threshold (i.e. a preset threshold) (see e.g. paragraphs 0013, 0134-0139 and 0159-0162, and FIGS. 12(a) and 12(b)). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Zhao, May and Wu further teaches a method like that of claim 2, an electronic device like that of claim 10, and a computer program product like that of claim 14.
As per claims 3, 11 and 15, Zhao further discloses that presenting the break reminder setting window in the preset presenting region of the multimedia player interface in response to the user have set no reminder triggering condition and the target running duration of the client reaching the target running duration threshold comprises:
presenting the break reminder window (i.e. a prompt message like in FIG. 12(a)) on the multimedia player interface in response to the user having set no reminder triggering condition and the target running duration of the client (i.e. the running time and/or quantity of running times of the video application) reaching the target running duration threshold (i.e. the preset threshold) (see e.g. paragraphs 0013 and 0136-0139, and FIG. 12(a)); and
presenting the break reminder setting window (i.e. the delay setting window) in the preset presenting region of the multimedia player interface in response to receiving a first reminder setting operation performed in the break reminder window (i.e. in response to selection of a “Continue” button within the prompt message) (see e.g. paragraphs 0159-0162 and FIG. 12(b)).
Accordingly, the above-described combination of Zhao, May and Wu further teaches a method like that of claim 3, an electronic device like that of claim 11, and a computer program product like that of claim 15.
As per claims 8 and 20, Zhao demonstrates that a plurality of time controls (e.g. selectable delay times) are presented in the break reminder setting window (i.e. in the delay setting window), and that the target reminder setting option (i.e. delay time) is a time control selected by the user (see e.g. paragraphs 0118 and 0161-0162, and FIG. 12(b)). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Zhao, May and Wu further teaches a method like that of claim 8 and a computer program product like that of claim 20.
Claims 4, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhao, May and Wu described above, and also over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0370469 to Leong et al. (“Leong”).
As described above, Zhao, May and Wu teach a method like that of claim 1, an electronic device like that of claim 9 and a computer program product like that of claim 13, which entail presenting a break reminder setting window (i.e. a delay setting window) on a multimedia player interface. Zhao, May and Wu, however, do not explicitly teach closing the break reminder setting window in response to receiving, within a preset time length, no trigger operation performed in the break reminder setting window, as is required by claims 4, 12 and 16.
Automatically closing a window after a predetermined amount of time of inactivity is nevertheless well-known in the art. Leong in particular discloses displaying a pop-up window over an application interface, wherein the pop-up window comprises a “selection feature” that can be manipulated to adjust or change a value or option that is associated with the application; once the user finishes adjusting the value, the selection feature or pop-up window can be automatically dismissed after a predetermined period of time (i.e. a predetermined period of inactivity) (see e.g. paragraph 0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao, May, Wu and Leong before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao, May and Wu such that once the user adjusts the value (i.e. selects the delay time) via the break reminder setting window, the break reminder setting window is automatically dismissed after a predetermined period of time, like with the pop-up window/selection feature taught by Leong. The break reminder setting window would thus close in response to receiving, within a preset time length, no trigger operation (e.g. further selection/modification of the delay time) performed in the break reminder setting window after the user selects the delay time. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would require fewer user inputs to close the window, as is evident from Leong (see e.g. paragraph 0014). Accordingly, Zhao, May, Wu and Leong are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 4, an electronic device like that of claim 12 and a computer program product like that of claim 16.
Claims 5, 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhao, May and Wu described above, and also over U.S. Patent No. 10,834,459 to Nakade et al. (“Nakade”).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Zhao, May and Wu teach a method like that of claim 1 and a computer program product like that of claim 13, which entail presenting a break reminder setting window (i.e. a delay setting window) on a multimedia player interface. Like in claims 5 and 17, Zhao also teaches presenting a running information presenting window on the multimedia player interface in response to a number of times, in a preset time period, in which an application (i.e. the multimedia player) is executed exceeds a preset threshold, wherein the running information presenting window displays the cumulative running duration of the application (see e.g. paragraphs 0013 and 0134-0139, and FIG. 12(a): like noted above, Zhao teaches displaying an interface to a user if a running time and/or quantity of running times of an application, e.g. a multimedia application, in a preset time period exceeds a preset threshold, wherein the interface prompts the user to exit the application. Zhao suggests that the interface can display a historical running duration the application – see e.g. paragraph 0125. Accordingly, the interface is considered a running information presenting window like claimed.). Zhao, May and Wu, however, do not explicitly disclose that the running information presenting window is presented in response to a number of days, in a preset number of past days, in which a daily cumulative running duration of the client exceeds a preset cumulative running duration threshold reaching a set day number threshold, and wherein the running information presenting window displays the daily cumulative running duration of the client in the preset number of past days, as is required by claims 5 and 17.
Nakade nevertheless teaches presenting a viewing information presenting window on an interface in response to a number of days (e.g. one), in a preset number of past days (i.e. one), in which a daily viewing duration exceeds a preset cumulative viewing duration threshold reaching a set day number threshold, wherein the viewing information presenting window displays the daily cumulative viewing duration in the preset number of past days (see e.g. column 9, line64 – column 10, line 20; column 12, line 58 – column 14, line 24; and FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao, May, Wu and Nakade before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao, May and Wu such that the running information presenting window is presented in response to a number of days, in a preset number of past days, in which a daily cumulative running duration of the client exceeds a preset cumulative running duration threshold reaching a set day number threshold, and wherein the running information presenting window displays the daily cumulative running duration of the client in the preset number of past days, like done with the viewing information presenting window taught by Nakade. It would have been advantageous to one of ordinary skill to utilize such a combination because it would enable a daily limit on the viewing time to be maintained, as is evident from Nakade (see e.g. column 9, line64 – column 10, line 20; column 12, line 58 – column 14, line 24; and FIG. 7). Accordingly, Zhao, May, Wu and Nakade are considered to teach, to one of ordinary skill in the art, a method like that of claim 5 and a computer program product like that of claim 17.
As per claims 6 and 18, Zhao further teaches that presenting the break reminder setting window (i.e. delay setting window) comprises presenting the break reminder setting window in a preset presenting region of the multimedia player interface in response to receiving a second reminder setting (i.e. selection of a “Continue” option) performed in the running information presenting window (see e.g. paragraph 0161 and FIGS. 12(a) and 12(b)). Accordingly, the above-described combination of Zhao, May, Wu and Nakade is further considered to teach a method like that of claim 6 and a computer program product like that of claim 18.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13 and 15. In response to these amendments, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections presented in the previous Office Action to claims 13-18 and 20 are respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections, the Applicant argues that Zhao fails to teach “wherein the reminder interval setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating respective time intervals, a break reminder window is presented regularly at a selected time interval of the time intervals,” as is now recited in claim 1. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that these arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above, which are required in response to the Applicant’s amendments.
Further regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections, the Applicant argues that Wu fails to teach “the sleep reminder setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating time points, a sleep reminder window is present at a selected time point of the time points everyday” as is now recited in claim 1.
In response, the Examiner respectfully notes that amended claim 1 does not explicitly recite “everyday.” Regardless, the Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of Zhao, May and Wu nevertheless teaches “the sleep reminder setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating time points, a sleep reminder window is present at a selected time point of the time points everyday.”
In particular, like noted above, Wu teaches presenting a sleep reminder to a mobile device user in response to a current moment being within a preset bedtime period. As further described above, it would have been obvious to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao and May so that reminders can be presented to limit application usage during such a preset time period (e.g. during bedtime, in the evening) like taught by Wu. That is, it would have been obvious to modify the method, electronic device and computer program product taught by Zhao and May so as, in response to the current moment being within a second preset time period, to also display an interface prompting the user to exit the application (i.e. to sleep) like taught by Wu. Like noted above, Zhao teaches that such an interface prompting the user to exit an application can comprise a “Continue” option that is selectable to display a delay setting window (see e.g. paragraphs 0160-0161 and FIGS. 12(a) and (b)). The delay setting window comprises selectable time intervals (i.e. delay times); after selecting a time interval, the user can continue using the application for the selected interval, whereupon the user is again prompted via a message window to exit the application (see e.g. paragraph 0161 and FIGS. 9, 10 and 12(b)). The content presented within such an interface (i.e. in the delay setting window) during the second preset time period (i.e. during bedtime every day) taught by Wu can be considered sleep reminder setting content that comprises reminder setting options (i.e. selectable intervals/delay times) indicating time points, wherein a sleep reminder window is later presented at a selected time point to prompt the user to exit the application and/or go to sleep. It is apparent that the user can utilize the delay setting window every day to select a timepoint (i.e. interval) to be reminded again to exit the application. In such circumstances, the sleep reminder window would be presented at a selected time point of the time points everyday. Consequently, the Examiner respectfully maintains that the combination of Zhao, May and Wu teaches “the sleep reminder setting content comprises reminder setting options indicating time points, a sleep reminder window is present at a selected time point of the time points everyday.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BTB/
1/21/2026
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141