DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 5.22.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims below are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “neighboring arms” which should be corrected to “the neighboring arms”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,4-12,14-16,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by over Butta et al (US20250172205A1 PCT filed 2.25.22), hereinafter Butta
Regarding Claim 1, Butta discloses (Figs 1-3) a system, comprising:
an electric motor (M) comprising an electric motor output shaft (26) ;
a gear train (G) comprising an input gear (Gi) coupled to a first gear (Gc) arranged on a lay shaft (14), further comprising a second gear (Gcp) arranged on the lay shaft (14) and coupled to an output gear (Gf), wherein the input gear (Gi) is further coupled to the electric motor output shaft 26) and the output gear (Gf) is coupled to a gear train output shaft (51,52); and
a support (80) physically coupled (80 is coupled via 12) to a housing (Cm) of the electric motor (M), wherein the support is configured to support a bearing (Bf2) coupled to the output gear (Gf).
Regarding Claim 2, Butta discloses the system of claim 1. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) comprises a plurality of protrusions (81,82 circumference has many protrusions in Figs 2-3) that extend to a location radially outside (Fig 2) of the output gear (Gf).
Regarding Claim 4, Butta discloses the system of claim 1. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) comprises a cutout (Sp) (81a in Fig 1 is a recess), and wherein the input gear (Gi) and the first gear (Gc) mesh at the cutout.
Regarding Claim 5, Butta discloses the system of claim 1. Butta further discloses wherein the electric motor output shaft (26) and the gear train output shaft (51,52) are co-axial (Fig 1) and configured to rotate about a same axis (Xi) .
Regarding Claim 6, Butta discloses the system of claim 1. Butta further discloses wherein the lay shaft (14) is parallel (Fig 1) to the electric motor output shaft (26) and the gear train output shaft (51,52).
Regarding Claim 7, Butta discloses the system of claim 1. Butta further discloses
wherein the support (80) and the gear train (G) are arranged within a gear train housing (Ct).
Regarding Claim 8, Butta discloses the system of claim 7. Butta further discloses wherein the gear train housing (Ct) is physically coupled (b2) to the housing (Cm) of the electric motor (M).
Regarding Claim 9, Butta discloses the system of claim 1. Butta further discloses wherein the electric motor output shaft (26) is spaced away from the gear train output shaft (51,52)(Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Butta discloses (Figs1-3) a system, comprising:
a support (80) comprising a main body (81,82) from which a plurality of arms (81,82 circumference around Cu has protrusions in Figs 2-3) (Para 0076 of instant specification uses “arms” and “protrusions” interchangeably, therefore 81,82 circumferentially features which are protrusions can be read as arms) extends outward from the main body (81,82) relative to a central axis (Xi) of the support, wherein the main body further comprises an opening (Bf2 space within 80) configured to couple to an output gear bearing (Bf2) of a gear train (G).
Regarding Claim 11, Butta discloses the system of claim 10. Butta further discloses wherein the main body (81,82) comprises a cutout (Fig 2, Cu) between neighboring arms (81,82 circumferentially features around Cu ) of the support.
Regarding Claim 12, Butta discloses the system of claim 10. Butta further discloses wherein the plurality of arms (81,82 circumferentially features ) extends to a position radially outside (82 circumference extends outside) of an output gear (Gf).
Regarding Claim 14, Butta discloses the system of claim 10. Butta further discloses wherein the plurality of arms (81,82 circumferentially features around Cu ) extends at an angle (all features have an angle) from the main body (81,82) in a direction away from a rotational axis (Xi) of a mover.
Regarding Claim 15, Butta discloses the system of claim 10. Butta further discloses wherein the opening (Bf2 space within 80) comprises a plurality of diameters (Fig 1 discloses step St).
Regarding Claim 16, Butta discloses a system (Figs 1-3) , comprising:
a support (80) arranged in a gear train housing (11) and physically coupled (80 is coupled to 12,Cm via b3 and b2) to an electric motor housing (12,Cm), wherein the support (80) comprises an opening (Bf2 opening) in face-sharing contact (Bf2 is in contact with opening) with an output gear bearing (Bf2).
Regarding Claim 18, Butta discloses the system of claim 16. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) comprises a cutout (Sp) adjacent to an input gear (Gi), wherein a gear (Gc) of a lay shaft (14) engages (Fig 1) with the input gear at the cutout.
Regarding Claim 19, Butta discloses the system of claim 16. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) is a single piece [0090 describes intermediate case and 0087 discloses 80 as being detachable lid].
Regarding Claim 20, Butta discloses the system of claim 16. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) extends (80 is fastened to 12) from the electric motor housing (12,Cm), across (Fig 1) an entirety of a portion of an electric motor output shaft (26) extending into the gear train housing (11), and to a portion of a gear train output shaft (51,52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,13,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butta in view of Yamanaka et al (US20180187791A1), hereinafter Yamanaka.
Regarding Claim 3, Butta discloses the system of claim 2. Butta does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of protrusions comprises a through-hole for receiving a fastener configured to engage with the housing of the electric motor (In Butta, 80 is coupled via 12 to Cm).
Yamanaka discloses (Figs 3,6) wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (support 24 protrusion where 42 goes through) comprises a through-hole (42 hole) for receiving a fastener (42) configured to engage with the housing (20) of the electric motor (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed system of Butta with through holes going through protrusions for receiving fastener as taught by Yamanaka in order to position bolts as per design choice to join with motor housing and provide uniform loading of the support and maintain structural integrity.
Regarding Claim 13, Butta discloses the system of claim 10. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) is physically coupled to a housing (Cm) of a prime mover (M) via fasteners (80 is fastened to Cm via 12) but does not explicitly disclose extending through through-holes of the plurality of arms.
Yamanaka discloses (Fig 3) fasteners (42) extending through through-holes (42 hole) of the plurality of arms (support 24 protrusion where 42 goes through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed support of Butta with through holes going through arms as taught by Yamanaka in order to position bolts as per design choice to provide uniform loading of the support and maintain structural integrity.
Regarding Claim 17, Butta discloses the system of claim 16. Butta further discloses wherein the support (80) comprises a plurality of arms (81,82 circumference has many protrusions in Figs 2-3) extending from the opening (Bf2 space within 80) to a location radially outside (82) of an output gear (Gf) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of arms comprises through-holes configured to receive a plurality of fasteners.
Yamanaka discloses (Fig 3) the plurality of arms (support 24 protrusion where 42 goes through) comprises through-holes (42 hole) configured to receive a plurality of fasteners (42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed system of Butta with through holes going through arms as taught by Yamanaka in order to position bolts as per design choice to provide uniform loading of the support and maintain structural integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu (US20210229548A1) discloses coaxial structure of input and output gear (Fig 4).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834